Nazhena Vasilliovna

Eeza's page

28 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




So I'm looking to take the Healer's Touch achievement feat and just had a few things I would wish to clarify before I do.

Quote:

Healer’s Touch (Achievement)

The magic of life flows through your body like a river.

Prerequisites: Cure a cumulative total of 1,000 points of damage for other creatures using healing spells. Dealing damage slows progress toward this goal achievement; for every 1 point of damage you deal to another creature, reduce your cumulative healing total by 2.

Benefit: When you cast a healing spell to heal a target other than yourself, the spell is maximized as though using the Maximize Spell effect. This does not increase your casting time for the spell. When you cast a healing spell to damage a target, the spell is not maximized but its saving throw DC increases by +4.

Note: There may be an opposite version of this feat allowing casters using negative energy to heal undead.

.

It's ONLY the dice rolls that are maximized correct? So a level 8 oracle casting cure critical wounds which is normally 4d8+8 would be 32+8? Or is the whole spell maximized to look like 32+20?

Secondly, I would like to know if it increases my spell level to use it. The matamagic Maximize spell adds a +3 to the spell slot used to cast the spell and just want to know if this one does or not. I read a post here that seems to come to the conclusion that it didn't take up the higher spell slots but I just wanted to double check and get more recent opinions before I bring it to my GM.


So my players came into a room with this trap in it...

Quote:

flesh to Stone Trap

Type spell; Perception DC 31; Disable Device 36
EffECTS
Trigger visual (direct eye contact with mosaic) or touch; Reset automatic
Effect spell effect ( flesh to stone, Fortitude DC 22 negates)

Disable device

Quote:

Disarm Trap or Device

When disarming a trap or other device, the Disable Device check is made secretly, so that you don’t necessarily know whether you’ve succeeded.

The DC depends on how tricky the device is. Disabling (or rigging or jamming) a fairly simple device has a DC of 10; more intricate and complex devices have higher DCs.

If the check succeeds, you disable the device. If it fails by 4 or less, you have failed but can try again. If you fail by 5 or more, something goes wrong. If the device is a trap, you spring it. If you’re attempting some sort of sabotage, you think the device is disabled, but it still works normally.

Special A rogue who beats a trap's DC by 10 or more can study the trap, figure out how it works, and bypass it (along with her companions) without disarming it.

Retry? You can retry checks made to disable traps if you miss the check by 4 or less, though you must be aware that you fail in order to try again.

In my game, my trap-finder rolled a natural one but because he has ridiculous modifiers he only failed the save by 3. According to the rules on disable device the trap wouldn't normally go off. However, the trap itself is triggered by touch and/or by eye contact. I find it difficult to believe that a player can attempt and fail to disable a trap without looking or touching it. So I would just like to know how this is suppose to work.


I have a sword master in my game and I am unsure if the Iaijutsu Strike is applied to a full BAB attack. The PC has 14 BAB, so three attacks so does the +14 apply to each of those hits or does he only get the one attack.

Quote:

Iaijutsu Strike (Ex)

A sword saint can perform a lightning quick iaijutsu strike against the target of his challenge to inflict devastating wounds while drawing his sword. After the sword saint has challenged a foe but before he has attacked the target of his challenge, he may choose to use his iaijutsu strike as a full-round action, making an attack roll with his weapon as normal. In order to use this ability, the sword saint’s weapon must be sheathed at the start of his turn. If he successfully hits his opponent with an iaijutsu strike, his attack deals an additional +1d6 points of damage. This bonus damage increases by an additional +1d6 at 3rd level and every two levels thereafter to a maximum of +10d6 damage at 19th level. Any extra damage as a result of a successful iaijutsu strike is not multiplied by a critical hit.

After making an iaijutsu strike, a sword saint takes a –4 penalty to his AC until his next turn, but his weapon is now drawn and he may continually to fight normally. Regardless of whether he hits his opponent with the iaijutsu strike, a sword saint cannot use this ability on the same foe more than once per day.

At 10th level, a sword saint learns to focus faster and is able to make an iaijutsu strike as a standard action, and the penalty to his AC is reduced to –2. This ability replaces a samurai’s mount.


I have a question about stealth in combat and how it works. Let me set the scene...

My PCs have been teleported into the entry hall of a giant cathedral. This place is pitch black (though everyone has darkvision 60ft) and has 30ft high ceilings. Through the archway into the main room the PCs can see a pissed off ghost that they have encountered and beaten a bit over a week before hand. Behind the wall of the arch in the next room, out of sight of the PCs, is the ghost's sister which just happens to be a vampire which they also encountered and beaten before.

So what I want to do is have the ghost engage them in combat and have the vamp go stealthy. The vamp has Spider Climb (Ex) and I want her to use that and climb the walls to the ceiling and get into position above the PCs to observe and cast spells from up there.

What I would like to know is how many and how often I need the PCs to use perception. I assume at the start when she first goes stealthy, but as long as she doesn't engage in combat and moves at half speed do more checks really need to be made?


I am currently setting up an encounter with a Retriever in it. The retriever has cleave and I would just like to know how that works with its attacks.

I know using a cleave means that I can only use a single attack but its bite comes with a grab attempt. So do I roll those grab attempts on a successful cleave attack? It doesn't make sense to me that I can grab with my bite attack and then bite the next guy in line...

Second question in about cleave with my claw attack. It has Claw x4 so does that mean I do all 4 of those attacks and then my cleave would do those four on the next guy? Do all four of those attacks have to hit for the cleave to work? Or is it just one claw attack? I was under the impression that Claw x4 is a single attack (since is the one weapon) but I'm not entirely sure.


One of my players received a Luck Blade with one wish on it. One of the party died and he used that wish to resurrect him. I would like to know if he needs to pay the 25 000g to use the wish.

Luck Blade:

Aura strong evocation; CL 17th; Weight 2 lbs.; Price varies; 0 wishes 22,060 gp, 1 wish 62,360 gp, 2 wishes 102,660 gp, 4 wishes 142,960 gp

DESCRIPTION

This +2 short sword gives its possessor a +1 luck bonus on all saving throws. Its possessor also gains the power of good fortune, usable once per day. This extraordinary ability allows its possessor to reroll one roll that she just made, before the results are revealed. She must take the result of the reroll, even if it's worse than the original roll. In addition, a luck blade may contain up to three wishes (when randomly rolled, a luck blade holds 1d4–1 wishes, minimum 0). When the last wish is used, the sword remains a +2 short sword, still grants the +1 luck bonus, and still grants its reroll power.

Wish:

School universal; Level sorcerer/wizard 9; Bloodline arcane 9

CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (diamond worth 25,000 gp)

EFFECT
Range see text
Target, Effect, Area see text
Duration see text
Saving Throw none, see text; Spell Resistance yes

DESCRIPTION
Wish is the mightiest spell a wizard or sorcerer can cast. By simply speaking aloud, you can alter reality to better suit you. Even wish, however, has its limits. A wish can produce any one of the following effects.

Duplicate any sorcerer/wizard spell of 8th level or lower, provided the spell does not belong to one of your opposition schools.
Duplicate any non-sorcerer/wizard spell of 7th level or lower, provided the spell does not belong to one of your opposition schools.
Duplicate any sorcerer/wizard spell of 7th level or lower, even if it belongs to one of your opposition schools.
Duplicate any non-sorcerer/wizard spell of 6th level or lower, even if it belongs to one of your opposition schools.
Undo the harmful effects of many other spells, such as geas/quest or insanity.
Grant a creature a +1 inherent bonus to an ability score. Two to five wish spells cast in immediate succession can grant a creature a +2 to +5 inherent bonus to an ability score (two wishes for a +2 inherent bonus, three wishes for a +3 inherent bonus, and so on). Inherent bonuses are instantaneous, so they cannot be dispelled. Note: An inherent bonus may not exceed +5 for a single ability score, and inherent bonuses to a particular ability score do not stack, so only the best one applies.
Remove injuries and afflictions. A single wish can aid one creature per caster level, and all subjects are cured of the same kind of affliction. For example, you could heal all the damage you and your companions have taken, or remove all poison effects from everyone in the party, but not do both with the same wish.
Revive the dead. A wish can bring a dead creature back to life by duplicating a resurrection spell. A wish can revive a dead creature whose body has been destroyed, but the task takes two wishes: one to recreate the body and another to infuse the body with life again. A wish cannot prevent a character who was brought back to life from gaining a permanent negative level.
Transport travelers. A wish can lift one creature per caster level from anywhere on any plane and place those creatures anywhere else on any plane regardless of local conditions. An unwilling target gets a Will save to negate the effect, and spell resistance (if any) applies.
Undo misfortune. A wish can undo a single recent event. The wish forces a reroll of any roll made within the last round (including your last turn). Reality reshapes itself to accommodate the new result. For example, a wish could undo an opponent's successful save, a foe's successful critical hit (either the attack roll or the critical roll), a friend's failed save, and so on. The re-roll, however, may be as bad as or worse than the original roll. An unwilling target gets a Will save to negate the effect, and Spell Resistance (if any) applies.
You may try to use a wish to produce greater effects than these, but doing so is dangerous. (The wish may pervert your intent into a literal but undesirable fulfillment or only a partial fulfillment, at the GM's discretion.)

Duplicated spells allow saves and Spell Resistance as normal (but save DCs are for 9th-level spells).

When a wish duplicates a spell with a material component that costs more than 10,000 gp, you must provide that component (in addition to the 25,000 gp diamond component for this spell).


I am running a game at the moment and my group barely escaped an encounter which resulted in three deaths, my wizard, my ranger and his companion lion. The rest of the group do have a plan on reviving everyone but my ranger is wanting a new companion.

My group is level 14 (some with a neg level atm, mwahahaha) and my ranger has boon companion and all that good stuff. Since the players really only have about a weeks layover in the city, I would like my ranger to be able to buy a wolf companion already knowing around half his tricks. Is that possible? And if so how much would that cost them? I have absolutely no idea how to approach this as it is new territory for me as a GM so any advice would be appreciated.


I'm running a level 14 game at the moment and had a question about the oracle's firestorm.

Quote:
Firestorm (Su): As a standard action, you can cause fire to erupt around you. You can create one 10-foot cube of fire per oracle level. These cubes can be arranged in any pattern you desire, but each cube must be adjacent to another and one must be adjacent to you. Any creature caught in these flames takes 1d6 points of fire damage per oracle level, with a Reflex save resulting in half damage. This fire lasts for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier. You can use this ability once per day. You must be at least 11th level to select this revelation.

My understanding of this is that my player would place his fourteen 10ft cubes of fire that would stay there for as many rounds as the wisdom modifier. Any creature under the cubes of fire would take 14d6 damage and any creature that walked through them in subsequent rounds would also take that damage.

However, my player believes that he can move those 14 cubes of fire and place them differently each round. I would just like some clarification please on how this spell is suppose to work. Thanks in advance.


So I'm knocking up some characters and just need to clarify how Omox Demon attacks. Its melee attack is as follows

Quote:
Melee 2 slams +21 (1d6+8 plus 3d6 acid and grab)

On both successful hits, does he deal out the acid damage twice and attempt to grab twice?


I'm a relatively new GM and have not played, nor GMed a game above level 7 or 8. However, since our group is between games at the moment I thought I would host a little one-shot module called Tomb of the Iron Medusa. This is for level 14 characters and some of the monsters in the module are using spells that I'm not too familiar with and would like a little help in understanding them.

First possible encounter is with Cadimus Daellum Adella. This creepy old mummified fellow has a gaze attack that deals damage as well as charisma damage. These are the notes on the gaze attack.

Quote:
Corrupting Gaze (Su) The ghost is disfigured through age or violence, and has a gaze attack with a range of 30 feet that causes 2d10 damage and 1d4 Charisma damage (Fortitude save negates Charisma damage but not physical damage).

I've not come across gaze attacks before so I looked it up but I'm still unclear on how it works. This is what I found.

Quote:

A gaze special attack takes effect when foes look at the attacking creature’s eyes. Each opponent within range of a gaze attack must attempt a saving throw each round at the beginning of his or her turn in the initiative order. Only looking directly at a creature with a gaze attack leaves an opponent vulnerable. Opponents can avoid the need to make the saving throw by not looking at the creature, in one of two ways.

Averting Eyes: The opponent avoids looking at the creature’s face, instead looking at its body, watching its shadow, tracking it in a reflective surface, etc. Each round, the opponent has a 50% chance to avoid having to make a saving throw against the gaze attack. The creature with the gaze attack, however, gains concealment against that opponent.

Wearing a Blindfold: The foe cannot see the creature at all (also possible to achieve by turning one's back on the creature or shutting one's eyes). The creature with the gaze attack gains total concealment against the opponent.
A creature with a gaze attack can actively gaze as an attack action by choosing a target within range. That opponent must attempt a saving throw but can try to avoid this as described above. Thus, it is possible for an opponent to save against a creature’s gaze twice during the same round, once before the opponent’s action and once during the creature’s turn.

So my understand is that if the monster is attacked within a range of 30ft then the attacker is subject to taking the physical damage and rolling a fort save to avoid the charisma damage. Is that right? Does it need to be "activated" first or is it automatically on?

Now second question is about the second encounter, Bebulec. He casts Greater Invisibility on himself during the first round of combat. He is a level 13 efreeti so it would last 13 minutes. So does that mean this guy can run around for 130 rounds invisible and casting spells? Like I said, I've not played this high of a level, but that seems a little rough.


I have an Alchemist in my pathfinder game and he has taken the feat called Precise Bombs.

Benefit: Whenever the alchemist throws a bomb, he can select a number of squares equal to his Intelligence modifier that are not affected by the splash damage from his bombs. If the bomb misses, this discovery has no effect.

So I understand that my alchemist can choose squares to save allies from splash damage, but what happens when he misses? I make him roll the 1d8 to see which square his bomb hit but then figured that because he wasn't in control of the "hit" then that means he doesn't have control of the splash damage either.

Was I way off on this? Any insight or opinions would really help out here.


I'm in the middle of making a level 17 summoner and I'm confused about the attacks the eidolon gets. I've found plenty of forum posts about Natural attacks and then some more about weapon attacks, but I've not been able to find an answer about Natural and weapon attacks.

Quick run through of my eidolon.

Quadruped huge size.
Front legs turned into claws.
Two extra sets of arms, one with claws, the other holding a greatsword.
Two heads, both with bite, trip and poison on the bites.
I have a feat for the sword proficiency and I have multi-attack.
At this level my eidolon is allowed a maximum of 6 natural attacks and has a BAB of 13.

So my understanding is that a full attack round would go like this,

Greatsword +13/+8/+3
Bite +11 +trip +poison
Bite +11 +trip +poison
Claws +11 Claws +11
Claws +11 Claws +11

Is this right? A friend of mine thinks that my eidolon would only get one sword attack instead of all three and that it would replace a natural attack so that it would only have a total of 6 attacks but I feel like he is mixing it in with this:

"An eidolon’s base attack bonus is equal to its Hit Dice. Eidolons do not gain additional attacks using their natural weapons for a high base attack bonus."

This specifies natural weapons and not manufactured. Then there is this:

"This indicates the maximum number of natural attacks that the eidolon is allowed to possess at the given level. If the eidolon is at its maximum, it cannot take evolutions that grant additional natural attacks. This does not include attacks made with weapons."

This tells me I get to attack with a weapon IN ADDITION to my natural attacks but it doesn't specify how many attacks with the weapon so does it follow normal BAB rules?

Any help on this would be appreciated.