What does it do in relation to the Mythic Spellcasting Path Ability? You learn a number of mythic spells equal to your tier, which is bumped by +2, but then it states that you gain one additional spell every time you gain a tier. Is that also bumped by +2 each tier or do you only increase the parts of abilities that specifically say blah blah blah-"equal to your tier" or "x + your tier", essentially just giving this ability early access, like with Legendary Item?
I have a level 13 Wizard who's focused on creating clockwork constructs, and he's starting the game with three Clockwork Soldiers and three Clockwork Servants. I know for simplicity's sake some GM's will have summoned creatures/pets/familiars/constructs/etc. act on their owner's turn, but do they still have their own full turn each, or do I have to spend some kind of action to command each of them? All of them at once? How's this work?
This may be a stupid question, but I just need some clarification. I've made a Scrollmaster/Scroll Scholar(eventually Cyphermage), and I'm not entirely sure what level to scribe my scrolls at. Is there any point to making a CL 5 Scroll of Burning Hands to use as a Scroll Blade? Is it still just going to act as a masterwork short sword with 1 hit point and 0 hardness? Should I just stick with CL 1 scrolls for first level spells that are going to be used as Blades?
Secondly: Is there any point to trying to make the scrolls out of a material with a higher hardness, like Darkleaf Cloth or something like it? The RAW says that "Each successful hit by the scroll blade reduces its hit points by 1; this damage cannot be repaired, but does not affect casting from the scroll. When its hit points reach 0, the scroll is destroyed." That first bit doesn't actually say that the scroll takes 1 point of damage, it just says the hit reduces its hit points by 1, so does hardness even apply in this case? But the second part says that it IS damage...
Any help would be great!
I'm not sure if I'm missing something, but I need someone to explain how this works. I have a 1st level Shadowcaster Conjurer who took the Versatile Summon Monster feat from Monster Summoner's Handbook, and selected the Dark Creature and the Primordial Creature templates. I know that the only creatures that you can apply templates to are the ones with the asterisk on the Summon Monster list, but could I apply both the Dark AND Primordial templates to a creature I'm summoning? Can you apply multiple templates to summoned monsters? Is that a thing? Do I need a feat to do it? Or can I just do it?
Ok, so I just found the entry for Leadership I was looking for. You're right about the cohort not able to be Neutral Good, because of the Good part, but as long as they're not actually opposed to my alignment, I'm ok. It's just if the cohort I'm trying to attract is a different alignment than mine, my Leadership score is -1. Since True Neutral isn't actually opposed to Lawful Evil, I think I'm ok. Anything Good or Chaotic would be out.
I'm looking for advice on how this would work. This character that l'm playing is Lawful Evil(of the "I'll kill people to keep the stability" variety) in a Good/Neutral (not Neutral Good) campaign. It's a long campaign and is pretty much a sandbox game. My character has plans to found his own kingdom, and he would like to do so with a Queen by his side. The NPC that he's currently enamored with though is a Neutral Good wizard, enchantment spec. While this screams role-play opportunity, how would it work mechanically? I have no intention of changing alignments, and I doubt she does either, so how would I take her as a cohort? I'll be taking the Leadership feat next level, at 7th. I feel like there wouldn't be much of a conflict of interest, alignment-wise, since he does respect her for her power over others, considers her a peer, and would of course never betray her.
As a side note, he does harbor secret feelings of suspicion that she might have enchanted him somehow to fall in love with her, but so far Detect Magic and spells of the like have shown nothing.
After a long hiatus, I've decided to start playing with the PFS again. I have two registered characters, one Human Conjurer (level 3) and one Aasimar Cleric (level 1). My issue is that I don't have the character or chronicle sheets anymore; I'm thinking I must have lost them when I moved. I figured for the Aasimar, since he's level 1, I can just remake him, but what do I do about the Conjurer? Am I SOL regarding him?
I'm curious about becoming a GM for PFS, but I'm currently home-bound and am not able to make the trip to my local store to try playing there. If I was to introduce my normal gaming group to PFS and come to me so I can run the scenarios at home, what would the main differences be, aside from the obvious? Would those games still count towards gaining stars and whatnot?
While I love the idea of the Starfinder RPG and will most definitely be buying the Core Rulebook when it comes out, the letter said that this was an "all-hands-on-deck affair." Does this mean that the normal Pathfinder RPG is going to be falling by the wayside? If so, I can tell you that you ARE going to lose some people on that.
Not me. Never me. But I've been trying to run the Iron Gods AP for my players since it was published, with no success, and that's because of the technology aspect and the shouts of: "get your stupid laser pistol away from my spellbook!"
This doesn't just apply to Smart Armor, though that's what my request has spawned from, but really all of the Tech Armors. Is there any benefits/penalties to wearing Smart Armor without it being "on"? What kind of benefits does it convey once it runs out of charges? Because the Expanded Form of the Smart Armor takes 1 charge/10 minutes, but the Compound Form ALSO takes 1 charge/10 minutes. So I'm a bit confused as to what happens when there are no more charges. Does it lose all AC bonuses, DR, etc?
Ok, so I just thought about it, and I guess I need help balancing it. Some of the effect words don't make any sense with some of the target words, like "Predict" and "Barrier" together don't make any sense. I think it would give more freedom in casting (more of a: "playing with the essence of magic" kind of thing), but there's really no way to stat some of the effects you could create. At least none that would make any sense. The idea that started this feat was combining "Barrier" and "Greater Wound", to make a wall that hurt people to walk through. I know there are better ways to do that, namely with the Wall words, but it's an idea.
So the target restrictions on effect words always annoyed me. From a DM standpoint, I can understand why they exist, otherwise some wordspells would be a bit OP. I tried to balance this feat so that I could get what I want out of it.
I know I was a bit late to this, but I was wondering if someone could critique this for me? I know what my glaring grammatical flaw was(I used "djinn" when I should have been using "djinni", but I fixed that here). If someone could let me know what's wrong with it, and what I could do better, I would be eternally grateful!
Mirror of Trapped Knowledge
Then is the Staff of the Magi a special case? I was browsing through Classic Treasures Revisited, and it basically said that one of the challenging things about owning the Staff was not knowing if you are going to overcharge it and make it go "boom". I thought it would be easy, if all you have to do is keep track of how many charges you've absorbed. Or am I misunderstanding something...?
Hey all, I'm gonna start running RotR, AE this Saturday. I've read through the whole thing once already, but I wanted to read through it once again before Saturday. Doesn't look like I'm gonna have time to do that, so is there any plot/foreshadowing that I should keep in mind for at least Part 1?
Any help would be great! Thanks.
Anthony Adam wrote:
Alrighty then. Many thanks!
I'm going to try being careful about what I'm submitting, so as to not reveal anything...
In determining the price for "charges per day", the books don't say anything (as far as I can tell, for anything that has "charges per week", or "charges per month". How would I determine the price for that?
Also, in determining the price for adding in a spell that uses material components, the pricing lists are there, but what if the spell requires a material component (worth X gp) AND a focus (worth X gp)?