Using a Wrist Sheath


Rules Questions


Hi, question to the item: Wrist Sheth.

The item is designed to use put a weapon in it and conceal it.
I was wondering about this Phrase:

"As a move action, you can bend your wrist to cause some or all of these items to drop into your hand (provoking attacks of opportunity as normal). "

2 Things i wonder about:
first: neither drawing a weapon nor drawing a concealed weapon causes attacks of oppurtinity !? why is that provoking AoOs "as normal"?

second: drawing a weapon from it is a move-action, while drawing a concealed weapon is considered a Standard Action. (move-action if you have quickdraw).
So usually if i have quick draw, and draw a concealed weapon it takes me a move-action and DOES NOT provoke and AoO.

When you use a wrist sheath without quickdraw, it takes a move-action and DOES provoke AoO.

What if you have a wrist sheth and quicktdraw?
I would think´s a free-action (since you Need a move Action, like for any other weapon, it goes to free-action like any other weapon), but i would provoke AoO.

Im not quike sure if quickdraw would stack with the wrist. over all that item is confusing to me, help pls :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I believe non-weapon items in a wrist sheath are what provoke, as retrieving an item normally provokes, while drawing a weapon normally does not provoke.


Wrist Sheath wrote:
The sheath can hold one forearm-length item such as a dagger, dart, or wand, or up to five arrows or crossbow bolts. Alternatively, you may store up to 1 pound of ammunition in a wrist sheath. As a move action, you can bend your wrist to cause some or all of these items to drop into your hand (provoking attacks of opportunity as normal). You have a +2 bonus on Sleight of Hand checks made to oppose the Perception check of someone observing or frisking you regarding items in the sheath. You can only wear one wrist sheath per arm.
Combat Chapter in Core Rulebook wrote:
Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

It's not just for storing weapons and the wrist sheath description put that "provoking attacks of opportunity" bit to emphasize that getting stuff from a wrist sheath is basically retrieving a stored item, a move action that provokes, even if it's a weapon.

If it's a stored item, it doesn't work with Quick Draw since the weapon is out of easy reach, such as the feat doesn't help when drawing a dagger from a backpack.

You might be better off with the spring loaded wrist sheath (5 gp versus the wrist sheath's 1 gp cost). Swift action to unload contents, and swift actions typically don't provoke, but full-round action to load things again that does provoke.


Protoman wrote:
If it's a stored item, it doesn't work with Quick Draw since the weapon is out of easy reach, such as the feat doesn't help when drawing a dagger from a backpack.

I'm pretty sure, attached the wrist is easier to reach than your backpack.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Provoking as normal" is what gets people confused.

It means "if drawing the item normally provokes, it still provokes with this sheath" and "if drawing the item normally doesn't provoke, it still doesn't provoke with this sheath".

But you'll find a lot of disagreement about that.


ok got my missunderstanding about the AoO.

"If it's a stored item, it doesn't work with Quick Draw since the weapon is out of easy reach, such as the feat doesn't help when drawing a dagger from a backpack."

any source to that?
logically i´d think drawing a weapon from a sheath that Drops the item in my Hand just by bending my wrist, shouldnt be more difficult than drawing it from a scabbard attached to my belt or even attached on my back.

it should be at least way easier then pulling it out of my bagpack.

Sczarni

For previous discussions on the matter see HERE and HERE and HERE. They amount to almost 1000 posts of disagreement.

Silver Crusade

Retrieving an item from a wrist sheathe is explicitly spelled out in the item description. As I read it, quick draw doesn't make it faster as you're not "drawing" the weapon, you're releasing the weapon from it's sheathe. Additionally, the wrist sheathe appears to be designed to conceal weapons, and drawing a concealed weapon with quick draw is still a move action.


Apologies, I should have wrote that with the current write up with the wrist sheath, I would treat it as a storage device, like a backpack or beltpouch or bandolier, so that to get anything from it is a move action (retrieve a stored item) that provokes.

And if it is a "retrieve a stored item) action, Quick Draw wouldn't work with it as Quick Draw is meant to work with the standard "draw or sheath a weapon rules".

PRD - Combat wrote:

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.
If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.
Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.

So if a weapon or other weapon-like item is in easy reach, instead of the normal move action to draw it that doesn't provoke, Quick Draw makes it a free action to withdraw it.

If ammunition is stored in the wrist sheath, it's takes a move action to get it out. If it was instead carried "in easy reach" like a weapon normally is, it would have been a free action to draw ammunition as per normal. Since I don't think someone is able to get ammo out of a wrist sheath as a free action normally, I'm gonna see it as a stored item. So even if it's on the wrist, and it's only holding a dagger, I'd rule it as basically "retrieve a stored item" and not within easy reach, just like with a backpack or bandolier. In such a case Quick Draw shouldn't work, unless someone wants to argue that Quick Draw works with drawing shortsword out of a backpack as a free action (in such a case it ought to still provoke).


Protoman wrote:

Apologies, I should have wrote that with the current write up with the wrist sheath, I would treat it as a storage device, like a backpack or beltpouch or bandolier, so that to get anything from it is a move action (retrieve a stored item) that provokes.

Since retrieving a stored item always provokes an AoO the sentence in wrist sheath would make no sense i guess, because normally drawing a weapon wouldnt provoke an AoO. for that point i think your argumentation is not valid.

I´ll read the 3 links before posting again, i guess there will be -as usual- no clear solution to the problem, and all the points that would come in this thread, are probably mentioned already. sorry for useless thread then, i didnt find the others before...

Sczarni

The first of the three is the most recent. I created it after new commentary from a Designer changed my perception of how these sheathes worked. If you read all 3 in the order they were created then you'll see a few ppl change their minds.

But, to this day, there is still little consensus.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using a Wrist Sheath All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions