daimaru's page

207 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.

OK, a ten foot square, but... Here's the situation. We have a warpriest and a paladin and her large dog mount going down a 15 foot wide corridor that is too low for the paladin to ride. Can they all walk abreast? After all, if the paladin can ride her mount, she ought to be able to share its area.

Clearly, they would hamper or block each other in certain situations. If, for instance, they were warpriest - dog - paladin, and the warpriest was driven back by an enemy who moved up next to the dog, then the paladin is completely blocked from striking at him. (Of course, she couldn't anyway unless using a reach weapon as the enemy is ten feet away). Or if an enemy came at them from behind, the dog couldn't turn around without trampling one of the others.

I would think all three could attack an enemy directly in front of them.

But, as has often been noted, this is a game, not reality. So what do the rules say?

Apparently, a wizard can copy a scroll to their spellbook that is a higher level than they can cast. Can they then pay the price and write the spell back to a scroll? And then use the scroll? I would say no, because this would allow them to circumvent the limits on spell levels. Just hole up in town for a while and pass a bunch of lightning bolt scrolls around to the party. But maybe the price is considered a fair tradeoff?

Does it use up a scroll to attempt to write it into your spell book? I think I remember seeing something about this but can't find it. So if you succeed, is the scroll gone? If you fail, is it still gone? Thanks.

At 2nd level, can I take two ranks in a skill even though I didn't take one at first? I would think so.

"3rd Round: The strength and location of each aura."
Does this mean that on the 1st round you use this you don't know where the magical item is?

I'm trying to remember why I did something when I set up my warpriest 2 months ago. (Not ruling out a mistake.)

Level one warpriest (base attack bonus +0)
half elf
strength bonus +4

weapon focus +1
sacred weapon +?

For some reason, I gave the warpriest an attack bonus of +6. I have a note under FEATS saying "sacred weapon (warpriest) (level) +1" which seems to mean that I'm adding in his level as an attack bonus but now I can't find anything in the rules that says I can do this. Did I make a mistake?

What brings this up now is it'[s time to level up. (We only play once a month so I have plenty of time to forget things.)

For the first question, the Holy Strike does not stack with Holy Weapon, but I assume it does stack with Sacred Weapon, am I correct?
Secondly, Holy Strike gives a 1d6 bonus. Does this double to a 2d6 with a confirmed critical hit? I think so, just checking.

A zombie horde is a solid mass of clutching zombies and you have to fight the whole mass at once. But if it's forcing its way through a narrow door does it have to come through one at a time so you can fight it as individual zombies? Albeit LOTS of individual zombies?

If they DO have to break up, I would guess 9 + 2d6 individual zombies. My reasoning is that a zombie horde can take 110 HP damage before it breaks up into 2d6 individual zombies. I'm assuming that 110 HP of damage represents 9 normal 12 HP zombies that have been killed.

The alternative would seem to be that since a zombie horde takes up 30 feet of space, then it can't come through a narrow door and jams up against it while while our adventurers slash at it and back off for occasional healing.

Before the ACG came out today I heard rumors that the warpriest in the playtest was too powerful and was being nerfed. But I don't see it, am I missing something? Has anyone else seen differences?

OK, "A warpriest can select any two blessings granted by his
deity." The ACG has a nice long list of domains and blessings along with the god/desses that have that domain.

My question is, is this list exhaustive or in addition to those already listed elsewhere?

For instance, the ACG lists this under the Glory domain.

"Glorious Presence (minor): At 1st level, you can touch an
ally and grant it a glorious blessing. For 1 minute, the ally
becomes mesmerizing to her foes. This functions as sanctuary,
except if the ally attacks an opponent, this effect ends with
respect to only that opponent. This is a mind-affecting effect."

D20PFSRD, under Cleric, has this for the Glory domain.

"Touch of Glory (Sp): You can cause your hand to shimmer with divine radiance, allowing you to touch a creature as a standard action and give it a bonus equal to your cleric level on a single Charisma-based skill check or Charisma ability check. This ability lasts for 1 hour or until the creature touched elects to apply the bonus to a roll. You can use this ability to grant the bonus a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier."

So, do warpriests get the one and clerics the other? Can either one choose either one? Does Glorious Presence supersede Touch of Glory and clerics have to change?

I suspect the first, as for warpriests it's called a blessing and for clerics a granted power. Also, there's a difference in how often they can be used.

I'm sure this is the wrong forum for this, but can you import your own avatar or are you limited to ones Paizo provides? And, of course, if so, how?

One of our adventurers picked up some magical "colored pebbles" that no one in the party can identify and put them in her bosom. If these are ioun stones (we don't know yet) and she takes them out and shows them to someone does that count as "releasing" them? Will they start orbiting her head all on their own? And will they give her the bonuses even though she doesn't know what those bonuses are?

My thoughts are, "yes" to all of those but I wondered what people thought.

A kitsune in human form can be a different size than in fox form so what about their clothing? I would think that if a kitsune had to take time to strip, transform, and put on new clothing and larger armor the rules would say so, so at the very least I would assume all sized items would transform along with the kitsune.

So this brings up another question. A kitsune has only one standard human form so do they always come dressed in the same set of clothing when they take human form? If it's better clothing than the base adventurer's outfit does it have to be paid for? Probably, since presumably the armor does too.

Saw this on another thread and it interested me. Who qualifies for that trait? How do you get traits? Is it locked in by class or race? I found the Additional Traits feat, anything else?

"This special ability can only be placed on ranged weapons. A seeking weapon veers toward its target, negating any miss chances that would otherwise apply, such as from concealment."

"If you shoot or throw a ranged weapon at a target engaged in melee with a friendly character, you take a –4 penalty on your attack roll. "

This sounds like another example of a miss chance, which would be negated by a seeking weapon. (No -4 penalty). True?

"A kitsune can assume the appearance of a specific single human form of the same sex."

But I don't see anywhere that they are limited to their kitsune size. So I would think that a 5'6" 150 lb. kitsune could assume the appearance of a 6'0" 180 lb. human.

Am I right?

Sorry about all the questions, but I'm fairly new to Pathfinder, have never played a rogue, and just heard about the kitsune race a few days ago. :)

At second level, my kitsune rogue gains a rogue talent. Could I take a kitsune feat instead or is he forever limited to the rogue talent list and can never take a different feat?

"Kitsune with a Charisma score of 11 or higher gain the following spell-like ability: 3/day—dancing lights."

"Depending on the version selected, you create up to four lights that resemble lanterns or torches (and cast that amount of light), ...."

"A torch sheds normal light in a 20-foot radius and increasing the light level by one step for an additional 20 feet beyond that area (darkness becomes dim light and dim light becomes normal light)."

So my question is this. In the real world, four times the illumination will light up four times the area, meaning twice the distance. This would give normal light in a 40 foot radius if four torches were lit by the dancing lights spell. Does it work this way in Pathfinder?

A bite attack is a melee attack and gives 1 1/2 times your strength bonus to the damage. Is there a minimum or is 1 1/2 times zero still zero? (I'm afraid it is, but hoping. :) )

On a critical hit with bite is it just for a natural 20 (+ confirmation) and x2 or is there something else? I couldn't find anything about critical bites.

Can a kitsune in natural form make two attacks? One a bite and one with a shortsword? Any penalties with either?


One of our party has successfully tripped an attacker and I want to capture him. If I understand this, we have to grapple, pin, and tie him up.

If he is prone, tripped, does he still threaten nearby squares and do I provoke an attack of opportunity by attempting to grapple?

If I succeed in grappling, can I immediately roll again to see if he's pinned or does that take another round?

If it takes another round, can a -third- ally pin him while I have him grappled?

Do grappled and prone penalties stack to a -6 on CMD when attempting to pin him?

Once pinned, does it take yet another CMB to tie him up or do we just do it? What would the penalties be on an NPC prone, grappled by one character and pinned by another?

FYI, the only reason we can get away with all this nonsense is that the idiot attacked three tanks with a dagger. :)

If I am fighting a single opponent can I move from one square threatened by him to another threatened by him without provoking an attack of opportunity using normal movement? This would be an attempt to circle him and flank him. If not, can I use the 5-foot step to work my way around him?

A half elf cleric adds +1/3 to the amount of damage dealt or
damage healed when the cleric uses channel energy. A warpriest being a type of cleric, does s/he get the same bonus? It would seem reasonable. While we're at it, are favored class racial bonuses in addition to the +1 you get in hit points or skills?


As a level one warpriest I choose a falchion as my sacred weapon but can't afford to buff it up as a master work. Can I later buy a master work falchion and use it as my sacred weapon? Or am I limited to the original one?