So I'm looking to take the Healer's Touch achievement feat and just had a few things I would wish to clarify before I do. Quote:
. It's ONLY the dice rolls that are maximized correct? So a level 8 oracle casting cure critical wounds which is normally 4d8+8 would be 32+8? Or is the whole spell maximized to look like 32+20? Secondly, I would like to know if it increases my spell level to use it. The matamagic Maximize spell adds a +3 to the spell slot used to cast the spell and just want to know if this one does or not. I read a post here that seems to come to the conclusion that it didn't take up the higher spell slots but I just wanted to double check and get more recent opinions before I bring it to my GM.
So my players came into a room with this trap in it... Quote:
Disable device Quote:
In my game, my trap-finder rolled a natural one but because he has ridiculous modifiers he only failed the save by 3. According to the rules on disable device the trap wouldn't normally go off. However, the trap itself is triggered by touch and/or by eye contact. I find it difficult to believe that a player can attempt and fail to disable a trap without looking or touching it. So I would just like to know how this is suppose to work.
I have a sword master in my game and I am unsure if the Iaijutsu Strike is applied to a full BAB attack. The PC has 14 BAB, so three attacks so does the +14 apply to each of those hits or does he only get the one attack. Quote:
Wow everyone, this has been so helpful. There are obstructing rafters on the ceiling so I'm sure I can make this work. She is completely out of sight when battle would likely start and she would climb to the ceiling before she enters the room and she can use those heavy rafters as her concealment. These forums come to my rescue yet again. Thanks all.
No I don't mean that she will stay in stealth after casting. I just want her to be able to move there with no one noticing and observe. Once she engages then all bets are off and the PCs will know she is there. I just thought with the PCs engaged with the ghost that they wouldn't notice her on the ceiling. So just need to know if they get a perception vs stealth check every round, or just the first round as long as she doesn't engage.
I have a question about stealth in combat and how it works. Let me set the scene... My PCs have been teleported into the entry hall of a giant cathedral. This place is pitch black (though everyone has darkvision 60ft) and has 30ft high ceilings. Through the archway into the main room the PCs can see a pissed off ghost that they have encountered and beaten a bit over a week before hand. Behind the wall of the arch in the next room, out of sight of the PCs, is the ghost's sister which just happens to be a vampire which they also encountered and beaten before. So what I want to do is have the ghost engage them in combat and have the vamp go stealthy. The vamp has Spider Climb (Ex) and I want her to use that and climb the walls to the ceiling and get into position above the PCs to observe and cast spells from up there. What I would like to know is how many and how often I need the PCs to use perception. I assume at the start when she first goes stealthy, but as long as she doesn't engage in combat and moves at half speed do more checks really need to be made?
I am currently setting up an encounter with a Retriever in it. The retriever has cleave and I would just like to know how that works with its attacks. I know using a cleave means that I can only use a single attack but its bite comes with a grab attempt. So do I roll those grab attempts on a successful cleave attack? It doesn't make sense to me that I can grab with my bite attack and then bite the next guy in line... Second question in about cleave with my claw attack. It has Claw x4 so does that mean I do all 4 of those attacks and then my cleave would do those four on the next guy? Do all four of those attacks have to hit for the cleave to work? Or is it just one claw attack? I was under the impression that Claw x4 is a single attack (since is the one weapon) but I'm not entirely sure.
One of my players received a Luck Blade with one wish on it. One of the party died and he used that wish to resurrect him. I would like to know if he needs to pay the 25 000g to use the wish. Luck Blade:
Aura strong evocation; CL 17th; Weight 2 lbs.; Price varies; 0 wishes 22,060 gp, 1 wish 62,360 gp, 2 wishes 102,660 gp, 4 wishes 142,960 gp DESCRIPTION This +2 short sword gives its possessor a +1 luck bonus on all saving throws. Its possessor also gains the power of good fortune, usable once per day. This extraordinary ability allows its possessor to reroll one roll that she just made, before the results are revealed. She must take the result of the reroll, even if it's worse than the original roll. In addition, a luck blade may contain up to three wishes (when randomly rolled, a luck blade holds 1d4–1 wishes, minimum 0). When the last wish is used, the sword remains a +2 short sword, still grants the +1 luck bonus, and still grants its reroll power. Wish: School universal; Level sorcerer/wizard 9; Bloodline arcane 9 CASTING
EFFECT
DESCRIPTION
Duplicate any sorcerer/wizard spell of 8th level or lower, provided the spell does not belong to one of your opposition schools.
Duplicated spells allow saves and Spell Resistance as normal (but save DCs are for 9th-level spells). When a wish duplicates a spell with a material component that costs more than 10,000 gp, you must provide that component (in addition to the 25,000 gp diamond component for this spell).
I am running a game at the moment and my group barely escaped an encounter which resulted in three deaths, my wizard, my ranger and his companion lion. The rest of the group do have a plan on reviving everyone but my ranger is wanting a new companion. My group is level 14 (some with a neg level atm, mwahahaha) and my ranger has boon companion and all that good stuff. Since the players really only have about a weeks layover in the city, I would like my ranger to be able to buy a wolf companion already knowing around half his tricks. Is that possible? And if so how much would that cost them? I have absolutely no idea how to approach this as it is new territory for me as a GM so any advice would be appreciated.
I'm running a level 14 game at the moment and had a question about the oracle's firestorm. Quote: Firestorm (Su): As a standard action, you can cause fire to erupt around you. You can create one 10-foot cube of fire per oracle level. These cubes can be arranged in any pattern you desire, but each cube must be adjacent to another and one must be adjacent to you. Any creature caught in these flames takes 1d6 points of fire damage per oracle level, with a Reflex save resulting in half damage. This fire lasts for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier. You can use this ability once per day. You must be at least 11th level to select this revelation. My understanding of this is that my player would place his fourteen 10ft cubes of fire that would stay there for as many rounds as the wisdom modifier. Any creature under the cubes of fire would take 14d6 damage and any creature that walked through them in subsequent rounds would also take that damage. However, my player believes that he can move those 14 cubes of fire and place them differently each round. I would just like some clarification please on how this spell is suppose to work. Thanks in advance.
Thanks for your fast replies. I have another question (and I'm sure many more later) about Burn. I have a few Elder fire elementals and they have the burn ability added to their slam. Quote: Burn (Ex) A creature with the burn special attack deals fire damage in addition to damage dealt on a successful hit in melee. Those affected by the burn ability must also succeed on a Reflex save or catch fire, taking the listed damage for an additional 1d4 rounds at the start of its turn (DC 10 + 1/2 burning creature’s racial HD + burning creature’s Con modifier). A burning creature can attempt a new save as a full-round action. Dropping and rolling on the ground grants a +4 bonus on this save. Creatures that hit a burning creature with natural weapons or unarmed attacks take fire damage as though hit by the burning creature and must make a Reflex save to avoid catching on fire (see Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook, page 444). The elemental has Slam x2, so if both of the slam attacks hit, then the player takes two burns as well? Then if the player fails the reflex, he will take the burn damage at the start of his turn for 1d4 rounds?
I'm a relatively new GM and have not played, nor GMed a game above level 7 or 8. However, since our group is between games at the moment I thought I would host a little one-shot module called Tomb of the Iron Medusa. This is for level 14 characters and some of the monsters in the module are using spells that I'm not too familiar with and would like a little help in understanding them. First possible encounter is with Cadimus Daellum Adella. This creepy old mummified fellow has a gaze attack that deals damage as well as charisma damage. These are the notes on the gaze attack. Quote: Corrupting Gaze (Su) The ghost is disfigured through age or violence, and has a gaze attack with a range of 30 feet that causes 2d10 damage and 1d4 Charisma damage (Fortitude save negates Charisma damage but not physical damage). I've not come across gaze attacks before so I looked it up but I'm still unclear on how it works. This is what I found. Quote:
So my understand is that if the monster is attacked within a range of 30ft then the attacker is subject to taking the physical damage and rolling a fort save to avoid the charisma damage. Is that right? Does it need to be "activated" first or is it automatically on? Now second question is about the second encounter, Bebulec. He casts Greater Invisibility on himself during the first round of combat. He is a level 13 efreeti so it would last 13 minutes. So does that mean this guy can run around for 130 rounds invisible and casting spells? Like I said, I've not played this high of a level, but that seems a little rough.
I have an Alchemist in my pathfinder game and he has taken the feat called Precise Bombs. Benefit: Whenever the alchemist throws a bomb, he can select a number of squares equal to his Intelligence modifier that are not affected by the splash damage from his bombs. If the bomb misses, this discovery has no effect. So I understand that my alchemist can choose squares to save allies from splash damage, but what happens when he misses? I make him roll the 1d8 to see which square his bomb hit but then figured that because he wasn't in control of the "hit" then that means he doesn't have control of the splash damage either. Was I way off on this? Any insight or opinions would really help out here.
Thanks Lao. My eidolon actually has a strength mod of +17 (44 strength) unbuffed. I just put in the BAB to demonstrate how many attacks I would have. The damage on this thing is going to be ridiculous. I took a +3 greatsword with Impact on it so that does 6d6+28 (she is also of huge size). Two bites at 2d6+8 and then 4 claws at 2d6+8 I feel that going this way is a lot more beneficial then going full natural attack. So many people seem to disagree (reading other forum posts) that I was wondering if I was missing something.
Thanks all for the responses. @Malag, I do have the correct amount of limbs to do all of my attacks as Kestral pointed out. Also, due to the Multiattack feat I only have a -2 to my natural weapon attacks. @Melkiador, I did consider going a full natural attack route and there are a few reasons I didn't. I really feel like my eidolon is going to bring the pain. Unbuffed it will do 6d6+28 with a +31 attack on its first sword attack. Against an AC of 40 it does between 250-300 on most rounds (thats with no crits and missing with an attack or two). Throw on haste and magic fang and what not, and it bloody hurts. So while getting rid of the manufactured weapon may increase damage output, I don't feel that it needs it. Secondly, I want my eidolon to have a weapon for fluff purposes. My eidolon is actually my mother (she used to be human but a spell went wrong) and I just feel like an eidolon who used to be human would want a weapon that a human may use. @Kestral, I agree. I do think this will be a nightmare for my GM but I think mixing natural and manufactured is a nice way to go at the higher levels.
I'm in the middle of making a level 17 summoner and I'm confused about the attacks the eidolon gets. I've found plenty of forum posts about Natural attacks and then some more about weapon attacks, but I've not been able to find an answer about Natural and weapon attacks. Quick run through of my eidolon. Quadruped huge size.
So my understanding is that a full attack round would go like this, Greatsword +13/+8/+3
Is this right? A friend of mine thinks that my eidolon would only get one sword attack instead of all three and that it would replace a natural attack so that it would only have a total of 6 attacks but I feel like he is mixing it in with this: "An eidolon’s base attack bonus is equal to its Hit Dice. Eidolons do not gain additional attacks using their natural weapons for a high base attack bonus." This specifies natural weapons and not manufactured. Then there is this: "This indicates the maximum number of natural attacks that the eidolon is allowed to possess at the given level. If the eidolon is at its maximum, it cannot take evolutions that grant additional natural attacks. This does not include attacks made with weapons." This tells me I get to attack with a weapon IN ADDITION to my natural attacks but it doesn't specify how many attacks with the weapon so does it follow normal BAB rules? Any help on this would be appreciated. |