Khonnir

Yonman's page

Organized Play Member. 75 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.




Moonlight Stalker Master (Combat)
You leave your opponents swinging at shadows while you slide elusively through the darkness.

Prerequisite: Int 13, Blind-Fight, Combat Expertise, Improved Feint, Moonlight Stalker, Moonlight Stalker Feint, Bluff 9 ranks, darkvision or low-light vision racial trait.

Benefit: While you have concealment, your opponents’ miss chance against you increases by 10%. If an opponent misses you due to your concealment, you can spend an immediate action to move 5 feet, this movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity and does not count as a 5-foot step.

So if your opponent has a full attack and he misses you on his first attack, you take a 5 foot step away from him and out of his threatened space does he lose the rest of his attacks on you?


So I understand that the enhancement bonus of the black blade goes up, but you can also increase it by using your arcane pool correct? Does it override the original bonus or does it stack?


Defensive stance States:
A stalwart defender can maintain this stance for a number of rounds per day equal to 4 + his Constitution modifier. At each level after 1st, he can maintain the stance for 2 additional rounds per day. Temporary increases to Constitution, such as those gained from the defensive stance and spells like bear’s endurance, do not increase the total number of rounds that the stalwart defender can maintain a defensive stance per day.

A belt of mighty constitution is considered a "permanent" increase after 24 hours?


Suppose Opponent A charges Opponent B.
Opponent C readies an action to move if Opponent B is charged.

So if Opponent C moves in between Opponent A and B, what is Opponent A's Charge outcome?


So, does trample work with Evasion since it's a reflex save?

Evasion (Ex)
At 2nd level or higher, a monk can avoid damage from many area-effect attacks. If a monk makes a successful Reflex saving throw against an attack that normally deals half damage on a successful save, he instead takes no damage. Evasion can be used only if a monk is wearing light armor or no armor. A helpless monk does not gain the benefit of evasion.

Trample (Ex)
As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category Smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check, it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature’s slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Str modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature’s trample attack is 10 + 1/2 the creature’s HD + the creature’s Str modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature’s descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature.


So I understand that each +2 headband has an associated skill that gives the wearer maximum ranks in it.

My question is does the same wearer get the additional skill points to spend from having the increased intelligence as well?

Headband of Vast Intelligence


Say an opponent is using dispel magic to counter your spell and another party member has a readied action to counter, can he counter the opponents dispel magic spell used to counter your spell?


Ectoplasmic Bonded Manifestation: When a spiritualist uses this ability and chooses ectoplasmic form, she gains an ectoplasmic shield that protects her without restricting her movement or actions. She gains a +4 shield bonus to Armor Class; this bonus applies to incorporeal touch attacks. The ectoplasmic shield has no armor check penalty or arcane spell failure chance. At 8th level, the spiritualist also sprouts a pair of ectoplasmic tendrils from her body. Once per round as either a swift or a standard action (spiritualist’s choice), the spiritualist can use one or both tendrils to attack creatures within her melee reach (using the attack bonus and damage dice of her ectoplasmic manifested phantom) or to manipulate objects. She can even use that action to have one tendril make an attack and the other manipulate an object, as long as that object can be manipulated with one hand. At 13th level, the phantom’s ectoplasm clings to the spiritualist like a suit of armor. This grants the spiritualist a +6 armor bonus to AC without imposing an armor check penalty, an arcane spell failure chance, or any reduction in speed. At 18th level, the spiritualist can take a full-round action to attack all creatures within her melee reach with her tendrils (using the attack bonus and damage dice of her ectoplasmic manifested phantom). When she does, she rolls the attack roll twice, takes the better of the two results, and uses that as her attack roll result against all creatures within her melee reach. If the better attack roll threatens a critical hit, the spiritualist chooses one target that she hit to confirm the critical hit against. The other attacks that hit are considered normal hits rather than critical threats.

So is this as if the Phantom was attacking? I.e. If the Phantom has weapon focus or improved natural attack (tentacles) could it increase everything or is it based off of the Spiritualist?


Where does the Upasunda insight bonus to AC come from?


So a fighter with an Intelligence of 8 gets hit with a maze. Am I correct in assuming that he can't escape for 10 minutes because he could never get a 20 on an ability Intelligence check?


SO i'm playing Strange Aeons the Adventure path and the party gets hit by a Haunt as detailed below:

CONDEMNATION OF FAILURE CR 13
XP 25,600
NE unyielding haunt (60-ft. radius)
Caster Level 13th
Notice Linguistics or Perception DC 25 (for affected creatures to be able to see the words begin to crawl and glow)
hp 26; Trigger proximity; Reset 1 hour

Effect When this haunt triggers, dozens of inscriptions begin to glow and project illusory vignettes of the failures they record. Each of the affected creatures sees one of its own failures, subjecting it to a crippling wave of regret and nihilistic despair. All creatures with an Intelligence score of at least 3 in the haunt’s area gain 1d4 negative levels (DC 16 Fortitude half).
Special Unlike most haunts, the condemnation of failure resists its victims’ attempts to neutralize it. It attempts a saving throw with a +15 bonus against any attempt to neutralize the haunt before it manifests. Any time the haunt succeeds at such a saving throw against an effect that would normally deal it damage, the haunt instead takes no damage.
Destruction The haunt is destroyed if Aeptolinu is dead and a nonevil creature casts atonement while inside the haunt’s area to purge it of its guilt.

It doesn't distinguish if they receive temporary negative levels or permanent, so my question is does it always start out as temporary? How do I interpret what these negative levels start out as?


Shadow Walk
Wind Walk

Do I understand this correctly that both of these spells basically give people an incredible speed whether it's overland movement or in combat movement?

Shadow walk is 50 miles/hour is 440 feet/6 seconds.
Wind walk is 60 miles/hour is 528 feet/6 seconds.

I have a group that is arguing that you have increased speeds even in combat.
If that's the case this spell is ridiculously overpowered.

Second, for Shadow Walk, are you essentially invisible to those on the Material plane when you're traveling on the shadow plane?

Does the shadow walk spell go from Point A to Point B and then end shunting them in a random direction or can you go back and forth between the material and the shadow plane without the spell ending?


Certain spells you need a move action to direct a spell such as Flaming Sphere.

Since it says "The sphere moves as long as you actively direct it (a move action for you); otherwise, it merely stays at rest and burns.", does this imply a caster can spend two move actions to move it up to 60 feet in one round?


Okay, what does an Arcanist lose when he dies with respect to his prepared spells and spell slots.

Death and Prepared Spell Retention (Arcane casters)
If a spellcaster dies, all prepared spells stored in his mind are wiped away. Potent magic (such as raise dead, resurrection, or true resurrection) can recover the lost energy when it recovers the character.

Nothing is listed for Divine spellcasters so I assume they retain the spells.

Raise Dead

I assume the following happens to these classes if resurrected by Breath of Life
1. Wizards = loses all spells
2. Sorcerers = loses all spell slots (from the reference of Raise Dead)
3. Divine casters = retains all spells

Raise dead
1. Wizards = 50% chance of losing each prepared spells
2. Sorcerers = 50% chance of losing each spell slot
3. Divine casters = retains all spells

So, big question. What happens to Arcanists? Do they lose their prepared spells AND their spell slots upon death?


Why is a Bhole's natural reach 60 feet?

Bhole


I saw that the Zygomind has the Entrap ability but what causes this Entrap to occur? i.e. is it a physical attack?


Touch Treatment (Su)
At 3rd level, the mesmerist can help allies shake off harmful conditions—especially those that affect their minds—by channeling psychic energy through his healing hands. He can use touch treatment a number of times per day equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier. Using the ability is a standard action (or a swift action if the mesmerist uses it on himself ), and the mesmerist must be able to touch his target. He can remove one condition from one target each time he uses this ability. At 3rd level, he can remove any condition on the minor conditions list. At 6th level, he can remove any condition on the minor or moderate conditions list, and at 10th level, he can remove any condition on the minor, moderate, or greater conditions list.

If you cast it on yourself are you always considered to be touching yourself?


Possession spell

It says you retain the natural abilities and automatic abilities of the creature. What constitutes "natural" and "automatic"
You don't get more attacks with more limbs, I would assume that is "natural".


Does this require a standard action to use or is it just like looking through an object.

Could a fighter still fight while looking through one?


Dimension Door states: If you arrive in a place that is already occupied by a solid body, you and each creature traveling with you take 1d6 points of damage and are shunted to a random open space on a suitable surface within 100 feet of the intended location.

So if you're on the 2nd floor of a building, could it conceivably teleport you onto another floor?


Crane Wing

If you hit with a natural 20 and your critical confirmation roll is 4 less than needed to hit, does the attack miss or not confirm? I’m confused what actually happens.


So a phantom can use magic items and I researched that it the items drop to the ground when it goes incorporeal or when manifested in the spiritualist's consciousness.

However, what about when it is in ectoplasmic form and it phase lurches through walls? Do the items drop to the ground again? That brings more questions if it can carry a creature or a bag of gold can it phase lurch through the wall?

Phase Lurch (Su)
A phantom in ectoplasmic form has the ability to pass through walls or material obstacles. In order to use this ability, it must begin and end its turn outside whatever wall or obstacle it’s moving through. An ectoplasmic phantom can’t move through corporeal creatures with this ability, and its movement speed is halved while moving through a wall or obstacle. Any surface it moves through is coated with a thin, silvery mucus that lingers for 1 minute.


Inspire Greatness (Su): A bard of 9th level or higher can use his performance to inspire greatness in himself or a single willing ally within 30 feet, granting extra fighting capability. For every three levels a bard attains beyond 9th, he can target one additional ally while using this performance (up to a maximum of four at 18th level). To inspire greatness, all of the targets must be able to see and hear the bard. A creature inspired with greatness gains 2 bonus Hit Dice (d10s), the commensurate number of temporary hit points (apply the target’s Constitution modifier, if any, to these bonus Hit Dice), a +2 competence bonus on attack rolls, and a +1 competence bonus on Fortitude saves. The bonus Hit Dice count as regular Hit Dice for determining the effect of spells that are Hit Dice dependent. Inspire greatness is a mind-affecting ability and it relies on audible and visual components.

Do these bonuses HD apply as racial HD? So they get all of the respective bonuses for increased HD such as BAB, saves, skill points, etc?

I would like to know how this is handled, I searched and didn't seen to find a consensus.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So if you are taking a standard action to concentrate:

1. Do you have to have line of sight or effect with the spell or the target?
2. Do you have to make concentration checks if you take damage?


Pretty simple how far do you sink when you fail a swim check in water? There is no reference to it that I could find.


Tome Eater

I'm a little confused how the Bonded Tome ability works with respect to Focus Powers.

What does it mean that the occultist has to "Split" it's Mental focus. Does that mean he can only have on Implement activated at a time?
How does that work if he has 9 Mental Focus and only puts 4 in one implement, can he switch to a different one later?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello everyone, does anyone have a map I can use for my players that shows the Parchlands.

"The Parchlands is an exceptionally dry desert located in Casmaron, south of the Whistling Plains. Several groups of nomads skirt its perimeter but avoid the interior, due to powerful taboos and fear of the resident territorial girtablilus and ash giants. The only settlement within the Parchlands is accursed and abandoned Neruzavin, originally built by the flying polyps, located approximately 230 miles from its northwestern corner."

But I need some kind of reference from where Qadira is located.


So a Strangler class lists that you lose Unarmed Strike and Brawler's Fury class features. Strangler

As listed in the Brawler class feature Unarmed Strike Class feature

So, doesn't this mean that the Strangler looses improved unarmed strike Feat in addition to the increased unarmed strike damage progression?


Since this is an immediate action, do you know if the attack is mind-affecting or not before you get affected by it?


Here's the situation:
PC casts shocking grasp with free hand and has shortsword in other hand.
Moves up to attack. End of round 1
Round 2 - PC attacks with shocking grasp and hits. Then says he wants to use his extra haste attack to attack with is short sword.

Isn't that considered to be two-weapon fighting? If so his full attack would needed to have been a two-weapon fighting with his spell hand and his shortsword from the beginning correct?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Anyone have some good high quality online maps to use in platforms like Roll20 and Foundry VTT? I need the rest of Books 5 and 6 for Strange Aeons.
I prefer Player made maps over the low quality ones in the handouts if anyone knows some good sources


Anyone have good maps for online play like role20 or Foundry for Books 5 and 6?
I would prefer player made maps as they're more detailed and the resolution is better.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I was under the impression you cannot grapple more than one opponent at the same time.

But the Grabbing Drag Style and Grabbing Master Style style Feats imply that you can.

Comments?


Here's a link to the Archivist replacement abilities: Bard Archivist

2nd level- he gets Lore Master that replaces versatile performance but he can take a 20 on Knowledge checks once per day, plus once per six levels beyond 2nd. I assume this modifies the normal Lore Master ability and not fully replaces it.

5th level - he gets Jack of all trades essentially earlier and it replaces Lore Master?

So, at 2nd level the Archivist essentially has both the Archivist ability to take a 20 and the normal Bard Lore Master abilities to take a 10. But at 5th level he is only left with the ability to take a 20?

Can someone clarify this progression?


Anyone have a map that's made for the Invaders from Leng? I need something that can be used where the PC's can encounter them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So it says in the Intense Spells ability:
Whenever you cast an evocation spell that deals hit point damage, add 1/2 your wizard level to the damage (minimum +1). This bonus only applies once to a spell, not once per missile or ray, and cannot be split between multiple missiles or rays. This bonus damage is not increased by Empower Spell or similar effects. This damage is of the same type as the spell. At 20th level, whenever you cast an evocation spell you can roll twice to penetrate a creature’s spell resistance and take the better result.

What about damage over time spells or spells that require a chance to hit to do damage? Is it a one time additional damage or for each time it takes damage?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

So I know there are avalanche rules.
Avalanche

But what about digging your way out?
Also, can you breathe?


Simply put, according to the summary chart for Witch advancement, at 10th level you get a Hex, and a Major Hex.

Is this correct or do you just get a Major Hex?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So what is the purpose of the Pull (Ex) ability if a grappler always pulls you to an open space?

Grapple:
As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe, hindering his combat options. If you do not have Improved Grapple, grab, or a similar ability, attempting to grapple a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll. If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition. If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails). Though both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target. If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold. If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds. Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).

Pull:
A creature with this ability can choose to make a free combat maneuver check with a successful attack. If successful, this check pulls a creature closer. The distance pulled is set by this ability. The type of attack that causes the pull and the distance pulled are included in the creature’s description. This ability only works on creatures of a size equal to or smaller than the pulling creature. Creatures pulled in this way do not provoke attacks of opportunity and stop if the pull would move them into a solid object or creature.

So, what is the point of this ability?


I now that Immediate and swift action spells do not provoke attacks of opportunity, but can you cast these spells while grappling without having to make a concentration check?