KHShadowrunner's page

165 posts. No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 1 alias.




I think I'm going to take my bard down an illusion path, preferring to trick his enemies rather than find ways to deal damage (or mind affecting abilities too, which means that I'll have horrible luck against undead).

I'm deciding between Silent Image and Charm Person, and after the invigorating debate with Charm Person, I had some questions about Silent Image.

The description of Silent Image doesn't say it doesn't, and most people seem to do it, but:

Are illusions created by Silent Image able to be animated? For instance, If I create the illusion of a treasure chest or a scroll, could I attempt to mimic the action of the chest opening, or the scroll being unraveled?

Can you expand on an illusion without recasting silent image? Continuing on the above, if I create the image of a treasure chest and animate it opening, can I then add the details of what's in the chest without recasting?


After an interesting and informative round in my questions about how whips work, we stumbled upon yet another conundrum that I hope to get a solid answer for.

The main question that came out of it was:

Can an Attack of Opportunity (AoO) cause another AoO?

Example:
Creature tries to run away from me (el oh el), as my AoO, I replace my melee attack with an attempt to trip the creature. This attempt, according to Trip, triggers an AoO against myself. Does it?

What is the limit on this if Combat Reflexes is involved?

and recently

Can something you are fighting actually provoke an AoO on your turn without feats? (The argument to this was no, because feats like Greater Trip pretty much rely on the fact that you force an AoO rather than it not happen)


Cutting and pasting from my newbie introduction advice thread:

"So how exactly do whips work? I want to have a backup plan in case the GM opts not to house-rule it, which I'm 100% ok with. Whips do no damage, lethal or non-lethal according to the core book. I assume then, that the whip is used to disarm/trip.

Ok actually the book confuses me, because it states it does non-lethal, but then in the description says it does no damage to creatures with an armor bonus of +1 or natural armor bonus of +3, which i think is pretty much everything.

But when it comes to trip/disarm.

How do you trigger these effects? Do you attempt to hit, and then attempt to do your decided effect? (in short, do i need 2 feats to 1, sub my attack roll for DEX and 1 feat to sub my CMB for DEX)

Or is the attempt to disarm/trip triggered by the attack attempt.

I'm starting to think it's the former, and I don't think I'm going to be all that good at that. If that's the case, do the rules on size, etc. still take effect? (as a halfling I can pretty much only trip my party members and goblins)

EDIT: A third option I didn't think about, does it simply not take attack roll into account and do a CMB check? Potentially, this would mean that weapon finnesse not only didn't do much good, it flat out helped me in no way other than doing a magical 1 DPR :)"

The jist of it is, my character is undoubtedly the most screwed halfling I've come to know (i'm relatively new, this being my first campaign that we actually leveled to 2). The DM is being pretty lenient and nice, but I want to abide by the rules. It's not like my character is completely screwed, just in deep trouble of being so, and as such I'm trying to work with what I have. The ideal option, is to go whip. But I do not understand how it works in regards to tripping/disarming and, how you do these.

Also to ask:

How do you actually trigger the effects? Do you declare it? Or is it inherited with the attack? (Do I have to say "I'm attempting to disarm the x using my whip/I'm attempting to trip y using my whip")


I'm trying to overcome a... significant weakness in my characters design and am trying to carefully plan accordingly. However, i'm trying to understand how wands work (sorry, should have pointed out I'm new).

According to the rulebook, in order to use a wand you must be of a class that is able to, in some way, learn that spell? But it says Normally, so I'm trying to find out what the exceptions are for this. Or if this is just a "house rules" kind of deal for exceptions.


Hello!

After having played in about 5 different settings in an attempt to learn to tabletop or DnD or whatever the fashion is, and having played in my first campaign where I have successfully leveled to 2 (most others were abruptly ended via disappearing members, though supposedly a good run of shadowrun can last as short as 3 sessions), I feel that this is a good time to become invested in a character and try to get this going for the long haul.

That, and the setting is rather nice.

So with that in mind, I have a ton of questions. However, there wasn't really a sticky or conveniently marked section with which to ask beginner related questions.

I understand that the beginner box section may be where to start, but after reading up it seems it would be more appropriate if we were actually using the starter box rather than just the core rulebook, and considering I'm a bard i'm technically already out of that scope.

Would this section be the right place to start asking? Or should I direct my attention to the beginners box area and ask beginner-but-not-beginner-box questions there :)