Is dipping one level into magus for spell combat legal?


Rules Questions


Magus Spell Combat:
At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attack.

(1) As a wizard, can taking one level of Magus allow "spell combat" on wizard spells that are still on the magus list?

(2) Is a new spell book granted?

(3) Can this wizard also cast spells in light armor without penalty as long as the spells are listed on the magus list?

Thanks everyone!


1) Yes.

2) Yes.

3) No. "Magus Spells" in the Magus Armor Proficiency refers specifically to spells from the Magus class.

RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

The wizard and magus spells come from different "pools." Spell Combat has to be used with your magus spells, but you can take the Broad Study magus arcana at level 6 to use spells from other classes.

You do get a new spellbook; it's a class feature of both classes.

The answer to your third point is directly in the rules, if you read the Weapon and Armor Proficiency section.

Sovereign Court

This really isn't Society specific, this should go into the general rules forum.

That said here's my thoughts.

1) Relevant text:
"and can also cast any spell from the Magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action "

I'd say yes because the only caveat is the spell be on the Magus spell list. There may be people who would argue this point though.

2) You'd technically have a different set of spells learned/scribed for each class but I suppose they could be contained within the same physical spellbook.

3) Relevant text:
" A magus is also proficient with light armor. He can cast Magus spells while wearing light armor without incurring the normal arcane spell
failure chance."

No. Magus spells are spells granted from the Magus class, this doesn't just specify it needs to be on the Magus list.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

3 people marked this as a favorite.

No one checked the FAQ?


That would have been too easy.

Dark Archive

Unfortunately, you cannot use Spell Combat with spells that aren't prepared using Magus spell slots (see the FAQ link in Jiggy's post above). The only way to achieve this is to invest 6 levels into Magus and pick up the Broad Study arcana. You might never get more than 7th-level spells, but for some concepts the possibilities are quite appealing. YMMV.


For those who didn't click through to Jiggy's link: By FAQ a "spell on the Magus spell list" is a spell that exists on the Magus spell list, that is prepared in a spell slot granted by the Magus class, and that the Magus is of a sufficient level to cast.

So even if Wizard grants you Shocking Grasp, the moment you prepare it into a slot granted by the Wizard class, it's no longer a viable spell to use in conjunction with Spell Combat.

As to gaining a new spell book - by RAW I would say yes, and you'd need to pay the normal costs to transfer spells gained from your Magus class to your Wizard spellbook, and vice versa..


Thanks everyone, thanks Jiggy…I looked through the FAQs, but was still a little confused…

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
mcruggiero wrote:

** spoiler omitted **

(1) As a wizard, can taking one level of Magus allow "spell combat" on wizard spells that are still on the magus list?

(2) Is a new spell book granted?

(3) Can this wizard also cast spells in light armor without penalty as long as the spells are listed on the magus list?

Thanks everyone!

You can only use spell combat on spells cast from your magus slots.. Unless you "dip" at least 6 levels of magus to get the spell blending arcana. Also your spellcasting from both classes remains tracked entirely separate for all purposes, including caster levels. Spells from your wizard slots still remain vulnerable to ACF. So dip away!

I'll let you have another spellbook. See, I have my moments of generosity.


As said in pathfinder society only Magus spells can be cast with this ability and there's really no point in taking a 1 level dip.

In a general i.e. home brew campaign its up to the GM. I mention this because I house rule the Eldritch Knight (a mage/fighter prestige class) gets its own version of spell combat that applies to general wizard/sorcerer spells but never loses the -2 penalty for offhand work.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

mcruggiero wrote:

(1) As a wizard, can taking one level of Magus allow "spell combat" on wizard spells that are still on the magus list?

(2) Is a new spell book granted?

(3) Can this wizard also cast spells in light armor without penalty as long as the spells are listed on the magus list?

1) You can only Spell Combat with Magus spells from Magus spell slots, it says so in the ability. "spell on the Magus spell list" is rules speak for from magus spell slots.

2) Does the Magus use a spell book? If so then yes.

3) No because Magus doesn't say "you may now cast in other classes better".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is dipping one level into magus for spell combat legal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.