writing scrolls with higher level spells than your own


Rules Questions


Apparently, a wizard can copy a scroll to their spellbook that is a higher level than they can cast. Can they then pay the price and write the spell back to a scroll? And then use the scroll? I would say no, because this would allow them to circumvent the limits on spell levels. Just hole up in town for a while and pass a bunch of lightning bolt scrolls around to the party. But maybe the price is considered a fair tradeoff?


No. You need to have "prepared" the spell to be placed in the scroll, and it uses up the appropriate spell slot.

If you don't have a 5th level slot, you can't prepare a 5th level spell, and hence can't make a scroll of that spell.


Short Answer - No

Long Answer with quote from the rules section on crafting scrolls: No because "The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires."

If you can't prepare the spell because it is too high a level, you cannot scribe it to a scroll.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
blahpers wrote:
Caveat: If you cooperate with another caster who can (and does) prepare the spell, you can make the scroll . . . or not, depending on which side of a longstanding debate your GM stands.

No you can't because of the specific requirements of the Scribe Scroll feat which state you must "KNOW" the spell you're scribing. Scribe scroll is not something you can employ cooperative crafting on. If you are a spontaneous caster who for some reason takes this feat, the spells you know are the ONLY scrolls you can ever scribe.


LazarX wrote:
blahpers wrote:
Caveat: If you cooperate with another caster who can (and does) prepare the spell, you can make the scroll . . . or not, depending on which side of a longstanding debate your GM stands.
No you can't because of the specific requirements of the Scribe Scroll feat which state you must "KNOW" the spell you're scribing. Scribe scroll is not something you can employ cooperative crafting on. If you are a spontaneous caster who for some reason takes this feat, the spells you know are the ONLY scrolls you can ever scribe.

This is simply untrue; there are a number of quotes by SKR floating around that specifically allow cooperative crafting of scrolls.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / writing scrolls with higher level spells than your own All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.