Arclord of Nex

Prismatic Codex's page

RPG Superstar 6 Season Star Voter, 9 Season Star Voter. Organized Play Member. 32 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 9 Organized Play characters.


RSS

The Exchange

I know this just came out and all, but are there plans to restock the print version of this? I was going to try ordering it, but it's already Unavailable...

The Exchange

Are there going to be rules for blending magic and starships? What rules for building/constructing your own starship?

The Exchange

Is there anything in Pathfinder like the Retain Essence ability from the v3.5 Artificer? Any kind of mechanic/feat/ability/etc?

The Exchange

Gulthor wrote:

Saethori has the right of it.

What it *does* do is increases the effectiveness of many feats and path features, for instance:

* Amazing Initiative gives you a bonus to initiative equal to your tier - well, with Mythic Paragon, that's your tier + 2.

* Legendary Item gains a number of abilities based on your tier - with Mythic Paragon, you get a nice little boost, allowing you to acquire legendary powers much earlier.

* Divine Source allows you to grant spells equal to your tier and to cast domain spells as spell-like abilities based on your tier; mythic paragon helps here as well.

* Mythic Spell Lore/Mythic Spellcasting teaches you a number of mythic spells equal to your tier for each time you've selected it; mythic paragon increases that to tier +2.

* Many base path abilities give you a bonus on an attack roll equal to your tier, mythic paragon applies here as well (such as the Champion Fleet Charge ability.)

You get the idea. I took it on a character at 3dd tier almost solely for the purpose of bumping Divine Source and was surprised by all the implications after the fact. At 4th tier, I picked up Legendary Item II and was like, "Oh, guess I immediately get 3 tiers worth of abilities, that's awfully handy.)

What does it do in relation to the Mythic Spellcasting Path Ability? You learn a number of mythic spells equal to your tier, which is bumped by +2, but then it states that you gain one additional spell every time you gain a tier. Is that also bumped by +2 each tier or do you only increase the parts of abilities that specifically say blah blah blah-"equal to your tier" or "x + your tier", essentially just giving this ability early access, like with Legendary Item?

The Exchange

Jurassic Pratt wrote:
....I'll say a prayer for your GM.

Hah, this game isn't anything serious. It's more of a side game for when he doesn't want to run his main campaign, and I don't want to run MY main campaign. I figured I'd try something new for it, I'm just not sure how to do it.

The Exchange

I have a level 13 Wizard who's focused on creating clockwork constructs, and he's starting the game with three Clockwork Soldiers and three Clockwork Servants. I know for simplicity's sake some GM's will have summoned creatures/pets/familiars/constructs/etc. act on their owner's turn, but do they still have their own full turn each, or do I have to spend some kind of action to command each of them? All of them at once? How's this work?

The Exchange

Ah, so if the +1 on the weapon adds 2 hardness, and each hit only causes 1 damage no matter the level of the scroll, then it's invincible at that point, right?

The Exchange

I would totally use this on my spellbook and hit someone over the head with it, like a club.

The Exchange

This may be a stupid question, but I just need some clarification. I've made a Scrollmaster/Scroll Scholar(eventually Cyphermage), and I'm not entirely sure what level to scribe my scrolls at. Is there any point to making a CL 5 Scroll of Burning Hands to use as a Scroll Blade? Is it still just going to act as a masterwork short sword with 1 hit point and 0 hardness? Should I just stick with CL 1 scrolls for first level spells that are going to be used as Blades?

Secondly: Is there any point to trying to make the scrolls out of a material with a higher hardness, like Darkleaf Cloth or something like it? The RAW says that "Each successful hit by the scroll blade reduces its hit points by 1; this damage cannot be repaired, but does not affect casting from the scroll. When its hit points reach 0, the scroll is destroyed." That first bit doesn't actually say that the scroll takes 1 point of damage, it just says the hit reduces its hit points by 1, so does hardness even apply in this case? But the second part says that it IS damage...

Any help would be great!

The Exchange

I'm not sure if I'm missing something, but I need someone to explain how this works. I have a 1st level Shadowcaster Conjurer who took the Versatile Summon Monster feat from Monster Summoner's Handbook, and selected the Dark Creature and the Primordial Creature templates. I know that the only creatures that you can apply templates to are the ones with the asterisk on the Summon Monster list, but could I apply both the Dark AND Primordial templates to a creature I'm summoning? Can you apply multiple templates to summoned monsters? Is that a thing? Do I need a feat to do it? Or can I just do it?

The Exchange

Ok, so I just found the entry for Leadership I was looking for. You're right about the cohort not able to be Neutral Good, because of the Good part, but as long as they're not actually opposed to my alignment, I'm ok. It's just if the cohort I'm trying to attract is a different alignment than mine, my Leadership score is -1. Since True Neutral isn't actually opposed to Lawful Evil, I think I'm ok. Anything Good or Chaotic would be out.

The Exchange

Ah... So maybe if I somehow corrupted her to being True Neutral before taking her as my character's consort--I mean cohort...

Would that be possible then?

The Exchange

I'm looking for advice on how this would work. This character that l'm playing is Lawful Evil(of the "I'll kill people to keep the stability" variety) in a Good/Neutral (not Neutral Good) campaign. It's a long campaign and is pretty much a sandbox game. My character has plans to found his own kingdom, and he would like to do so with a Queen by his side. The NPC that he's currently enamored with though is a Neutral Good wizard, enchantment spec. While this screams role-play opportunity, how would it work mechanically? I have no intention of changing alignments, and I doubt she does either, so how would I take her as a cohort? I'll be taking the Leadership feat next level, at 7th. I feel like there wouldn't be much of a conflict of interest, alignment-wise, since he does respect her for her power over others, considers her a peer, and would of course never betray her.

As a side note, he does harbor secret feelings of suspicion that she might have enchanted him somehow to fall in love with her, but so far Detect Magic and spells of the like have shown nothing.

The Exchange

When exactly are these going to be available for download? For a while it said they'd be available on the 4th, but now it just says "unavailable"...

The Exchange

Yeah, the Aasimar was legal, as far as I know. The only session that's logged for him was on 6/1/13.

I've recently downloaded a fillable character sheet and I've invested in a scanner, so I'm going to start keeping digital copies of everything.

The Exchange

After a long hiatus, I've decided to start playing with the PFS again. I have two registered characters, one Human Conjurer (level 3) and one Aasimar Cleric (level 1). My issue is that I don't have the character or chronicle sheets anymore; I'm thinking I must have lost them when I moved. I figured for the Aasimar, since he's level 1, I can just remake him, but what do I do about the Conjurer? Am I SOL regarding him?

The Exchange

I'm curious about becoming a GM for PFS, but I'm currently home-bound and am not able to make the trip to my local store to try playing there. If I was to introduce my normal gaming group to PFS and come to me so I can run the scenarios at home, what would the main differences be, aside from the obvious? Would those games still count towards gaining stars and whatnot?

The Exchange

2 people marked this as a favorite.

While I love the idea of the Starfinder RPG and will most definitely be buying the Core Rulebook when it comes out, the letter said that this was an "all-hands-on-deck affair." Does this mean that the normal Pathfinder RPG is going to be falling by the wayside? If so, I can tell you that you ARE going to lose some people on that.

Not me. Never me. But I've been trying to run the Iron Gods AP for my players since it was published, with no success, and that's because of the technology aspect and the shouts of: "get your stupid laser pistol away from my spellbook!"

The Exchange

This doesn't just apply to Smart Armor, though that's what my request has spawned from, but really all of the Tech Armors. Is there any benefits/penalties to wearing Smart Armor without it being "on"? What kind of benefits does it convey once it runs out of charges? Because the Expanded Form of the Smart Armor takes 1 charge/10 minutes, but the Compound Form ALSO takes 1 charge/10 minutes. So I'm a bit confused as to what happens when there are no more charges. Does it lose all AC bonuses, DR, etc?

The Exchange

Ok, so I just thought about it, and I guess I need help balancing it. Some of the effect words don't make any sense with some of the target words, like "Predict" and "Barrier" together don't make any sense. I think it would give more freedom in casting (more of a: "playing with the essence of magic" kind of thing), but there's really no way to stat some of the effects you could create. At least none that would make any sense. The idea that started this feat was combining "Barrier" and "Greater Wound", to make a wall that hurt people to walk through. I know there are better ways to do that, namely with the Wall words, but it's an idea.

The Exchange

So the target restrictions on effect words always annoyed me. From a DM standpoint, I can understand why they exist, otherwise some wordspells would be a bit OP. I tried to balance this feat so that I could get what I want out of it.

Thoughts anyone?

Expanded Word
You have learned to use an effect word in new ways.
Prerequisites: Caster level 5th, Experimental Spellcaster
Benefit: Choose one effect word you know with one or more target restrictions. You may now use any target word you have the ability to use in conjunction with that effect word.
Special: You can take this feat multiple times. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a different effect word.

The Exchange

Thanks y'all! ^_^

The Exchange

Does anyone know where akata come from? Do they come from the same world that the Silver Mount came from? Could they? Is there anything that says otherwise?

The Exchange Star Voter Season 6, Star Voter Season 9

I know I was a bit late to this, but I was wondering if someone could critique this for me? I know what my glaring grammatical flaw was(I used "djinn" when I should have been using "djinni", but I fixed that here). If someone could let me know what's wrong with it, and what I could do better, I would be eternally grateful!

Mirror of Trapped Knowledge
Aura faint transmutation, strong conjuration (calling), and strong divination; CL 14th
Slot —; Price 200,000 gp; Weight 1/2 lb.
Description
This hand-held mirror is about a foot across, backed in iron, with arcane symbols wrought in silver around the rim. The surface of the mirror is cold to the touch and smoke writhes just under the glass until grasped by an intelligent creature. At this point, the magic within the mirror activates and the surface clears, revealing the reflection of the creature holding it. After some scrutiny, the holder realizes that the reflection is acting independently of the one reflected.
The mirror contains a bound djinni (see the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary) who has been forced to take the appearance of the one reflected. The djinni is polite and can be conversed with casually, but does not provide any information more relevant than the current weather in the area. However, three times per day, if the holder spends 10 minutes conversing with the djinni, the holder may gain a +3 circumstance bonus on any one Knowledge check as the holder and the djinni discuss the subject. Furthermore, once per day, the djinni can be requested to provide information as if a legend lore spell had been cast. The effect is produced as if the person, place, or thing was immediately available, even if it is not.
Construction
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, fox’s cunning, legend lore, planar binding; Cost 100,000 gp

The Exchange

I guess that's true, unless you've already successfully identified the spell being cast. Or if you've already almost exhausted the charges, then you know you have a bit of leeway.

The Exchange

Then is the Staff of the Magi a special case? I was browsing through Classic Treasures Revisited, and it basically said that one of the challenging things about owning the Staff was not knowing if you are going to overcharge it and make it go "boom". I thought it would be easy, if all you have to do is keep track of how many charges you've absorbed. Or am I misunderstanding something...?

The Exchange

Is there any way to discover exactly how many charges an item has remaining, like from a wand or staff(namely Staff of the Magi)?

Any help would be great!

The Exchange

Alrighty, thanks all! :-)

The Exchange

Hey all, I'm gonna start running RotR, AE this Saturday. I've read through the whole thing once already, but I wanted to read through it once again before Saturday. Doesn't look like I'm gonna have time to do that, so is there any plot/foreshadowing that I should keep in mind for at least Part 1?

Any help would be great! Thanks.

The Exchange Star Voter Season 6, Star Voter Season 9

I just saw mine! I feel so tired now, heh...

The Exchange Star Voter Season 6, Star Voter Season 9

Anthony Adam wrote:

At this point, your best bet it to look at the Wondrous Item tables, compare your item with what you think are items of like power and go with your instincts.

You cannot calculate the perfect price, it's kind of an art. If you have most of the price calculated, start looking at items of similar price, would you buy your item or those, etc.

Good luck.

Alrighty then. Many thanks!

The Exchange Star Voter Season 6, Star Voter Season 9

I'm going to try being careful about what I'm submitting, so as to not reveal anything...

In determining the price for "charges per day", the books don't say anything (as far as I can tell, for anything that has "charges per week", or "charges per month". How would I determine the price for that?

Also, in determining the price for adding in a spell that uses material components, the pricing lists are there, but what if the spell requires a material component (worth X gp) AND a focus (worth X gp)?