Nargin Haruvex

Cycada's page

Organized Play Member. 92 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.




I am a first-time subscriber, so I apologize if posting here comes off as impatient, but I had a question about this month's order:

On the "My Orders" page, it shows that this order has been Completed, which usually suggests it's been shipped, but under the tracking info it says both "Not Yet Shipped" and "Items have been shipped" so I am thoroughly confused!

If someone could help me figure this all out, I'll be able to rest easier knowing that USPS didn't lose my order or something similar.

Thanks!


I recently picked up the new Cohorts and Companions book and found this interesting section. I was hoping to get some clarification, opinion or otherwise, on if the combination in the thread title will work. I will include the relevant text from the new book below to try and aid discussion.

Spoiler:
Creating an Intelligent Item Cohort A PC with Leadership can bond with an intelligent item that has an alignment within one step of the PC's and treat the item as a cohort.

I guess the key question to all this would be: Is the Bladebound Magus' black blade considered an intelligent item? If so, is it a legal choice for the Leadership feat when used in the new, described way?


Greetings rules board! I'm back again with another simple mechanics question that might require a little more explanation than a combination thread can handle. I'll get right to it:

Generic Race Spellslinger 1 / Myrmidarch X

Relevant abilities:

Ranged Spellstrike:
At 4th level, a myrmidarch can use spellstrike to cast a single-target touch attack ranged spell and deliver it through a ranged weapon attack. Even if the spell can normally affect multiple targets, only a single missile, ray, or effect accompanies the attack. At 11th level, a myrmidarch using a multiple-target spell with this ability may deliver one ray or line of effect with each attack when using a full-attack action, up to the maximum allowed by the spell (in the case of ray effects). Any effects not used in the round the spell is cast are lost.
This ability replaces spell recall and improved spell recall.

Arcane Gun:

The spellslinger gains the Exotic Weapon Proficiency (firearms) feat, and one or two of his firearms can be arcane guns. Arcane guns are normal one-handed or two-handed firearms in the hands of others, as they were normal firearms before the spellslinger imbued them with magic. In a spellslinger’s hands, they both fire projectiles (bullets and pellets) and cast magic. At 1st level, the spellslinger decides whether he wants to have one or two arcane guns at a time. If the spellslinger chooses to have only one arcane gun at a time, spells fired Classes through the arcane gun that require an attack roll have a ×3 critical hit multiplier.

A spellslinger can cast any ranged touch attack, cone, line, or ray spells through his arcane gun. When he casts through the arcane gun, the gun’s enhancement bonus (if any) is a bonus to the spell’s attack rolls or to the spell’s saving throw DCs.....

The Combo:

1. Character is using a +5 Generic Rifle, bound to him using Arcane gun.

2. Character declares that he wants to used Ranged Spellstrike using the spell Snowball.

3. Character casts Snowball through the rifle using Arcane gun. He applies the +5 enhancement bonus to the saving throw DC.

4. Character delivers the attack using a shot from his +5 Generic Rifle.
He rolls a 20: a crit! On the confirmation he rolls a 15, adding on the +5 enhancement to the attack roll and other modifiers for ability score, etc; he confirms it.
His Snowball spell lands for 1d6/level, plus Generic Rifle Damage, all multiplied by 3 because of the altered crit modifer. On top of that, the poor target has to beat a DC of X +5 from arcane gun, +X from misc other additions, or he is staggered.
---------------------------------------------------------------

Is the above a proper application of the two rules used in conjunction with one another? If so, I will for sure be using this concept in my campaign this next week.

The loss of a caster level from taking a level of Spellslinger seems to be worth it for the nonstandard add-ons for your gun (such as, and most importantly, spell-storing), as well as the up to +5 bonus to spell save DCs that can stack with most other bonuses.

Thoughts, opinions, things that completely break the concept? Please let me know!

(Cross-posted from another paizo board because it seems more appropriate to ask here))


Greetings advice board! I'm back again with another simple mechanics question that might require a little more explanation than a combination thread can handle. I'll get right to it:

Generic Race Spellslinger 1 / Myrmidarch X

Relevant abilities:

Ranged Spellstrike:
Ranged Spellstrike: At 4th level, a myrmidarch can use spellstrike to cast a single-target touch attack ranged spell and deliver it through a ranged weapon attack. Even if the spell can normally affect multiple targets, only a single missile, ray, or effect accompanies the attack. At 11th level, a myrmidarch using a multiple-target spell with this ability may deliver one ray or line of effect with each attack when using a full-attack action, up to the maximum allowed by the spell (in the case of ray effects). Any effects not used in the round the spell is cast are lost.

This ability replaces spell recall and improved spell recall.

Arcane Gun:
The spellslinger gains the Exotic Weapon Proficiency (firearms) feat, and one or two of his firearms can be arcane guns. Arcane guns are normal one-handed or two-handed firearms in the hands of others, as they were normal firearms before the spellslinger imbued them with magic. In a spellslinger’s hands, they both fire projectiles (bullets and pellets) and cast magic. At 1st level, the spellslinger decides whether he wants to have one or two arcane guns at a time. If the spellslinger chooses to have only one arcane gun at a time, spells fired Classes through the arcane gun that require an attack roll have a ×3 critical hit multiplier.

A spellslinger can cast any ranged touch attack, cone, line, or ray spells through his arcane gun. When he casts through the arcane gun, the gun’s enhancement bonus (if any) is a bonus to the spell’s attack rolls or to the spell’s saving throw DCs.....

The Combo:

1. Character is using a +5 Generic Rifle, bound to him using Arcane gun.

2. Character declares that he wants to used Ranged Spellstrike using the spell Snowball.

3. Character casts Snowball through the rifle using Arcane gun. He applies the +5 enhancement bonus to the saving throw DC.

4. Character delivers the attack using a shot from his +5 Generic Rifle.

  • He rolls a 20: a crit! On the confirmation he rolls a 15, adding on the +5 enhancement to the attack roll and other modifiers for ability score, etc; he confirms it.
  • His Snowball spell lands for 1d6/level, plus Generic Rifle Damage, all multiplied by 3 because of the altered crit modifer. On top of that, the poor target has to beat a DC of X +5 from arcane gun, +X from misc other additions, or he is staggered.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Is the above a proper application of the two rules used in conjunction with one another? If so, I will for sure be using this concept in my campaign this next week.

The loss of a caster level from taking a level of Spellslinger seems to be worth it for the nonstandard add-ons for your gun (such as, and most importantly, spell-storing), as well as the up to +5 bonus to spell save DCs that can stack with most other bonuses.

Thoughts, opinions, things that completely break the concept? Please let me know!


I won't waste time posting up the theoretical build that I made for this idea, but I was curious if the following is even legal (strict RAW interpretation, similar to PFS):

Eldritch Knight requires Martial Weapon Proficiency and 3rd level spell access.

A traditional Aasimar fulfills both of these things by virtue of its type (Outsiders have martial weapon proficiency by default) and it's SLAs (Daylight as a 3rd level wizard spell).

Does this mean that an Aasimar character can take the first level of EK at level one?

If not, why?

Thanks, and I apologize if this topic (early entry) has been beat to death. EK early entry just offers interesting builds otherwise not available in a lvl 12 end game.