|2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
Additional Resources states for Animal Archive that:
Do purchased animals come fully trained or do I have to train them myself?
The entry for Handle Animal on pages 97–98 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook details which animals come trained—namely, some riding horses and riding dogs have training, but they only come trained to bear a rider into combat. All other animals are subject to Handle Animal to learn additional tricks. See the “Mounts and Related Gear” table on page 159 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook for additional details.
Animals on pages 14-15 are legal for purchase except dinosaurs and megafauna (unless already allowed in this document in Bestiary 1, Bestiary 2, Bestiary 3, or Ultimate Equipment) and dire animals. Additionally, only creatures of the animal type of size Large and smaller may be purchased.
Does this mean if somebody purchases an animal from Animal Archive which is not a riding horse or a riding dog they have to train it themselves using Handle Animal?
Can people purchase a combat-trained tiger for 500 gp (or whatever) and it is good to go?
Or does the FAQ take precedence over Additional Resources? Meaning that if you purchase a 500 gp combat-trained tiger, it nonetheless is not combat-trained according to the FAQ, and you have to use Handle Animal to train it?
Thanks for your time, apologies if it has been answered elsewhere.