![]() ![]()
![]() ShieldLawrence wrote: Yes. Specific rules trump general rules. The Step Up feat chain allows you to take 5ft steps when normally not allowed. You don't think the rules for 5 foot step are specific? KingOfAnything wrote: Specifically, Step Up "borrows" five feet of movement from your next turn. Much like an immediate action uses your swift action for your next turn. I understand it borrows 5 feet from their next movement, but should FIGHTER be allowed to take a 5 foot step THIS turn even though the rules specifically state he can't? On Round 2, would you allow Fighter to use Step Up again even though it says he can't take a 5 foot step this turn? ![]()
![]() Are you allowed to use the Step Up feat during the same turn that you take a move action? The rule on 5 foot steps (emphasis mine):
Spoiler:
from PRD wrote:
The Step Up feat:
Spoiler:
Quote:
Scenario:
At this point can Fighter use the Step Up feat during BadWizard's turn or not (since Fighter already moved this round)? Thanks. ![]()
![]() I think I'd side with the DM on these two issues. I could see the headless undead angel being immune to feint. BUT I see the argument for the other side as well. If his rulings bother you THAT much though, my advice would be to roll with it in game but afterwards state your case and back it up with whatever evidence you have and ask him to explain why he thinks Monster X isn't affected by Ability Y. A DM isn't obligated to follow the rules and can adjudicate things as he sees fit so you're probably fighting an uphill battle. As far as the spider swarm being immune to spells that require Will saves, I think if they're immune to the spell then the secondary effects would have no effect either. I don't think you have much of an argument there. ![]()
![]() wraithstrike wrote: Also you never answered my questions about how supernatural abilities work with regard to line of affect since you claim the spell rules for aiming does not matter. If the SU actually requires to be aimed then sure. You brought up dragon's breath earlier. Yes, line of effect blocks cones and lines, etc...Smite Evil doesn't require any 'aiming' because the Paladin isn't casting a spell or attacking... Heck, he doesn't even have to point his finger to Smite at someone... He just needs to see the object of his Smite and basically say "I choose you." (i.e. target that individual) Unfortunately, as I continue to point out, the Worm is immune from being targeted this way. The black raven wrote: Would he stand by his ruling if your character was a Good WtW Cleric targeted by an NPC Antipaladin Smite Good ? I'm not the OP but I would rule the same way whether it was good vs. evil or evil vs. good. There is an alignment restriction on Worms though so 'rules-wise' this would never occur. I'm curious- since a lot of you seem to think a Worm isn't immune to Smite Evil (which I believe is an effect- and a physical one), what effects would a Worm be immune to then?
![]()
![]() wraithstrike wrote:
Regardless of the whatever we want to say the wording is trying to say, a Worm is immune to any effect that targets an individual creature. This very sentence: "As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite" is the very definition of 'targeting an individual creature'... I made the point above: Would you allow a Paladin to Smite Evil against an evil swarm of Fine creatures? I would not. ![]()
![]() Matthew Downie wrote:
Using common sense, I wouldn't allow a Paladin to use Smite Evil against an evil swarm of Fine creatures either. ![]()
![]() Matthew Downie wrote:
The way it is written is "immune to any effect or physical spell which targets X number of creatures." To me, Smite is an effect (whether it's magical, physical, spiritual, etc..., or none of the above effects) that requires a target of one creature, therefore the Worm is immune. ![]()
![]() wraithstrike wrote:
Target would be the common dictionary term because Smite Evil has nothing to do with 'aiming magic'... Like I've pointed out numerous times before, for a paladin to Smite Evil he must choose a target he can see (so Line of Sight applies) and declare his smite. There's absolutely NO attack roll or spell effect roll or anything whatsoever to make at this point so the 'magic aiming' you bring up doesn't even apply since the paladin isn't 'aiming' anything... Since the Worm is immune to targeting like this per his entry, he is not Smite-able... So the buff that is on the paladin doesn't matter because the Worm was never smited in the first place... I'm not combining anything. I'm saying these "effect based aiming and target (magic aiming)" don't even apply since Smite Evil is not a Spell. Yes, it's a supernatural ability which is 'magical, but not spell-like' so all these 'spell' aiming rules you bring up wouldn't even apply. ![]()
![]() Matthew Downie wrote:
Worms That Walk are: "immune to any physical spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate)". Your first 'aspect' of smiting is now negated by the Worm's immunity to an "effect that targets a single creature". Unless of course you can point out a list of what exactly "physical effects" are somewhere in the rules.... ![]()
![]() You're implying that Smite Evil is a spell... It is not, so therefore magic rules and 'aiming' rules don't apply. If it is, please point me to the Smite spell's entry... The 'aiming' rules for Smite Evil are pretty clear in the ability's text: A target the paladin can see. Nothing more, nothing less. In the FAQ, when they say 'effect' you believe they are referring to the magic 'effect' listed in the rules. I think that is incorrect because Smite is NOT a spell. It's not even an attack (i.e. you don't make an attack roll when you declare a Smite). I believe they are just using the word 'effect' as in "this is something affecting this person (i.e. an effect)" and has nothing whatsoever to do with the magic rules. I see Smite as nearly similar to the Barbarian's rage. You wouldn't say that was a spell, would you? The difference between the two is that the paladin actually has to choose a target for his Smite (which the Worm would be immune). The Worm wouldn't be immune to the Barbarian's rage because the Barb doesn't need to choose a target to rage against... ![]()
![]() wraithstrike wrote:
Smite Evil is not a spell though. If anything it is a physical effect (whether it's on the Paladin's person or the Creature's person) that targets a single creature... Cripes it's in the text of Smite Evil:
I don't see how anyone can argue Smite Evil doesn't target an individual... It's right there in the text... Then you apply the Worm's ability:
Anyway, the beauty of all this is you can interpret it your way and I can interpret it my way and each of us can be right... ![]()
![]() wraithstrike wrote: The worms that walks even use disintegrates as an example when it says " effect that targets a specific number of creatures". Disintegrate however being a ray would fall under the "effect" method of aiming a spell or magical ability. Smite is not an effect that is aimed at someone. It is just a buff to the paladin. If smite was it's own attack like disintegrate was then smite would not work. I'm just going to have to disagree. Ok, Smite Evil is an effect on the paladin BUT the paladin STILL needs to target an individual for his Smite Evil attack. If he didn't need to target someone for a Smite Evil, every creature he attacks would suffer from Smite Evil then.Since that is NOT the case and the paladin MUST choose a target for his Smite Evil then the Worm's 'immune to individual targeted' ability kicks in and overrides the Paladin's smite. I picture something like this:
wraithstrike wrote: The only method of aiming that allows for an effect on a specific creature is the "target method. I'm not sure this is true... An "effect" as well allows this via rays (or maybe I'm not understanding what you're trying to say here). Disintegrate is an 'effect ray' and you need to aim that at a something to hit... And that's a specific example in the Worm's entry. wraithstrike wrote: Now someone is going to say that "smite" causes harm to the paladin's opponent, but that is not true. For smite to target someone and have an effect upon them they would be taking daamge upon being targeted, but they don't take damage until they are targeted and hit by an attack roll. Upon the "target of the attack roll" being hit they take extra damage. Disintegrate doesn't cause damage to someone when they are targeted either. The caster actually has to make an attack roll to hit because, you know, the caster has to actually target something... Which is pointed out in the Worm's entry as the Worm being immune... ![]()
![]() Arachnofiend wrote:
EXACTLY! The barbarian doesn't need to pick a target to rage against. If he did, the Worm would be immune to that as well... ![]()
![]() Seamstress_Druid wrote:
Seamstress_Druid, Sorry for not making it more clear but I was really trying to point out the part of "If the target of the smite evil...", not the particulars of who the target actually is. Wraith's argument seems to boil down to the Paladin is the target of his smite evil ability: wraithstrike wrote: Smite is on the paladin, and the paladin chooses who he wants to hurt with his weapon while using it. If that were the case, the text I pointed out within Smite Evil would make zero sense since the paladin needs to actually target someone for his smite, in which case, the Worm is immune... ![]()
![]() wraithstrike wrote:
So by your logic, since smite evil is NOT a physical effect targeting the worm than how do you explain the BOLD emphasis: Smite Evil: Once per day, a paladin can call out to the powers of good to aid her in her struggle against evil. As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite. If this target is evil, the paladin adds her Cha bonus (if any) to her attack rolls and adds her paladin level to all damage rolls made against the target of her smite. If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses. Regardless of the target, smite evil attacks automatically bypass any DR the creature might possess. Smite Evil is most certainly a physical effect targeting a single creature and since the Worm is immune to that, a Smite Evil attack has no effect on a Worm That Walks... ![]()
![]() NobodysHome wrote:
I'd say she is considered attacking since she has to make an attack roll to hit AC 10. ![]()
![]() At what point does the exponential power growth start? My players (I have 3 at them moment) and they are 8th level/Tier 2 and I haven't seen it yet. I would say my players are between average and above average with their optimizations and definitely very good players overall. They are about to enter the Drezen Citadel and so far Soltengrebbe completely kicked their ass, the vampire has one of them dominated, their army is just about to run out of food, the 'saboteur' has run amok and my players have no clue who it is. I have yet to use Scorpion's updated document and I haven't overhauled any encounters. I might change a spell or feat on a monster but that's pretty few and far in between. Wait- I lied- I did change the zombies in the Grey Garrison to be Gillamoor plague zombies from Classic Horrors Revisited (that was a fun little surprise for them). In other words, this AP has been pretty challenging to my players so far but I'm worried I haven't hit this power curve everyone is complaining about yet... ![]()
![]() Is Smite Good a spell or an effect that behaves differently according to alignment? To me, it looks like Smite Good is a Supernatural Ability that ONLY affects good alignments and doesn't say anything about behaving differently according to alignment. What would happen if a paladin Smited Evil on a neutral or good character? Absolutely nothing (i.e. there's no difference in behavior). Quote:
![]()
![]() I have a player who wants to craft adamantine full-plate and below is what I've gathered from the Crafting rules. Are my calculations correct? We have 4 steps:
2) Find the items DC from the table.
3) Pay 1/3 of the item's price in raw materials.
4) Make a Craft check. Ok- this is where I'm lost...
So with a weekly Craft (armor) check of 27, it will take my player 321 WEEKS worth of work to complete this single item. Does that sound right? Am I missing something? ![]()
![]() I've looked through most of the threads concerning the Master Craftsman feat but none of them answered my question. The feat says:
Quote:
I have a player in my campaign and he has the feats Master Craftsman, Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Items. For Master Craftsman, he chose Craft (Weapons) as his "Choose one Craft/Possession". For this player to create magical armor, does he now need to take Master Craftsman a second time and choose Craft (armor) in order to craft magic armor? Or does Master Craftsman (weapons) cover everything now?
![]()
![]() I think I'm going to houserule that smite evil from a non-mythic source doesn't bypass DR/Epic... That makes the most sense. On another note, I was thinking of having Staunton cast bull's strength and protection from good on Soltengrebbe before he sends the creature out. It should definitely be an interesting fight when it occurs. ![]()
![]() Spoiler: According to the encounter, Soltengrebbe is supposed to present a significant challenge to the PCs, but the PCs have an army of 100 paladins at their disposal.
What should I tell my players when they say, "We'll gang up on this monster with about 50 of these level 4 paladins." That will be about 50 Smite Evils which would then bypass Soltengrebbe's DR... If you've passed this encounter, did any of your players think of this? ![]()
![]() I'm running Trial of the Beast as a one-shot (and probably just the trial part). Some interesting things have happened thus far (we're on the eve of Day #2 and the party is currently in Hergstag). This is probably going to be kinda long... The party met the Crooked Kin and went into the forest to rescue Aleece. They met the Phase Spider and had a b*tch of a time. They did defeat it and to show proof that a Phase Spider killed Aleece they cut off the spider's head to show the Kin. So they went back to the Kin and one of them mentioned that the spider's head could be quite valuable in Lepidstadt. They travel on to Lepidstadt with the Kin but a mile away or so, the party tells the Kin "Go on without us, we'll catch up" (they didn't want to be seen entering the city with a bunch of freaks...). In Lepidstadt, they go to the University and drop off some books and meet Judge Daramid. The judge asks them to meet her later that night because she might have need for some assistance. The PCs had a few hours to kill so they decided to "let's sell this head". So a couple of them split up and the cleric (who possessed the head) was offered 10,000gp by an alchemist shopowner. SOLD! Meanwhile, in another part of town, the rogue was offered 15,000gp by a retired wizard. Well, when the rogue learned of this, he was not happy... He (with the druid as his hapless accomplice) devised a plan to steal the head from the shopowner. I won't get into the details of his plan or what happened but it basically involved the druid shapechanging into a dog and the rogue setting up some sort of 'playdate' with the shopowner's dog... Eventually, the rogue stole the head but was caught exiting out of the shopowner's back window. The druid (who's shapeshift ran out as the guards were questioning the rogue and shopowner) and rogue eventually got hauled to jail... End Session 1... Session 2 picks up with Daramid pulling a favor and getting the druid and rogue released from jail. The party meets with Daramid and are now embroiled in the trial. The next day, the party meets Kaple and the Beast. The Beast is uncooperative and Kaple suggests they meet with Elder Lazne in Morast before the trial starts tomorrow. The PCs travel to Morast and try to talk to Lazne. Unfortunately, they completely botch their Diplomacy roll and he's now hostile and slams his curtain on them. The barbarian decides to force his way into his hovel and intimidate him. Only the paladin had an issue with this. The party got the info they needed and headed to the the abandoned boneyard. There they found all the clues they needed and travelled back to Lepidstadt. End Session 2... Session 3 starts the morning of the trial day #1. The PCs are super excited to present the evidence they found and show the beast is innocent. The prosecution presented his case. Enter Elder Lazne who now sported a neck brace, a black eye, and his arm in a sling. The collective WTF from my players was music to my ears :). Anyway, the rogue (who had the best diplomacy) presented everything for the defense and did an excellent job (I think he missed only one check). Unfortunately, the prosecution, on cross-examination, questioned the rogue:
Needless to say, the rogue player pouted the rest of the session and never understood that Lazne was a vindictive d*ck. The party then travelled to Hergstag where they fought one of the wraithspawn and Brother Swarm. At the end of the session, they were still there. So that's where we're at currently... |