Search Posts
I'm thinking about rebuilding Jhod. My party already has a cleric of Erastil and he seems overly duplicative if I keep him as is. I'd even choose the same domains for him that my player has (law and community). But I'm having a hard time deciding which class to rebuild him as. I have a five person party: human sorcerer (destined bloodline), human cleric of Erastil, half-orc warpriest of Gorum, half-orc inquisitor of Gorum, and elf slayer. Therefore, I'm slightly disinclined to rebuild him as a warpriest or as an inquisitor. The other choices don't seem that exciting though. I don't like any of the oracle mysteries for the character. (Likewise for the shaman's spirits, since they're the same pattern.) Druid just seems off somehow, but maybe it would work? He'd have a hawk animal companion, I think, if I go that way. Part of me actually wants to go adept. It's a nerf, but I already have a five-person party and will largely be trying to keep the NPCs out of combat. Adept Jhod could serve on their council just as easily as Cleric Jhod. All that said, from a back-story perspective, given his troubled past, maybe inquisitor is best alternate fit? It has all the right skills to be a woodsman, and inquisitor seems like a good class to get caught up in the sort of trouble Jhod did. An inquisitor of Erastil seems like it shouldn't step too badly on the toes of an inquisitor of Gorum. Thoughts?
My brother's poor Lini had already rolled the dice for Geyser + Blazing Servant on a combat check when it occurred to me that I didn't think it worked. We took the results and moved on, and I said I'd asked the forums. The text of Blazing Servant says, in part, "You may play another spell on this check." Since it only adds to your check though, you would have to play it in part 3 of the Attempting a Check Sequence: Play Cards and Powers that Affect the Check. Playing the attack spell happens back in part 1, though: Determine which Skill You're Using. In order to use Blazing Servant with an attack spell, it would need to say "You may play this card even if you've already played a spell on this check" or something similar, right? Or am I overthinking this?
Is this card missing some once-per-turn language? Relevant part of the power: "Reveal this card on your turn and choose a category:boon or bane. Then examine the top card of your location deck. If that card matches your choice, encounter it." Can't you just reveal it, see what the card is, reveal again knowing which category to choose, and repeat until you've cleared a deck? Assuming that you can handle all of the relevant checks to defeat?
Two questions about Shield of Swings: 1) Shield of Swings lets you trade half your damage for a shield bonus to AC when full-attacking with a two-handed weapon. Trip, disarm, and sunder maneuvers are allowed to be substituted for the individual attacks of a full-attack. Rules-as-written, can you substitute out all of the attacks for maneuvers, dealing half of no damage, and get the shield bonus? 2) The SRD's definition of a full attack runs like this: "If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough (see Base Attack Bonus in Classes), because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon, or for some special reason, you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks. You do not need to specify the targets of your attacks ahead of time. You can see how the earlier attacks turn out before assigning the later ones." Can a character whose base attack bonus is not high enough and not fighting with two- or double- weapons declare that they are making a full attack if they otherwise follow the rules for full attack (no other actions except a five foot step)? This question is also known as "Is Shield of Swings useable before sixth level?".
Scenario: A character with a base attack bonus of one or more is tripped. On his turn, he announces that he is going to stand from prone as a move action, provoking an attack of opportunity. The opponent he provokes chooses to use the disarm combat manuever as the attack of opportunity, and successfully disarms the character. Utilizing the rule, "If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move", can the character now draw a second weapon as part of the stand from prone? Put another way, the "Stand Up" action is defined as "Standing up from a prone position requires a move action and provokes attacks of opportunity." Is this a "regular move" within the meaning of "Draw or Sheathe a Weapon" rule? |