Rubia's page

Organized Play Member. 209 posts. 1 review. 3 lists. 1 wishlist. 8 Organized Play characters.




2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Let's say I'm a 5th level magus, and I just got the following really cool ability:

Magus Arcane Pool wrote:
At 5th level, these bonuses can be used to add any of the following weapon properties: dancing, flaming, flaming burst, frost, icy burst, keen, shock, shocking burst, speed, or vorpal.

So, the next combat I get into, I activate my swift action to make my blade FLAMING! No wait, I don't. I instead gain the ability to take a standard action to start my blade flaming, as per the magic weapon section (quote below). So, I spend my entire turn to activate my arcane pool ability. . . that lasts for a minute. If I foolishly chose to add flaming and frost and shock, I can set this up 3 rounds later. Is this right?

Here is the relevant quote from the Magic Weapon section:

Magic Weapon Section wrote:
Activation: Usually a character benefits from a magic weapon in the same way a character benefits from a mundane weapon—by wielding (attacking with) it. If a weapon has a special ability that the user needs to activate, then the user usually needs to utter a command word (a standard action). A character can activate the special abilities of 50 pieces of ammunition at the same time, assuming each piece has identical abilities.
Flaming wrote:
Upon command, a flaming weapon is sheathed in fire that deals an extra 1d6 points of fire damage on a successful hit. The fire does not harm the wielder. The effect remains until another command is given.

The reason it's not an issue normally is that there isn't a duration, so you can activate it "once" and it's on forever. But in this case, you don't get the ability until you spend the arcane pool as a swift action.

Question 1: Should we assume that the arcane pool brings up weapon abilities in active status?

Ok, next ability. . . speed.

It seems like a magus might want to add this to a weapon to get an extra attack when they're doing their spell combat thing. But, it seems you can't.

Here's the relevant text. I've bolded the important parts. . .

Spell Combat wrote:
At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attacks.
Speed Weapon Enhancement wrote:
When making a full-attack action, the wielder of a speed weapon may make one extra attack with it. The attack uses the wielder's full base attack bonus, plus any modifiers appropriate to the situation. (This benefit is not cumulative with similar effects, such as a haste spell.)

Question 2: Can you use the speed enhancement along with spell combat?

Are these items that have been FAQ'd or otherwise addressed?

Rubia

3/5

Hi guys,

I just want to propose the following mechanic for designing skill DCs in scenarios, so that challenges are appropriate to the characters in question. It's a simple system:

1) Easy - DC 5 + tier
2) Medium - DC 10 + tier
3) Hard - DC 15 + tier
4) OMG - DC 20 + tier

The value for tier is the lower of the numbers that describe the tier. For instance: Tier 1-2 adds 1 to the DC. Tier 7-8 adds 7 to the DC. You could adjust this "up by one" by choosing the latter number, if that is necessary to distinguish between Tier 1 and Tier 1-2.

A simple way understand the difficulty is that the hard-coded DC value represents the number that must be rolled on the d20 for a person using a cross-class skill with full ranks. For people with class skills and maximum ranks, you can see that this matches the general intuition of how difficult skills ought to be.

If someone focuses on a skill (using feats or traits), it works out better for them. This is good.

Rubia


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I am confused about something in the Haunting Mists spell:

Spoiler:

Haunting Mists
School illusion (figment) [fear, shadow]; Level bard 2, sorcerer/wizard 2, witch 2

CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S

EFFECT
Range 20 ft.
Effect cloud spreads in 20-ft. radius, 20 ft. high
Duration 1 minute/level (D)
Saving Throw Will partial (see text); Spell Resistance no

DESCRIPTION
An illusion of misty vapor inhabited by shadowy shapes arises around you. It is stationary. The illusory mist obscures all sight, including darkvision, beyond 5 feet. A creature 5 feet away has concealment (attacks have a 20% miss chance). Creatures farther away have total concealment (50% miss chance, and the attacker cannot use sight to locate the target). All creatures within the mist must save or take 1d2 points of Wisdom damage and gain the shaken condition. The shaken condition lasts as long as the creature remains in the mist.

I really like this spell. However, is it a range 20 foot spell, so that you can center it away from you, or is it centered on you? The range line suggests one thing, and the description suggests another.


I am referring to the following text:

Deliver Touch Spells:
If a witch is 3rd level or higher, her familiar can deliver touch spells or hexes for her. If the witch and the familiar are in contact at the time the witch casts a touch spell, she can designate her familiar as the “toucher.” The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the witch would. As usual, if the witch casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates. If the witch activates a hex, her familiar can be used to make the touch. She does not have to be in contact with the familiar to use this ability.

Which way is the bolded portion parsed?

a) (touch spells) or (hexes)
b) touch (spells or hexes)

That dramatically changes the usage of the ability and possibly the survival issues with the witch.


One of the barbarian's new rage powers in the APG is "Flesh Wound", but I have a question about it.

It claims that you're supposed to choose to use the ability before damage is rolled, but the DC is based on the damage that would be taken (which will not have been rolled by then).

Are we supposed to build time machines before we can consider using this ability?

More seriously, I assume this means that one should roll the damage, and then allow use of the ability. . . .

Rubia

3/5

Can a PC in PFS buy a cursed item? If so, how much does it cost?