Gourd Leshy

MARCIA SCHOONOVER's page

*** Pathfinder Society GM. 29 posts (49 including aliases). 1 review. 1 list. No wishlists. 31 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.



Radiant Oath

I bought a bulk load of PFS maps earlier this year. Among them was a complete set of maps for Emerald Spire. So, I was thinking of running that for my PFS group locally. However, they are all comfortable with PFS 2e, now, and won't want to learn 1st Ed. (I, on the other hand, have extensive experience running 1st Ed.)

Would it possible for me to adjust the adventure so that it fits into 2e? Am I allowed to? Has anyone already done a conversion for it that I could use?

Thanks for any help or advice.
Marcia
(The Once and Future GM)

Vigilant Seal 3/5 **

One of my characters took Azlanti language (pre-remaster), as it seems to come up fairly frequently in 2e scenarios. I played a third year scenario today where you were practically required to have Azlanti language or lore. However, it appears that Azlanti in ANY form is now illegal.

Do our characters who ALREADY have one of the Azlanti skills mysteriously lose them? If so, what happens when we play a scenario that still has them for skill challenges?

It seems really unfair to require these skills in older scenarios, but you can't study them anymore or that your character loses access to skills they've already got and have been using.

Thanks
Marcia

Verdant Wheel 3/5 **

We're still limping along with the 8 pre-gens from Player Core Remastered, but the players want to see what the remastered pre-gens from Player Core 2 will be like, especially things like the Champion/Paladin. Will there be/Is there a new set of those?

Thanks,
Marcia

Radiant Oath

My cleric leveled to 6th level and gets a skill feat, but there AREN'T any 6th level feats. The highest level feat that I can select is 2nd (or 3rd, if I can sub a General feat). The next level that offers skill feats is 7th. Can I defer my selection until my character reaches 7th level? If not, I'll have to take a 2nd/3rd level feat that is really not needed at all.

Thanks

Grand Archive 3/5 **

I recently created a leshy druid using the remastered rules (PFS 2E OP) and I have questions about the animal companion/familiar/pet. All three designations are included in the Player Core and may or may not be used interchangeably.

1) The racial feature "Leshy Familiar" says that I get a "plant or fungus familiar", but then as a druid, I get a "pet" which is a tiny animal companion. Are these intended to be the same creature or do I have 2 creatures?

2) Can I train it/them for specific tricks, like "come", "fetch", "hunt", etc?

3) The one I've chosen so far is a leshy (plant). Can I use the feat Train Animals on it or is there some other way to train it?

4) Do you train it using your downtime, similar to crafting items rather than earning money, or do you just "say" that you've trained it?

Thanks

Liberty's Edge 3/5 **

Just played a fairly low level scenario (3-6) which has a certain creature that curses the character that kills it. On a failure, it's pretty much certain death for that character, as follows:

Trigger
The Sea’s Revenge (curse, divine, necromancy): A creature that slays a <redacted> is subjected to a mariner’s curse spell with a save DC of 17. The curse ends if the <redacted> is buried in a calm sea or after 1 week passes.

Mariner's Curse Spell
Failure: The target becomes sickened 1 and can't reduce its sickened condition below 1 while the curse remains. The curse can be lifted by remove curse or similar magic.

Sickened: You feel ill. Sickened always includes a value. You take a status penalty equal to this value on all your checks and DCs. You can't willingly ingest anything—including elixirs and potions—while sickened.

This seems to be a BIG problem for a low level party. E.g. any character that cannot eat, or especially drink, for a week is going to die. The scenario takes place where there are no casters available to remove curse and it was a long sea voyage to return to civilization. None of the PCs (3rd level) had a high enough check to determine what specific kind of creature it was. Considering that there were two of these creatures, that meant that potentially two different PCs could be condemned to death by the end of the scenario. Our GM just hand-waved it at the end, but, when I run it, is there a better way of dealing with it? Does this seem a bit over the top for 3rd level characters?

Verdant Wheel

"Feinting is a standard action. To feint, make a Bluff skill check. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + your opponent's base attack bonus + your opponent's Wisdom modifier. If your opponent is trained in Sense Motive, the DC is instead equal to 10 + your opponent's Sense Motive bonus, if higher. If successful, the next melee attack you make against the target does not allow him to use his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any). This attack must be made on or before your next turn."

During the session tonight, our rogue succeeded on a Feint check against his opponent thinking that he could get sneak damage during his next turn (denied his dex). However, the ruling at the table was that he could NOT do it DURING the next round, as the wording did not say "before the end of your next turn".

The wording says "on or before your next turn". Is there somewhere that clarifies that "ON your next turn" EQUALS or DOES NOT equal "before the end of your next turn"?

Thanks

Verdant Wheel

At the game last night, one of the VLs mentioned that the cost of cold iron weapons has changed, making them much more expensive. Does anyone know of this and where that change is posted?

Thx

Verdant Wheel

Our discussions and research into Create Pit last night led to the following realizations, but also led to some interesting questions (at the end):

The pit is extradimensional space and entire unto itself. It does not connect to anything. If you cast it on a 10'x10' table, you could look down 20-30' into the pit and see a bottom that far away, but if you looked under the table, you would see open space through to the other side of the table. I'm unclear what would happen if you moved the table, but I assume the pit would go with it, although that could end up with some silliness if you, say, pushed it off a cliff. My personal ruling would be that you could not move the table until the spell ended.

Also, since it's extradimensional, rather than physical, if you have 2 pits next to each other, you cannot go from one to the other. You cannot "dig" through the walls of the pit, use "merge into stone", "passwall", or anything like that to get out. Aside from the spell requiring "sufficient space" (10'x10'), casting it "under" a door or wall, would simply have you look up from the bottom and see the area you came from, as it's not a physical pit, but extradimensional. At the end of the spell, you simply end where you started, as if shunted out of a bag of holding.

However, the spell does not say if you need "line of sight" or "line of effect" to where you're casting it. So, can someone cast it from around the corner, through a wall or door, while blind, etc.? E.g. if the bad guy hears the PCs tinkering with the door or clanking up the hall, can he cast Create Pit on the other side of door or down the hall and around the corner? Does the caster simply need to know where the 10'x10' is in his mind to cast the pit or must he have line of sight/effect?

Verdant Wheel 3/5 **

I recently finished 7 goals on my Silver Crusade faction card, but when I went to use the Paragon feature, I was terribly confused. Let me see if I can try to explain. Below is the text from both the year 6 and year 7 faction cards (you'll see why as I explain). (Note that I am using the year 7 version.)

SILVER CRUSADE YEAR 6

SOLDIER OF PEACE (2+ goals): You reduce the penalty on attack rolls to deal nonlethal damage with lethal weapons by 2; if you already suffer no penalty on such an attack, you instead deal 1 additional point of nonlethal damage. Once per adventure before casting a spell, you may choose to replace half the lethal damage dealt with an equal amount of nonlethal damage.
ANOINTED (4+ goals): You gain a +2 sacred bonus on Charisma-based checks made against good creatures and on saving throws against spells and effects with the evil descriptor. Once per adventure as a swift action, you may grant a weapon you wield the benefits of bless weapon for one round.
PARAGON (7+ goals): When you or an ally purchases the spellcasting service raise dead, resurrection, or true resurrection, reduce the Prestige Point cost by 25%. When you cast any of these spells, reduce the material component cost by 25%. When activating either the Soldier of Peace or Anointed boon, you may grant the benefit to one ally you can see instead of receiving it yourself.

SILVER CRUSADE YEAR 7

SOLDIER OF PEACE (2+ goals): You reduce the penalty on attack rolls to deal nonlethal damage with lethal weapons by 2; if you already suffer no penalty on such an attack, you instead deal 1 additional point of nonlethal damage. Once per adventure before casting a spell, you may choose to replace half the lethal damage dealt with an equal amount of nonlethal damage.
MIRACLE WORKER (4+ goals): Once per adventure, you can use the lay on hands class feature as though you were a paladin whose level equals the number of goals you have completed.
PARAGON (7+ goals): When you or an ally purchases the spellcasting service raise dead, resurrection, or true resurrection, reduce the Prestige Point cost by 25%. When you cast any of these spells, reduce the material component cost by 25%. When activating either the Soldier of Peace boon, you may grant the benefit to one ally you can see instead of receiving it yourself.

Notice that the second reward changed from year 6 to year 7. In year 6, it was the "Anointed" boon and you could use your Paragon reward on it. In the year 7 Paragon reward, it says "either the Soldier of Peace boon", but doesn't list the new "Miracle Worker" reward. Either the word "either" needs to be removed or "or Miracle Worker" needs to be added. Which should it be?

The wording of the Soldier of Peace reward to deal non-lethal damage sounds like it's an "always on" kind of thing. This is fine if you're using it yourself, as it only "activates" when you strike for non-lethal damage. How do you use the Paragon reward to activate Soldier of Peace to "grant the benefit (e.g. "reduce the penalty on attack rolls") to one ally"? If you only "activate" it when you use it, how do you grant that benefit to an ally who is attacking on their own initiative and may or may not be attacking for non-lethal?

If you wish to grant them the ability to do non-lethal with a spell, does it take your "once per adventure" ability or is it in addition to that? And, again, how do you both "activate" it (e.g. cast a spell) AND "grant" it? If you begin casting the spell, but grant the non-lethal ability to someone else, what happens to YOUR spell?

What kind of action is it to use one of these rewards (specifically in combat)? Do you have to activate it using a standard action? Move action? Free action? Swift? Immediate?

Finally, how many times can you use that last line of your Paragon reward per adventure or should it be removed entirely?

We talked about this at the table, but no one had any better answers than I did, so I finally just scrapped the idea of using the rewards, at all. After working so hard GMing mods and keeping up with all of the requirements I'd like to be able to actually USE them.

Sign me loyal, but confused!
Marcia

Verdant Wheel

I recently finished 7 goals on my Silver Crusade faction card, but when I went to use the Paragon feature, I was terribly confused. Let me see if I can try to explain. Below is the text from both the year 6 and year 7 faction cards (you'll see why as I explain). (Note that I am using the year 7 version.)

SILVER CRUSADE YEAR 6

SOLDIER OF PEACE (2+ goals): You reduce the penalty on attack rolls to deal nonlethal damage with lethal weapons by 2; if you already suffer no penalty on such an attack, you instead deal 1 additional point of nonlethal damage. Once per adventure before casting a spell, you may choose to replace half the lethal damage dealt with an equal amount of nonlethal damage.
ANOINTED (4+ goals): You gain a +2 sacred bonus on Charisma-based checks made against good creatures and on saving throws against spells and effects with the evil descriptor. Once per adventure as a swift action, you may grant a weapon you wield the benefits of bless weapon for one round.
PARAGON (7+ goals): When you or an ally purchases the spellcasting service raise dead, resurrection, or true resurrection, reduce the Prestige Point cost by 25%. When you cast any of these spells, reduce the material component cost by 25%. When activating either the Soldier of Peace or Anointed boon, you may grant the benefit to one ally you can see instead of receiving it yourself.

SILVER CRUSADE YEAR 7

SOLDIER OF PEACE (2+ goals): You reduce the penalty on attack rolls to deal nonlethal damage with lethal weapons by 2; if you already suffer no penalty on such an attack, you instead deal 1 additional point of nonlethal damage. Once per adventure before casting a spell, you may choose to replace half the lethal damage dealt with an equal amount of nonlethal damage.
MIRACLE WORKER (4+ goals): Once per adventure, you can use the lay on hands class feature as though you were a paladin whose level equals the number of goals you have completed.
PARAGON (7+ goals): When you or an ally purchases the spellcasting service raise dead, resurrection, or true resurrection, reduce the Prestige Point cost by 25%. When you cast any of these spells, reduce the material component cost by 25%. When activating either the Soldier of Peace boon, you may grant the benefit to one ally you can see instead of receiving it yourself.

Notice that the second reward changed from year 6 to year 7. In year 6, it was the "Anointed" boon and you could use your Paragon reward on it. In the year 7 Paragon reward, it says "either the Soldier of Peace boon", but doesn't list the new "Miracle Worker" reward. Either the work "either" needs to be removed or "or Miracle Worker" needs to be added. Which should it be?

The wording of the Soldier of Peace reward to deal non-lethal damage sounds like it's an "always on" kind of thing. This is fine if you're using it yourself, as it only "activates" when you strike for non-lethal damage. How do you use the Paragon reward to activate Soldier of Peace to "grant the benefit (e.g. "reduce the penalty on attack rolls") to one ally"? If you only "activate" it when you use it, how do you grant that benefit to an ally who is attacking on their own initiative and may or may not be attacking for non-lethal?

If you wish to grant them the ability to do non-lethal with a spell, does it take your "once per adventure" ability or is it in addition to that? And, again, how do you both "activate" it (e.g. cast a spell) AND "grant" it? If you begin casting the spell, but grant the non-lethal ability to someone else, what happens to YOUR spell?

What kind of action is it to use one of these rewards (specifically in combat)? Do you have to activate it using a standard action? Move action? Free action? Swift? Immediate?

Finally, how many times can you use that last line of your Paragon reward per adventure or should it be removed entirely?

We talked about this at the table, but no one had any better answers than I did, so I finally just scrapped the idea of using the rewards, at all. It seems kind of pointless to work so hard GMing mods and keeping up with all of the requirements if you can't actually USE them.

Sign me loyal, but confused!
Marcia

Verdant Wheel

There is some disagreement about moving through enemy squares when you can't see the enemy due to your blindness or the enemy's invisibility. If you cannot see the enemy as you go through their square, do you automatically run into them or can they simply move aside and let you pass? I've seen it run both ways and each GM insisted that their's was the only correct way. Since I frequently GM, I want to get it right.