Senji975310's page

20 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


That's the point. It doesn't say if causing the spell to take effect is a mental action.

Delayed Consumption At any point during the duration of this extract, you can cause the companion extract to take effect as an immediate action.

I wanted to use this extract of Freedom of Movement as immediate action when a character got paralized, but our GM dasagreed. The point is "can cause the companion extract to take effect as an immediate action" is not defined wheather or not it takes any movement, hense it's up to gm to decide.

Is there any rule that says if immediate action or Delayed Comsumption can be used while paralized?

I agree with Sundakan.
1) Without loosing actions, the spell is too weak for it's level, especially considering monsters are forced to use their weekest and numerous SLAs, which they probably won't use at all in their first and probably the last battle with PCs. Even moster failing one will save would be a luck to the witch.
2) Insanity also have instantaneous effect, even though spell continues to affect target forever.
3) The spell does say that it it causes all creatures to use up one or more of their magical abilities. It's a huge difference compared to expending one ore more of their magical abilities with the spell.

The spell would benefit from clarification from game designers.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can mentally direct the recipient to move up or down as much as 20 feet each round; doing so is a move action. You cannot move the recipient horizontally, but the recipient could clamber along the face of a cliff, for example, or push against a ceiling to move laterally (generally at half its base land speed).
The spell seem to indicate that the subject of levitate is not stuck in one-dimensional movement pattern, so, yes, mage can move him. But if you want to be all precise and technical, then only rogue can move himself horizontally, so, no, mage cannot move him.
Your choice.

As for AoO, "Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents.", I would say that "being moved out of a threatened square" is not the same as "moving out of a threatened square", mostly because moved character does not turn his back on opponents or lower his guard, or even lose his actions. Of course there might be some penalties for fighting while being carried, but i can't find any.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Sticky bomb: The effects of the alchemist's bombs are persistent and continue to damage creatures for 1 round after the initial damage. Creatures that take a direct hit from a sticky bomb take the splash damage 1 round later. Bombs that have effects that would normally occur 1 round later instead have those effects occur 2 rounds later. An alchemist must be at least 10th level before selecting this discovery."

Having looked thoroughly at forums, i still can't find a definite answer if the first sentence is a rule or a general description.
If the designers wanted for it to be a rule, simple "However" or "But" at the beginning of the second sentence would remove confusion.

Also, if the alchemist damages target with 3 bombs in one round with Fast Bombs discovery, does the target suffer triple splash damage in the next round, or does it suffer one splash damage each round for 3 rounds. "Bombs that have effects that would normally occur 1 round later instead have those effects occur 2 rounds later."

The phoenix didn't interrupt line of charges, just did lots of walls. and the GM is quite mersiful since he let us escape.

The fact that Resist Energy is not depletable is a great revelation, thanks, Harley Quinn X.

Hello. Last game, we have been given quite a thrashing from phoenix. Despite our Communal Resist Energy, it burned through it, and depleted it really fast.

I suspect one of the big problems can be that apparently it can cast Wall of Fire into mid-air as quick action at will, it blocks line of sight.

Also, because we use large size mounts, a wall does 2d4 damage because it "sends forth waves of heat, dealing 2d4 points of fire damage to creatures within 10 feet."
"In addition, the wall deals 2d6 points of fire damage + 1 point of fire damage per caster level (maximum +20) to any creature passing through it."
"If you evoke the wall so that it appears where creatures are, each creature takes damage as if passing through the wall."
Can it do 2d4 + 2d6+1/level damage at the same time because creature is large, even though fireball cannot?

Certainly looks like a dedicated parent build if you want to make your familiar self-reliant, and eventually free him into the world.

However, it's still just a familiar, exposing it to a battlefield is a bad idea. Most games have rule "A familiar can't kill anything if it doesn't participate in battle." If it were up to me, i would always keep it tucked behind my shirt.

Can't find any undead with possession ability. Are you sure it's and undead creature you want to cast out of another's body? May be it's an outsider?

If an undead caster invades a living body with Magic Jar, i would say he will share that creature's abilities, creature type, weaknesses, and immunity to Command Undead feat.

A witch familiar precisely says that her familiar would use witch rules for familiars, not those provided by other classes. So tumor familiar won't add new abilities to witch's familiar.

I have no idea how it would stack with wizard's familiar, but i'm pretty sure any GM would allow a familiar to have additional ability to meld with it's master and have fast healing if player will choose Tumor Familiar discovery.

Generally it is better to discuss your character design with your GM, and let him know what kind of character you want to create, and that you do not seek to break the game.

I don't believe there was ever a call to choose familiar class feature from different classes, so naturally rules are hazy on that one.
I'm curious however, what is your character design?

Actually, i have read the description again, and it seems that i only found those contradictions because i believed Shadow Walk was an analog to Wind Walk, while in truth it is something like a subway train or a transpot tube from futurama.

The spell says "In the region of shadow, you move at a rate of 50 miles per hour", it doesn't say "you can move", "you may move", or "you have land speed of 50 miles per hour". It says "you move 50 miles per hour", implying that you have no choise if you deside to use that spell. And even thought you cannot see terrain or areas, or judge distance (just like in subway), you still arrive at the desired location more or less.

The description of the spell says "you can't make out details of the terrain or areas you pass over during transit, nor can you predict perfectly where your travel will end.".
If one can't see the terrain or areas, what is there left to see?

But as if that was not enough, the spell states that "It's impossible to judge distances accurately". Whut?
So, even if the caster somehow manages to walk blindly in a straight line (which is impossible), even then he can wind up in the opposite direction, 2 or 3 times further from desired destination.

Then description says that "when the spell effect ends, you are shunted 1d10 x 100 feet in a random horizontal direction from your desired endpoint". So, basically, the user appears where he wanted. Well, that's confusing... If at the end of the spell, the user appears at where he wanted, is there any point walking to desired destination? Can he just cast the spell and then end it on the very next round, appearing at the desired destination?

It seems like my alchemist just wasted money on that Elixir of Shadow Walk when i desided to exploit the trick with Alchemical Allocation.

Hey! So, we are using wild magic optional rules, but rolling the d100 dice and looking up the roll in wild magic chart takes a bit long time.

Plus, some of the effects in that chart are just lame, like summoning a musical instrument, so i wanted to replace some effects with my own and present it to gm for approval.

May be some experienced players know of something like this?

I can't seem to find this question on any of the threads here, and i don't see rules answer that question either. I'm saddened by the loss of my beloved roc companion, but that does bring a question.
When i replace my companion, would a new small cat companion will have the same feats from my previous companion, like Hover feat..., or can i pick completely new feats and skills when i replace a companion.
If i could choose new feats, then it would give lots of versatility, practically allowing to change feats and skills every 24 hours. I could choose weapon finesse for a small cat, and then replace this feat when i would take big cat at 7th level.
But than again, what about Hover feat?

Bob Bob Bob wrote:
will never break SR from a wand

Yeah, i forgot that penetrating SR with a wand is almost impossible.

Bob Bob Bob wrote:
Also they just get to keep saving until they make it.

Actually Hideous Laughter offers only 2 saves, but yeagh it's not the best SoL spell, i offered it as an example for penetrating will save.

Bob Bob Bob wrote:
Persistent Blindness is a much better comparison... but doesn't generally do much to help you hit or land a save or suck/die. It helps protect you from the monster but it doesn't make the monster weaker to you (generally).

Blindness greatly helps to hit an enemy since they lose dex bonus to AC, and additional -2 penalty to AC. It doesn't need to help land save or suck spell, it is save or suck spell, you can make full attack against an enemy and than make 5-foot step, once the beast figures what you are doing, it will still have to guess on which of 3 squares you stand, and after that it still have 50% miss chance. Or you can shoot the victim safely from range. Of course it can try to escape with half speed, but so can do the victim of Enervation.

Bob Bob Bob wrote:
Tanglefoot bag is also good... but doesn't damage the opponent, make them more likely to fail anything but a reflex save (the least useful), and uses up your standard action for a minor debuff a level 1 barbarian has a good chance of removing in a single hit.

It's not a job of the caster to damage opponents, 12,5 damage can never compare to average 80 damage a warrior with two-handed sword does on 10th level. But penalty to attack is almost the same as Enervation penalty, and -2 penalty to AC helps warrior to defeat it faster, therefore reducing damage he will take until opponent is defeated. But yes, opponent can scrap away the goo, although it would take one of his attacks. It woulf be the first attack if warrior will make 5-foot step.

My bad, i calculated the attack and save penalty wrong.

But still, even if touch attacks are better than targeting worst save (for large opponents), but even if it's guaranteed to hit, it's not with a 4th circle spellslot slot to waste. Metamagically Persistent Blindness or Hideous Laughter have better chance of penetrating enemy saves than Enervation + cleric's save or lose spell, and it doesn't require two spells.

Or delay action + wand of Ill Omen could do the trick for cleric's save or lose spell, they would get worse penalty, and this spell can't fail on natural 1 like touch attack.

If you want to make enemy brutes weaker, Tanglefoot Bag is better and much cheaper than 4th circle spellslot, it can glue opponents to the floor or make flying creatures drop like stones on failed save, but even if they succed on save, it bestows penalty of -2 to attack, -2 to AC, seems better than -2.5 to attack from Enervation. For stacking, use net next round.

And stacking thing, Fireball also stacks with itself and with party damage.

I'm looking for ways to optimize my sorcerer, and i see that in guides to sorcerers and wizards that people write, they rate Enervation (4th circle) as a very effective single target debuff/blast spell.
Why? It has no save, but requires a touch attack which has pretty much the same chances to affect the target. The average 2.5 negative levels that spell bestows, only give 2,5 points penalty to attack, 2,5 points penalty to worst saves, and 12,5 hp damage.
This spell stacks with itself, but so does hit point damage. Save or lose spell like Stinking Cloud, or Blindness/Deafness, or even Ear-Piercing Scream seem more effective to me.

Someone said wrote:
When you start your turn using Stealth, you can leave cover or concealment and remain unobserved as long as you succeed at a Stealth check and end your turn in cover or concealment.

The text seems pretty clear to me. Yet, there is no mention of what happens afrer your turn when monster walks around the cover.

Goblin rogue in my campaign have +24 stealth on check, and its kind of annoing that even if he is surrounded by monsters, if he stands next to a street pole, he can just make 5-foot step to hide. Even at -10 penalty for doing it in combat, he is pretty good at it.
Still, it looks kinda cheesy, even if he is surrounded, or monster walk around the cover, rogue remains invisible. Am i missing some rule?

Thanks, i guess it will make sense at 11th level when i hope my paladin will have full 6 attacks. For now, at 6th level i only have 2 attacks, which is enough for 10 rounds of uninterrupted combat with 20 arrows of particular kind.

Hi. I'm playing an archer, and recently i found Efficient Quiver. Problem is i never needed it before since i carried 4 quivers for different arrows (2 on the hips, 2 on my back). When i found it, i looked at the rules, but could not find any mention that a
1) plyer can't have more then one quiver at the same time,
2) or that he can't keep different arrows in one quiver (on a hip for example), look at the desired arrow, and draw it as a free action.
3) In fact, even efficient quiver description says that it does not take a body slot.

I know that a character can stash wands and rods in there, but i don't have any of that, what i want to know is what use it is for an archer?