SanKeshun's page

RPG Superstar 9 Season Star Voter. 133 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.

Exactly what it says on the tin. Explanation follows.

Some friends and I were discussing the fastest game-breaking builds we could find. Note that, unlike Pun-Pun, the goal was not to create an arbitrarily powerful character, but a character that could disrupt the plot (within the rules) in a way that permanently destroys the world or forces a retcon.

The best we found so far is a 1st-level wizard somehow getting the cash or otherwise obtaining a scroll of Gate, and connecting the world of the campaign to the Sun. If you can get the scroll in your backstory, then you can do this on the first round. (Quick! Roll initiative versus the plot!)

But that only works if the Sun is the never-ending nuclear apocalypse that it is in our world. So... does anyone know if there is any canon on the nature of stars/suns in Pathfinder?

(In case you're curious, the next cheapest we found involved using two immovable rods and a necklace of adaptation to crash the moon into the earth)

An alchemist wants to lob a bomb over a 20-ft wall. Core Rulebook says he can't see anyone on the other side, so they all have total cover, so he can't target any of them. He's okay with that, and has the explosive bombs discovery, so he's pretty likely to hit people with splash damage anyway.

Should I just treat this as an automatic miss, or let him roll to hit a grid intersection? Also, since the trajectory of the bomb would have to exceed 40 feet (20 feet up and down, plus a little for horizontal distance), putting the bomb in the third range increment, should I magnify how far off the bomb lands accordingly? Or since this is such a vertical throw, should I treat it as though it's in the first range increment?

Thanks in advance.

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

The FAQ does not address this. (At least that I saw)

Core Rulebook wrote:
If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails).

I'm almost certain you're supposed to have the target of the grapple within your reach, but the Core Rulebook doesn't say. I don't know where it does say.

Can someone please tell me where it says this so I can't teleport random people to my location, no matter where they are (even across planar boundaries), simply by grappling them?

I thought it might say so in the general rules describing combat maneuvers, but it doesn't. It just says that a combat maneuver check is like an "attack roll" not a "melee attack roll". While most maneuvers are stated to take the place of a melee attack in an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity, let's not forget that the grappling rules say (emphases added)...

Core Rulebook wrote:
As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe, hindering his combat options.

Which I think fairly clearly invokes the second half of...

Core Rulebook wrote:
While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action.

Which means that grappling bypasses the melee requirement.

And before everyone complains about me using RAW to break the game, that's not the point. Please read my post and see that I'm trying to figure out where this is not possible because I really don't think it should be.

Though bull rush is ambiguous, it also has phrasing issues of this kind. Feinting has the exact same issue, though it's kind of moot since you have to be in melee to get the bonus.

There is an excellent movie called Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, wherein there is a monk who fights with a sword. He is definitely a monk (right down to flurry of blows and some of the quinggong powers), and he definitely uses a sword (it's the main macguffin, named the Green Destiny).

But monks can't use swords in Pathfinder. Well, not effectively. However! This is the homebrew forum, and I pretty much only play homebrewed games anyway. So do you see any problems with the following feat?

Disciple of the Blade
Unlike ordinary monks, you have practiced with unusual weapons, learning to see the grace and beauty in their lethal potential.
Prerequisites: Weapon Focus with selected weapon, flurry of blows class feature, see special.
Benefit: Select a single weapon with which you have Weapon Focus. You treat this weapon as though it had the monk special quality, allowing it to be used with flurry of blows.
Normal: Flurry of blows can only be performed with a weapon with the monk special quality.
Special: A monk can select Disciple of the Blade as a bonus feat at 10th level or higher. If a monk selects a longspear, longsword, katana, or meteor hammer, they need not have Weapon Focus with the selected weapon to take this feat.

(Brief comment: those last four weapons are listed since they are fairly common among weapon-using monks, and it removes the Martial Weapon Proficiency feat tax, otherwise left in to explain the atypical flavor)

So I recently found this thread, and was sufficiently amused to begin building such a character.

The important point from the thread is that, with the right combination of feats, anyone attacking you while you're prone will provoke an attack of opportunity from you (it's a little sketchy on the rules front, but if you're playing for RAW amusement, then it works).

Now, the Core Rulebook says: An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn).

This seems slightly ambiguous, and I wanted a second opinion. If I make an Attack of Opportunity when someone else has attacked me while prone, does their attack finish afterwards? Or have I also negated their attack? I'm inclined to say the first, but am also hopeful it would be the second, so I thought I would ask.

The FAQ does not address the question.

A wizard can select a bonded object for their arcane bond at 1st level. I quote the Core Rulebook when I say that "Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost." It also has to be an amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. Has to masterwork.

The ability doesn't say anything about magic or otherwise.

Are you allowed to take a magic item as your bonded object for free at 1st level? I would think no, or that there would be a gp limit, but don't see anything in the FAQ, and my Google Fu has failed me here.

Thoughts? Opinions? Better scores on Knowledge checks made to gather information?

I would like somebody to check my logic, please.

Guidance "imbues the subject with a touch of divine guidance. The creature gets a +1 competence bonus on a single attack roll, saving throw, or skill check. It must choose to use the bonus before making the roll to which it applies." Also note that you can wait up to a minute before activating the guidance.

So could you spend several rounds just casting guidance on yourself multiple times, and then use the guidances over the next few rounds? I know you shouldn't be able to use multiple guidances on one action, but is there any restriction to having multiple guidances hanging around for use on different actions?

Have you ever noticed that classes are ridiculously diverse? If someone tells you that they're playing a sorcerer, all you know is they're a spontaneous Cha-based arcane caster. Debuffer? Blaster? Utility? Support? You don't know. Bloodline gives you a hint, but not much of one.

Let's imagine Pathfinder with zero class variation: all members of a class get exactly the same abilities. Let's take feats out, too (increasing class power to keep it balanced). What do you think these classes would look like? Would you play one?

Basically, there is a certain Zen to the older games, where you had to create a unique character through more than a new combination of numbers, and where your character sheet took up less than a page. Is this feasible now?

Could someone please double-check this logic?

Improved Critical doubles the threat range of the specified weapon. From the Core Rulebook: "A spell that requires an attack roll can score a critical hit." Therefore, Improved Critical (spell) is a valid feat choice, correct?

2 people marked this as a favorite.

So at fourth level in a homemade campaign, I marooned my PCs on a small island chain in the middle of nowhere. I saw no real problem with this.

Ten levels later, they can now safely, reliably, cheaply, and quickly get on or off of the islands. Plot is delayed for about an in-game month, so they've decided to build an island resort (mostly using wall of stone, and stone shape/hiring masons). Then they're only going to open it up to super-rich retired adventurers, so they can have lots of 20-th level ex-adventurers running around.

I'm fine with this plan. I'll deal with the high-level NPCs later. What I want advice on is (a) how to help them go about building the resort, (b) how to make it entertaining but also challenging, and (c) any random amusing ideas about things that should happen.

Thanks in advance for any and all ideas!