Language Dependant Spells


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

What exactly does this mean? There seems to be nothing explaining further. Does it mean you must be able to speak to use them even as a spell-like ability, does it mean your foe must understand the language you speak? Or something else?

Can I use Command on an animal for example?


PRD/Magic/Descriptor wrote:
A language-dependent spell uses intelligible language as a means of communication. If the target cannot understand or cannot hear what the caster of a language-dependent spell says, the spell fails.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Verik Jarrow wrote:

What exactly does this mean? There seems to be nothing explaining further. Does it mean you must be able to speak to use them even as a spell-like ability, does it mean your foe must understand the language you speak? Or something else?

Can I use Command on an animal for example?

The target must be able to understand you. You could not use command on an animal, and you could only do it on a creature that understands the language that you use - so if you used command in common, and your target only spoke Orc, it wouldn't work

Sovereign Court

Ah thank you, I suspected as much, but its good to have it confirmed. A shame that text does not appear to be in my Core Rulebook - unless I am missing it - is it errata? I'm certainly not interested in disputing in btw, I am sure that was the intended effect, just curious.


Core Rulebook page 212, fourth paragraph under the heading [Descriptor]

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Language Dependant Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions