I think I'm going to take my bard down an illusion path, preferring to trick his enemies rather than find ways to deal damage (or mind affecting abilities too, which means that I'll have horrible luck against undead).
I'm deciding between Silent Image and Charm Person, and after the invigorating debate with Charm Person, I had some questions about Silent Image.
The description of Silent Image doesn't say it doesn't, and most people seem to do it, but:
Are illusions created by Silent Image able to be animated? For instance, If I create the illusion of a treasure chest or a scroll, could I attempt to mimic the action of the chest opening, or the scroll being unraveled?
Can you expand on an illusion without recasting silent image? Continuing on the above, if I create the image of a treasure chest and animate it opening, can I then add the details of what's in the chest without recasting?
Darkwolf, I am pretty sure that is correct. Some people argue that you can cast "ghost sounds" along with "silent image" to enhance the illusion. I suppose that's something the OP could ask his GM about, but by RAW I am pretty sure that Silent Image takes your full concentration and when that ends, the image ends.
Also, Charm Person is one of those spells that engenders spirited debate since some argue that it is essentially a first level version of dominate, while others (like me) argue that it is restricted to influencing the target as if you were a close friend.
My general approach is that if it's a first level spell, it shouldn't be able to duplicate effects of much higher level spells with an opposed charisma check.
I guess you can cast Ghost sounds first, since that would then give you a few rounds to cast the image. But I'm more interested in the interaction part. As I could see myself trying to negotiate (instead of destroy) an enemy by bribing him with treasure, creating the illusion of a chest and opening it to show gold inside.
But I also don't understand the idea of concentration, would I not be able to talk while keeping concentrated, if it's non-threatening?
:( A lot to learn it seems.
Also: With Verbal Components to a spell, the restriction is that you must be able to speak in a strong voice. Does that imply loud? Or does it simply mean you can't be inebriated or otherwise very poor at speaking (can you whisper verbal components in order to conceal that you are actually casting)
I took another look and I have the feeling that the answer is: No, because the ability to change it would be in line with Programmed Image which is a level 6 bard spell.
It might not be the same, because Programmed Image does not require concentration, and triggers upon a command word or action, but .. I'm not sure still what would be allowed.
Here's something, via the magic page of the core rulebook.
Concentration: The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.
You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.
Odd wording aside (there is an actual section entitled concentration, about a different matter), it only takes up a standard action on your turn, meaning you could certainly move.
As for the verbal part of it, such as whether or not you can talk while concentrating... hard to say. That's probably up to your GM. Personally, I think most components are only referenced when you first cast the spell, and otherwise don't require continuation, so I would rule that you wouldn't need to continue them... but that's my own interpretation, and I have nothing to back that up.