Cedona

Zane Pendergast's page

Organized Play Member. 12 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Thank you. This makes a bayonet a significantly more useful item than I would have initially believed.


If you are wielding a gun with a melee weapon attached to it via bayonet bracket, are you also considered to be wielding that melee weapon for the purposes of threatening adjacent squares? In other words, does attaching a melee weapon to a bayonet bracket just make it such that you can just make melee attacks with the gun it's on, or are you considered to be wielding both the melee weapon and the gun it's attached to in the same hand(s)?

Additionally, though slightly off topic, when the bayonet bracket description says, "If the attached melee weapon deals bludgeoning or slashing damage, you take a –2 penalty to attack rolls with it while it’s attached." Is that penalty to attacks made with the gun, the melee weapon, or both? I would think both.

I've been wondering about this since Armory came out, but only remembered it recently. The bayonet bracket description itself does not seem to give any hints on this topic.


I can't wait for this to release! If this has even half the things I hope it will, I am definitely going to run a Starfox-style campaign with it.


Bedside Manner is in Armory, and Miracle Worker is in Character Operations Manual.


I would think they do. I've never seen a general ruling in the Core Rulebook that states that a PC can't add a modifier twice to the same effect if each addition is coming from a different ability. Of course, you're only allowed to get both bonuses if you yourself are making the check, though you likely were doing that anyway.

It's good insurance too, because if you can beat the effective DC 25 (assuming you're using an advanced medkit), you heal HP equal to their level + your int modifier + twice your cha modifier + a boatload of dice more if you don't add your expertise die. Even if you somehow botch the check just enough to get between 20 and 25, you'll still heal their level + your cha modifier.


I would like some confirmation on how Solar Flare and Solar Shield are meant to scale, as I feel like I'm somehow misinterpreting it. Here's how I'm currently interpreting their wording:

Solar Flare Damage:

(This includes the bonus from the unique Weapon Specialization gained at level 3)
1st Level: 1d4
2nd Level: 1d4
3rd Level: 1d4+3
4th Level: 1d4+4
5th Level: 1d4+5
6th Level: 2d4+6
7th Level: 2d4+7
8th Level: 2d4+8
9th Level: 3d4+9
10th Level: 3d4+10
11th Level: 3d4+11
12th Level: 4d4+12
13th Level: 5d4+13
14th Level: 6d4+14
15th Level: 7d4+15
16th Level: 8d4+16
17th Level: 9d4+17
18th Level: 10d4+18
19th Level: 11d4+19
20th Level: 12d4+20

Solar Shield AC Bonus:

(For simplicity I've written the AC bonus as if it were any other shield)
1st Level: +1/+2 AC
2nd Level: +1/+2 AC
3rd Level: +1/+2 AC
4th Level: +1/+2 AC
5th Level: +1/+3 AC
6th Level: +1/+3 AC
7th Level: +1/+3 AC
8th Level: +1/+3 AC
9th Level: +1/+3 AC
10th Level: +1/+4 AC
11th Level: +1/+4 AC
12th Level: +1/+4 AC
13th Level: +1/+4 AC
14th Level: +1/+4 AC
15th Level: +1/+5 AC
16th Level: +1/+5 AC
17th Level: +1/+5 AC
18th Level: +1/+5 AC
19th Level: +1/+5 AC
20th Level: +1/+6 AC


I would like some confirmation on how Solar Flare and Solar Shield are meant to scale, as I feel like I'm somehow misinterpreting it. Here's how I'm currently interpreting their wording:

Solar Flare Damage:

(This includes the bonus from the unique Weapon Specialization gained at level 3)
1st Level: 1d4
2nd Level: 1d4
3rd Level: 1d4+3
4th Level: 1d4+4
5th Level: 1d4+5
6th Level: 2d4+6
7th Level: 2d4+7
8th Level: 2d4+8
9th Level: 3d4+9
10th Level: 3d4+10
11th Level: 3d4+11
12th Level: 4d4+12
13th Level: 5d4+13
14th Level: 6d4+14
15th Level: 7d4+15
16th Level: 8d4+16
17th Level: 9d4+17
18th Level: 10d4+18
19th Level: 11d4+19
20th Level: 12d4+20

Solar Shield AC Bonus:

(For simplicity I've written the AC bonus as if it were any other shield)
1st Level: +1/+2 AC
2nd Level: +1/+2 AC
3rd Level: +1/+2 AC
4th Level: +1/+2 AC
5th Level: +1/+3 AC
6th Level: +1/+3 AC
7th Level: +1/+3 AC
8th Level: +1/+3 AC
9th Level: +1/+3 AC
10th Level: +1/+4 AC
11th Level: +1/+4 AC
12th Level: +1/+4 AC
13th Level: +1/+4 AC
14th Level: +1/+4 AC
15th Level: +1/+5 AC
16th Level: +1/+5 AC
17th Level: +1/+5 AC
18th Level: +1/+5 AC
19th Level: +1/+5 AC
20th Level: +1/+6 AC


I was perusing through the fusions section earlier today, and I found some segments that may help answer some lingering questions. My thoughts on these matters can all be wrong though, as I am not a designer for the game.

baggageboy wrote:
If my ammo has a damage modifying fusion can on turn it on and off with a swift action as I can with a weapon? I've, actually I do want to hurt you with these merciful rounds, I'm gonna deactivate that fusion.
CRB p.191 wrote:
Any decisions that must be made when a fusion is added to a weapon are made when a fusion seal is created, and they can’t be changed.

I read this as, "If you added the fusion to a piece of ammo via fusion seal, the fusion's effect will always be considered active when you fire that ammo." Because the effect being active or not is a decision that can only be made when the fusion is on a weapon. Unless your GM is messing with you, nobody is going to craft a fusion seal that is permanently deactivated. However, if the fusion was applied directly to the ammo, you could turn it off. I don't see why you would want to do that though, as you'd effectively be throwing credits into the void, but you could.

baggageboy wrote:
Do you add fusions by individual pieces (the book mentions pieces) or by lot?
CRB p.192 wrote:
You can install a fusion into a grenade, a piece of ammunition, or another consumable item; such a fusion costs half the normal price of a weapon fusion for a weapon of the same level.

Given the section I bolded, I believe a fusion (and by extension fusion seal) can only be added to a single piece of ammo at a time, and not to the full box you would buy from your local arms dealer. While this is annoying, there is the caveat that it costs 50% less to install it.

baggageboy wrote:
Most of the ammos for basic weapons have an item level of 1. Does that mean I can't make holy fusions darts/shells/rounds?

I can't find a segment to clarify this, but I'd say this entirely depends on whether ammo is treated as "a weapon" for the purposes of all the other rules in the section.

baggageboy wrote:
Can any of the "once per day" fusions be placed on ammunition? If so, how does that interact with multiple lots having the same fusion. Or I have 50 darts with entangling, can I use 1 dart from each lot once per day so in total so I get 2 uses per day until I've used them all up?

Assuming I am correct about the segment I quoted earlier pertaining to 1 fusion (or seal) per piece of ammo, I would say that "once per day" fusions should be treated as "once per day per gun they're used in." This would then require you to either carry several guns, or simply hold off on firing all the pieces of ammo in one combat encounter.

I hope we can all derive some use out of what I found, but we still really need Mr. Pasini or somebody on the dev team to clarify all of this.


Your points all make a lot of sense and I do agree with them; however this still does not fully answer my main question: Do the various rules that say "treat your weapon as x levels higher when calculating HP" stack with each other?


I'm sorry if I sound presumptuous with this next question:
Is sundering somehow so rare of an action for PCs and/or NPCs to take in this game that nobody wants to aid me figuring this out?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

58. A collection of vidlogs that gradually become more corrupted and incomprehensible as you watch though the series. The vidlogs tell the story of a small group of humans that all appear to be members of some unknown religion or cult focused on living an ascetic lifestyle, upholding an rather disturbing level of cleanliness, consuming large quantities of water, and maintaining fear of corners.

Should the PCs watch through all the vidlogs, they begin to attract the attention of Hounds of Tindalos, which may periodically manifest through corners near them, and attack.


Recently I have been writing code for a program that calculates the HP, Hardness, and Saving Throw Bonus of a given piece of equipment when you input the equipment's level and type (weapon, armor, computer, etc). This has caused me to question how the crafting rules, and other effects that state they increase an item's effective level, do or do not stack.

Here is a list of things I would like some clarification on:
1: If a weapon was crafted by a PC and later imbued with the Durable fusion, do both benefits stack to grant a total of +7 to the effective level?
2: If a suit of armor was crafted by a PC and later had the Tensile Reinforcement upgrade applied, do both benefits stack to grant a total of +7 to the effective level? Though clearly given the way the upgrade is worded, it doesn't increase the armor's save bonus.
3: If a PC were to buy a weapon manufactured by Multifold Industries and then imbue it with the Durable fusion, would they use the Multifold Industries calculation method and still treat the effective level as 5 higher?
4: Does an item (that is not a weapon or armor) have to be described in its respective entry as "sturdy" for a GM to use the better HP and Hardness calculations, or is that simply at the GM's discretion?
5: In Armory it says it's possible for a PC to make weapons with the benefits of any Manufacturer listed. Does this mean it is possible for a PC to make a weapon with the benefit granted by Multifold Industries weapons? Would the item in question still gain the +2 bonus to its effective level?
6: If 1 and 5 are true, could a PC stack the benefits of making a weapon themselves, grant it gain the Multifold Industries trait, and imbue it with the Durable fusion, granting a total +7 to the effective level and the ability to use the Multifold Industries HP and Hardness calculations?

I ask these because I'd like to be able to account for them in my program, and also so I can give suggestions to players on how they can safeguard their favorite items against being destroyed.

Side note:
Has there yet been any sort of solid agreement on whether armor can be sundered? I tend to believe that it should be, following in the tradition of Pathfinder, but I'd like to have a solid confirmation about it.