Malachi Silverclaw's page

5,052 posts. Organized Play character for Matt Bray.

Silver Crusade

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

There is a difference of interpretation at our table, and TBH, although I have an opinion, the wording would seem to support either case:-

The Grappled Condition wrote:
...In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform.

So, I'm grappled. I'm wearing a pair of spiked gauntlets. I want to use TWF to full attack with both. Can I?

• no, because a full attack with weapons held in both left and right hands constitutes an 'action that requires two hands to perform', the 'action' in question being a full attack with TWH

• yes, because each attack only uses one hand

Silver Crusade

9 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Here's something that came up in our game tonight: I stepped up to a beastie and full-attacked it with TWF and a pair of spiked gauntlets. I have TWF, ImpTWF, Double Slice and a BAB of +7. so I get four attacks in this full attack, two with each gauntlet.

No problem so far. On its turn the beastie hits me with one claw, and makes a grapple check as a free action as part of that attack, successfully grappling me.

The Grappled Condition wrote:
In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform.

Each of my attacks takes only one hand to perform, so it seems like I can do as many of those as I like. On the other hand (sorry!) the full attack with TWF takes two hands to perform, although a normal full attack doesn't require two hands in and of itself.

The beastie died before we had to make a decision, but I honestly don't know which is the correct answer.

Can a grappled creature execute a full attack with Two-Weapon Fighting, attacking with a light weapon in each hand?

Silver Crusade

13 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

If a creature is holding a non-weapon object that could be used to attack using the rule for improvised weapons (such as a bottle or an empty bucket or a large book), does that creature threaten adjacent squares with that object, for purposes such as making attacks of opportunity with that object?

Silver Crusade

116 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

I know that the rules for reach weapons don't allow them to attack adjacent foes, but can I use the improvised weapon rules to say that the weapon my longspear most resembles is a club and therefore use it to attack adjacent foes? I know that the improvised weapon rules say they are for objects not designed to be weapons, but the blunt end of my longspear was not designed to be a weapon, right?

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
D&D3.0, 3.5 and Pathfinder wrote:
Buckler: This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can't make a shield bash with a buckler.

The description uses the term 'off hand' frequently. Is this simply a reference to whichever arm the buckler is strapped to, with the expectation that it's strapped to the non-dominant hand, or does it mean that you lose its bonus to AC whenever you make an 'off hand attack', whether or not you use the buckler arm to make that attack, and keep its bonus to AC even if you make an attack with that arm but don't make any off hand attacks?

The description hasn't changed since 3.0, when every creature had an 'off hand' unless they had the Ambidexterity feat, a situation that was written out of the rules in 3.5 and PF kept the 3.5 rule.

In essence, is the buckler's use of the term 'off hand' fluff or crunch?

Silver Crusade

19 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

Dear Pathfinder Design Team,

Is it a legal Two-Weapon Fighting combination to use a longsword in two hands (to get 1.5 x Str bonus to damage) as my main weapon, and a spiked gauntlet as my off-hand weapon?

Silver Crusade

11 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

Dear Pathfinder Design Team, some game conditions prevent you from taking any actions, such as dazed, stunned and held. But, when I have one of these conditions when my turn comes up in the initiative count, can I choose to do the actions that are defined as 'No Action' on the Actions In Combat tables: delay and 5-foot step?

Silver Crusade

I've checked the document, but the book isn't mentioned at all.

I want to know if the traits mentioned are legal for PFS characters, specifically the one where any luck bonus is increased by +1 (I forget the name).

Silver Crusade

I'm about to hit 3rd level with my PFS paladin. Which Mercy would be most useful?

Silver Crusade

How would I go about making an awakened leopard (or other creature) into a PC?

Would the bonus two HD from being awakened have to be 'animal' HD, or could they be two levels in a PC class?

Would it count as a higher or lower level PC than it's HD would indicate?

Anything I should know about allowed skills/feats? Would that depend on skills/feats gained prior to/after awakening? Would those two bonus HD be counted as before or after being awakened for the purpose of choosing appropriate skills/feats?

What about spell-casting and V, S and M/F components?

One of the baddies in the Paizo book of enemy parties was an awakened dire ape anti-paladin, but I'm finding it difficult to reverse engineer.

Silver Crusade

When creating a magic item that gives an enhancement bonus to an ability score the base price is listed on p.550 of the CRB as:-

'Bonus squared x 1000gp'

The only examples in the book (belt of strength etc.) are +2, +4 and +6.

In our regular campaign our wizard is about to level up to 3rd and wants to take the feat Create Wondrous Item, and he's saying he can create a belt which gives a +1 enhancement bonus to Str, which would be worth 1000gp, according to the formula.

I told him that this items must give an enhancement bonus which is an even number. When he challenged me to show him the rule which says so, I couldn't find it.

I'm sure I've seen a rule like this, but where? Did I imagine the whole thing?