Spell Focus and Crafting Spell-trigger or Spell Completion Items


Rules Questions


Pardon what I am sure is redundancy, but my search-fu is failing me.

If a character has Spell Focus (or other similar feat that increases the save DC or caster level) and Craft Wand, do the wands she crafts benefit from that feat?

Citations, if they exist, please.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

No rule says they do, so they don't.

Since you are asking, this may mean you'd like it to work.
So that means you may find a GM that allows it to work. Often this is called Table Variance.


James Risner wrote:

No rule says they do, so they don't.

Since you are asking, this may mean you'd like it to work.
So that means you may find a GM that allows it to work. Often this is called Table Variance.

Thanks.


quibblemuch wrote:
James Risner wrote:

No rule says they do, so they don't.

Since you are asking, this may mean you'd like it to work.
So that means you may find a GM that allows it to work. Often this is called Table Variance.

Thanks.

If you need some sort of proof:

Staff Like Wand

Benefit: Similar to using a magic staff, you use your own Intelligence score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against spells you cast from a wand, and you can use your caster level when activating the power of a wand if it’s higher than the caster level of the wand.

And also from PFSRD

Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers

Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staves are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DCs.

Most item descriptions give saving throw DCs for various effects, particularly when the effect has no exact spell equivalent (making its level otherwise difficult to determine quickly).

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Letric, what is that proof of?


It is proof that what you said was correct and it doesn't automatically apply to wands, as there is a feat which allows it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Focus and Crafting Spell-trigger or Spell Completion Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.