use magic device


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Do casters classes need to use this skill to use,lets just say a wand? My friend told me that all other classes must use this skill but not caster classes. I do not see anything saying that states that they do not need to use this skill to use a wand.


Casters do not need this skill to use Spell Trigger items (like wands) or Spell Completion items (like scrolls) if the spell the item casts is on the caster's spell list.

If, however, your wizard wants to use a Wand of Cure Light Wounds, then, yes, he/she would need Use Magic Device to do so.


The rules for using magic items outline who can and cannot use them. In the case of wands, if the spell in the wand is on your spell list, you can use the wand without needing to use UMD. Even if your character is not yet able to cast the spell (as in the case of a level 1 paladin or ranger using a CLW wand), they can still use the wand.

If the spell is not on your spell list, then you can't use the wand without making at least one UMD check.

There is some debate over spells which are both arcane and divine and whether there are arcane and divine versions of wands for those spells, but that's part of "Using Wands, 102" which is a second semester course on wand use.

Lantern Lodge

The Crusader wrote:

Casters do not need this skill to use Spell Trigger items (like wands) or Spell Completion items (like scrolls) if the spell the item casts is on the caster's spell list.

If, however, your wizard wants to use a Wand of Cure Light Wounds, then, yes, he/she would need Use Magic Device to do so.

thanks that sounds much better and thanks for the quick reply

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / use magic device All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions