What are the exceptions to wands?


Rules Questions


I'm trying to overcome a... significant weakness in my characters design and am trying to carefully plan accordingly. However, i'm trying to understand how wands work (sorry, should have pointed out I'm new).

According to the rulebook, in order to use a wand you must be of a class that is able to, in some way, learn that spell? But it says Normally, so I'm trying to find out what the exceptions are for this. Or if this is just a "house rules" kind of deal for exceptions.


"Know" the spell: if the spell is on your spell class list (you don't need to have the level to cast, just be able in the "future") AND if the spell is of the good "magic", so either divine or profane.
ex: cleric are divine caster and wizard are profane
a wand of magic weapon "profane" cannot be used by a cleric, even if spell magic weapon is also on their spell class list.

skill Use Magic Device called "UMD": read the skill entry, it allows "everybody" to use "every magic item". But... you have to max this skill if you want have a good chance it succeed.


Defraeter wrote:
"Know" the spell: if the spell is on your spell class list (you don't need to have the level to cast, just be able in the "future") AND if the spell is of the good "magic", so either divine or profane.

Negative on that, Houston.

.
.

First off, Wizards (and Witches, Magi, Sorcerers Summoners and Bards...) use arcane magic, not profane magic.

Second, and more importantly: you just have to have that spell on your spell list. The distinction between arcane and divine is relevant for scrolls, and scrolls only.

So, to employ a wand, you just need that spell on your spell list. Which is is the class spell list for your class, plus any domain, bloodline, or mystery spells.
If you are a cleric, subtract all spells with a contradicting alignment.
If you are a Thassilonian Specialist, subtract spells of your forbidden schools.

If a spell is not on your list, you may still use a wand of it. In this case, however, you will need to make a Use Magical Device skill check, with a DC of 20.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Terminology clarification: Defraeter means "Arcane" when he says "profane".

The checks are:

1) Is the wand an arcane or divine wand, and does the character's spell casting match that type?
2) is the spell within the wand on the character's class spell list?

If both are "yes", then the character can use the wand. If not, Use Magic Device is required to activate the wand.


No, Midnight Angel is correct.

"Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin."

There are no Arcane or Divine wands, there are just wands.

As long as the spell is on your class's list, you can use the wand without any trouble.

For example, a wand of Cure Light Wounds made by a cleric can be used no problem by any Cleric, Oracle, Paladin, Ranger, Inquisitor, Witch, or Bard.


mind. blown. lol, to the newbies!

So, you actually CAN use a non-class spells, but it's a use device check? Make my bard ever slightly hopeful. ever so slightly.

But, how do I find out if something is arcane or divine? I'm going to assume it's not necessarily based on the spell?

I think all is lost anyways :), but might as well try.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

KHShadowrunner wrote:

mind. blown. lol, to the newbies!

So, you actually CAN use a non-class spells, but it's a use device check? Make my bard ever slightly hopeful. ever so slightly.

But, how do I find out if something is arcane or divine? I'm going to assume it's not necessarily based on the spell?

I think all is lost anyways :), but might as well try.

Arcane/divine only matters for scrolls, not wands.

For scrolls it should be specified. For wands it is immaterial.

If you keep up with skill ranks, Use Magic Device will be quite good for your bard, as it is a Charisma based skill. Without UMD you can use any wand of a spell on the Bard spell list.

With UMD you can use any wand period, by "pretending" it's on your spell list.


Exciting :) Thanks!

Now to amass some grand scheme that nets me either enough gold to buy wand(s?) and carry them, or to find them in the world lol.


Oh, wow, I didn't even realize the main question in this thread was, "does Use Magic Device exist?" Yes, absolutely you can UMD wands--that's like 95% of what UMD is used for in a typical game, actually.

It's a DC: 20 UMD check to use any wand. That's a pretty easy one to hit with a Bard.

If you're hardcore about it, you may even want to consider Skill Focus.


Sorry :( the wands section didn't actually cover Use Magic Device, just the rules on using the wand. I guess I should have actually read more about UMD >.<


Midnight_Angel wrote:
Defraeter wrote:
"Know" the spell: if the spell is on your spell class list (you don't need to have the level to cast, just be able in the "future") AND if the spell is of the good "magic", so either divine or profane.

Negative on that, Houston.

First off, Wizards (and Witches, Magi, Sorcerers Summoners and Bards...) use arcane magic, not profane magic.

Second, and more importantly: you just have to have that spell on your spell list. The distinction between arcane and divine is relevant for scrolls, and scrolls only.

I didn't remember how you say that in english and profane was the only word i found. ;-)

I'm not very far from "arcane", just 6 lettres...

Yep, i confused between scroll & wand, divine & arcane is just relevant for scroll.

I should sleep sometimes. ^^


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Bleurgh for conflating wands and scrolls. My current adventuring party are even loaded up with CLW wands!

Seriously glad I mentioned UMD, though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What are the exceptions to wands? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.