![]() ![]()
![]() I have a "Fighting Off Corruption" boon that gives my Core sorcerer the Psychic bloodline from Occult Adventures. The Psychic bloodline gives bonus feats and spells that are also from Occult Adventures. Does my Core sorcerer gain access to these non-core feats and spells? Feats: Focused Spell, Intuitive Spell, Logical Spell Spells: mind thrust I (3rd), id insinuation I (5th), ego whip I (7th), intellect fortress I (9th), psychic crush I (11th), mental barrier V (13th), tower of iron will III (15th), bilocation (17th), microcosm (19th) ![]()
![]() I compiled a list of all 74 of the PFS Core Campaign traits: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12bEd0Pjn9X58Twgoi_1SXP7FwlgftlaqIfA ms2vn40E/edit?usp=sharing Here's the list (titles only): * A Sure Thing
![]()
![]() I talked to John Compton at GenCon, and he confirmed that his intent was that Core druids should have access to only those animal companions listed in the CRB, not the expanded set listed in Bestiary 1. He said that the new Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide (Version 7.0—July 30, 2015) would clarify this. Unfortunately, the new Guide doesn't address the issue at all, nor does Additional Resources, so we're left with the ambiguity. People who read the rules will see that Roc and Dire Bat are allowed in Core. People who read the boards and talk to Compton see that they are not allowed. An easy fix for this is to update Additional Resources, in the Bestiary 1 section, to say that only CRB animal companions are allowed in Core campaign. ![]()
![]() Core Campaign is going along okay in Houston. Not strong, but okay. I'm running a table once per week, and I just ran two tables at Comicpalooza, where there were several other Core tables that ran. But Core Campaign is going along quite well online. You can play and GM a Core table on Roll20 at least once per week. I often play online Cores with seasoned players who have played and GM'ed almost everything in the regular campaign and who are enjoying a second run at those adventures with Core characters. ![]()
![]() Belt of Dwarvenkind, 14,900 gp This belt gives the wearer a +4 competence bonus on Charisma checks and Charisma-based skill checks as they relate to dealing with dwarves, a +2 competence bonus on similar checks when dealing with gnomes and halflings, and a –2 competence penalty on similar checks when dealing with anyone else. The wearer can understand, speak, and read Dwarven. If the wearer is not a dwarf, he gains 60-foot darkvision, dwarven stonecunning, a +2 enhancement bonus to Constitution, and a +2 resistance bonus on saves against poison, spells, and spell-like effects. ![]()
![]() I'm right, and I've shown the rules that back up my point of view. I'm on board with the restrictions on the Core Campaign, and I'll follow the rules that I see posted. Right now, the rules allow a druid to have a roc animal companion. I've run into one GM who feels otherwise; at his Core tables, no roc. ![]()
![]() EvilMinion wrote:
But the list of animal companions EXPLICITLY SAYS that the list is expanded in the Bestiary. That's not an oblique reference, it's explicit. ![]()
![]() Here's another one. According to the CRB, page 63, a paladin can select an animal as a mount. These animals are not described in the CRB; they are described in the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary. Looking in the Bestiary, we see the description of the animals. According to the Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide, page 20, this feature is NOT ALLOWED in the Core Campaign because it the class feature description in the CRB DOES NOT REFERENCE the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary. But that's just plain dumb. Of course it's allowed. In fact, when the paladin reaches 11th level, the mount gains the Celestial template, and this paragraph DOES reference the Bestiary. So any reasonable reading of these rules should show that a paladin may have her mount (as described in the Bestiary), and a druid may have her roc animal companion (as described in the Bestiary). ![]()
![]() Let's try a different rule. According to the CRB, page 52, an animal companion can select the Improved Natural Armor feat. This feat is not described in the CRB; the CRB says to see the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary. Looking in the Bestiary, we see the description of the Improved Natural Armor feat. According to the Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide, page 20, this feature is allowed in the Core Campaign because it references the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary, so that sourcebook may be utilized with the restrictions noted in Additional Resources. The restrictions noted in Additional Resources say, "none of the feats are legal for play for PCs, animal companions, or familiars unless specifically granted by another legal source." The CRB is a legal source that specifically grants the Improved Natural Armor feat to animal companions. Are you with me so far? This all means that animal companions may select the Improved Natural Armor feat in the Core Campaign. ![]()
![]() FLite wrote: Please quote the language you believe has changed and made the Roc a permitted option. FLite, I don't believe that allowing a Roc animal companion is a change; I believe it was permitted by the Core Campaign blog post all along, and the rules were made even clearer in the new Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide. But since you asked, here's the language again from the latest revision of the Core Campaign rules. First: Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide, page 20 wrote: For spells and class features that reference the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary, that sourcebook may be utilized with the restrictions noted in Additional Resources. Second: Core Rulebook, page 53 wrote: The animal companions listed here are by no means the only ones available -- additional animal companion types can be found in the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary. Third: Additional Resources page wrote:
The first quote says that for class features (like the list of druid animal companions) that reference the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary, we should use Bestiary 1, with the restrictions noted in Additional Resources. The second quote says that additional animal companion types can be found in the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary. And the third quote specifically says a Roc is allowed as an animal companion. So, yes, Roc is a legal druid animal companion in the Core Campaign. This isn't a matter of interpreting some obscure rule. This is a straightforward reading of the rules as written. I can't see how these three rules would be interpreted as meaning that the list of animal companions in the CRB is complete, since the CRB itself says the list is incomplete and we should see the Bestiary. ![]()
![]() Nefreet wrote: After consulting with a certain high-ranking member of the PFS Campaign (who shall remain nameless unless they wish to be revealed), Roc is not a legal choice as a Core Animal Companion. I call shenanigans. The revised rules now even more clearly support the position that a roc is a legal animal companion for a Core campaign druid. If that certain high-ranking member of the PFS Campaign wanted to make this illegal, he or she should have made it illegal in the newly revised Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide instead of revising the rules so that it's even more clearly legal. ![]()
![]() Houston Pathfinder Society links: 8th Dimension Comics and Games:
https://warhorn.net/events/houston-pfs --- Asgard Games:
https://warhorn.net/events/houston-pfs --- Ettin Games in Humble:
--- Here's the whole list: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1RI_6zvLHZV5FgiFcZqfY0MEcN3sxXqOsTDANuoz A5iw/edit ![]()
![]() The newly revised Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide says: Quote: For spells and class features that reference the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary, that sourcebook may be utilized with the restrictions noted in Additional Resources. The druid animal companion class feature on Core Rulebook, page 53, says: Quote: The animal companions listed here are by no means the only ones available -- additional animal companion types can be found in the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary. And the Additional Resources page says: Quote:
So, yes, Roc is legit. ![]()
![]() I always leave humanoids alive, when possible. I use nonlethal damage, I stabilize or cure dying enemies, I actively practice mercy and forgiveness. I think these are hallmarks of good characters. I don't expect the same treatment from enemies, especially evil ones, but I want to increase my character's chance of survival, if mercy or providence allow. ![]()
![]() In a TPK, there are at least three other bodies for the remaining enemies to feast upon, so my character might be able to regenerate before being that-thing-I-ate. I don't know about your parties, but the PFS parties I run with often stabilize defeated opponents and leave them alive, although stripped of valuables. Some of us, at least, don't murder everybody we meet. ![]()
![]() It looks like a Wand of Magic Aura (2 Prestige Points, 50 charges, 1 day per charge) and a friendly bard, sorcerer or wizard would solve my Detect Magic problem with less table variation than the questionably-purchased lead sheet. I could double up on these for tables where we don't have arcane support. Thanks for your help. ![]()
![]() The main purpose of this wild scheme is to give myself a slight chance to prevent character death in the unlikely event of a TPK. My original plan was for using the Sleight of Hand skill to hide the object. The object is a Wayfinder covered in lead sheeting. The Wayfinder contains a Cracked Pearly White Spindle Ioun Stone (regeneration 1 HP/hour). If my character is KO'd, he will eventually regenerate -- if the bad guys don't find and loot the Wayfinder/Ioun Stone. I think that Sleight of Hand will prevent the casual discovery of the Wayfinder on my character's unconscious body, and the lead sheeting will further hide the Wayfinder from Detect Magic. My character has everything but the lead sheeting. It looks like I can get some lead sheeting in a PFS-legal way by purchasing a spell component pouch which has "a sheet of lead" in it for the Mage's Private Sanctum spell (sorc/wiz 5). What do you think? Is it legit to buy "a sheet of lead" like that? (BTW, I recently played in a scenario where we rescued a wizard who didn't have his spell component pouch. A spare pouch would have come in handy.) ![]()
![]() The character bought a Wayfinder (from a certain replayable PFS scenario), the Ioun Stone and a Dilettante's Outfit. The only thing I'm missing to complete my scheme is that lead sheeting. I know, there is likely to be table variation. This is a wild scheme that would only really be useful for surviving a TPK, and those are pretty rare in PFS. ![]()
![]() My character has a Cracked Pearly White Spindle Ioun Stone (regeneration 1 HP/hour) in a Wayfinder. He wants to hide it on his person in a Dilettante's Outfit using Sleight of Hand so that if he is knocked unconscious, any NPC searching him will have a hard time finding the Ioun Stone, giving him a few hours to regenerate. It would be extra nice if the hidden Wayfinder containing the Ioun Stone could be kept inside a lead pouch, so that the theoretical NPC will have an even harder time finding it. The spell description for Detect Magic says, "The spell can penetrate barriers, but 1 foot of stone, 1 inch of common metal, a thin sheet of lead, or 3 feet of wood or dirt blocks it." If the character puts the Wayfinder in the Pathfinder Pouch, I don't think the Ioun Stone in the Wayfinder will continue to function because the Wayfinder would be in an extradimensional space, not exactly equipped on the character. (But I may be wrong.) But if the character puts the Wayfinder in a lead-lined pocket, I see no reason that it won't continue to function. I look through the equipment list in the CRB and the other PFS-legal books, and I can't find "a thin sheet of lead" for sale. I can buy lead bullets, but there are no PFS rules that let me craft a thin sheet of lead from a bullet. I'm looking to you folks to see if I've overlooked a PFS-legal source for buying a thin sheet of lead. ![]()
![]() Damanta, Mark and Louis, that looks like an "...is clarified..." situation to me. It looks like the animal companions listed in the Bestiary 1 are specifically included in the PFS Core Campaign. Here's the chain of reasoning: (1) "Introducing the Core Campaign" says "If a Core Rulebook option advises that something found in the Core Rulebook is clarified in the Bestiary 1, then the player uses that specific option out of the Bestiary 1 to meet the requirement set forth in the Core Rulebook. That would include, but is not limited to, animal companions, special abilities, summon spells, etc... Only the Bestiary 1 is available for these extra options outside of the Core Rulebook." <http://paizo.com/paizo/blog/v5748dyo5lh0h&page=19?Introducing-the-C ore-Campaign> (2) The Core Rulebook, page 53: "The animal companions listed here are by no means the only ones available -- additional animal companion types can be found in the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary." (3) Bestiary 1, page 316, clarifies the list of animal companions. In addition, Michael Brock said, "Druid animal companions are listed on pages 53-54 of the CRB. / If an entry, such as paladin or ranger, that lists a bonded mount or animal companions., and it doesn't list stats in the CRB, it automatically defaults to the Bestiary." <http://paizo.com/paizo/blog/v5748dyo5lh0h&page=2?Introducing-the-Co re-Campaign#88> The roc is exactly this kind of situation. It's listed as an animal companion for the druid in the Bestiary 1. I certainly don't see a roc animal companion as "allowing new options" or "as a means to sneak in a bunch of non-core stuff into a Core game." This is just following the rules. ![]()
![]() The blog post "Introducing the Core Campaign" says, > "If a Core Rulebook option advises that something found in the Core Rulebook is clarified in the Bestiary 1, then the player uses that specific option out of the Bestiary 1 to meet the requirement set forth in the Core Rulebook. That would include, but is not limited to, animal companions, special abilities, summon spells, etc... Only the Bestiary 1 is available for these extra options outside of the Core Rulebook." And Bestiary 1 lists a few more animal companion options. So it looks like the list of Core Campaign animal companions also includes the list on page 316. So, yes, Roc is legit. ![]()
![]() Half-elf fighter 1, Int 13, Arcane Training and Favored Class Wizard. She tries to activate a scroll of Fireball. 1) Does the Arcane Training racial trait let her skip the "Decipher the Writing" step and go directly to the "Activate the Spell" step? Or does she need to decipher the Fireball scroll (with Spellcraft or Read Magic) before activating it? 2) Can she Take 20 on a Spellcraft check to Decipher the Writing? --- Arcane Training Half-elves occasionally seek tutoring to help them master the magic in their blood. Half-elves with this racial trait have only one favored class, and it must be an arcane spellcasting class. They can use spell trigger and spell completion items for their favored class as if one level higher (or as a 1st-level character if they have no levels in that class). This racial trait replaces the multitalented racial trait. --- Activation: To activate a scroll, a spellcaster must read the spell written on it. This involves several steps and conditions. Decipher the Writing: The writing on a scroll must be deciphered before a character can use it or know exactly what spell it contains. This requires a read magic spell or a successful Spellcraft check (DC 20 + spell level). Deciphering a scroll is a full-round action. Deciphering a scroll to determine its contents does not activate its magic unless it is a specially prepared cursed scroll. A character can decipher the writing on a scroll in advance so that she can proceed directly to the next step when the time comes to use the scroll. Activate the Spell: Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. Activating a scroll spell requires no material components or focus. (The creator of the scroll provided these when scribing the scroll.) Note that some spells are effective only when cast on an item or items. In such a case, the scroll user must provide the item when activating the spell. Activating a scroll spell is subject to disruption just as casting a normally prepared spell would be. Using a scroll is like casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure chance. To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements. The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.) The user must have the spell on her class list. The user must have the requisite ability score. If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spell's caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell's caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll's caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully. ![]()
![]() This new rule clarification (both mount and rider charge at the same time) doesn't answer a key question: When do they stop if the mount and the rider have different reach? For example, a human lancer on a horse. Lancer has 10 ft reach, horse has 5 ft reach. When do they stop charging -- in the first square from which the lancer can attack, or the first square from which the horse can attack? Another example: A human with a longsword, riding a mammoth. The swordsman has 5 ft reach, mammoth has 10 ft reach. When do they stop charging? ![]()
![]() (Yes, I'm practicing Threadomancy, resurrecting this thread from two years ago with new information.) This is in the Pathfinder CRB FAQ:
Both charge in unison, suffer the same penalty to AC, the gaining the same bonus to the attack rolls and following all other rules for the charge. The mounted combat rules are a little unclear on this. Replace the third paragraph under the "Combat while Mounted" section on page 202 with the following text. Note that a "mounted charge" is synonymous with a "charge while mounted," and that when a lance is "when used from the back of a charging mount" it is during a mounted charge not when only the mount charges. A mounted charge is a charge made by you and your mount. During a mounted charge, you deal double damage with your first melee attack made with a lance or with any weapon if you have Spirited Charge (or a similar effect), or you deal triple damage with a lance and Spirited Charge. This change will be reflected in future printings of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook posted Mar 26, 2014
So now, the mount and the rider can both attack during the charge. No Spring Attack required. With RBA, you and your mount just keep moving after your attacks. |