Halfling Outrider

Phosphorus's page

Organized Play Member. 185 posts (236 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 14 Organized Play characters.



Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

FAQ:

Quote:

Do purchased animals come fully trained or do I have to train them myself?

The entry for Handle Animal on pages 97–98 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook details which animals come trained—namely, some riding horses and riding dogs have training, but they only come trained to bear a rider into combat. All other animals are subject to Handle Animal to learn additional tricks. See the “Mounts and Related Gear” table on page 159 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook for additional details.

Additional Resources states for Animal Archive that:
Quote:
Animals on pages 14-15 are legal for purchase except dinosaurs and megafauna (unless already allowed in this document in Bestiary 1, Bestiary 2, Bestiary 3, or Ultimate Equipment) and dire animals. Additionally, only creatures of the animal type of size Large and smaller may be purchased.

Does this mean if somebody purchases an animal from Animal Archive which is not a riding horse or a riding dog they have to train it themselves using Handle Animal?

Can people purchase a combat-trained tiger for 500 gp (or whatever) and it is good to go?

Or does the FAQ take precedence over Additional Resources? Meaning that if you purchase a 500 gp combat-trained tiger, it nonetheless is not combat-trained according to the FAQ, and you have to use Handle Animal to train it?

Thanks for your time, apologies if it has been answered elsewhere.

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Chris Sharpe, Venture Captain of New Zealand, has thrown down the gauntlet!

We need to make characters using the worst archetypes and classes possible.

No dump stats are allowed, and every character must enter a class appropriate Prestige Class. All characters must be races from the Core Rulebook only.

So far suggestions include a Mystic Theurge sorcerer / oracle without early entry, and a rogue / bellflower tiller. Any monks will be required to have a vow of poverty. There will be a Crossbowman Fighter.

Can you help us? The best entries will go into a hat for us to draw out a character we will have to build.

Their first scenario will be the Dalsine Affair. Can you suggest other hard scenarios for us to play these characters in?

Thanks for your help :-)

We will keep you updated about their glorious exploits (and horrible deaths)....

Grand Lodge

13 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

In a recent game, a character was affected by a Harpy's Captivating Song, walked towards the Harpy and the Harpy then performed a coup-de-grace the next turn, killing the character.

Is this the correct interpretation? Does a character affected by a Harpy's Captivating Song count as helpless for a coup-de-grace? If it does, it seems a very powerful ability for a CR 4 monster.

The Kelpie (and possibly others) have a similar ability.

Rules:

Spoiler:

Harpy.

Kelpie.

Captivating Song (Su) A harpy's song has the power to infect the minds of those that hear it, calling them to the harpy's side. When a harpy sings, all creatures aside from other harpies within a 300-foot spread must succeed on a DC 16 Will saving throw or become captivated. A creature that successfully saves is not subject to the same harpy's song for 24 hours. A victim under the effects of the captivating song moves toward the harpy using the most direct means available. If the path leads them into a dangerous area such as through fire or off a cliff, that creature receives a second saving throw to end the effect before moving into peril. Captivated creatures can take no actions other than to defend themselves. A victim within 5 feet of the harpy simply stands and offers no resistance to the harpy's attacks. This effect continues for as long as the harpy sings and for 1 round thereafter. This is a sonic mind-affecting charm effect. The save DC is Charisma-based.

Captivating Lure (Su) Once per day, a kelpie can use a powerful mental attack to lure in a single creature within 60 feet. The target must make a DC 16 Will saving throw or become captivated by the kelpie, thinking it is a desirable woman in mortal danger or (if in hippocampus or horse form) a valuable steed. A victim under the effects of the captivating lure moves toward the kelpie using the most direct means available. If the path leads it into a dangerous area such as through fire or off a cliff, that creature receives a second saving throw to end the effect before moving into peril; the victim does not consider water a dangerous area, and will enter the water even if it cannot swim or breathe. A captivated creature can take no actions other than to move toward the kelpie and defend itself, even if it is drowning. A victim within 5 feet of the kelpie simply stands and offers no resistance to its attacks. This effect continues as long as the kelpie is alive and the victim is within 1 mile of the kelpie. This is a mind-affecting charm effect. The save DC is Charisma-based.

Coup de Grace: As a full-round action, you can use a melee weapon to deliver a coup de grace (pronounced “coo day grahs”) to a helpless opponent. You can also use a bow or crossbow, provided you are adjacent to the target.

You automatically hit and score a critical hit. If the defender survives the damage, he must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + damage dealt) or die. A rogue also gets her extra sneak attack damage against a helpless opponent when delivering a coup de grace.

Delivering a coup de grace provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents.

You can't deliver a coup de grace against a creature that is immune to critical hits. You can deliver a coup de grace against a creature with total concealment, but doing this requires two consecutive full-round actions (one to “find” the creature once you've determined what square it's in, and one to deliver the coup de grace).

Helpless: A helpless character is paralyzed, held, bound, sleeping, unconscious, or otherwise completely at an opponent's mercy. A helpless target is treated as having a Dexterity of 0 (–5 modifier). Melee attacks against a helpless target get a +4 bonus (equivalent to attacking a prone target). Ranged attacks get no special bonus against helpless targets. Rogues can sneak attack helpless targets.

As a full-round action, an enemy can use a melee weapon to deliver a coup de grace to a helpless foe. An enemy can also use a bow or crossbow, provided he is adjacent to the target. The attacker automatically hits and scores a critical hit. (A rogue also gets his sneak attack damage bonus against a helpless foe when delivering a coup de grace.) If the defender survives, he must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + damage dealt) or die. Delivering a coup de grace provokes attacks of opportunity.

Creatures that are immune to critical hits do not take critical damage, nor do they need to make Fortitude saves to avoid being killed by a coup de grace.


Thanks for your help!

Grand Lodge

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can a 1st level Inquisitor use a Bane Baldric, and hence get 6 rounds of Bane a day?

If the answer is no, does this mean the Bane Baldric is useless to an Inquisitor until level 5?

This would be strange, as a non-Inquisitor gains the Bane ability of a 5th level Inquisitor.

If the answer if yes, does it follow that a 7th level Inquisitor with a Bane Baldric can use Greater Bane?

The reason I ask is that I was considering building a Musket Master / Inquisitor for PFS. I was planning on taking 5 levels of Musket Master followed by levels of Inquisitor, and buying a Bane Baldric.

Rules:

Spoiler:

Bane Baldric

Price 10,000 gp; Aura moderate conjuration; CL 10th; Weight 1 lb.

This ornate sash of embroidered velvet stretches across the chest from shoulder to waist. If the wearer is an inquisitor, she is treated as five levels higher when using her bane and greater bane abilities. If the wearer is not an inquisitor, she gains the bane ability of a 5th-level inquisitor, but must first attune a light or one-handed melee weapon to the baldric by hanging it from the cloth for 24 hours, and can only use the bane ability with the attuned weapon. Attuning a new weapon to the baldric ends the attunement for the previous weapon.

Construction Requirements

Cost 5,000 gp

Craft Wondrous Item, summon monster I, creator must be an inquisitor

Bane (Su): At 5th level, an inquisitor can imbue one of her weapons with the bane weapon special ability as a swift action. She must select one creature type when she uses this ability (and a subtype if the creature type selected is humanoid or outsider). Once selected, the type can be changed as a swift action. This ability only functions while the inquisitor wields the weapon. If dropped or taken, the weapon resumes granting this ability if it is returned to the inquisitor before the duration expires. This ability lasts for a number of rounds per day equal to the inquisitor's level. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.

Greater Bane (Su): At 12th level, whenever an inquisitor uses her bane ability, the amount of bonus damage dealt by the weapon against creatures of the selected type increases to 4d6.

Grand Lodge

60 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 4 people marked this as a favorite.

How does a mounted charge with a lance work?

More specifically:

1 . If you making a mounted charge and attack with a lance, does:

a. The charge of the mount stop at the reach distance of the lance (ie 10 foot away from the enemy), and then your PC makes a lance attack. Your mount gets no attack unless it has reach, or

b. You treat your lance attack as a readied attack. Your PC makes a lance attack when the charge brings the lance into reach (ie 10 foot away from the enemy). The mount's charge then continues "to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent" and your then mount attacks the enemy, or

c. Some other interpretation.

If you have an opinion, please post below. Either way please click on FAQ, as I think there is enough confusion to try and sort this out.

Sovereign Court

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Calling all Cavaliers, Samurai and Paladins!

There was a very good blog on poison use in Pathfinder, and I wonder if a similar one could be made to clear up mounted combat and charging issues.

I am going to be running a cavalier in PFS, and have realised that the mounted combat rules are extremely confusing, especially when combined with a charge…

As a result I have some questions:

1 . If you making a mounted charge and attack with a lance, does:

a. The charge stops at the reach distance of the lance (ie 10 foot away) from the enemy, and you then make your lance attack, and your dog stops and gets no attack, or
b. You make your lance attack at the reach distance of the lance (ie 10 foot away) and the dog charge then continues and your dog attacks the enemy when it is adjacent. You get to CHARGELANCEBITE!

2. What happens if your mount has reach, such as an axe beak?

3. If you have ride-by attack, can your mount attack the same enemy (E1) as you did? Or does it need spring attack? Can it instead go on to attack a 2nd enemy (E2) at the end of its charge? Or do you simply lose the attack of the mount if you use Ride-By Attack?

Y = Y
E1 = 1st enemy
E2 = 2nd enemy
| = path of your charge
Y
|
|
|
|E1
|
|
|
E2

4. When you and your mount attack, do you just make a ride check, or do you also need to make a handle animal check?

These questions seem to crop up again and again, so it would be great to have developer input, especially as I am now playing PFS.

I have done multiple searches, and managed to find very little developer input:

Here is what I have found

Spoiler:

link

The thread dates from 2010
This is a brief summary of Sean K Reynolds main posts.

Sean K Reynolds wrote:


Sean K Reynolds Oct 12 2010
If you want to move, have the mount attack, and move, the mount has to have Spring Attack. Ride-By Attack lets you attack in the middle of moving; it doesn't change the attack sequence for your mount (it doesn't mention your mount attacking at all).
Sean K Reynolds Oct 17 2010
Many, many times I say while running a game, "don't let the squares on the map tell you what is or isn't a straight line."
I just can't draw a straight line in the message boards except in 45-degree-angle increments. :p
Here's a diagram I put together. All four of the charge paths shown (gray, yellow, green, and orange) are perfectly valid charge attacks. The red asterisk shows the "closest space from which you can attack your opponent" according to the charge rules. If you don't have RBI, you have to stop there as the end of your charge; if you do have RBI, you can keep moving past that (as the arrow does).
Hello, I am a link to a charge diagram. ….
Well, if you look at my diagram, you'll note that most of those paths mean you attack at about a 45 or 60 degree angle from your attack vector. Only the yellow path puts you at a steeper angle, and that's probably because it's debatable whether or not you should be counting the square to the left of the asterisk--the line passes right through the intersection of four squares northwest of that asterisk, so if you ruled that the hero passed through the square west of the asterisk as part of his charge, that square would be the closest square from which the hero could attack, in which case even the yellow path's attack angle would be about 45 degrees.
A handy thing about being a creature with bendy arms is that even if your weapon is long and rigid (like a lance), your body lets you hold it at an angle from your movement vector; don't let the grid confuse you into thinking that the situation is any different than two jousters approaching each other on parallel separate paths. Take away the grid and look at the approach... it's still a guy charging and hitting someone in a square he could reach with the weapon if he were standing still (i.e., if the Hero could hit an Enemy from an asterisk square in the diagram when he's not charging, he should still be able to do it when he's charging).

Ravingdork wrote:
Sean, the very definition of charging (both as a gaming term and as a real world term) requires that you be moving directly towards your enemy.

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Well, that's stupid. (And not how we did it in 3.0. Another annoying 3.5 change, I guess.)
If I charge someone, I should be able to charge directly at them, or obliquely. If I charge and cut a guy as I run by, that should still be valid... my momentum applies to the weapon whether it's in front of me or to my side.
And the 3.5 ruling (as people have pointed out) basically makes it impossible to use RBA because you'd have to move *through* your target. Which means it should be called Ride-Through attack.
Noting for personal houserule and errata-lobbying.
Stephan Neufang wrote:
Sean, would you please answer us the following questions:
- Can a mount attack at a ride by attack?
- If not, can a mount with spring attack attack at a ride by atack
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
1) No, because the mount is doing all the work moving. If the mount is to attack, it needs to use Spring Attack.
2) Without rereading all of the mounted combat rules, I think so.

and also this

link

Brief summary:

Sean K Reynolds wrote:


Sean K Reynolds said on Dec 12 2012 :
“If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.”

Some Rules:

Spoiler:

PRD wrote:


Ride-By Attack (Combat)
While mounted and charging, you can move, strike at a foe, and then continue moving.
Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat.
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can't exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.

ride
handle-animal

Charge
Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you can move.
Movement During a Charge: You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.
You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge. Helpless creatures don't stop a charge.
If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't charge that opponent.
You can't take a 5-foot step in the same round as a charge.
If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon unless you possess the Quick Draw feat. You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn.
Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.
A charging character gets a +2 bonus on combat maneuver attack rolls made to bull rush an opponent.
Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge.
Lances and Charge Attacks: A lance deals double damage if employed by a mounted character in a charge.

Mounted Combat

These rules cover being mounted on a horse in combat but can also be applied to more unusual steeds, such as a griffon or dragon.
Mounts in Combat: Horses, ponies, and riding dogs can serve readily as combat steeds. Mounts that do not possess combat training (see the Handle Animal skill) are frightened by combat. If you don't dismount, you must make a DC 20 Ride check each round as a move action to control such a mount. If you succeed, you can perform a standard action after the move action. If you fail, the move action becomes a full-round action, and you can't do anything else until your next turn.
Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it. You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move.
A horse (not a pony) is a Large creature and thus takes up a space 10 feet (2 squares) across. For simplicity, assume that you share your mount's space during combat.
Combat while Mounted: With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action.
When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple speed) at a –8 penalty. In either case, you make the attack roll when your mount has completed half its movement. You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Grand Lodge

I felt that the races from the Advanced Race Guide should be presented on the reincarnation table, so I updated it.

This was based a 7% chance of reincarnating as a core race, 2% chance of reincarnating as a featured race, and 1% chance of reincarnating as an uncommon race. The Bugbear, Gnoll, Lizardfolk and Troglodyte were kept over from the original reincarnation table at a 1% chance. Finally, DM's choice is preserved on a roll of 100.

Feel free to use it if you wish, and let me know what you think.

Here it is:
Percentage Roll Result
01 to 01 Bugbear
02 to 08 Dwarf
09 to 15 Elf
16 to 22 Gnome
23 to 29 Half-Elf
30 to 30 Gnoll
31 to 37 Half-Orc
38 to 44 Halfling
45 to 51 Human
52 to 53 Aasimar
54 to 55 Catfolk
56 to 57 Dhampir
58 to 59 Drow
60 to 61 Fetchling
62 to 63 Goblin
64 to 65 Hobgoblin
66 to 67 Ifrit
68 to 69 Kobold
70 to 71 Orc
72 to 73 Oread
74 to 75 Ratfolk
76 to 77 Sylph
78 to 79 Tengu
80 to 81 Tiefling
82 to 83 Undine
84 to 84 Changeling
85 to 85 Duergar
86 to 86 Gillman
87 to 87 Grippli
88 to 88 Kitsune
89 to 89 Merfolk
90 to 90 Nagaji
91 to 91 Samsaran
92 to 92 Strix
93 to 93 Suli
94 to 94 Lizardfolk
95 to 95 Svirfneblin
96 to 96 Vanara
97 to 97 Vishkanya
98 to 98 Wayang
99 to 99 Troglodyte
100 to 100 DM's Choice

Grand Lodge

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 4 people marked this as a favorite.

Does a buckler arm have a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” and “holding nothing”?

This came up in a recent advice thread on the Aldori Swordlord.

I am of the opinion that a buckler arm has a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” and “holding nothing”. Others may disagree.

What is your opinion?

If you believe you a buckler arm does not have a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” and “holding nothing” please quote a relevant rule if possible. Feel free to bring up real life, or speculate on the intent of the rules, but bear in mind that intent is not a rule and Pathfinder is (thankfully) not real life. As rule 0 overrides all other rules, please do not use it as the basis for your argument.

I believe the rules clearly support the position that a buckler arm has a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” and “holding nothing”.

Firstly, let us look at the rules for shields.

PRD wrote:

Shield, Heavy; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A heavy shield is so heavy that you can't use your shield hand for anything else.

In the case of a Heavy Shield, it is clear that your shield arm does not have a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” and “holding nothing”.

PRD wrote:

Shield, Light; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A light shield's weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it.

With the light shield you are gripping the shield with your hand but you can still use it to “carry other items”. (Some consider an arm with a Light Shield may have a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” and “holding nothing”, but this is even more controversial than the buckler arm providing a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” or “holding nothing”, and an issue for another thread.)

However, the wording for buckler is quite different:

PRD wrote:

Buckler: This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm.

Your hand is not mentioned. Your forearm is not your hand. A light shield allows you to “carry other items”, so it would be reasonable to assume this also applies to the smaller buckler.

However, does this mean you have a “free hand” and are “carrying nothing” in it?

The rules do not define what constitutes a free hand, but there are actions that require a “free hand”, or two hands to perform. Can these actions be performed whilst using a buckler?

If they can, we can conclude that your buckler hand is a “free hand”.

In some instances the rules are clear, for example:

Casting a spell with a somatic component requires a free hand, can this be done while using a buckler?

PRD wrote:

Somatic (S): A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.

…You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn...

When casting a spell, the buckler hand can count as a free hand, but this action causes you to lose the buckler’s AC bonus.

Using a weapon two handed, or fighting two handed obviously requires two hands, and can you also use a buckler whilst doing this? This would require the buckler arm to have a “free hand” that is available to be used to wield a weapon.

PRD wrote:

Two-Handed: Two hands are required to use a two-handed melee weapon effectively.
Two-Weapon Fighting (Combat): You can fight with a weapon wielded in each of your hands.

Buckler: …You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn…

You can fight two handed with a buckler, but with penalties.

Using a bow, crossbow, a two handed firearm or reloading a sling requires two hands, can you simultaneously use a buckler? On a related matter, a rotating a pepperbox barrel requires a “free hand”, can you do this whilst using a buckler?

PRD wrote:

Loading a Firearm: You need at least one hand free to load one-handed and two-handed firearms.

Pepperbox: This pistol has six barrels instead of one. The entire barrel housing can be quickly rotated by hand between shots (a free action requiring one free hand), allowing all six bullets to be fired before the weapon must be reloaded.

Longbow: …You need two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size.

Bucklers: You can use a one-handed or two-handed firearm without penalty while carrying a buckler.

Buckler: …You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it.

You can use a buckler and a bow or firearm, “without penalty”. There is no AC loss. The rules are silent on the sling. Halflings are bitter.

To sum up so far – the buckler hand is available for spell use, two handed fighting, and two weapon fighting, but with penalties such as the loss of AC. However, you can use bows, crossbows,firearms, and rotate a pepperbox barrel with a buckler with no penalty at all. In all of these instances, a buckler arm is considered to have a “free hand”.

In other instances, a "free hand" or a hand "carrying nothing" or "holding nothing" is required, but the rules do not mention a buckler. Some of these many instances include:

PRD wrote:

Lay On Hands: …Despite the name of this ability, a paladin only needs one free hand to use this ability.

Word of Healing: …You must be able to speak and have a free hand to use this ability.

Crane Wing (Combat): ..Once per round while using Crane Style, when you have at least one hand free

Snapping Turtle Style: …While using the Snapping Turtle Style feat with at least one hand free, you gain a +1 shield bonus to AC.

Deflect Arrows (Combat):… You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat.

Snatch Arrows (Combat):…You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat.

Spell Combat (Ex): ...To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand...

Pool Strike (Su): …The magus can expend 1 point from his arcane pool as a standard action to charge his free hand with energy...

Wind Servant (Sp): ..If you have a free hand, you can catch an object hurled toward yourself...

Hurling Charge (Ex): …The barbarian must have a thrown weapon in hand or have one hand free at the beginning of her charge...

Ancient Healing Hand (Su): … He needs at least one hand free to use this ability, and cannot heal himself...

Steal: …You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to attempt this maneuver...

Ill Omen: …A target who can speak and has at least one free hand and who is aware of the spell and its effects (such as from a Spellcraft check to identify the spell as it is cast) can negate one reroll by spending a move action to utter a brief prayer or good luck charm to appease the spirits of ill fortune...

Light Lance: ...You must have a free hand when casting the spell and, once you call the lance into being, you cannot switch it to another hand or put it down without prematurely ending the spell...

Free Hand Fighter …His fighting school benefits only apply when he is using a one-handed weapon and carrying nothing in his other hand...

And of course, the Aldori Swordlord : …The following benefits only apply when a swordlord is using an Aldori duelling sword and carrying nothing in his other hand....

Can you use a buckler in these cases? I am not aware of any rule that says you cannot. We have already seen that there are several clear instances in the rules were a buckler arm is treated as having a free hand.

In the absence of an official FAQ, the next best authority is James Jacobs. So what are his views on using a buckler in some of these instances?

James Jacobs wrote:

mark kay wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
mark kay wrote:
Just sort of rules-y, if you're wearing a buckler while using crane style/crane wing from ultimate combat, do you lose its ac bonus in any round you use your buckler arm for your free hand to deflect a melee attack?
And similar question for deflect arrows and buckler use.
James Jacobs wrote:
Only if you do if you lose the AC bonus for doing other things with your shield arm when there's a buckler.
Hum, so, as long as you're not otherwise attacking with that hand that round or, I don't know, grabbing something from a pouch, you keep your buckler ac while deflecting?
Sorry, it just read a bit unclearly.
James Jacobs wrote:
Sounds good to me!

James Jacobs wrote:

You could use a buckler and still do Spell Combat; that's sort of the whole point of the buckler

James Jacobs wrote:

Sammy123 wrote:
Can a paladin do LoH with during combat when holding a sword and light shield?
I believe so. A light shield allows spellcasters to use their hand to cast, and lets you carry an object; the only thing it actually prevents is wielding a weapon. Since lay on hands only requires you to touch someone, you could indeed use this ability while wearing a light shield.

So for spell combat, deflect arrows and crane wing, the opinion of James Jacobs is that you can use a buckler with these actions. All require a “free hand”. In the case of lay on lands and spellcasters using their hand to cast, James Jacobs believes even a light shield allows you to have a “free hand”.

In conclusion, the rules are clear - a buckler arm has a “free hand” that is “carrying nothing” and “holding nothing”.

Grand Lodge

I am running a vanilla magus who is currently level 8.

I am wondering if taking Spell Blending is worth it at level 9, and if so can anyone suggest some good 2nd to 3rd level spells for Spell Blending.

I haven't been able to find a thread that deals with Spell Blending specifically so if people want to suggest good wizard spells from other levels that would be good as well.

Amongst the second level wizard spells, Ghoul Touch seems to stand out as a spell that would be useful for a magus, and so does See Invisibility.

Or would another arcana be more valuable? I have Wand Wielder and Familiar at present.

Thanks in advance for your help.