The 20th level "Kill Shot" entry for the soldier reads as follows:
KILL SHOT (EX) 20th Level
As a standard action, you can make a single attack against an
enemy. If the attack hits and does not kill your enemy, you can
expend 1 Resolve Point to force the creature to succeed at a
Fortitude save or die. Once you’ve used this ability on a creature
(regardless of whether or not you forced it to attempt a Fortitude
save), that creature is immune to your kill shot for 24 hours.
Now, as far as I can tell, the only difference between a "Kill Shot" attack and a normal attack is when the Soldier chooses to spend the resolve point to force the Fort save.
So if I attack an enemy, and chose not to spend the resolve point (because it's a normal attack, or I simply want to conserve resolve points), and the enemy doesn't outright die from my first attack, is that enemy immune to my "Kill Shot" ability for 24 hours?
note, the rule states: "Once you’ve used this ability on a creature
(regardless of whether or not you forced it to attempt a Fortitude
save), that creature is immune..."
Since "Kill Shot" confers no benefit if the resolve point is not used, what's the point of having that sentence in the rule at all? If you remove the parenthetical remark entirely, the sentence actually becomes MORE clear and the overall effect is unchanged.
So what's the point?