Do multiple Cause Fear spells stack the fear effect?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

So how does the Cause Fear spell work exactly if multiple versions of the same spell are cast upon a single target? The exact wording of the spell is:

Cause Fear wrote:
The affected creature becomes frightened. If the subject succeeds on a Will save, it is shaken for 1 round. Creatures with 6 or more HD are immune to this effect. Cause fear counters and dispels remove fear.

So let's say that someone uses a wand to cast Cause Fear on a creature and they succeed in making that creature Frightened for 4 rounds. The next round that same PC uses the same wand to cast Cause Fear once again, but this time the spell fails and only makes the creature Shaken for just 1 round. But does Shaken stack with the Frightened make the creature Panicked?

So what happens exactly? Is the creature now Panicked for 4 rounds? Or is the creature Panicked for 1 round and then Frightened for 3 rounds? Or is the creature Frightened for 3 rounds and then Shaken for 1 round? Or is it something else completely?

It seems completely OP that you can use a successful save to make something Panicked. Otherwise you can just spam this spell forever and eventually make anything (under 5 HD or less) Panicked in time. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I would say he is frightened for 4 rounds as the shaken condition has the same effect as frightened, but not as severe.

The Exchange

Stonesnake wrote:

So how does the Cause Fear spell work exactly if multiple versions of the same spell are cast upon a single target? The exact wording of the spell is:

Cause Fear wrote:
The affected creature becomes frightened. If the subject succeeds on a Will save, it is shaken for 1 round. Creatures with 6 or more HD are immune to this effect. Cause fear counters and dispels remove fear.

So let's say that someone uses a wand to cast Cause Fear on a creature and they succeed in making that creature Frightened for 4 rounds. The next round that same PC uses the same wand to cast Cause Fear once again, but this time the spell fails and only makes the creature Shaken for just 1 round. But does Shaken stack with the Frightened make the creature Panicked?

So what happens exactly? Is the creature now Panicked for 4 rounds? Or is the creature Panicked for 1 round and then Frightened for 3 rounds? Or is the creature Frightened for 3 rounds and then Shaken for 1 round? Or is it something else completely?

It seems completely OP that you can use a successful save to make something Panicked. Otherwise you can just spam this spell forever and eventually make anything (under 5 HD or less) Panicked in time. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

the creature Frightened for 3 rounds and then Shaken for 1 round

Grand Lodge

I'd say panicked for one round, then the one round effect expires dropping him back to the state where he was from the failed save.

I thought maybe it wouldn't stack since it was from the same source, but I can't find any mention that conditions from the same source do not stack- only bonuses and penalties.

prd wrote:
Becoming Even More Fearful: Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
ithuriel wrote:

I'd say panicked for one round, then the one round effect expires dropping him back to the state where he was from the failed save.

I thought maybe it wouldn't stack since it was from the same source, but I can't find any mention that conditions from the same source do not stack- only bonuses and penalties.

prd wrote:
Becoming Even More Fearful: Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.

I was looking for that. I knew it was a rule at one point, but couldn't find it. So anyway, he would be frightened for 1 round, then become panicked for 1 round and then frightened again for 2 more rounds.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do multiple Cause Fear spells stack the fear effect? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions