|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Saros Palanthios wrote:For the purposes of the rules forum, a rule to houserule, which is what you're citing, is pointless, because it's not an answer to what the rules require. Such discussions belong in advice or general discussion threads. Here the answer is either (1) this is what you do, see pg XXX, or (2) ask your GM, there is no rule.Angel Hunter D wrote:We dont have a GM here, that entire argument doesn't work.
Are we not all GMs and/or players, here to discuss how to run/play the game properly? Or are we just arguing for argument's sake?
My only point is that saying something like "according to the Rules, only things with the Disrupt tag can possibly disrupt an action, and nothing else can, ever" is idiotic, not least because the same set of Rules explicitly tells you to "work with your group to find a good solution, rather than just playing with the rule as printed".
So a Monk with Stand Still feat has someone move out of the threatened square and they get to take a reaction. In theory the reaction to make a strike should then happen. If a non-crit then just damage, if a crit there is an disrupt and they aren't able to move and lose the action.
The distinction here is when they exit the square (valid trigger) then you get to do a strike. If we're following the logic presented here that the action doesn't get stopped/halted or whatever you want to call it, through a reaction, the person could simply finish their move and be out of range of the Monk when we now are saying they can react. We know that isn't true because then what's the point? The reaction should get to finish resolution first.
The order has to be Action declared and taken/in process of happening (movement) -> Ready Trigger gets met -> Reaction happens and is resolved (including any disrupts) -> Action (if possible) finishes but if not possible doesn't finish. Otherwise what is to prevent a move action simply moving out of the range of Stand Still and making it an irrelevant power?
Reading some of these interpretations here would mean that if your Stand still non-crit killed someone as they were leaving a square they should still be able to complete finishing their move, scooting their corpse along the floor because you can't disrupt it with just an non-crit Stand Still hit, the same if they were finishing a spell? Pathfinder 2.0 Weekend At Bernie's y'all.
I don't think that makes any sense from the reading of the rules.
Page 462 of CRB states:
When its trigger is satisfied—and only when it
is satisfied—you can use the reaction or free action, though
you don’t have to use the action if you don’t want to.