Using the Mindlink Spell


Rules Questions


http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/m/mindlink/

Could a Wizard potentially use this spell to instruct another person in the arcane arts, to at least learn a relatively low (1-3) level spell?

In the text for Wizards learning new spells, it states that the new spell (from a scroll or spellbook) must be "deciphered" and then studied for 1 full hour. If a Level 3 Wizard understands how to cast Arcane Sight, couldn't they Mindlink to instruct a Level 1 Wizard how to do so? Not that the Newbie would be able to cast it- strictly for educational purposes.

Thanks.


With one casting, no. With multiple castings of mindlink, maybe.

Mindlink wrote:
You decide what the target learns, limited to any amount of information that otherwise could be communicated in 10 minutes.
Learn Spell from Spellbook wrote:
Learning a spell from a spellbook takes 1 hour per level of the spell (0-level spells take 30 minutes).

So, assuming the recipient is high enough level to learn the spell in question. It would take 6 castings of mindlink per level of the spell.I don't see anywhere that any additional study time is required and the only reference I see to deciphering is for scrolls and that only takes 1 round. As a DM I might rule that the instructor needs to make spellcraft checks in order to properly chop up the information into 10 min. increments.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using the Mindlink Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.