Bag of Holding

mcruggiero's page

Organized Play Member. 60 posts (73 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 4 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.

Hey Everyone,

I was thinking about picking up some boots of the cat:

das boot!:

These high-soled blue boots provide a great deal of comfort and arch support while also making the wearer appear a little bit taller than normal.

The boot’s wearer always takes the minimum possible damage from falls (as if the GM had rolled a 1 on each die of damage incurred by the fall) and at the end of a fall always lands on his feet.

So, first off, is it just me or do these things seem like the best item for 1,000 gp?

Second off, I have a rules based question about tripping and boots of the cat.


You can attempt to trip your opponent in place of a melee attack. You can only trip an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. If you do not have the Improved Trip feat, or a similar ability, initiating a trip provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver.

If your attack exceeds the target's CMD, the target is knocked prone. If your attack fails by 10 or more, you are knocked prone instead. If the target has more than two legs, add +2 to the DC of the combat maneuver attack roll for each additional leg it has. Some creatures—such as oozes, creatures without legs, and flying creatures—cannot be tripped.

It seems to me that after I buy my boots I will no longer be able to be tripped.

Is this wishful thinking?

Magus Spell Combat:
At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attack.

(1) As a wizard, can taking one level of Magus allow "spell combat" on wizard spells that are still on the magus list?

(2) Is a new spell book granted?

(3) Can this wizard also cast spells in light armor without penalty as long as the spells are listed on the magus list?

Thanks everyone!

Hey everyone.

Elysian Bronze:
First crafted in the deeps of time by the titans and bestowed as gifts to monster-slaying heroes among the lesser races, Elysian bronze retains the brazen coloration of its namesake but is as hard as steel. A weapon made of Elysian bronze adds a +1 bonus on weapon damage rolls against magical beasts and monstrous humanoids; this damage is multiplied on a critical hit. After a creature uses an Elysian bronze weapon to deal damage to a magical beast or monstrous humanoid, the wielder gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls against that specific creature type (for example, against chimeras, not all magical beasts) for the next 24 hours, or until the weapon deals damage to a different kind of magical beast or monstrous humanoid.

So If I have a set of Elysian Bronze arrows, does the +1 bonus (it seems non magical) stack with the +1 magical enhancement?

Also, do I apply the +20 gp cost to a bundle of 20 arrows?


Let's say I take two shots with rapid fire. If I hit with the first shot, does shot #2 get the +4 to opening volley or do I apply the +4 in the next round?


Hey Everyone,

I was wondering if my Aasimar can cast daylight into an opponents eyes with a touch attack. If so would this render the creature stunned or blind? Saving throw?


Hey all,

For my archer build, do magical bucklers lose all shield bonus after you fire your bow?

Also, because I have seen some conflicting posts on this point, can you actually have a darkwood Buckler that functions like a true buckler (and not a small shield)?


How much would a continuous ring with a 1st level mage armor spell cost?

Any ideas?

According to, at 2nd level arcane archers gain the ability to:

Imbue Arrow (Su): At 2nd level, an arcane archer gains the ability to place an area spell upon an arrow. When the arrow is fired, the spell's area is centered where the arrow lands, even if the spell could normally be centered only on the caster. This ability allows the archer to use the bow's range rather than the spell's range. A spell cast in this way uses its standard casting time and the arcane archer can fire the arrow as part of the casting. The arrow must be fired during the round that the casting is completed or the spell is wasted. If the arrow misses, the spell is wasted.

My question is this:

What exactly is an "area spell?"

At first glance, the implication seems to be that only spells that can take up space such as "fireball" or "color spray" are included. Is this correct?

Do rays count as "area effect spells?"

Do spells such as "blindness" not count because they target?

Thanks for the clarification!