![]()
![]()
![]() I'm not totally sure what the deal with rerolling initiatives was, as the page Choon linked to seemed to clearly say highest mod goes first, in which case Bruno would have been up first. OGC wrote:
![]()
![]() Taking the -4 and then negating your bonus effectively gives you only the more severe penalty, not both. If you have 5-15 dex, you'll lose 2 points from your AC. If you have higher than that, you lose more while pinned, but wont end up with a negative dex modifier. The penalties would apply in the same way to your CMD, yes, which makes a certain amount of sense. It doesn't matter all that much how nimble an opponent is if you have their arms and legs locked— at that point you're down to mostly brute strength. ![]()
![]() Reading through the linked thread as well as the grappled/pinned conditions again, it appears that at some point the 'flat-footed' text was errata'd to 'denied dex bonus'. I was getting the former from this site, which seems out of date (I hadn't been there before either, it just came up first on google). So, we know the official text is 'denied dex bonus', but I'm not positive about the intention. Looking into some of the points raised in the thread Rolg posted, it does seem rather silly to have one's pinned dex bonus be lower than that of someone grappled. I think I'll rescind my earlier ruling, however, and say that pinned does deny you all dexterity bonus (it makes a certain amount of sense, really). This happens after and on top of the -4 penalty from being grappled (which you also are, to my knowledge), so if you had only 12 dex to begin with, you'll end up with a penalty. This does make escape-artisting more difficult once pinned, but I believe that also makes sense, being pinned means you're rather past the point of wiggling away easily. ![]()
![]() First of all, both of you, goddamn excellent sportsmanship. Secondly, the rules seem to be wildly inconsistent on the matter of pinning and dexterity bonuses. SRD / OGC wrote: A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions. A pinned creature cannot move and is denied its Dexterity bonus. A pinned character also takes an additional –4 penalty to his Armor Class. A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell. Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack. Pathfinder Quick Reference Document wrote: A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions. A pinned creature cannot move and is flat-footed. A pinned character also takes an additional –4 penalty to his Armor Class. A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell. Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack. See the weirdness? Due to the wording in the following sentence, specifically the word 'additional', I believe the intent was to have the loss of dexterity only apply to AC. ![]()
![]() To the best of my knowledge, each of the combatants provoke an attack of opportunity for leaving Gin's threat range. Since Gin specified that he would swing at Vatale if possible (and it was possible), he takes the AoO on Vatale. I'm curious about how combat reflexes would work with this, whether it's possible to take two AoOs against a fleeing opponent and his mount. Will research. ![]()
![]() To the best of my knowledge, a character's illegal movement isn't 'resolved' until the end of their turn. If someone can link me to the page on this, I would appreciate it, as I was having trouble finding the exact rules on illegal movement. Either way though, there being literally no way to jump and attack an opponent seems quite dumb, no matter how RAW we're attempting to stay. ![]()
![]() Woah woah woah, if Bruno is totally dead then the fight is over, but if he's merely unconscious Esmeralda certainly is still going to get in the way of that coup de grace. Also, there is (as far as I know) no special provision against hitting a charging opponent with an attack of opportunity. If someone can point me to one, that'd work, but otherwise Bruno gets an attack against BASHA from the charge. ![]()
![]() Vironus Only:
When Tri first attacked you (when you had your shield up), you say he missed with a 25. I'm not sure where you got all that AC from, as a tower shield is only +2, and the cover did not apply. Also, yes, step up does not apply to your opponent's move actions, only 5-ft. steps. There was a lot of stuff going on here, though it seems you've mostly played through it, so please highlight anything that needs a definitive ruling! ![]()
![]() It does appear to be a common technique, and I haven't much questioned it thus far, but honestly I am having difficulty finding anywhere it says that it's allowed to threaten one area with two hands and another using one of the same two hands. It seems as though at the end of Rolg's turn he would need to make the decision to take one hand off of his hammer (opening up his gauntlet to threaten his immediate area). Taking a hand off of a weapon's haft is a free action, but free actions are not allowed during an opponent's turn (in order to adjust the weapons to threaten them). It does appear that Rolg needs to choose between the 5-10 ft. threaten and the 10-15 ft. threaten for each of his opponent's turns (on his own turn, however, Rolg could change his handedness as part of any other action, allowing him to essentially threaten both areas). All of this said, literally the exact effect Rolg has been trying for with the gauntlets would work with armor spikes, and it is my assumption that if Rolg hadn't thus far been allowed to use his gauntlets, he would certainly be using spikes. If Rolg is alright with it, we can play out this battle using the hand-swapping rule, but in Rolg's defense he has used the gauntlet in every bout so far, and the exact effect is replicable with a very minor equipment change, so I can see the reasons for proceeding as though he has armor spikes instead of the gauntlet. Also, in regards to the Roc discussion, Rolg actually often takes up at 10 ft. cube. ![]()
![]() I'm not positive about B14 being cover, since technically a line from the bottom-right corner of E11 to the top-left of B14 does not pass through a barrier (it just touches a corner). I'll look somewhat into it. EDIT: Based off of the chart here, and the explanation of why the rogue does not have cover from the ogre, I believe that B14 gives no cover from rolg in DE1011. ![]()
![]() The pillars are frictionless and unable to be used for mid-air maneuvering. Zouh actually only was hit for 37 cold damage. Criticals retain their original damage rolls and simply add the extra dice onto that, as opposed to re-rolling all dice. I don't believe Elinora is detectable as evil in any way, and also I don't think Zouh has pouncing abilities. ![]()
![]() I think there may be some confusion about who started where (likely because Zouh's profile name begins with an A). The name of the gladiator themselves determines starting location, so Elinora began in A11. Eli, I'm assuming any actions you took that referenced the other side to be mirrored. Zouh Only: Please make a perception check. ![]()
![]() SRD wrote:
![]()
![]() >.<;; Yes, I do mean gnasher. And I do believe it should, to promote things moving along as efficiently as possible and discourage people from jumping into the pits if they don't have the time to finish the fights. The nice thing about the rules being in the campaign tab is that they can be changed around in a single location, and anyone can read it for the latest rulings. I think I'll add a section on arena freeze. For now, let's say that if he hasn't posted by midnight tonight he misses the turn, at noon tomorrow he forfeits. ![]()
![]() Official Arbiter version of what just happened, because there were some edits and mind changes and things got confusing. BASHA started in A11, then moved forward to E11 (directly in front of Vironus), while getting angry and drawing a sword. Vironus, feel free to edit or re-post based on these actions. You must keep your attack and damage rolls if attack and damage are rolled. ![]()
![]() Well fought, you two :D I should probably point out that nobody can leave the arena itself until one of them is straight up dead, so I'm going to assume this polite conversation occurs after combat is over. Since there are variables (due to various class or item choices) that can affect a match even after unconsciousness, a fatality is required (though for this fight I'll just assume it happened, and politely :P). ![]()
![]() Trihedron, the harshness of a trip AoO on movement completely using up the movement action has been noted, I will search around and see if I can find more concrete rulings on the expenditure of actions when interrupted (especially if there remains a potential way for the action to occur in some capacity, in this case by crawling). I should point out that if you (Trihedron) did use up your move action (but failed to move), this would not activate the 'has moved in some way' clause that prevents 5-ft. steps, so if Trihedron used an action to stand, he would still have a 5-ft. step remaining as a possible option. Not much less harsh, but good to note. In this case, I ruled that the AoO occured in I16, since you could conceivably have moved in some way other than a straight line (though at the time Trihedron did not know that his enemy was right next to him, so it's doubtful that he would have). It is my assumption that if a character does not give explicit directions to their target square, they are moving in a straight line. |