theevilmonk's page

Organized Play Member. 35 posts (36 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 9 Organized Play characters.


all humanoids and thus characters are under knowledge local

base dc 10, (sound of walking) the check should only be 1 per 10 feet, -5 for being distracted by combat

so dc 16-20? if they are casting with vocal components it would instead be 6-10. hardly one hell of a

Total concealment doesn't technically give no dex though (I agree with you by the way, total concealment=no dex) as apparently "If you can't react to a blow, you can't use your Dexterity bonus to AC". only counts for stealth and if its specifically stated by a special rule. nothing else

There is no rule that specifically allows stealth to deny Dex, you are extrapolating and assuming that just as much as we are

Xaimum Mafire wrote:
theevilmonk wrote:
Xaimum Mafire wrote:
Well, I guess they should take "not aware of you" out of the rules for Stealth?

Plenty of rules have extra additional describing text.

Find me anywhere where it states what being unaware does

Under Perception for Notice Something/Someone:

Perception has a number of uses, the most common of which is an opposed check versus an opponent's Stealth check to notice the opponent and avoid being surprised. If you are successful, you notice the opponent and can react accordingly. If you fail, your opponent can take a variety of actions, including sneaking past you and attacking you.

From "Hide" under Stealth:

Your Stealth check is opposed by the Perception check of anyone who might notice you. Creatures that fail to beat your Stealth check are not aware of you
If you notice something, you're aware of it.

None of these say anything about what that does, and are just as nonspecific as the rules quotes you keep absolutely refuting as not specific enough.

Xaimum Mafire wrote:
Well, I guess they should take "not aware of you" out of the rules for Stealth?

Plenty of rules have extra additional describing text.

Find me anywhere where it states what being unaware does

all hiding does by Raw is give you total concealment, this awareness you keep going on about is not in the rules

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You are flanking the opponont, however any ranged attack you make will not have the +2 to attack (or any sneak attack for flanking) because of the wording of the flanking rules.

When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by another enemy character or creature on its opposite border or opposite corner.

They get the bonus from you threatening them, however you get nothing for not making a melee attack

This had long past turned from a rules question to an advice thread, please change boards appropriately for non-rules related questions

because unique items are just that unique, it does not enable any of those materials otherwise

you take power attack on the eidolon not yourself, it makes it do much more damage and is an auto=include on pretty much anything as strength focused as an eidolon.

The amount of people has no affect, each person would apply soft cover, but cover bonuses don't stack. you take the highest.
The monster has soft cover 5 times, but that is the equivalent of wearing 5 chain shirts

There are many unique shields that are made of materials that are otherwise not possible. There is also a voidglass shield within the same book.
Even the mithral tower shield in core is a shield made of material that is normally not possible(without DM acceptance; base tower shields are wood only)
Unique items are just that, unique. And they can often do things or be made of things that are not normally possible.
You can not make a tower shield out of adamantium or voidglass unless you purchase these specific magic items

it seems like these benefits only apply if you shoot while the crossbow is underwater. If you shoot from above water into the water I think you would take normal penalties. The rules for it are fairly poorly written, I would talk to your Gm for how he feels he wants to rule it for his game.

So although the rules are vague, its probably intended that the underwater crossbow doesn't take the -2 per 5 feet in addition to normal range increments and instead takes the -2 per 20

If you want the benefits of agathion-blooded stat-wise you must take all the alternatives, they are not optional.

How would the tower shield specialist feat work with the archtype?
The fea: you reduce the armor check penalty for tower shields by 3, and if you have the armor training class feature, you modify the armor check penalty and max dex of tower shields as if they were armor.

I assume the feat would just give you the -3 ACP, since you already treat tower shields as if they were armor.
How they work together is weird though since the Feat is just the ability of the archetype.

How would you make them work together?
can i really have a tower shield with a max dex of 7 at level 8?

The first one Xaimum

Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:

No one in PFS is going to be binding outsiders on an extended basis...and finding two players willing to play life oracles with the asaimar nerfs is going to be a challenge.

In order to get this working at a reasonable level (3) you would need to be human or multiclass something that gets a bonus feat anyways. Otherwise you don't get this until level 5, which is a long time to wait before your build does anything in PFS

it required 3 feats, so that would require 2 characters to devote everything to it for very slow infinite healing at level 3. i don't see it being that big of an issue

The Kami

the abilities specifically say how they work with each other in their own rules text. Why would they ever need a faq?
This whole conversation has gotten way off topic either way with nothing new presented, and the question already answered.

It is proof that what you said was correct and it doesn't automatically apply to wands, as there is a feat which allows it.

The list you are looking at is spells only from the advanced class guide, the cure spells are both in the core book. Look at the complete list Abraham posted.

They are both on the list

The feat has nothing to do with being able to mount these creatures, only allows them to take one as an animal companion. Anyone with a ride check can ride anything that is trained as a mount. They better just have a means of controlling the thing so it doesnt eat them.

The level of spell you can cast is limited based on your class level as shown on the wizard table.
At level 1 you can only learn and cast 1st and 0 level spells. Every other level you will gain another level of spells available.
3rd level level 2 spells
5th level level 3 spells
7th level lever 4 spells Ect
The minimum intelligence is just an extra condition you must meet to cast any level of spell, and is not permissive in letting you know and cast them sooner.

Spell strike only calls out the free melee touch attack referring to ANY touch spell. Nothing to do with spell combat exclusively.
This is like arguing that you can't use power attack with two weapon fighting because they are both modifications to the way you attack.

it simply visibly outlines invisible targets for the duration of the spell, if you cast a new invisibility you will continue to be outlined for the duration of glitter dust. all this talk about light is irrelevant.

You cannot add a strength bonus to a damage roll twice. It doesnt say instead of the normal 1.5X because it is a typed bonus unlike power attack and wont stack.Power attack is untyped so without that wording it would double up.

just because you have something twice doesnt mean they stack, Bracers of armor don't stack with mage armor which doesnt stack with wearing armor because they are all armour bonuses to AC.

Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

In my opinion damage dice would refer to the base damage (in this case with a greatsword 2d6) not the total number of dice rolled.
So base mythic vital strike should do x2 for 4d6+12 instead of 2d6+6, not 4d6+24.
I'd essentially consider it an automatic crit, that can still crit.
actually thats exactly what it is.

Extra note: Weapon damage dice for this case is described in the original vital strike feat which this is modifying

When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon’s damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision-based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.

How are these questions still not answered

How are these questions still not answered

Xaratherus wrote:

At the very least his earlier statement (to me) indicates that a Wizard who goes at the top of the round could have a dagger out, and sheathe it as the very first action of his turn, and he would continue to threaten for the rest of the round, even though he's not armed for the majority of the round.

Your breaking into completely different rules here

the rule (under threatened squares)

If you're unarmed, you don't normally threaten any squares

would now negate your ability to threaten because you no longer have a weapon.