BastionofthePants's page

* Starfinder Society GM. 24 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.

My level 2 mystic permadied on this scenario. And took 18 months worth of Dead Suns chronicles to the grave with her.

I don't blame the author or anything, but this may be the scenario that got me to stop playing in Society for a while...


pithica42 wrote:


EDIT: I'm also super curious as to what scenario you died in at level 2. I've only encountered one tier 1-4 scenario that was deadly, so I'm curious if it's the one I already knew about or what happened.

Bluerise Breakout. To be fair, I probably would have survived if I had played a little smarter. Or if the GM hadn't rolled a crit when I had only 3 hp left.

I'd have gotten over it by now if I didn't just lose a year's worth of chronicles without ever getting even getting to play a character who had applied them.


OK I guess I should be more clear about the specific situation, so let me try again:

For 18 months, I GM'd Dead Suns. We're about to wrap up book 4. We were playing Campaign mode. All of those chronicles are applied to character # 3.

Now, unaware of that rule on p 12, I brought character # 3 to a Society game, at lvl 2, where she died. Taking all 18-months worth of my Dead Suns chronicles to the grave with her. Because she was only lvl 2, she didn't have access to any of the fame or money on those chronicles, and therefore couldn't get raised.

So basically, I'm desperate for a *legal* way to not just lose all of those chronicles before I even get to apply them. Honestly, it feels needlessly mean-spirited to force a player to apply a chronicle to a dead character. It takes a lot away from the player without really improving the game in any meaningful way.

So here's the question: was it legal for me to bring Character # 3 to a Society event when I was mid-adventure. If not, would an acceptable resolution be to adjust the unapplied chronicles (Chronicles 2-4) and apply them to character # 4.

Does that make sense, or is my brain just stuck in the "Bargaining" phase of the grieving process?


HammerJack wrote:
The character with that number is restricted from being in 2 adventures at once, so that you don't end up with a weird situation if they die in adventure A while they're in the middle of adventure B.

So that is literally what happened. I was unaware of this rule, and my Dead Suns character (who wraps up book 4 this weekend) just died at lvl 2. I'm trying to figure out how to resolve it.

(Also oops, I meant to post this in the OP section)


Question about the rules for playing in an Adventure Path. On Page 12 of the the Guild Guide, it states that when playing an Adventure Path or other multi-session event, that:

"Until applicable Chronicle sheets are handed out, these characters may not be used in any other Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild event."

I'm a little confused by the wording. Does this mean that we are required to finish the adventure before using that character # as a PC in a Starfinder Society game?

Other question: At what point are GMs and player required to choose which character the chronicle gets applied to? At the beginning of the adventure or the end when chronicles get handed out?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Any word on when this will get sanctioned for SFS?


So Frozen Trove's illicit activities are, mostly, obscured behind intermediaries, shell corporations, and other legal smokescreens.

As I recall, the identity of the main villain in To Conquer the Dragon was not revealed to the PCs. Even if they were identified, Frozen Trove could still disavow their direct involvement.

We still haven't even met the CEO, but I anticipate they'll be a major villain at some point.


I think there is a typo on the chronicle sheet for this book. The Tier 7 Crypt Warden lists its shields as "Medium 100" but it distributes 110 shields across the 4 arcs...


whew wrote:

No.

Is that a RAW no, a RAI no, or just a strong recommendation that "no" is the answer that leads to a better game?


So suppose a large creature successfully repositions an enemy, and can now move it 10 feet.

Could it reposition it 10 feet straight up, forcing it to fall 10 feet, take 1d6 damage, and go prone?


Chronicle Spoilers:
The new Kiirinta race has an ability called Reverberating Shriek, and the DC of this ability appears to be based on the TARGET'S Constitution score, rather than the Kiirinta's. Is that a typo or deliberate?


Nothing about the item says you LOSE Darkvision. Only that you don't gain it. From a strictly RAW approach, I can't imagine why you would lose darkvision.

From a RAI approach, I don't recall any cases where you lose the functionalities of a limb when it gets augmented. Vesk don't lose their special unarmed attack when replacing their arms, for example.

From a fluff/narrative approach, you *could* argue that replacing your eyes would also remove any special abilities they had, but I don't think you *need* to.

In the old Forgotten Realms days, Infravision MEANT Darkvision. Dwarves and Elves and Duerghar didn't have "darvision," they had "infravision." Somewhere along the line, the writers decided to retcon it as Darkvision. I think the wording on this implant is just here so that players don't confuse Infrared Vision with Darkvision.


breithauptclan wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
If the feat you get at 3rd doesn't count as a prerequisite for Versatile Specialization, then literally everyone is doing it wrong.

Our group also plays with it this way. No need to explicitly take Weapon Specialization as a feat tax. Whether that is a house rule or not is debatable.

For Adaptive Fighting, I would be good with the class-granted Weapon Specialization counting as one of the combat feats needed. But not all three. How about three separately-named combat feats? I don't know if there are other combat feats that have options like that. I guess Weapon Focus and maybe Weapon Proficiency. The other ones I can think of are general feats: Skill Synergy and Skill Focus.

When running my own table, I would agree with you on all counts. In a pure RAW setting, like SFS, I think I can and will take advantage of this for adaptive fighting; weird RAW>RAI rulings have hurt me enough that I don't feel too guilty letting them help me this time.

Gonna run it by my VC first.


So a lvl 3 Envoy can take Versatile Weapon Specialization as their feat, since they meet the prereq. Thenv if they dip into Soldier at lvl 4, they immediately get specialization for every thing, at the cost of a (fairly useful) dip and a feat.

Does this seem OP/munchkinish to everyone, or fair play?


Dracomicron wrote:


The specializations that you get from hitting 3rd level are class features, not feats, as far as I recall. If you don't actually have the feats, you can't take Adaptive Fighting.

According to the CRB: "You gain Weapon Specialization as a bonus feat for each weapon type for which this class grants you proficiency."

This would imply that you gain not just the benefits of weapon specialization, but rather you gain the feat itself. This is why it would satisfy prerequisites for things like Versatile Specialization or (maybe) Adaptive Fighting.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Adaptive Fighting, as a prerequisite, requries "3 or more combat feats."

Weapon Specialization is a combat feat that can be taken multiple times, once for each weapon type.

So at level 3 a Solarian gains Weapon Specialization (Advanced Melee), Weapon Specialization (Small Arms), and Weapon Specialization (Basic Melee). Each is technically an independent feat.

Do these three feats meet the prerequisite for Adaptive Fighting?


Vexies wrote:
Looking forward to this one but ad its release date is so far out. Be very interested in seeing what all the new options it holds are. I hope to see some expanded Armor Solarion options as well.

There are some great ways to make the Envoy a powerhouse. If you take Versatile Specialization and either a 1-level soldier dip, the longarm proficiency feat, or the "Trust Your Gear" Improvisation, you can start doing solid damage. The blitz soldier dip in particular gives you all the weapons, heavy armor proficiency, and only sets you back a level and a feat. It combos beautifully with Get Em, since the +4 Initiative bonus means you're more likely to give your allies the Get Em bonus.


suds89 wrote:
Do these have useful items or class options like the adventure paths in them?

The short answer is generally no. These $5 scenarios are just short adventures and they won't come with any classes/spells/etc like the APs do.

They do sometimes come with Boons, though. Boons are small little things your character gets for completing a scenario or meeting certain objectives. They are mostly designed to interact with Organized Play, but a few of them could potentially be relevant in a home game.

An example of a Boon might be a contact or ally that would grant you some benefit in a different scenario, or a black market contact that gives you a discount on a piece of equipment.


This was a FANTASTIC scenario. I absolutely loved playing it at Gencon


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nerdy Canuck wrote:
HammerJack wrote:
Yes, you definitely need to keep rolling, though the conditions do lower the target's AC, and make maintaining a bit easier than initiating.
Which I could see getting real fun for a Vanguard with a Throttle weapon when the Character Operations Manual comes out.

Honestly, I think an Operative Skittermander would do amazing things with a throttle weapon.

+2 from the race, +2 from the throttle bonus, +Dex since its an operative weapon, +4 from the improved grapple feat, and a lvl 6 operative could easily be making a grapple check at +16. Assuming you succesfully make them flatfooted with trick attack, the grapple succeeds on a 10 against most medium CR 6 enemies, and pins on a 15. Once they're grappled, you can renew with an 8 and pin with a 13.

When you add in the fact that there are no size modifiers to grapple checks, I think I can see why they banned the garotte in society play.

Once they're pinned, you would renew that pin on an 11. Considering the extreme severity of the pinned condition, that seems pretty fair. Throw in knee shot and you can possibly make them prone, at which point you maintain the pin on a 7.

Even if you were to optimize a little less, like by playing a race without the +2 to grapple, you still have a high enough success rate that grappling becomes a viable, if risky, way to build your character


So when you grapple an opponent, "the grappled or pinned condition lasts until the end of your next turn, unless you renew it on your next turn with another grapple combat maneuver." (You can also end/reverse the grapple on your turn, but that's not what this question is about)

I have 2 questions about this:

1) Do you have to succesfully roll against a KAC +8 to renew the grapple, or simply spend your action renewing?

2) Assume you pin an enemy by beating their KAC+13 in a grapple check. Their KAC is now 20. Next round, you roll a 28 on your grapple check. This is enough to maintain the grapple but not the pin. Would they go from pinned to grappled, or would they stay pinned?

5/5

So when a mounted rider acts, they are treated as a single creature, with a single set of actions (swift, move & standard) in total, right?

Therefore, when that mounted rider chargers, only a single attack is allowed. Usually the rider.

BUT what if the mount has the Pounce ability?

Would that mount, who is allowed to take a full attack action as part of a charge, be allowed to attack in addition to the rider? The mount IS performing a charge, after all, and the usual rules about "only one attack per charge" wouldn't apply to the mount.


The armor "recharging" mechanic is one of those cases where the mechanics and the lore just don't line up with each other very well.

Do you want to track it and make it part of the game's challenge?

If yes, then find a way to describe it where you need air filters, freon, and other forms of seals that cannot be replenished on the go.

If no, then handwave it.


Bear in mind: the levels at which the magus gets a new +1 from arcane pool only allow him to keep pace with the fighter in terms of BAB.

In the absence of magical weapons, a lvl 8 fighter and a lvl 8 magus who just used arcane pool get the same attack modifier, the fighter just got it for free.

It's the keening and shocking and whatnot that give the Magus a real edge. Keen your rapier and it has a 30% critical chance, shock it and use spellstrike and 30% of the time you'll threaten 2x damage on the weapon, shock, and spell damage. It's a beautiful burst when it works.