Glabrezu

a shadow's page

35 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




I originally thought this feat gave you an +2 dodge bonus for each -1 to penalty you take. So, in other words, if you take a -5 penalty you would get a +10 dodge bonus.

But after reading the mythic combat expertise feat I'm not so sure anymore.
The mythic feat says "Whenever you use Combat Expertise, you gain an additional +2 dodge bonus".

To use mythic combat expertise, it sounds like you first apply Combat Expertise (giving you -5/+5) and then, since this is the mythic version, it gives you an additional +2 for a total of -5/+7.

Thoughts?


Are you allowed to use the Step Up feat during the same turn that you take a move action?

The rule on 5 foot steps (emphasis mine):

Spoiler:
from PRD wrote:


Take 5-Foot Step
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.

The Step Up feat:

Spoiler:
Quote:


Step Up (Combat)
You can close the distance when a foe tries to move away.

Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +1.
Benefit: Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability. If you take this step, you cannot take a 5-foot step during your next turn. If you take an action to move during your next turn, subtract 5 feet from your total movement.

Scenario:
Round 1:
On Fighter turn, Fighter moves 25 feet and attacks BadWizard.
On BadWizard turn, BadWizard takes 5 foot step away from Fighter.

At this point can Fighter use the Step Up feat during BadWizard's turn or not (since Fighter already moved this round)?

Thanks.


I have a player who wants to craft adamantine full-plate and below is what I've gathered from the Crafting rules. Are my calculations correct?

We have 4 steps:
1) Find the item's price in silver.
16,500gp = 165,000sp

2) Find the items DC from the table.
The Craft DC is 10+armor bonus = DC 19.

3) Pay 1/3 of the item's price in raw materials.
16,500 * .33 = 5,445 gp

4) Make a Craft check. Ok- this is where I'm lost...
According to the rule, you make a Craft(armor) check against DC 19.
If the player Takes 10, they get a 27.
This check result succeeds so multiply it by the DC (27 * 19 = 513).
513 represents a single WEEK worth of work.
If 513 exceeds the price of the item in sp (165,000) then the item is completed. It doesn't.
So after one week of work, there is still 164,487 worth of work to go.

So with a weekly Craft (armor) check of 27, it will take my player 321 WEEKS worth of work to complete this single item.

Does that sound right? Am I missing something?


I've looked through most of the threads concerning the Master Craftsman feat but none of them answered my question.

The feat says:

Quote:

Master Craftsman

Your superior crafting skills allow you to create simple magic items.
Prerequisites: 5 ranks in any Craft or Profession skill.

Benefit: Choose one Craft or Profession skill in which you possess at least 5 ranks. You receive a +2 bonus on your chosen Craft or Profession skill. Ranks in your chosen skill count as your caster level for the purposes of qualifying for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Item feats. You can create magic items using these feats, substituting your ranks in the chosen skill for your total caster level. You must use the chosen skill for the check to create the item. The DC to create the item still increases for any necessary spell requirements (see the magic item creation rules in Magic Items). You cannot use this feat to create any spell-trigger or spell-activation item.

Normal: Only spellcasters can qualify for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Item feats.

I have a player in my campaign and he has the feats Master Craftsman, Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Items.

For Master Craftsman, he chose Craft (Weapons) as his "Choose one Craft/Possession".

For this player to create magical armor, does he now need to take Master Craftsman a second time and choose Craft (armor) in order to craft magic armor? Or does Master Craftsman (weapons) cover everything now?
How about crafting wondrous items?


Spoiler:
According to the encounter, Soltengrebbe is supposed to present a significant challenge to the PCs, but the PCs have an army of 100 paladins at their disposal.

What should I tell my players when they say, "We'll gang up on this monster with about 50 of these level 4 paladins."

That will be about 50 Smite Evils which would then bypass Soltengrebbe's DR...

If you've passed this encounter, did any of your players think of this?


We play on Friday nights (6:30-~11pm) in Winslow Township/Sicklerville. We have room for one player, maybe two. Although I'd prefer an experienced Pathfinder player, our group is open and friendly to new players and has taught quite a few.

If you're interested, please reply.
Thanks,
Steve