Lantern Bearer

Gol Zayvian's page

Goblin Squad Member. Organized Play Member. 110 posts (594 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.



Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I was reading the Attack of Opportunity rules, which I have presented in spoiler in their entirety:

Attack of Opportunity:
Attacks of Opportunity

Sometimes a combatant in a melee lets her guard down or takes a reckless action. In this case, combatants near her can take advantage of her lapse in defense to attack her for free. These free attacks are called attacks of opportunity. See the Attacks of Opportunity diagram for an example of how they work.

Threatened Squares: You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you're unarmed, you don't normally threaten any squares and thus can't make attacks of opportunity.

Reach Weapons: Most creatures of Medium or smaller size have a reach of only 5 feet. This means that they can make melee attacks only against creatures up to 5 feet (1 square) away. However, Small and Medium creatures wielding reach weapons threaten more squares than a typical creature. In addition, most creatures larger than Medium have a natural reach of 10 feet or more.

Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing certain actions within a threatened square.

Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.

Performing a Distracting Act: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle. Table: Actions in Combat notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.

Remember that even actions that normally provoke attacks of opportunity may have exceptions to this rule.

Making an Attack of Opportunity: An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and most characters can only make one per round. You don't have to make an attack of opportunity if you don't want to. You make your attack of opportunity at your normal attack bonus, even if you've already attacked in the round.

An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn).

Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity: If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity bonus to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.


For the purpose of this thread, I would like to discuss this portion specifically:
Quote:

Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing certain actions within a threatened square.

Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.

In these General rules, the way I understand them is that in order to trigger an attack of opportunity, the triggering character must of their own volition take some kind of action which falls into the pathfinder action economy. Of the available actions only certain kinds trigger, Movement (not 5' steps) that carries the character out of threatened territory; misc other stuff not pertinent to this post.

The question I have is, this leads me to believe that forced movement does not on its own provoke attacks of opportunity, am I correct in that assumption?

The reason I ask is that certain abilities (feats, spells, etc...) specifically call out that they do not cause the target to provoke when moved. Is this needless verbiage, or does it mean that forced movement does provoke whenever that specific text is absent (my vote is needless verbiage)?

Additionally:

Paizo.com/prd Greater Bullrush:
(Combat)

Your bull rush attacks throw enemies off balance.

Prerequisites: Improved Bull Rush, Power Attack, base attack bonus +6, Str 13.

Benefit: You receive a +2 bonus on checks made to bull rush a foe. This bonus stacks with the bonus granted by Improved Bull Rush. Whenever you bull rush an opponent, his movement provokes attacks of opportunity from all of your allies (but not you).

Normal: Creatures moved by bull rush do not provoke attacks of opportunity.


Can this feat be used for bull rushes that are not initiated through the normal combat maneuver process? For example, with any spell etc that causes an opponent to be moved as though they were bull rushed (excluding Telekinesis which specifically says you can't).

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I had this thought so i checked up on it and sure enough, it's supported by RAW.

You can according to RAW use the Disarm combat maneuver to forcibly dismount an opponent. If you Disarm the Horse (Griffin, Dragon, Etc...), it Drops whatever its carrying.

Disarm wrote:


You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands). If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by 10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both hands (maximum two items if the target has more than two hands). If your attack fails by 10 or more, you drop the weapon that you were using to attempt the disarm. If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.

Shadow Lodge

Does Mythic Spell Mastery override the rest requirement to prepare spells for those spells you have mastered?

Shadow Lodge

I am planning an encounter for my party with a great wyrm umbral dragon.I had the idea that it would be super cool if he could use Magic Jar to possess his undead minions (which are shadows), and use their bodies to attack the party and cast spells at them while he remains safely hidden in a secret chamber of his lair. So does this work?

Magic Jar:

School necromancy; Level sorcerer/wizard 5

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S, F (a gem or crystal worth at least 100 gp)

Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)

Target one creature

Duration 1 hour/level or until you return to your body

Saving Throw Will negates; see text; Spell Resistance yes

By casting magic jar, you place your soul in a gem or large crystal (known as the magic jar), leaving your body lifeless. Then you can attempt to take control of a nearby body, forcing its soul into the magic jar. You may move back to the jar (thereby returning the trapped soul to its body) and attempt to possess another body. The spell ends when you send your soul back to your own body, leaving the receptacle empty. To cast the spell, the magic jar must be within spell range and you must know where it is, though you do not need line of sight or line of effect to it. When you transfer your soul upon casting, your body is, as near as anyone can tell, dead.

While in the magic jar, you can sense and attack any life force within 10 feet per caster level (and on the same plane of existence). You do need line of effect from the jar to the creatures. You cannot determine the exact creature types or positions of these creatures. In a group of life forces, you can sense a difference of 4 or more HD between one creature and another and can determine whether a life force is powered by positive or negative energy. (Undead creatures are powered by negative energy. Only sentient undead creatures have, or are, souls.)

You could choose to take over either a stronger or a weaker creature, but which particular stronger or weaker creature you attempt to possess is determined randomly.

Attempting to possess a body is a full-round action. It is blocked by protection from evil or a similar ward. You possess the body and force the creature's soul into the magic jar unless the subject succeeds on a Will save. Failure to take over the host leaves your life force in the magic jar, and the target automatically succeeds on further saving throws if you attempt to possess its body again.

If you are successful, your life force occupies the host body, and the host's life force is imprisoned in the magic jar. You keep your Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, level, class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, alignment, and mental abilities. The body retains its Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, hit points, natural abilities, and automatic abilities. A body with extra limbs does not allow you to make more attacks (or more advantageous two-weapon attacks) than normal. You can't choose to activate the body's extraordinary or supernatural abilities. The creature's spells and spell-like abilities do not stay with the body.

As a standard action, you can shift freely from a host to the magic jar if within range, sending the trapped soul back to its body. The spell ends when you shift from the jar to your own body.

If the host body is slain, you return to the magic jar, if within range, and the life force of the host departs (it is dead). If the host body is slain beyond the range of the spell, both you and the host die. Any life force with nowhere to go is treated as slain.

If the spell ends while you are in the magic jar, you return to your body (or die if your body is out of range or destroyed). If the spell ends while you are in a host, you return to your body (or die, if it is out of range of your current position), and the soul in the magic jar returns to its body (or dies if it is out of range). Destroying the receptacle ends the spell, and the spell can be dispelled at either the magic jar or the host's location.

Shadow Lodge

So my question is this, When wearing gauntlets or spiked gauntlets (assume either both hands are so equipped, or one is and the other is wielding a weapon or shield etc...), do you still count as having the free hand necessary to perform somatic spell components?

Editorial Anecdote wrote:
I have personally worn hand crafted forged iron gauntlets and found that while they are heavy, they did not restrict my manual dexterity any more so then a pair of thick gloves.

Shadow Lodge

I went through the pre and didn't find what I'm looking for. I'd like to know if there are any feats that grant an arcane bonded item to non wizards. I know there are archetypes but I need a feat.

Edit: never mind I found a way to do what I want without a feat.

The build is a pathfinder/3.5 crossover
Rogue Knife Master/Arcanist Blade Adept/Daggerspell Mage
I will be taking the bloodline development exploit at level 3 for arcane bloodline so that I can use a pair of bonded daggers.

Shadow Lodge

My party will soon be raiding a goblin village so I want to present them with the following encounter (Warning: Contains mild adult themes):

Description:

Grelixa Goblin Brood Mother: Grelixa is the tribes primary breeder and spiritual leader. She is a short fat repugnant female who is almost always naked, her filthy sagging mammaries frequently lactating due in part to her almost constant state of pregnancy. Grelixa rules the tribe and is the primary caretaker of its children, thus she can frequently be seen surrounded by a large number of her offspring as they scrabble for her attention.

Statistics:

Goblin Brood Mother
NE Small Humanoid (Goblinoid) Cleric 3
Init +1; Senses Darkvision 60’ Perception +8
DEFENSE
AC 11; Touch 11; Flatfooted 10
HP: 26 (3d8+9)
Fort 5; Ref 2; Will 4
OFFENSE
Speed 30’
Melee Attack +3 Damage 1d4+0 (Dog Slicer) 19-20 x2
STATISTICS
Str 10, Dex 12, Con 14, Int 10, Wis 13, Cha 13
+4 Dexterity, –2 Strength, –2 Charisma: Goblins are fast, but weak and unpleasant to be around.
Goblinoid: Goblins are humanoids with the goblinoid subtype.
Small: Goblins are Small creatures and gain a +1 size bonus to their AC, a +1 size bonus on attack rolls, a –1 penalty to their CMB and CMD, and a +4 size bonus on Stealth checks.
Fast: Goblins are fast for their size, and have a base speed of 30 feet.
Darkvision: Goblins can see in the dark up to 60 feet.
Oversized Ears: +4 Perception
Languages: Goblins begin play speaking Goblin. Goblins with high Intelligence scores can choose from the following: Common, Draconic, Dwarven, Gnoll, Gnome, Halfling, and Orc.
Aura: Evil
Channel Energy 2d6
Domains: Community (Sub Domain Family), Charm (Sub Domain Lust)
Orisons: Stunning Barrier, Detect Magic, Resistance, Bleed
Spells: Level 1 Cure Light Wounds, Sanctuary, Obscuring Mist; Level 2 Owl’s Wisdom
Domain Spells: Level 1 Bless; Level 2 Touch of Idiocy
Domain Powers:
Dazing Touch (Sp): You can cause a living creature to become dazed for 1 round as a melee touch attack. Creatures with more Hit Dice than your cleric level are unaffected. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Calming Touch (Sp): You can touch a creature as a standard action to heal it of 1d6 points of nonlethal damage + 1 point per cleric level. This touch also removes the fatigued, shaken, and sickened conditions (but has no effect on more severe conditions). You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Feats: Versatile Channeler, Selective Channeler
Skills: Spell Craft +3, Perception +8

Baby Goblin Swarm
NE Tiny humanoid (goblinoid, swarm)
Init +7; Senses darkvision 60 ft.; Perception –1
DEFENSE
AC 15, touch 15, flat-footed 14 ( +3 Dex, +2 size)
hp 21 (5d10+5)
Fort +3, Ref +3, Will –1
Defensive Abilities swarm traits
OFFENSE
Speed 30 ft.
Melee: Swarm (1d6)
Distraction (Ex) A creature with this ability can nauseate the creatures that it damages. Any living creature that takes damage from a creature with the distraction ability is nauseated for 1 round; a Fortitude save DC 17 negates the effect.
STATISTICS
Str 9, Dex 17, Con 12, Int 10, Wis 9, Cha 6
Feats Improved Initiative
Languages Goblin

Shadow Lodge

Alter Self wrote:

Alter Self

School transmutation (polymorph); Level bard 2, sorcerer/wizard 2

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S, M (a piece of the creature whose form you plan to assume)

Range personal

Target you

Duration 1 min./level (D)

When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the humanoid type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, and swim 30 feet.

Small creature: If the form you take is that of a Small humanoid, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Dexterity.

Medium creature: If the form you take is that of a Medium humanoid, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Strength.

Exactly how far does "assume the form" go?

Since it doesn't specify that any of your own abilities are lost nor do your base attributes change, what exactly happens if the size you assume is larger or smaller than your own? The way this reads, a large caster could become medium and actually gain a size bonus to strength for taking on a smaller size.

Shadow Lodge

Paizo.com/PRD Summoner wrote:
Str/Dex Bonus: Add this modifier to the eidolon's Strength and Dexterity scores, as determined by its base form. Some options available through the eidolon's evolution pool might modify these scores.

The first part of the sentence is pretty easy to parse; clearly it applies to both. But then there is the second clause which substantially muddies the water making it seem like the bonus should apply to only one, which is specified in the base form. Except its not specified in the base form. So am I right, it applies to both? How does PFS play it?

Edit:

One more.

Am I correct in that I can allocate 100% of the Armor Bonus to natural armor, and then buy my Eidolon a suit of Full Plate?

Paizo.com/PRD Summoner (Emphasis Mine) wrote:
Armor Bonus: The number noted here is the eidolon's base total armor bonus. This bonus may be split between an armor bonus and a natural armor bonus, as decided by the summoner. This number is modified by the eidolon's base form and some options available through its evolution pool. An eidolon cannot wear armor of any kind, as the armor interferes with the summoner's connection to the eidolon.

Shadow Lodge

I am creating a character that will be working toward eventually dual wielding a pair of large bastard swords, are their any feats or class features out there that mitigate the penalty for when your off hand weapon isn't light?

Edit: Aside from the 2 weapon warrior fighter archtype, I'm building a Synthesist Summoner want to avoid an 11 level dip into fighter

Shadow Lodge

1: Synthesist (I think that's what its called) Archetype says that the fused summoned can't benefit from the eidolon's feats. What about feats that modify the base creature? For Example Toughness, Improved Natural Armor, and Fleet. Would the summoned use the Eidolon's modified natural Armor Bonus HP and Base Speed?

2: How does Dimensional Anchor interact with spells like Dismissal & Banishment. Will Dimensional Anchor prevent forced planar travel induced by those spells the way it prevents Teleporting and Gating?

Edit:

One more question, can the eidolon take extra evolution as one of its feats? It Is the eidolon class feature after all.

Shadow Lodge

28 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

Like the title:

If I want to perform an action normally defined as Swift or Immediate, can I perform that action as a standard action instead (in the same way you can take an additional move action as a standard action). If Yes, can I also take an additional swift or immediate action normally?

I checked the PRD and FAQ and didn't find this, so if anyone can link me to an existing FAQ or rule book that addresses this question I would be grateful.

As I understand the RAW from the PRD Core Rule Book Combat chapter, The answer is No, the only type of action that benefits from this special treatment is Move Actions.

This to me isn't particularly logical. It stands to reason that if a standard action takes longer than a swift or immediate action to perform, and allows you to also take a swift or immediate action as well, then you should be able to take only 2 swift or 2 immediate, or a swift and an immediate action instead. Though this is a clear and simple Logic chain that makes perfect sense and does not (to my knowledge) create any game breaking circumstances, the rules for Swift Action expressly forbid it. And, depending on your interpretation of the phrase 'very similar' an Immediate Action does as well.

Shadow Lodge

In general do commands need to be spoken to be effective? In particular, if an arcane caster casts Unseen Servant, can the servant be directed by silent act of will?

Shadow Lodge

Captive Missile
Evocation [Force]
Level: Sor/Wiz 1
Range: Medium (100’+10’/level)
Components: V, S
Casting Time: Standard Action
Target: up to 5 creatures (no more than 3/round)
Duration: 1 round/level
Save: None
Spell Resistance: Special (see Text)

For the duration of the spell, as a swift action, the caster may create a dagger of force energy held in the hand which functions as a +1 ghost touched dagger. At his option, the caster may choose one target in range and release the dagger (a free action) which strikes unerringly toward the target as a magic missile dealing 1d4+1 points of damage. In this fashion the caster may create an additional dagger for every 2 levels beyond 1st exactly as Magic Missile maxing at 5 daggers at 9th level. The caster must have a free hand to create a dagger, and he may hold one in each hand (he must have at least one hand free to cast spells as normal). Because he may hold one in each hand it is possible to release up to three daggers in a single round (having created one in each of the preceding rounds and releasing at least one before creating a third and releasing it as well). Spell resistance applies to daggers that have been released, but not melee attacks made with them.

Shadow Lodge

@Paizo Webmaster

I have encountered an issue with your PRD interacting with MS Word and I wanted to get this on your radar.

Apparently when embedding a link into a word document (or other office document for that matter) MS Office causes the character # to be replaced with the characters %20-%20 when a user clicks on them.
This causes a page to load displaying the following message: The requested URL was not found on this server, or you do not have permission to access this area.
For me this is a problem because I use MS Word on my tablet for character sheets, and for quick reference during gaming sessions I would like to use hyperlinks directly to the PRD but if I have to copy and paste every time it gets to be a real PITA.
I know this is more of an issue with Word than with your site, I just thought if its a problem for enough other PRD users Paizo might change the character in its hyperlinks faster than MS patches office. Then again I might be the only person who likes to link the PRD in Office Docs, in which case I can't see you guys devoting the resources.

If anyone else is experiencing this same problem, please post.

Shadow Lodge

Here we have Sneak Attack:

PRD wrote:


Sneak Attack: If a rogue can catch an opponent when he is unable to defend himself effectively from her attack, she can strike a vital spot for extra damage.
The rogue's attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target. This extra damage is 1d6 at 1st level, and increases by 1d6 every two rogue levels thereafter. Should the rogue score a critical hit with a sneak attack, this extra damage is not multiplied. Ranged attacks can count as sneak attacks only if the target is within 30 feet.
With a weapon that deals nonlethal damage (like a sap, whip, or an unarmed strike), a rogue can make a sneak attack that deals nonlethal damage instead of lethal damage. She cannot use a weapon that deals lethal damage to deal nonlethal damage in a sneak attack, not even with the usual –4 penalty.
The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot. A rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment.

Here we have an Excerpt from the Magic Rules:

PRD wrote:


Attacks: Some spell descriptions refer to attacking. All offensive combat actions, even those that don't damage opponents, are considered attacks. Attempts to channel energy count as attacks if it would harm any creatures in the area. All spells that opponents resist with saving throws, that deal damage, or that otherwise harm or hamper subjects are attacks. Spells that summon monsters or other allies are not attacks because the spells themselves don't harm anyone.

Now above I understand and agree with the argument that damage must be dealt for sneak attack to be dealt. What i don't get is:

If "All offensive combat actions, even those that don't damage opponents, are considered attacks." Why would an attack roll be required to deal sneak attack with a spell? No where in the sneak attack rule is the need for an attack roll specified.
As long as the following condition is met:"target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target" and the effect deals damage it should deal sneak attack damage provided the target is within 30' of the caster. Attack rolls are not the triggering factor for either condition.
That being the case, I'm not sure I understand the benefit of the Arcane Trickster's 10th level ability.

Am I missing Errata not printed in the PRD?

Shadow Lodge Goblin Squad Member

This thread is to discuss the merits (or lack thereof) of the Idea posted here:
https://pathfinderonlinecrowdforging.ideascale.com/a/dtd/Assassins-can-avoi d-detection-of-the-use-of-the-Observation-feat/42078-30320#comments

Quote:

Do not automatically allow detection of the "being observed" debuff, Instead have the initial application of the debuff trigger a Perception vs. Stealth check which if the target beats the assissin's stealth allows him to notice that he is under observation. Allow further applications of 'Being Observed' to continue triggerring perception with a cumulative bonus for each stack applied by the same assassin.

Example Scenario:
Assassin stealthily approaches a target Perception is checked vs. the assassins Stealth and failed (if perception is passed Observation cannot be used as the assassin is no longer hidden), the assassin remains hidden and uses Observation on the target, this triggers an additional Perception Check, If passed the assassin remains hidden but the target is now aware he is under observation, If Failed The target remains unaware that he is under observation.

If Perception was passed with the first application of observation, the assassin can attempt to add another stack of observation as soon as the cool down on the first use has run out, another Perception check is triggered this time with a bonus. If failed the target gains another stack, if passed the Assassin breaks Stealth and the target loses the observation debuf. If failed the assassin can attempt to add another stack and the process repeats.

If Perception was failed with the first application of Observation, then the assassin can attempt to add another stack a second perception check is triggered with a small bonus +1 or +2. If the target continues to pass the assassin can continue to add stacks in this fashion until a check is passed at which point you move to the process outlined above but retain the cumulative bonus to the targets perception.

This allows the assassin to observe a target who is completely unaware of his presence but gives the target a cumulative bonus to discover the assassin the longer observation is maintained, and can even potentially reveal the assassins actual location.

Please discuss.