Garuda-Blooded Aasimar

C4M3R0N's page

Organized Play Member. 280 posts. No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.




So question for anyone with the tech rev book because maybe I'm just missing something...

This is about Drone Technomancy of course...

A drone's limited AI says wrote:
To receive these commands, your drone must be able to see or hear you or be within range of your custom rig.

Now... I'm not seeing anything that allows a technomancer with drone technomancy to get or use a custom rig in tech rev. Am I missing something?

Would you guys assume this is an oversight and you also get the custom rig, if so should a technomancer just gain a custom rig with this ability and it work as normal?


"Starfinder Galaxy Operations Manual"... Huh...


The stellar options book link has the wrong text... It's the previous book. The link takes you to the correct place though at least lol.


Anyone else notice the singularity cannon explodes outward, but then either pulls the targets towards you or pushes them away from you? Not the center of the explosion?

How would you guys play that in game?

Also, anyone notice that technically it's a double save weapon that also requires an attack roll? Attack roll to hit with the explode (chance of critical fails). Then they roll a reflex to half explode and ignore any other effects. Then they roll a reflex to avoid the gravitation effect?

Would you guys treat it like that, with 3+ rolls for a single shot? Or would you just combine the reflexes or what?


This is a stupid question so I expect a stupid answer, but I've still got to ask... And hopefully I'm just missing something here.

Is there anything preventing me from putting the blasting fusion on any of the grenade, or even missile launchers, that are a high enough level? As far as I can tell it's technically a valid choice, so please correct me if it isn't.
I'm sure this sort of gets into the similar logic of if weapon specialization applies, which I'm of the belief it doesn't apply to either (since they say such lol) even when fired from a launcher.

Hypothetically, if the answer is that you can add blasting to a launcher, would that be an AoE, AoE with potentially a mass of explosions within a cone?

But logic tells me no. So if someone can point the rule to me that'd be great lol.


So the spell that was recently published, electric light Show has its area radius listed as a 5ft diameter burst... It being a burst, it would be centered on a grid intersection.

So what effect does this actually have?
Should it be 5ft radius? And therefore hit all 4 squares next to the intersection as usual for similar spells.
Or does the spell not actually do anything since it's radius is not actually large enough to do anything?

It seems like the intent may have been to hit a 5ft radius, but it may actually have been to hit a single creature, though if that was the case a burst isn't quite the correct area lol.

Any opinions here?


So the SOM introduces upgrading starship weapons with additional properties, like array or mystical.
The section of text that goes with it says that the weapons cost is multiplied by the modifier with each property.

Now, does that mean you pay that cost in addition to the weapon cost in BP? Or does that simply adjust the BP cost of the weapon by the modifier?

For example, the new, highly sought after, garbage ejection system has a cost of 1BP. The Array property has a multiplier of 1×, so does an array garbage ejector cost 1BP still? Or would it now be 2BP?

I can certainly see the cost still being just 1BP since an array weapon takes up 2 mounts already, so it comes with the price of an additional mount.

Same example but with the automated property, which is 1.5× multiplier.
Does an automated garbage ejection system cost 1.5BP or would it cost 2.5BP (1 base plus 1.5 for the modifier)?
And then the other question that ties into that one, how do decimal BP costs work?
Line is a 1.75× and Mystical is a 1.25× so multiple upgrades will result in various decimals. I assume you follow typical rounding rules, but there are certainly rule examples that don't follow the obvious roundings.


So upon rereading the fusion I'm not entirely sure how it works and was wondering if anyone had an idea and could clarify.
Apprehending from Archives
My question pertains specifically to the last part "Additionally, the target must succeed at a Fortitude saving throw (DC = 10 + half the weapon’s item level + the ability score modifier you apply to attack rolls with the weapon) or be unable to cast spells or spell-like abilities for 1 round."
This part of the ability only applies in conjunction with when you use your reaction to prompt the trip attempt, correct? That's initially how I read it and how I've thought it was played. But on rereading I'm not entirely sure. Does it actually apply to every hit with the weapon? That seems stronger than intended so I'm leaning towards it functions with the trip.


So the mass polymorph spells state that they're treated as the level 1-3 version of polymorph except for as noted above. Which basically means the cast time is longer and it hits multiple targets.

Now my question is what is the point of the mass polymorph spells? Since at the earliest level, level 10, you'd cast the spell and then destroy your party's ability to contribute to a lot of things meaningfully. For example, say you changed a creatures form and all its equipment melded into it, leaving it with a natural attack as per the level 1 polymorph, with a max of a +3 to hit for 1d4+3 damage...

I suppose an argument could be made that it's for the utility. And I guess you could use it to give your full party a swim speed of 20ft for 10 minutes... But that seems like a very trivial use at level 10. Other than that, I'm struggling to see the usefulness.

Or am I misreading the spell? And now the attack bonus would be equal to if you had cast level 4 polymorph, not great, but mostly functional then. And that'd scale any DC up quite a bit as well.

Has anyone used the spell? Is it's really just for utility? Or is it actually useful in other capacities?


Pretty straight forward here... Do people actually want to see these lists get expanded? The polymorph spell is pretty much good forever with it's rules. Creature companions basically require your GM to do all the heavy lifting if you aren't using a prebuilt, but could technically be considered future proof (though it'd be nice to see more printed).
The description for AA4 leads me to believe the appendix space in the end will be dedicated to building your own races this time, which seems future proof as is. Now that leaves the summon line, restricted to the few creatures in AA1 and the graft system provided. Sadly, this sure seems very easy to expand, just add a line in the descriptive text stating this can be summoned using summon creature X, then toss a small table at the end of book to really drive it home.
Obviously a new summoning graft would take up a fair bit more space, but a few more of those could be fun since it'd be nice to see a summon or 2 with more unique abilities like a spell like or something of that nature.

At the very least, is there any intent to ever expand these lists since there's now 2 full books with a 3rd coming and nothing new in years now? Do other people want to see these lists expanded?


Near Space of course comes with new equipment and such. And as such I have 2 questions...
One of those items being the Remote-Link Module (the hidden truth website).
Rather the quote the text I'll leave the link here. But to paraphrase, you can remote control a set of powered armor. The upgrade uses a 20 charge battery at a rate of 1/hour used. And can allow the armor to follow at a set distance up to 500ft away.

1) I cannot find rules text saying you can or cannot actively use an armor upgrade in a set of armor not being actively worn or used. So can this upgrade even be used? I know it says in the upgrade text that you can pilot armor that no creature is wearing so I assume the answer is the obvious one, that it of course works. But I can't find text saying one way or another if upgrades work when not being worn, so it's got me questioning and assuming this is a case where specific trumps general.
My thought process here is basically, could you set your armor to follow you, and also insert a backup generator into another open upgrade slot, and have it functionally charge batteries also? Since you're not wearing the armor, the backup generator seems like a "passive" upgrade, requiring no additional actions or user input, so the upgrade should function with or without someone actually using the armor. And since the armor is moving, it is powering the generator. Again, I can't find rules text saying that upgrades don't function without someone wearing their armor. (Of course, if you're not wearing it, you also can't use actions to hypothetically activate those flash blinders you installed, so there are limitations).

Assuming the answer to 1 doesn't make this upgrade useless... My second question pertains to the battery interaction here The upgrade makes no mention that it can be used while the power armor itself is powered down.

Powered Armor wrote:
If you’re in armor that’s out of power, you are flat-footed and off-target, you don’t benefit from the armor’s Strength or damage, and you can’t attack with it or cause it to move. None of its mounted weapons (see below) or upgrades (see Armor Upgrades below) function, even if they have their own power sources.

This quote, from the powered armor rules text says that upgrades don't function if the powered armor battery is dead, but it doesn't mention if it's just off... I assume that they're treated as the same here though.

2) So... That information given, am I, sadly, correct in assuming that your powered armor must be running for the upgrade to work? Making use of the upgrade in a 1/minute power armor far less useful and practical than a 1/hour set? And consequently draining the armor's battery, potentially emptying it before you even make it to combat.
Which in my opinion limits it's usefulness a lot, but also makes sense. Which pretty much makes me even more so lean into the thought process that this upgrade gives you a set of mobile cover that can recharge your batteries without wasting your upgrade slots. Maybe even auto swap them with an automated loader(loaded with empty batteries) and a computer interface in the other 2 upgrade slots. But that'd certainly require a chat with your GM... And to be high level and wasted a decent chunk of change on a pretty odd "trick." It'd probably be better to fill any other open slots with backup generators too and just be sure to swap the batteries every so often.

Any other opinions or thoughts on the Remote-Link Module?

Parting Thoughts:

The upgrade says you pilot it, and can set the armor maintaining a set distance for no action on your part after the initial full round programming. And a computer interface could be link to fire an attached weapon every round (with no additional action cost from you) at appropriate targets, probably grab the manufacturers mod that lets you ignore your party to be safe. Then technically you just got a bodyguard that follows you everywhere and should only require a standard action from you to activate it's "defenses" via any computer with "minimal" costs involved.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

So I want to check if this is a valid combo, it makes sense to me...
First an aasimar takes Angelic Flesh and Metallic Wings (and all other other necessary feats).
And a sorcerer casts Mass Dazzling Blade, are the wings valid targets for the spell?

I feel like logic and common sense say yes, they're metallic due to your metallic (like?) flesh. It's in the name of the feat for the wings even. But I want to make sure this is legit...
So please let me know if you would or would not allow this and why please.


So here's the link to the relevant spell(s) Spellcasting Contract.

  • 1. Does the greater version of this spell allow for 1 5th level spell, 2 4th level spells, and everything allowed by the lower version?
    So basically a net of 1 5th, 2 4th, 1 3rd, 2 2nd, and 2 1st? I may have counted that wrong...
    Or does it allow only 1 5th and 2 4th?
    Or does it allow anything up to 1 5th and 2 4th? So I could give 3 4th level, or 1 5th, 1 4th and 1 3rd?
  • 2. What happens if this is cast from a scoll? Does it not consume the casters spell slot but still allow all the benefits?
  • 3. What happens if another class UMD's this from a scroll, say a wizard for example?
    Can they grant wizard spells?
    Or can they perform more UMD checks to emulate possible cleric spells for the recipient to get?
  • 4. What happens if a non-spell caster casts this? Like a rogue. Can they perform successive UMD's as referenced above? Or does nothing happen?


So I have a few questions regarding the Nagaji Scale Polish.

Nagaji Scale Polish:
This small clay urn contains a scintillating paste which works like imbue with spell ability, except the spell effect is not limited to cleric spells. Any caster may cast spells into the jar. The creature that applies the paste to its scales (a standard action) gains the ability to cast the imbued spells (assuming it has enough Hit Dice and the requisite ability scores). Only a reptilian creature (such as a dragon or a humanoid with the reptilian subtype such as a nagaji) can use the polish to cast spells.
  • 1. Is this a single use item? I am under the impression it is, it seems to be priced so. (7*5*50=1400) But it isn't really spelled out one way or the other. Being able to reuse it would make it dirt cheap and very useful...
  • 2. Can you cast a personal range spell into it? You can imbue person range spells with Imbue with Spell Ability, so does that extend to this item? To my understanding you don't have to physically cast the spells into the recipient with imbue with spell ability, but you do have to with nagaji scale polish, so I can see an argument as to why you can give personal range spells with the former but not the latter. Because it isn't required that they be cast on/into the recipient with the spell but they must be with the item.
    Imbue with Spell Ability:
    You transfer some of your currently prepared spells, and the ability to cast them, to another creature. Only a creature with an Intelligence score of at least 5 and a Wisdom score of at least 9 can receive this boon. Only cleric spells from the schools of abjuration, divination, and conjuration (healing) can be transferred. The number and level of spells that the subject can be granted depends on its Hit Dice; even multiple castings of imbue with spell ability can't exceed this limit.

    The transferred spell's variable characteristics (range, duration, area, and the like) function according to your level, not the level of the recipient.

    Once you cast imbue with spell ability, you cannot prepare a new 4th-level spell to replace it until the recipient uses the imbued spells or is slain, or until you dismiss the imbue with spell ability spell. In the meantime, you remain responsible to your deity or your principles for the use to which the spell is put. If the number of 4th-level spells you can cast decreases, and that number drops below your current number of active imbue with spell ability spells, the more recently cast imbued spells are dispelled.

    To cast a spell with a verbal component, the subject must be able to speak. To cast a spell with a somatic component, it must be able to move freely. To cast a spell with a material component or focus, it must have the materials or focus.

  • 3. Are the same limitations present regarding only being able to imbue abjuration, divination, or conjuration(healing)? Or can you imbue any spell? I'm unsure here cause the wording regarding the cleric spell limitation isn't a limitation for this item.
  • Edit: 4. Are the spells that I cast into this unavailable to me until they are cast by the user of the scale polish? For example, if I cast resist energy into it, would I have one less level 2 slot available to me until they used it? Or would I get that spell slot back the next day when I regain spells?


The title says it all.
Is there something for Bloodragers that has the same, or similar, effect as Sorcerous Bloodstrike?


So you have a familiar, whatever one you want that meets the requirements of the spell imbue with spell ability. And it has share spells. So you have a cleric cast imbue with spell ability on the familiar and he gives him whatever personal range spells you want that are 1st or 2nd level according to the spell.
Can your familiar then cast those personal range spells as touch spells in regards to casting them on the master? Basically using share spells in "reverse"? Share spells is in the spoiler below for convenience.

I'm assuming the answer is no from the use of the phrase "wizard may cast a spell" in the share spells description. But I wanted to check.

Share Spells:
Share Spells: The wizard may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on himself. A wizard may cast spells on his familiar even if the spells do not normally affect creatures of the familiar's type (magical beast).


I'm sure that has been brought up many times before but it Blows my mind still. What is the point of the defending weapon enchantment with this FAQ?

For example, if you're a paladin with a +5 defending longsword and he's up against some archers up a cliff or on a balcony then there's no way you can get the benefit from your defending property. It requires an attack roll, despite saying it's a free action at the start of your turn. Unless you can convince your GM that rolling an attack against yourself, and hopefully missing, is legit to get the bonus to your AC. But I doubt that'd fly. Plus, that'd hinder your ability to get to the target. And that doesn't seem like the intent of this ability. It should help you, not hinder you, right?

On a very similar note, does the same FAQ apply to the allying property?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Shield of Covered Retreat seems to be incorrectly priced...

If you break it down
8157gp original price.
-157gp; for masterwork(150gp) heavy wooden shield(7gp)
-(3^2)1000= -9000gp; 1 for +1, 2 for arrow deflecting.
You're at -1000gp... So it's 1000gp less expensive than a +1 arrow deflecting sheavy wooden shield. And it comes with other(more) benefits too. How is this??


I tried searching for this but it turned up nothing. I'm sure it's been asked before and I just couldn't find it. But it's a simple question really.

Say you have a racial ability or item or class ability or anything that gives a +3 resistance bonus against poison and you have a cloak of resistance that gives +4 to all saves.

Would these bonuses stack for a +7 resistance bonus against poisons since the poison resistance is a specific subsection of other saves?

Another example could be the same cloak but a +2 resistance bonus to mind-affecting effects? Would that be a net of +6 against mind-affecting?

If a barbarian rages and has a +6 morale to strength and also get a +2 morale to attack rolls (from whatever source) then he would have a net of +5 morale to attack rolls right ((+6/2)+2=+5)? Even though they're the same bonus type, they still stack due to the specificity of them right?
Assuming the barbian example is correct, I've seen it referenced many times so I hope it is... Does this not apply to the resistance bonuses too since they're bonuses to "different things" that both affect the roll kind of, like the barbarian's?

Edit: fixed typo


So I was flipping through agents of evil and saw bloodpyre and had to double take. I am under the impression that all poison penalties are permanent until healed. So say you fail all 6 rounds of saves against bloodpyre, you take 6 points of CHA, INT, and WIS damage and 12d6 of fire damage. You now have to sleep that ability damage off or use restoration or whatever you prefer to get rid of it. And you have to heal up that fire damage or be low on health, again however you prefer. If you don't heal it or anything then it's going to last a while... But bloodpyre here is used by drow to make stronger warriors also. It adds 1 point of STR for each failed save. And that's a permanent +6 since you can willing fail saves... For 1000gp? Or am I missing something?

TL;DR: 1000gp for permanent? +6 alchemical bonus to STR???

Is the strength buff supposed to have a limited duration? Or is the intent to have a positive side effect to the negatives of this poison. A very powerful side effect it seems... I'm debating finding some and dosing myself then healing off the damage...


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So this is simple question but I wanted to make sure I had this right before it comes up in game and players get screwed over. I tried searching for it but couldn't find a clear ruling ine way or another.
So if you look here at the War-Kilt of Sarenrae, you see that it is listed as a waist slot item. It's a waist slot in the companion book as well (Qadira, Gateway...).
Is the war kilt supposed to be listed as waist? Is this the only waist slot item? Or is the true intention for it to be a belt slot item but the book was published before the rules were 100% clear?

The d20pfsrd has it listed as "waist(belt?)." Plus, reading what a belt slot item typically is makes it sound like it is a belt slot as well. But I wanted to double check as I mentioned before.

Cameron


What happens if you take the sleepy drawback and then later acquire a ring of sustenance or restful armor?

Sleepy:
You must sleep or rest for at least 12 hours each night to get the benefits of a full night's rest.
Effect: You take a –2 penalty on saving throws against sleep effects.

Ring of Sustenance:
This ring continually provides its wearer with life-sustaining nourishment. The ring also refreshes the body and mind; its wearer needs only sleep 2 hours per day to gain the benefit of 8 hours of sleep. This allows a spellcaster that requires rest to prepare spells to do so after only 2 hours, but this does not allow a spellcaster to prepare spells more than once per day. The ring must be worn for a full week before it begins to work. If it is removed, the owner must wear it for another week to reattune it to himself.

Restful:
A suit of restful armor permits the wearer to reduce the amount of uninterrupted sleep or rest she needs from 8 hours to 2 hours, and the wearer does not become fatigued by sleeping in this armor. She recovers hit points and ability damage and endures diseases, poisons, or other afflictions as if she had slept through the night in a comfortable bed, awakening refreshed. Additional rest time in this armor does not confer extra healing (as would be gained with complete bed rest), nor can the wearer benefit from the armor's effect more than once per day.

My question is basically about the "flavor text" from sleepy. You have to sleep 12 hours. So would these items/enchantments cancel that 12 out and make it a 2?
If I took the drawback and then got some restful armor, would I only need 2 hours of rest despite my drawback because my armor negates that part magically? Obviously the -2 to saving throws against sleep effects would still be there regardless.

Cameron


So I'm thinking that I like the spectral hand spell, aside from all the debate over if it prompts AoO's and all that. So all that aside, or assuming the GM rules that it doesn't (I'd even be fine with using it requiring a move action to "redirect it" and then it not prompting AoO's from moving. Therefore you've added something and balanced it in my eyes)

spectral hand:
spectral hand wrote:

A ghostly hand shaped from your life force materializes and moves as you desire, allowing you to deliver low-level, touch range spells at a distance. On casting the spell, you lose 1d4 hit points that return when the spell ends (even if it is dispelled), but not if the hand is destroyed. (The hit points can be healed as normal.) For as long as the spell lasts, any touch range spell of 4th level or lower that you cast can be delivered by the spectral hand. The spell gives you a +2 bonus on your melee touch attack roll, and attacking with the hand counts normally as an attack. The hand always strikes from your direction. The hand cannot flank targets like a creature can. After it delivers a spell, or if it goes beyond the spell range or goes out of your sight, the hand returns to you and hovers.

The hand is incorporeal and thus cannot be harmed by normal weapons. It has improved evasion (half damage on a failed Reflex save and no damage on a successful save), your save bonuses, and an AC of 22 (+8 size, +4 natural armor). Your Intelligence modifier applies to the hand's AC as if it were the hand's Dexterity modifier. The hand has 1 to 4 hit points, the same number that you lost in creating it.

So my real question is what would everyone else recommend doing to make the spell work for higher level touch Spells?
As is it is a lvl 2 spell that works for up to level 4 spells. Would it be balanced to simply "Heighten" the spell? And for every level increase to the spell it works for a higher level of touch spells? For example a level 4 spectral hand would work on up to level 6 spells?
Any other ideas are welcome here also.

Would it be overpowered or useless to add that it does not provoke AoO's for movement if you use a move action to redirect the spell? Which would add the ability to ignore AoO and use your move, or take the AoO but still have your move action. Should it be specifically one or the other, or is having both options fine?

Cameron


So the questions I'm gonna propose revolve around the Spiked Hilt "weapon modification" for lack of a better term.

Quick aside on why the ability isnt quoted here:
It's not yet up on the d20pfsrd website, but on the Archive of Nethys, so that's what the link is too. I was going to add the ability text in a spoiler, but since it's not on the d20pfsrd yet I'm not sure if that's like a copyright violation or anything. If I am able to add it in a spoiler then that's good to know and I probably will if someone else doesn't first.
Anyway, there's the above link.
So say I add it to a trident and then also add the Shrinking special ability.
Shrinking:
shrinking wrote:

This special ability can be placed only on melee weapons.

When the wielder issues the command word, a shrinking weapon shrinks to the size of a standard dagger. While in this state, the weapon deals 1d4 points of damage but is more easily concealable. When the command word is spoken again, the weapon returns to its original state.

What happens to the dagger hilt when I use the shrinking ability?
Any and all opinions are welcome here. I'm debating applying this to a weapon that already has a spiked hilt and I'm really curious how it'll work. I'm assuming it'll shrink both, but then the issues come up like what if you then draw the dagger from the hilt, is it still shrunk even though it doesn't have the shrinking special ability on it?

Also, what happens for other abilities put on the main weapon, like Transformative

Transformative:
Transformative wrote:
This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons. A transformative weapon alters its shape at its wielder's command, becoming any other melee weapon of the same general shape and handedness; the weapon's categorization as simple, martial, or exotic is irrelevant. For example, a Medium transformative longsword can take the shape of any other Medium one-handed melee weapon, such as a scimitar, flail, or trident, but not a Medium light or two-handed melee weapon (such as a Medium short sword or a Medium greatsword). It can even take the shape of comparable weapons of different size categories. For example, a Small greatsword is a two-handed slashing weapon for a Small character, but is a one-handed slashing weapon for a Medium character, which is very similar to a Medium longsword; a Small transformative greatsword can thus become an actual Medium longsword, usable by a Medium creature without the —2 penalty for using a weapon of the wrong size. The weapon retains all of its abilities , including enhancement bonuses and weapon special abilities , except those prohibited by its current shape. For example, a keen transformative weapon functions normally in the form of a piercing or slashing weapon, but cannot use the keen special ability when in the shape of a bludgeoning weapon. When unattended, the weapon reverts to its true shape.

In the transformative description is says you can make a two-handed slashing weapon for a small character into a one-handed slashing weapon for a medium character. Suppose we apply that idea to the above trident assuming it's sized for a small character. If it is transformed into a medium sized weapon then it'd be a light weapon. And then its no longer viable for the spiked hilt it has. Additionally, what happens to the dagger there?? You're basically turning a small trident into a medium dagger which has a small dagger in its hilt. Does that work?

Cameron


Am I understanding this correctly? Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. Here's what I'm thinking...

The relevant feats here are Share Spells (Teamwork) and Bonded Mind (Teamwork).

The one that really matters is Share Spells though. So here it is in a spoiler as well.

Share Spells (Teamwork):
Share Spells (Teamwork) wrote:

You can share individual magic with your partner.

Prerequisite(s): Bonded Mind, ability to share spells with an animal companion, eidolon, familiar, or phantom, caster level 1st.

Benefit(s): You can cast a spell with a target of “you” on an ally as a touch spell, as per the share spells familiar ability, so long as the ally possesses the Bonded Mind feat.

So you have a party full of people, one is a wizard with a familiar and the share spells ability. He takes Bonded Mind so he can also take Share Spells (its a prerequisite).
And there's a cavalier in the party and he takes Bonded Mind. He then uses tactician to share Bonded Mind to the party. Now the wizard can cast all of those great personal spells to everyone he can touch because Share Spells says nothing about anyone else needing the feat (which would make things awkward cause then the feat would basically only benefit people that can probably already cast those personal range spells because most others wouldn't meet the prerequisites).
So he can spam true strikes or quickened true strikes. Or even quickened reach true strikes (and before you say it's not legal to use a reach true strikes, I see nothing in the feat that says you cannot. So unless I'm missing something there, you can then. Its just not beneficial unless you tailor a perfect situation like so.)

If your issue is with me saying you can use quickened reach true strike then feel free to let me know why. But my real question is about the teamwork feat Share Spells.


I've got a couple questions about how the returning weapon property works. My GM and I were discussing this but we were unsure how it works entirely.

What happens after a returning weapon is thrown?
Can it be picked up by another character or creature?
If it can be picked up then what happens at the throwers turn? Does it return to him? Or does it stay in the new wielders possession?
And suppose the new wielder threw it? Would it return to the previous owner at his turn and then return to the newer wielder at his turn??


So I searched for this and couldn't find anything. I'm wondering if it hasn't come up because most people skip this feat since nobody has said anything about it. And this may be more of a rules question also.

How can you use reposition while using these feats and gain the benefit from Dimensional Maneuvers?
So here's the feat(s):

Dimensional Maneuvers:
Dimensional Maneuvers

Your rapid teleportation makes your combat maneuvers more difficult to avoid.

Prerequisites: Ability to use the abundant step class feature or cast dimension door, Dimensional Agility, Dimensional Assault, Dimensional Dervish, base attack bonus +9.

Benefit: While using the Dimensional Dervish feat, you gain a +4 bonus on combat maneuver checks to bull rush, disarm, reposition, or trip an opponent.

Dimensional Maneuvers (link for those who want it)
Dimensional Dervish:
Dimensional Dervish

You teleport with a mere thought, savaging your opponents as you flash in and out of reality.

Prerequisites: Ability to use the abundant step class feature or cast dimension door, Dimensional Agility, Dimensional Assault, base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: You can take a full-attack action, activating abundant step or casting dimension door as a swift action. If you do, you can teleport up to twice your speed (up to the maximum distance allowed by the spell or ability), dividing this teleportation into increments you use before your first attack, between each attack, and after your last attack. You must teleport at least 5 feet each time you teleport.

Special: A monk can use additional points from his ki pool to increase his speed before determining the total speed for this teleportation.

Dimensional Dervish (again link)

If you read Dimensional Maneuvers then you'll see why I also added Dimensional Dervish.

Dimensional Maneuvers wrote:
While using the Dimensional Dervish feat...
So according to Dervish you take a full attack action and Dimension Door as a swift action.
Dimensional Dervish wrote:
You can take a full-attack action, activating abundant step or casting dimension door as a swift action.

In the above spoilers you can see the full text for each. So my question is if you are taking a full attack action, how can you also bull rush or reposition?

To the best of my knowledge, they are standard actions that cannot be used during a full attack action.

I can see the intent behind bull rush because of the dimensional assault feat is basically a teleporting charge, so I would rule that it work with it to give the bonus. But technically that'd be a house rule based on RAI.

But how would the bonus from reposition be obtained? As written, you could never actually gain the benefit of this feat while using reposition. Am I missing something here though?

Does this need to be FAQ'ed? Unless I'm missing something it sounds like it needs an erratum really.

Cameron


So my question is for the 15th level protean bloodline power Spatial Tear (Sp) (scroll down a bit and its there in the link, the link is specifically the entire protean bloodline).

Spatial Tear (Sp):
Spatial Tear (Sp) wrote:
At 15th level, once per day, you can unravel the fibers of reality and ride along them as they snap back into place. This power functions as dimension door, while also creating a mass of black tentacles centered on your former location. Both of these effects use your sorcerer level as the caster level. At 20th level, you can use this ability twice per day.

The bolded portion there is the relevant part that leads to my big question:
Would this work with the dimensional feats? Mainly Dimensional Dervish?

I am deciding whether I want to invest in the Eldritch heritage feat line far enough to get this, and this is important if it would work or not because I've already got the dimensional feats, so I'll go for another bloodline if it doesn't work and I still want to pursue the feats.

My reasoning for why it would work are that it is a spell like ability and it plainly states "This power functions as dimension door." But it has the added effect of the tentacles which I feel some people will argue means it doesn't work.

So any opinions here please?
If there are more specific rules on this then feel free to share them also. I am inclined to believe that according to the rules it would work though.

So if it does work that brings me to my next question, if you dimensional dervished with spatial tear, how many black tentacles would be created?
The power says "...while also creating a mass of black tentacles centered on your former location." So former here could be read as every place you were at along the path, or only the first place.
-1 from the first place you were at?
-A black tentacle for every place you jumped from?
-Or does it not work at all?

Thank you all,
Cameron


As the title.

Can an Eldritch Scion Magus choose a crossblooded bloodrager bloodline?
My first thought is no, that's an archetype available to the class not a bloodline itself available. But then if you think about it then it does make sense (RAI) to be available as an option since it'd be possible to have two bloodlines influencing the physical and mental manifestation of a player's bloodline.

I figured I'd get other people's opinions on this. So what does everyone think?


So I'm playing a Magus and I have a familiar from the familiar arcana. And it's fairly clear to me what happens if I take the celestial servant feat, my familiar gains a celestial template. Which I'm assuming is always present. So if I polymorph my familiar, using any polymorph spell basically, would he retain the celestial template on top of the new form?
The way polymorph spells sound, I'm under the impression you lose anything based on your normal form and gain the new form. But celestial servant doesn't sound like its specific to the familiar's form. So will it keep the template and it be applied to the new form as well?

As an example:
So if I cast monstrous physique 2 on my familiar and polymorph him into a 4 armed gargoyle, would he then become a celestial 4 armed gargoyle?


So before I saw a forum post that said that these two archetypes couldn't be used together. I know why that was said, but I'm not 100% sure why that was said. If you look at the archetypes, it looks like its even PFS legal.

Links for convenience:
Eldritch Scion
Spell Dancer

The "overlap":

Eldritch Pool (Su) wrote:
This ability replaces arcane pool, and abilities that modify arcane pool also modify eldritch pool.
Spell Dance (Su) wrote:
This ability replaces the magus's ability to expend points from his arcane pool as a swift action to grant any weapon he is holding magic bonuses for 1 minute.

I omitted the rest of the text and left only the relevant part about replacements.

So according to this, they do work together just fine. The arcane pool is replaced/modified by eldritch scion. But the spell dancer only modifies the weapon enchantment ability, which eldritch scion does not touch. So there is no actual overlap.
So why do people say they can't be used together?
Or is my understanding here wrong and I'm looking at something completely different?


So I was curious about other opinions here. I have 2 opinions of this. The RAW and the most likely RAI and the other possibility.

So you cast Wreath of Blades and then later proceed to use Dimensional savant to go nightcrawler.

Wreath of Blades:
Wreath of Blades
Wreath of Blades wrote:
The daggers serving as focus of this spell take on a deadly sharpness as they animate and spin around you, creating a 5-foot-radius emanation of spinning mithral blades that moves with you. Any creature that starts its turn within the area of the spinning blades takes 1d4 points of damage for every two caster levels (maximum 10d4 at 20th level) and the damage bypasses DR/silver. Furthermore, the daggers ward off some attacks, in a way similar to the warding weapon spell. While subject to this spell, you do not provoke attacks of opportunity for casting spells, even from creatures with the Disruptive feat. Creatures with the Spellbreaker feat can easily bypass this defensive property, though they still take damage from the spell. Your casting (even failing to cast defensively) still provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures with that feat. Lastly, the blades that serve as the focus for this spell can be enchanted for greater effect. When all of the blades share the same enhancement bonus and special weapon qualities, a creature that is damaged by this spell is also treated as if hit by one of these weapons. For example, if a 12th-level magus casts this spell using four +1 frost mithral daggers as focus, the damage dealt by the blades would be 6d4+1 plus 1d6 cold damage, as long as the daggers were commanded to be sheathed in ice. No matter the modifications made to the focus weapons, they must always be mithral daggers. No other type of weapons can serve as a focus for this spell.

Dimensional Savant:
Dimensional Savant
Dimensional Savant wrote:
Benefit: While using the Dimensional Dervish feat, you provide flanking from all squares you attack from. Flanking starts from the moment you make an attack until the start of your next turn. You can effectively flank with yourself and with multiple allies when using this feat.

So since you count as flanking from every square you were in, one could argue that you do count as being in each square, at least momentarily. That leads to the question here with my 2 possible answers. (If there are more than 2 possibilities then do share the other options).
How does the damage from wreath of blades work now?

1) RAW and probably RAI- You only count as flanking and gain no other benefits. Therefore the damage is only dealt to people adjacent to the final square you land in.
2) you count as being in every square you occupied since you flank from every square from the moment you attack until your next turn. Therefore anyone adjacent to any of those squares would then take the damage from Wreath of Blades on their turns.

The goal isn't to grind out as much damage as possible here. I am currently following the feat chain and planned on getting this spell later and was wondering how it'd work with the Dimensional feats.

Thanks,
Cameron


So this is two questions here.
But I'm gonna start with a link to grinding and a quote of it to ensure clarity here and ease of access.

Grinding:
link for who wants it: Grinding
Grinding wrote:
A shield or suit of armor with this special ability is covered with jagged burrs and razor-sharp serrations that saw and grind whenever the wearer is grappled or entangled. Any creature succeeding at a grapple combat maneuver check against the wearer takes damage equal to the armor or shield's enhancement bonus (with each successful check) as the barbs and blades bite into it. This special ability counts as armor spikes for the purpose of making attacks on the wearer's turn.

First, can the armor spikes given from grinding be enchanted as a separate weapon? Or is it just that you technically have armor spikes if you decide to use then as a weapon?
I'm leaning toward the second interpretation as it says "...for the purpose of making attacks on the wearer's turn." That implies to me that they aren't true armor spikes.

Second, and the big one here, is grinding a valid enchantment for a buckler? It specifically says shield and never says anything about not working on a buckler in the description. And typically when shield is used it means all varieties, buckler to tower and all the in-between. At least that's what I've seen, I could be wrong here and that'd be what I'm misunderstanding.
If it is a valid enchantment, which it sounds like it is, it raises another question.
"This special ability counts as armor spikes for the purpose of making attacks on the wearer's turn."
I'm assuming these "armor spikes" count as "shield spikes" when put on a shield, otherwise they're pointless. And if they didn't count as shield spikes then I feel like a note would've been made there specifying that they don't serve as shield spikes.
Well if they're shield spikes then that's a bit of a pickle, not a game breaker, but a pickle nonetheless. Since a buckler is not a valid recipient of shield spikes, can this effectively give a buckler shield spikes then? Cause that's how it reads. If it does, then I'm assuming they'd only deal a d4 or something small.
But then it'd raise the question above, can the shield spikes be enchanted as well, or are they not true spikes in that they cannot be enchanted. They'd just give a shield spike attack?


What is a bladed gauntlet? I cannot seem to find them when I search for them. Yet this link references them.

Bladed Fist

If anyone can show me what a bladed gauntlet is, or share a link to one, then I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Cameron


I'm playing a magus in a current campaign. I'm going the celestial armor & high dex route currently. I'm not trying to stack AC here, I get that I cannot and I understand the rules on it. If you try to tell me I can stack the AC then I'll be surprised though and I expect a citation. Haha.

My question isn't specifically about Celestial Armor AND Quilted Cloth, its basically just quilted cloth, but that's what I'm using so I figured I'd ask about it to be specific.

Celestial armor:
Celestial Armor wrote:
This +3 chainmail is so fine and light that it can be worn under normal clothing without betraying its presence.

quilted cloth:
quilted cloth wrote:

This enhanced form of padded armor has internal layers specifically designed to trap arrows, bolts, darts, shuriken, thrown daggers, and other small ranged piercing weapons. When these kinds of weapons strike you, they tend to become snagged in these layers and fail to harm you.

Benefit: You gain DR 3/— against attacks of this kind (small piercing weapons). The special layers of the armor have no effect on other kinds of weapons

Here is the relevant bits of each.
My question is can you wear quilted cloth with another armor? Obviously I really only care about the DR 3/- from the quilted cloth. I am assuming if I can combine them, then I'd take the higher armor bonus, the lesser dex bonus, the worse ACP, and worse arcane spell failure or even combine them maybe?(which doesn't matter for magus spells cause I'm a magus). And possibly some added penalties to heat exhaustion based checks and the like? I'm not sure on this either though.

By RAW, is stacking these an option? I feel like I've seen before people mentioning it. But I cannot seem to locate it. And a search here doesn't find anything aside from a mildly heated debate about quilted cloth and bullets (which I don't care about). I think I saw wearing it with another armor in a guide or two before, but I can't recall which or the reasoning they had for stacking them.

If I cannot wear it with "any other armor," then can I wear it over my celestial armor? Since celestial armor can be worn under clothes and Quilted cloth is basically "thick clothes."

Thank you all,

Edit: regardless of the answer, yes or no, I'd love a citation if at all possible that way I can take it to the GM. While mass opinions are helpful, I don't foresee this question generating a very big response. So rules would benefit the most here either way.

Cameron


This is my first post. Some friends and I decided to try out pathfinder and we like it. I am playing a magus in our current campaign. The big enemy is currently a lot of drow, with other things tossed in there too, but mainly drow.

So I found this spell on the magus spell list.
Light Prison:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/l/light-prison
And after searching through these boards a bit I haven't found much on the spell.
Pretty much all of the drow we're fighting have light blindness.

So my question here is, does the prison put off enough light to blind an enemy with light blindness.
I am aware that the spell doesn't explicitly state anything about giving off light, aside from being made of light. So I completely understand if it does not cause blindness in creatures with light blindness.

I mainly just want to double check that it dudes not. Because if it does cause blindness, then it'd be a pretty good addition to my spell list. If not, then it's not a big deal.

Edit: fixed a typo

-Cameron