![]() ![]()
![]() So Duettist allows your familiar to perform separately from the bard and to perform simultaneously, stating: Quote:
Quote:
Now this makes it seem like its performance is separate from the bard's, and I am wondering if Saving Finale would end only your performance when its cast as it says: Quote: You must have a bardic performance in effect to cast this spell. With a flourish, you can immediately end your bardic performance when a creature within range affected by your bardic performance fails a Saving Throw, allowing the subject to immediately reroll the failed Saving Throw. So if me and my familiar perform simultaneously and I cast Saving Finale to let someone reroll, does my familiar continue performing or do we both cease performing? ![]()
![]() An argument started on a Pathfinder server I am on, about if all undead are evil or not. Now the only thing to support all undead being evil is a bit of text from the D20PFSRD, specifically just below the undead creature type from the page: https://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/creature-types/ Quote:
Is this just D20PFSRD making something up or is it rooted in something? I cannot find anything elsewhere to support the claim. ![]()
![]() So Bestial Aspect of the Rageshaper archetype says:
Quote: At 4th level, whenever a rageshaper gains a natural attack through the use of a polymorph spell, he can increase the damage done by that attack by one die. If the spell grants multiple natural attacks, the rageshaper must choose one kind of natural attack for the ability to enhance. At 9th level, if the rageshaper’s altered form grants him a new mode of movement, that movement’s base speed increases by 10 feet. This is an enhancement bonus. If the rageshaper’s bloodrage powers already grant natural attacks or alternate modes of movement, then the bonuses granted by bestial aspect also apply to these bloodrage powers. Dragon Form says: Quote: At 16th level, when entering a bloodrage, you can choose to take the form of your chosen dragon type (as form of the dragon II, but with average or good maneuverability, as you would gain from the dragon wings bloodrage power above). So my question is, do you still have to pick one natural attack out of the many attacks you get from Form of The Dragon? And if not, would you be able to apply it to the claws you get from Draconic Bloodline and to one natrual attack of your choice from the ones you get from Form of The Dragon since they're two separate powers/spells? And if you're a primalist and swap out bloodrage powers for rage powers that give you natural attacks, would you be able to apply this effect to those natural attacks as well? ![]()
![]() Yeah the 10 cubic feet clarification is true. But how does it affect potions that are not on this plane of existence? I agree that a normal closed bag should not protect the contents because of the wording of the ability, but a bag of holding stores them on a separate plane, so if it's closed there should be no way for the ability to reach the potions on the other plane. ![]()
![]() So if I was to make a continous item with Hightened Awareness on it, when I roll initiative and dismiss the spell to get the Inituative bonus, do I then reactivate it afterwards? Like do I not gave the benefits of it until I reactivate it again? Or will I still have the benefits as it is comtinous? Same about Anticipate Peril ![]()
![]() So we're having a bit of an argument about a character swinging around a sword that's the size of a small building, but that's besides the point. The question at hand is: Does Enlarge Person octuple the weight of gear, or double? So the two conflicting points is what part of the rules should be followed in this scenario. The rules for large gear for larger creatures goes as follows: Quote: Weight: This column gives the weight of a Medium version of the weapon. Halve this number for Small weapons and double it for Large weapons. The rules for Enlarge Person goes as follows: Quote:
![]()
![]() So the exact wording of spell turning is Quote: Spells and spell-like effects targeted on you are turned back upon the original caster. The abjuration turns only spells that have you as a target. In a recent session, a player cast a spell with another player's sword as target, and the owner of the sword used spell turning to reflect it back on the caster. But if I understand it correctly, this should not work, right? Because it says it only turns spells that have you as a target. ![]()
![]() If an ability grants you a bonus on a skill check that you may use once per round, would that bonus benefit rolls that take longer than a round? We have a player with Noble Scion as a Prestige Class, and the level 10 ability claims that they can roll twice and take the better result on certain skill checks, and that he may use it once per round. Gathering information takes 1d4 hours, and another player claims that the Noble Scion may not use this level 10 ability because it's only usable on actions that take no longer than a round. Here's the exact wording of the ability:
Quote:
![]()
![]() So I have been looking for things to make my rogue stronger, and one thing I came across was the Unseen weapon quality. It's amazing, since even those who cannot be caught flatfooted are subject to it's effect, as it does not render them flatfooted but rather denied their dexterity bonus to AC. But what I need to know is specifically, can you throw it? You may only place it on a melee weapon, so if you put it on a dagger and throw it, do you still get the effect of it denying the target their dexterity bonus to AC? It never specifies it must be a melee attack: Quote: On the first attack made with an unseen weapon during a combat, the defender is denied its Dexterity bonus to Armor Class unless it has the Blind-Fight feat, is able to see invisible objects, or is specifically aware that the wielder is using an unseen weapon.
![]()
![]() So what the Beastial Aspect class ability says is Quote: At 4th level, whenever a rageshaper gains a natural attack through the use of a polymorph spell, he can increase the damage done by that attack by one die. If the spell grants multiple natural attacks, the rageshaper must choose one kind of natural attack for the ability to enhance. At 9th level, if the rageshaper’s altered form grants him a new mode of movement, that movement’s base speed increases by 10 feet. This is an enhancement bonus. If the rageshaper’s bloodrage powers already grant natural attacks or alternate modes of movement, then the bonuses granted by bestial aspect also apply to these bloodrage powers. So I am assuming that if a power gives you both claws and a bite, you still have to pick one of the two to enhance with this ability. My friend argues that because it specifically grants it to "these bloodrage powers", it applies to all natural attacks gained through bloodrage powers. ![]()
![]() So I am planning on making a Rageshaper using Natural Attacks from the Draconic bloodline. I am wondering what kind of dice it adds, and if the Beastial Aspect adds a dice to your damage before any other bonuses that changes the dice, or not. It specifically says Quote: At 4th level, whenever a rageshaper gains a natural attack through the use of a polymorph spell, he can increase the damage done by that attack by one die. If the spell grants multiple natural attacks, the rageshaper must choose one kind of natural attack for the ability to enhance. At 9th level, if the rageshaper’s altered form grants him a new mode of movement, that movement’s base speed increases by 10 feet. This is an enhancement bonus. If the rageshaper’s bloodrage powers already grant natural attacks or alternate modes of movement, then the bonuses granted by bestial aspect also apply to these bloodrage powers. So if my Claws deal 1d8 damage, does it add another d8 to it so it deals 2d8? And if I get any other bonuses later on that changes the dice, do I add a dice after that change, or do I add it before? For example, if I deal 1d8 with claws, and enlarge person myself: do I first increase the damage from enlarge person to 2d6 and add another d6 so it's 3d6, or do I first add the Beastial Aspect dice to make it a 2d8 and then the bonus from Enlarge Person, making it 3d8? ![]()
![]() So a player in the campaign I'm in used Righteous Might, which gave him a temporary increase to his Constitution. He then later on went unconscious while it was on, and then there are two important questions: Does the spell end upon him going unconscious or does it last until the duration ends? Does losing that bonus to Constitution when the spell ends effectively kill him, as he's only a few hit points from dying and the bonus HP he got from the increased Constitution disappears with it? ![]()
![]() So since a player in the campaign I'm in argues that Blade Tutor's Spirit reduces penalties from wielding a weapon that's too large for you, I have decided to get more opinions on it. I would argue that it's not a self inflicted penalty like Power Attack, or Two-Weapon Fighting, and thus is not reduced by Blade Tutor's Spirit. Thoughts? ![]()
![]() The Leaping Dragon maneuver makes you jump as a Swift Action, as described here: Quote: The initiator may make an Acrobatics check to jump as a swift action, and he gains a +10 competence bonus to his Acrobatics check and is treated as if he had a running start. Meaning you're able to jump and then do any combination of Standard and Move, or a single Full-Round Action, like jumping in close to an enemy and doing a full round of attacks. Now, recovering a maneuver you have used when you have the feat Martial Training 1 is a Full-Round Action, and I will quote:
Quote: You may recover one maneuver by expending a full round action to recover it So adding all of this together, shouldn't I then be able to recover Leaping Dragon as a Full-Round Action, and then instantly use it to jump as a Swift Action in the same round? ![]()
![]() My rogue has the feat Martial Training, and one of his maneuvers states the following: Quote: The Thrashing Dragon disciple’s skill with his dual weapons allows him to strike with practiced speed and alacrity, allowing him to make an attack with two wielded weapons (or unarmed strikes), using the same attack action. Creatures with more than two arms may still only strike with two wielded weapons. And in the table listing the maneuvers it says Quote: Attack a single target with two wielded weapons. So what it sounds like to me is that you make one attack roll and it represents both attacks. But I'm not sure, and this is extremely relevant. The reason I believe it's one attack roll is because the table summary of it specifically states you attack a single enemy, while the long description doesn't mention it. If you make two separate attack rolls, I feel like the description would mention that you may not attack two different creatures with these attacks. Now onto the next question which is relevant to me as a rogue that can use invisibility: If they use the same attack roll, are the attacks simultaneous? Because if they are, I would get sneak attack on both seeing how both of them occur while I'm still invisible, if they aren't simultaneous then one of them breaks the invisibility spell and I don't get the sneak attack on my second attack, right? So to summarize my questions: Do I only roll once to attack for both attacks, and are they simultaneous or not? ![]()
![]() So this is just a tiny issue that I just can't seem to find the answer to. It lists in the rules that an Invisible creature gets a +2 on attacks, on top of their opponent being denied their Dexterity Bonus to AC. But it never specifies if this refers to being invisible regardless of if your opponent has See Invisibility or not, or if it refers to being invisible to your enemy. So the question is: If you're invisible and attack someone who has some form of See Invisibility, do you get the +2 to attack? Logic dictates you don't, but maybe I've overlooked something. ![]()
![]() So this is more of a flavor sort of question I suppose, but it could be relevant. Delay Pain's name itself implies that it is delayed, aka the pain is felt when the spell is over. And the exact wording of it's description is: Quote: You override the target’s ability to feel pain. Pain effects (such as pain strike and symbol of pain) do not affect the target until this spell’s duration has expired So what I ask is, if someone casts this and gets hurt a lot during it's duration, do they feel all that pain once it's over or not? ![]()
![]() So I have this maneuver from the Thrashing Dragon discipline from Path of War, Leaping Dragon, and I wonder if you can leap and do a full round of attacks? The specific wording is: Quote: The initiator may make an Acrobatics check to jump as a swift action, and he gains a +10 competence bonus to his Acrobatics check and is treated as if he had a running start. The jump in itself is just a swift action, so can I use a Swift Action to jump in right next to someone and then - as I have used neither Standard nor Move action - do a full round of attacks? ![]()
![]() Recently in a campaign I fought someone with the scent ability, and using the Eversmoking Bottle I hid in a cloud of smoke. The DM however ruled that he could smell my scent, even though we were both in thick smoke. Let's say he didn't hold his breath and inhaled smoke to be able to smell, making the fort save not to end up coughing and choking. How would he be able to smell me through the smoke? Wouldn't the smoke overwhelm my scent? Are there any rules for this? And just as a little side-note, if you hold your breah in the smoke, can you cast spells with verbal components, or must you breath and succeed on the fort save to do that? ![]()
![]() The description says that the smoke is totally obscuring vision, implying that it gives total concealment. But the smoke rules in environmental only gives 20% concealment. On the other hand, the spell Fog Cloud says the following Quote: The fog obscures all sight, including darkvision, beyond 5 feet. A creature within 5 feet has concealment (attacks have a 20% miss chance). Creatures farther away have total concealment (50% miss chance, and the attacker can’t use sight to locate the target). I think the latter better represents what the Eversmoking Bottle's description implies, but I wonder if there's any other rules out there or if I missed something. ![]()
![]() I am getting an Eversmoking Bottle and the rules for at which rate the smoke dissipates is unclear. The specific wording for the item is Quote: The bottle must be resealed by a command word, after which the smoke dissipates normally. a moderate wind (11+ mph) disperses the smoke in 4 rounds; a strong wind (21+ mph) disperses the smoke in 1 round. I can't seem to find any other rules regarding this, so at what rate does the smoke dissipate if there's no wind at all? ![]()
![]() This has boggled my mind for a bit about Prestige Classes, and I think I need some clarification. The Lore class feature looks like this: Quote: At 2nd level, a loremaster adds half his level to all Knowledge skill checks and may make such checks untrained. The bonuses gained from this ability stack with those gained from Bardic Knowledge. Does that mean I add half my total level to Knowledge Checks, or half my Loremaster level? EDIT: Secondary question: Would these bonuses stack with the bonus you get to Knowledge skills from the Scroll Scholar Wizard archetype? I know it says it stacks with Bardic Knowledge, but I need to know if it does or does not stack with the Scroll Scholar. ![]()
![]() So my friend is gonna retrain all of his Class Levels, and I can't find anywhere if he should re-roll his hit points, or if it stays the same. The hit dice is the same as before for 9 out of 10 levels, so should he just re-roll the one that changes? His class is a 3rd-Party Class called the Armiger, and they treat anything rolled below 6 on a Hit Dice as an automatic 6, giving them on average more HP than someone with the same Hit Dice. So since it's different in that sense, should he re-roll all hit dice? ![]()
![]() The Armiger gives Soft Cover to all adjacent allies, but can also take a talent that gives 'hard cover'. However, I can find nothing on what this Hard Cover means, the specific wordings are: Quote: An armiger grants soft cover to any ally adjacent to him, even against attacks the armiger is not aware of and those that come from a direction that would not normally count the armiger as cover and Quote: This talent allows an armiger to count as hard cover for all adjacent allies, rather than only being soft cover What kind of cover would this Hard Cover be? ![]()
![]() The Armiger gives Soft Cover to all adjacent allies, but can also take a talent that gives 'hard cover'. However, I can find nothing on what this Hard Cover means, the specific wordings are: Quote: An armiger grants soft cover to any ally adjacent to him, even against attacks the armiger is not aware of and those that come from a direction that would not normally count the armiger as cover and Quote: This talent allows an armiger to count as hard cover for all adjacent allies, rather than only being soft cover What kind of cover would this Hard Cover be? ![]()
![]() I was interested in getting a pair of these shoes for my rogue, but I noticed that it doesn't specify a spell DC for people to beat with a reflex save to take half damage. All it says is Quote: Creatures in the path of the lightning take 6d6 points of electricity damage and objects take damage as per the lightning bolt spell. That spell should allow a reflex save, but it doesn't specify what that is in the item description and I can't find it elsewhere. ![]()
![]() There's always the 3rd-Party rules about whirlpools, maybe one can incorporate them into this. ![]()
![]() So my issue here is that I can't find specific rules for the Vortex ability that water elementals have. What it says in the rules is Quote: A water elemental can create a whirlpool as a standard action, at will. This ability functions identically to the whirlwind special attack, but can only form underwater and cannot leave the water. Now, my issue is how to translate from air and flying, to water and swimming. Let's start at the top: Quote: If the creature has a fly speed, it can continue to fly at that same speed while in whirlwind form; otherwise it gains a fly speed equal to its base land speed (average maneuverability) while in whirlwind form. I assume this would instead translate into Swim Speed, instead of Fly speed. The question here is more if it can move beneath the surface, which I think is reasonable but - again - I'm here because I'm not 100% sure. And if it's at the surface, do people have to make swim checks to stay afloat, and what DC would it be? Personally I think stormy water makes sense, with a DC of 20. Quote: A creature that can fly is allowed a Reflex save each round to escape the whirlwind. Now obviously this makes little sense for a whirlpool in water, it'd be more of a swimming issue, right? However, anyone can swim, so if you let anyone roll a Reflex Save every turn then not only is it much more situational than the whirlwind special attack, but also easier to escape. But there are fewer creatures with a swimming speed than people who can fly, meaning that if you limit it to creatures with a swimming speed then almost no one can escape it once in it. That might however balance out the fact that it's so situational. Should people instead make a swim check? And should it maybe be either a swim check or a reflex save, the lower of the two if you don't have a swim speed, and the higher of the two if you do have a swim speed? Or maybe a reflex save is limited to those with ranks or a certain amount of ranks in swim? I'm just spitballing here, I'd like to hear you guys' input. Quote: If the whirlwind’s base touches the ground, it creates a swirling cloud of debris. This I assume just works the same, except it would be the bottom of the ocean/lake/body of water. ![]()
![]() The wording of the regional trait Honeyed Words is "You receive a +1 trait bonus on Diplomacy checks. In addition, you receive a +1 trait bonus to the DC of any charm or compulsion that does not provide ongoing control and results in peaceful acts, such as calm emotions, sleep, or a suggestion to lay down arms." So what that includes seems a bit fuzzy to me, even with the examples. Does anyone have a better way of putting it, or a list of what spells it includes? Does it include Confusion or not? Charm? E.t.c ![]()
![]() So for starters, to clarify: I have understood 5-Foot Step as a form of movement, not a move-action. So you can perform a 5-Foot Step and perform something that requires a move-action, as long as you don't move to another square. Correct me if I'm wrong. Now onto the question: Does Expeditious armor grant you a 15-Foot Step? The exact wording is:
If it grants this 10 extra Feet to all movement, does it then also add 10 Feet to the 5-Foot Step, effectively granting the user a 15-Foot Step? |