Journeyman Carpenter

Golgathar's page

Organized Play Member. 56 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 12 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 56 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

As a wizard, if I cast Fey form on my familiar what would the DC for the spells be?

And if a Fey you transform into has spell-like abilities with a caster level higher than yours, can you still cast those spells because the Fey form grants them to you?


Resurrecting an old thread here. Question about Undead Anatomy IV. It says

[QUOTE=]
This spell functions as undead anatomy III, except it allows you to use more abilities. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: burrow 60 feet, climb 90 feet, fly 120 feet (good maneuverability), swim 120 feet, blindsense 60 feet, darkvision 90 feet, lifesense 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, tremorsense 60 feet, breath weapon, constrict, DR 10/magic and silver, DR 15/bludgeoning and magic, fast healing 5, fiery death, fire aura, grab, incorporeal, jet, poison, pounce, rake, rend, roar, spikes, trample, trip, and web.

Does anyone know what type of undead has DR 15/ bludgeoning AND magic?


And a follow up question; can a dragon choose to not have the Frightful Presence Aura active? Like turn it on and off?


LazarX wrote:

Frightful Presence (Ex)

This special quality makes a creature’s very presence unsettling to foes. Activating this ability is a free action that is usually part of an attack or charge. Opponents within range who witness the action may become frightened or shaken. The range is usually 30 feet, and the duration is usually 5d6 rounds. This ability affects only opponents with fewer Hit Dice than the creature has. An opponent can resist the effects with a successful Will save (DC 10 + 1/2 the frightful creature’s racial HD + the frightful creature’s Cha modifier; the exact DC is given in the creature’s descriptive text). On a failed save, the opponent is shaken, or panicked if it has 4 Hit Dice or fewer. An opponent that succeeds on the saving throw is immune to that same creature’s frightful presence for 24 hours. Frightful presence is a mind-affecting fear effect.

Format: frightful presence (60 ft., DC 21); Location: Aura.

I'm resurrecting an old thread because I didn't see an answer to my question elsewhere. I have a question about factoring a PC's hit dice into the save for Frightful Presence. For a PC using Form of Dragon III, PC's normally don't have racial hit dice, right? They have hit dice based on class. So would the PC be able to add 1/2 the total of their hit dice, or does that part of the save not apply because the PC does not have racial hit dice?


Thanks guys. I should also mention that I would like this character to be PFS legal. I don't know if that would change anything or if you would add more to your comments.


I have a sorcerer that uses enchantment and necromancy spells, and I'm debating about dipping two levels into Paladin to get Divine Grace (Charisma Mod to all saves). So my main question is; would using spells to blind people, or control their minds, such as terrible remorse or hold monster, break a Paladin's Code? Even if the person or creature the spells are being cast upon are evil.

And, is animating corpses always considered evil? Or does it depend on what type of creature you animate?


Thanks all, much appreciated!


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Just wondering out of curiosity. I know there are restrictions on how high wands go, but I haven't seen any restrictions on buying scrolls.


Thanks, much appreciated!


That's to use a mutagen. Mutate gives you the benefits of your mutagen, but you don't imbibe it like you normally would a mutagen. It's a separate ability. That's where my confusion lies.


I have a question about the Mutate ability, though it's along a slightly different track. I read through the Mutate ability verbiage and I wasn't able to find anything that states what type of action it is. Like if it is a Standard, swift, move, ect... For anyone willing to help me look into this here is the wording for the ability:

-------
Mutate (Su): At 1st level, as a result of repeated exposure to her mutagens, the master chymist can now assume a mutagenic form twice per day without imbibing her mutagen. In this form, she gains all the bonuses and penalties of her mutagen and adds together her alchemist and master chymist levels together to determine her effective alchemist level for the duration of this form. Using a mutagen also forces the chymist into this form. Taking a mutagen or using the mutate ability again while in her mutagenic form works normally (with the new mutagen's modifiers replacing the current modifiers, and the longer duration taking precedent). The chymist remains in her mutagenic form until its duration expires, her magic is interrupted (as with an antimagic field), or she expends another use of her mutate ability.

A chymist may be forced to take her mutagenic form against her will by stress or damage. Anytime the character is in her normal form and has daily uses of the mutate ability available, she may be forced to switch after suffering a critical hit or failing a Fortitude save. In these situations the chymist must make a DC 25 Will save; if she fails, on her next turn she uses a standard action to change to her mutagenic form (which counts as a use of the mutate ability).

---------

The only type of action I see is if the chymist takes a critical hit or fails a fort save. That forces the chymist to use a standard action to transform. But I don't see anywhere else what type of action must be taken to transform at will. I think it might be a standard action for any situation, but without it being clearly written I wonder if anyone else sees it differently. Like if transforming at will is a free action.


It's been a while since anyone last commented on this thread, and I've looked elsewhere for a concrete answer, but does anyone know for certain, in PFS Society Play, that a Wizard could indeed purchase a clockwork familiar at level 7 if they have the Improved Familiar Feat and the gold to do so?

I'm currently working on a Wizard with a familiar that has the Mauler archetype, and it would just be so awesome to be able to have a large clockwork familiar smacking things around at level 7. The Mauler archetype lets the familiar become side medium, and then the wizard can cast enlarge person on it thanks to share spells.


After reading it again I think I've figured it out. The mask makes the attack as a touch attack. I mistook it for a ranged touch attack by the wearer of the mask. No size is provided for the mask, but diminutive makes the most sense, so the mask would provoke because it must enter the creatures square to attack.

I guess I just need to be careful about who or what I use it on. Otherwise I would be spending 1 PP every time it gets busted in order to have Make Whole cast on it.


Ha, both answers are exactly why I am unsure about this item. I just don't understand why they give the item an AC when it acts as a ranged touch attack. Why would a ranged touch attack provoke if you are doing it 50ft away? I know in melee it would provoke, but the item is being activated at distance (optimally).


Can anyone help me understand the rules how this item works?

It states the following

Once per day, after it has been worn for at least 1 hour, the mask can be loosed to fly from the wearer's face. It travels up to 50 feet away from the wearer and attacks a target assigned to it. The grinning skull mask makes a touch attack against the target based on the wearer's base attack bonus. If the attack succeeds, the target must make a DC 20 Fortitude save or take 130 points of damage, as if affected by a finger of death spell. If the target succeeds on his saving throw, he nevertheless takes 3d6+13 points of damage. After attacking (whether successful or not), the mask flies back to its user. The mask has AC 16, 10 hit points, and hardness 6.

The description says it is a ranged touch attack, but it also lists AC, hardness and hit points. Does that mean the item would provoke an attack of opportunity if attacking creatures with reach? Or is that only if a sunder attack is made against the item?


I've been looking into building an experimental Gunsmith, and I have a question about the Vial Launcher:

The text states:

Vial Launcher: The experimental gunsmith adds a special tube onto her firearm that can hold 1 vial of alchemical material, such as alchemist's fire, a tanglefoot bag, or a thunderstone.The experimental gunsmith adds a special tube onto her firearm that can hold 1 vial of alchemical material, such as alchemist's fire, a tanglefoot bag, or a thunderstone.

My questions is; would an alchemical substance include bombs from the alchemist class? Or only equipment? Because being able to fire bombs from the under-barrel of a musket would be freaking awesome!


I've been looking into building an experimental Gunsmith, and I have a question about the Vial Launcher:

The text states:

Vial Launcher: The experimental gunsmith adds a special tube onto her firearm that can hold 1 vial of alchemical material, such as alchemist's fire, a tanglefoot bag, or a thunderstone.The experimental gunsmith adds a special tube onto her firearm that can hold 1 vial of alchemical material, such as alchemist's fire, a tanglefoot bag, or a thunderstone.

My questions is; would an alchemical substance include bombs from the alchemist class? Or only equipment? Because being able to fire bombs from the under-barrel of a musket would be freaking awesome!


Golgathar wrote:
CrystalSpellblade wrote:


There isn't anything that says the size limit for a grapple. If your venture captains and lieutenants are saying this, it might be a PFS ruling. You can also feel free to ask them where it says this restriction as grapple mentions no restriction on size.

I'm sad to say I have asked the leaders where it says there is a size restriction in the source books and my only answer is, "it's in there". It's quite frustrating because I read so many posts online stating otherwise. And PFS uses the books as the rules for society play.

I do appreciate GinoA posting the rules as are shown on PRD, and I have found that section in the Core Rulebook, but unless I have a section from a specific book, specifically about size, I won't make any headway with changing people's minds.

Was there a size limit in D&D 3.5? Many of the veteran role players in my area have been playing D&D since the red box, but I wonder if they are confusing differences between D&D 3.5 and Pathfinder rules.

I think I may have found my own answers. I never thought to look in the appendixes. The Combat Maneuver section does state how to calculate how to do the math for them, which does not limit on size, except for trip. The appendixes give more specific information about the grappled and pinned conditions and those do not specify size limits either. Hopefully that will give me enough to go on to be convincing.


CrystalSpellblade wrote:


There isn't anything that says the size limit for a grapple. If your venture captains and lieutenants are saying this, it might be a PFS ruling. You can also feel free to ask them where it says this restriction as grapple mentions no restriction on size.

I'm sad to say I have asked the leaders where it says there is a size restriction in the source books and my only answer is, "it's in there". It's quite frustrating because I read so many posts online stating otherwise. And PFS uses the books as the rules for society play.

I do appreciate GinoA posting the rules as are shown on PRD, and I have found that section in the Core Rulebook, but unless I have a section from a specific book, specifically about size, I won't make any headway with changing people's minds.

Was there a size limit in D&D 3.5? Many of the veteran role players in my area have been playing D&D since the red box, but I wonder if they are confusing differences between D&D 3.5 and Pathfinder rules.


Elbedor wrote:


But before we go any further, let's just make sure we understand who is arguing what here. I'm not saying the rules are or should be other than they are. The OP asked if it was legal. My answer was yes. Then I interjected opinion because frankly I find it funny that a 35lb person can pin a 5000lb person. Or reverse that, that a 5000lb person can't lift a 35lb person off him. That's like my 8yr old son with top end gear pinning a Stegosaurus. It becomes a question of mass, not just strength or wrestling technique. But again I'm not saying the rule is or should be different. Just that there are places where they can get a little silly.

If I were to debate the rules, I'd do so elsewhere. But as this is the Rules section, the only valid answer to the OP is "yes, there is no size limit for grappling and pinning".

I'm sorry to ask again as you have stated the rules clearly, but could you point me to where in the pathfinder books it says there is no size limit to grappling and pinning? I'm asking because I play pathfinder society games, and many of the venture captains and lieutenants have told me repeatedly that you can't grapple a creature two sizes larger and up, and you can't pin a creature one size larger and up.

I keep reading on the forums that there are no rules about size limits on the forums, but GM's keep telling me otherwise.


I'm sorry but I don't follow. Essentially what is the ruling on how many tiny creatures, not in a swarm, can be in the same 5 ft space as a medium creature?


I have a follow-up question for this spell regarding the second option for it regarding what the spell description means when it says to treat the spell as a cave-in with no bury-zone.

"While this spell does not affect dressed or worked stone, cavern ceilings or vertical surfaces such as cliff faces can be affected. Usually, this causes a moderate collapse or landslide as the loosened material peels away from the face of the wall or roof and falls (treat as a cave-in with no bury zone, see Environment)."

Now, under environment, it says the following about how cave-ins affect characters:

"Characters in the bury zone of a cave-in take 8d6 points of damage, or half that amount if they make a DC 15 Reflex save. They are subsequently buried. Characters in the slide zone take 3d6 points of damage, or no damage at all if they make a DC 15 Reflex save. Characters in the slide zone who fail their saves are buried."

So does that mean we apply only the damage of the bury zone, which is 8d6, or half on a reflex save? And they are not buried? Or, since there is no bury zone, we apply the rules of the slide zone, where they take 3d6 and are buried if they fail save, or are not affected at all if they succeed the save?

Because the spell description says no bury zone, I interpret the spell as using the slide zone of a cave in. Can any experienced GM's out there help me figure this one out?


I did some searching on the forums for using this item in combat with allies nearby, and they all covered how a player can say "No, you can't do that" if you were to perform an action that could possibly harm them. However, with the Rod of Wonder, the caster does not know if the result of the use of the rod could be harmful until after it is used as a standard action and the percentile die are rolled.

So my question is would I need to get the permission of other people I am playing with to even use the rod? Because it would first cost a standard action to activate before the percentile die are rolled to learn if the action is harmful or not.

Or, after the rod is used, and the result is learned, could players then say no they don't accept whatever would have happened to them. And the standard action to active the rod would still be spent.

I'm just kind of foggy on how the Rod of Wonder could be used in combat when many of the affects are AoE, especially when you have fighters up close with the enemy.


Awesome! Thanks for clearing that up for me.


For example; I'm thinking about multi classing a primal hunter and beast rider cavalier. If I took 1 level in each would my animal companion be considered a level 2 companion?


So if I cast this during combat and it affects an enemy combatant, what types of suggestions could I make that would be beneficial?


I'm mostly curious because I've played with gm's who have had people make a straight charisma roll to pantomime something and I'd like to have some kind bonus to it since I'm an enchanter focus spellcaster


i wouldn't think of pantomiming as a language though. It's more like how well you you can play charades so someone else can guess what message you are trying to convey. I would think sign language would be completely different from pantomiming because sign language has set words and an alphabet, whereas pantomiming is a talent at conveying messages through gestures.

Is there anything official on pantomiming being a language, or there being a difference between sign language and pantomiming?


The spell charm person has the text " You must speak the person’s language to communicate your commands, or else be good at pantomiming", so based on that, pantomiming to convey what you want a creature to do.

The spell hypnotize states "This allows you to make a single request of the affected creature (provided you can communicate with it). " it does not specify speak the creature's language. And pantomiming is a type of communication. So I don't see why it wouldn't work


I'm not sure if my question goes here, but I could use some help clarifying something.

Could Pantomime possibly be made into a Profession? Kind of like how someone would be a professional translator,I might consider my character to be a professional at sign-language.

Now, aside from that reasoning to have Pantomime as a Profession, instead of it normally being under the Perform skill, is because my Sorcerer/Druid who will become a Mystic Theurge does not get Perform as a class skill, so I was hoping I could have Pantomime as a profession. Is there anything in the rules that would go against that?

And I'd like to have Pantomime as a skill because my character focuses on the Enchantment school to control others, and with the undead sorcerer bloodline I could hypnotize corporeal humanoid undead, but if they don't speak my language perhaps I could communicate my desire for them to do my bidding with pantomime, and the same goes for any other creature that does not speak the same language.

Thoughts?


Which gods would let you choose Dark Tapestry as the second domain if you chose the Separatist Cleric archetype?


Thanks


I have a Brawler and I'm considering taking a level of barbarian, and I was wondering if I would be able to use the Brawler's martial flexibility ability while raging. I'm not sure if using martial flexibility would be considered an ability that requires concentration.

The description does not mention anything about concentration being needed, just that it basically happens at will. But I was wondering how anyone really familiar with the rules would interpret it with rage.


Would having Anacondas Coils and the Final Embrace Feat for a Human be legal for PFS?


I decided to go with only changing my Cleric Levels to Monk levels. But it totals to 28 days since there is no synergy between going from Cleric to Monk. And is it 1 Prestige Point per day of training? I don't know if I'll be able to retain them all if that's the case.


PFS Game


Heroshi wrote:

If you are using Ultimate Campaign there are rules for everything use ask.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateCampaign/campaignSystems/retrain ing.html

Switching class lvls, ability point, and archetypes.

Thanks. I did find some of the rules for it. Now it's just trying to figure out the math.

Like I'm retraining from a LvL 4 Cleric into a LvL 4 Druid. And from a LvL 1 Monk into a LvL1 Figther.

I'm keeping all of the feats I currently have, and ability scores. Just trying to figure the rest of it out. I suck at math and some of the calculations are a bit complicated for me.


Hi everyone,

I'm not quite happy with the classes I choose for my character. They just don't seem to be working well. I have 1 level in Monk Zen Archer, and 4 levels in Cleric. Is it possible to change classes? Or at least retrain my classes into other archetypes?

And I'm guessing that once you pick your ability scores those are set until character death.

Any help about how the rules work for this would be very much appreciated!

Thanks!


Belafon wrote:
Traskus wrote:

This means 1 new character of my choosing gets a third trait that has to be a faction trait right?

So does that mean you take a faction trait and make it like a trait for your character's race, and then you can stack the faction trait on top of it?

I don't quite understand how that works.


I got the Boulder helmet too. Probably won't get dorn-dergae until I hit 4.


Would I need to take a special proficiency to use a madu? Or is it included in being proficient with shields?t


Thanks for all of the advice anyone! I have another question. Would the natural Adamantine DR of the class stack with DR from Adamantine armor?


Would sanctified shield work with a channel elemental energy? The description for it in the link posted above mentioned positive and negative channel energy, but not elemental. and the Stonelord gets channel elemental energy (earth).

Also, I plan to get Stoneplate armor which has a max dec bonus of 1, so if I did get dodge is the dodge bonus seperate from the dex?


I only play pathfinder society games. Is that feat ok for society play?


Thanks Shadowkire.

What book is Improved Natural Armor in? I couldn't find the feat for it


Hi everyone,

I'm making a new Stonelord and I am wondering about taking the feat Ironhide, because he is a dwarf, but I'm not sure if the Natural AC from the Stonelord Archetype will stack with Ironhide. I'm just trying to find a way to boost his Natural AC. I also read something about Improved Natural AC, but I couldn't figure out if that would apply to the Natural AC coming from the Stonelord achetype.

Can anyone help me with this?


I'm new to using the Strangler archetype and am trying to figure the Strangle ability out, and I'm sorry if I repeat anything already stated. If I do it is because I'm confused and hope you can help me sort it out.

So the brawler is always considered flanking flanking her target for the use of this ability; does that mean the brawler also gets the +2 to hit since they are considered flanking? So if that's true, then a brawler would get +2 from flanking on top of the +5 because his opponent did not break free of the grapple, leaving a +7 bonus to maintain the grapple. Would that be correct?

And still on the flanking note, only the brawler is considered flanking in order to deal the 1d6 strangle damage, right? So that while the brawler has an opponent grappled, allies still will not be able to stand opposite the brawler and gain flanking on the same opponent. Hope I said that right.

And the strangle damage only applies when you already have an opponent grappled, correct? So when you first roll to grapple, and succeed, you would not apply strangle damage until you are able to maintain the grapple the next round.

Any help you all can offer will be greatly appreciated!!


Got it, Thanks RumpinRufus


I know I'm coming to this thread a little late, but I'm looking for some more advice on exactly how this stuff works.

Like in the definition of of it, I'm just copying from Ohako's first post, "the two combine to form 50 cubic feet of thick green foam. Unless contained, in 1 round the foam fills a 5-foot-square to a depth of 2 feet. When multiple pounds of powder are used, the foam expands at a rate of one 5-foot square per round."

In pathfinder terms, exactly how many 5 foot squares is 50 cubic feet? and if you mix two of the packages together, the definition says it spreads faster, but wouldn't it also double the area that the foam could cover?


So I guess I'll leave my Cold Iron Weapon as it is. I only have 3,500 gold, so I'll get steel Great Axe with a +1 Magic Enchantment. And, if I understand how that works correctly, it costs 2,0000 gold, plus the normal weapon cost, to make a +1 attack / +1 damage weapon without any other effects like fire damage or cold damage. Maybe I'll also get a silver weapon too.

1 to 50 of 56 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>