Aluvial's page

23 posts. Alias of Sean Riley.


RSS


I look at it this way, his animal companion was banished. There is no immediate way to get back to their home plane and retrieve the animal. So, since it is his, and there is a bond, and the druid is 16th level, I'm okay with him taking a high level spell slot to get his animal companion back, for the duration of the spell, once every 24 hours. There is the danger of Dispel Magic, other protections against summoning, etc to consider, but overall, I don't see this as a game breaker.

Now the second it was abused.... then it wouldn't just plain wouldn't work.

Summoning named demons, devils, and gods is another matter altogether. I would think it very, very foolish to tamper with these beings and draw their attention. My players know better then to screw around with that type of thing. (I once had a devil torment a stupid PC at EVERY SINGLE moment it would be even a slight inconvenienced to him. This went down as an epic story still told today. Set the boundaries fellow DMs and you never will have any issues.)


Java Man wrote:
The animal companion does not appear on any summon list for Summon Nature's Ally, only basic bestiary creatures do.

I can see your point here. The gate option also is completely viable, but I like the idea that the Druid presented. I'm inclined to allow it to happen but thank you for the RAW.

I like the idea of the 24 hour limiter on summoning a specifically named creature (which is why I'm inclined to allow this in the first place).


Java Man wrote:
What spell is the druid going to use to accomplish this?

That is a good question. I would assume an appropriately leveled Summon spell. Summon Nature's Ally? I would have to gauge the level based on comparable creatures in the lists.

I've now read that if you Summon a Specific creature, you can only summon it once every 24 hours. That is a good limiter.


Here is the scenario.

My high level PCs are on a different plane from their home plane when the bad guy casts Banishment. The druid's animal companion fails the save, and I rule that it is banished back to their home plane.

Can the druid now Summon back his Animal Companion? Under the Rule of Yes, I would say, this sounds reasonable, though I would limit it with the spell duration.

Can you Summon a specific creature?

I'm curious, would this work under the RAW?


Okay,

Thanks!


Mischief Mondragon wrote:

Again no. Spells that have the effect from attacking state that. Cloudkill specifically states:

"A living creature with 6 or more HD takes 1d4 points of Constitution damage on your turn each round while in the cloud (a successful Fortitude save halves this damage). Holding one's breath doesn't help, but creatures immune to poison are unaffected by the spell."

Note: "while in the cloud". This is very straightforward when reading the descriptions.

Axiomatic Storm is the same, it states "It falls in a fixed area once created" and "a gout of acid strikes a randomly selected chaotic outsider within the spell’s area" nothing about individuals outside of the area (which includes individuals adjacent to it attacking individuals within).

Okay, so what about the Wall of Fire example. Let me change the attack something just inside of the effect, to picking something up just inside of the effect. If you pick up your dropped weapon, which is just inside the 20' fire effect from a Wall of Fire, do you take damage reaching in to pick up the item?


If you did consider glitterdust an ongoing effect, like cloud kill, would you have to save by attacking someone just inside the edge of the cloudkill effect (i.e., reaching in to attack them)?

Fireshield and other emanations that do damage if you enter their threshold work this way. Why not a spell area that has a persistent ongoing effect?

I'm thinking of other spells as well, like from 3.5, Axiomatic Storm. If you were chaotic, and had to attack someone inside of the edge of the storm, would not the rain cause damage to you as you attacked someone inside of it?


I have a newly created thread to ask this question, but I thought I would duplicate it here.

If glitterdust is an area cloud effect with a duration (edges marked by the brackets [..x..] with x being the origin spot), and if you (A) were standing just outside of the effect, and attacked an adjacent target (T) creature within the effect, would you be affected by the spell, and have to make a save vs. being blinded?

Basically, as you reach into a spell area of an ongoing spell, are you affected by the spells effect?

A[T.x..]


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm curious if a creature is affected by a spell effect, if it is standing in a square right outside of the spell effect, but is attacking another creature standing right inside of the effect.

I have a few cases to discuss.

Wall of Fire is first. It has an emanation effect. If you are adjacent to a square that is just outside of the 20' of heat, and attack someone who is in the heat, do you take damage when you "reach in" to attack them in their square?

Glitterdust is the big culprit. If you are standing right outside of the glitterdust effect, which is an ongoing area, and attack someone inside of the area you are adjacent too, do you have to save vs. blindness? If you were invisible, and attack someone adjacent to you, inside of the area of effect, do you become visible?

Grease, I would assume that if you are adjacent to a character in the Grease spell, and attack them, you are not affected by the spell effect, because logic dictates that the grease effect is a plane on the ground (2d).

Bloodmist. If you attack an adjacent creature who is currently in the red algae cloud, are you entering the cloud and have to make a save?

I could give more examples, and am most interested in an official rule on this, preferably in one of the books.

I've always played that if you are attacking into an area of a spell effect, then that spell affects you as if you were positioned within the spell. Am I wrong?


Crash landing a Sontaran (Dr. Who) in Greyhawk tonight...


Sweet,

If this is out, I have it. I just couldn't think of it.

Thanks Shadow!


I'm trying to create a homebrew race. Are there rules/guidelines for this anywhere?

Thanks!


Chemlak wrote:

The current version of the sheet doesn't use a grid with drop downs to pick buildings from, so I'm not 100% sure about what you want to do, but my best guess is as follows:

There is probably a hidden sheet with the building statistics on. First you'll need to Un-hide that sheet. (If there isn't a hidden sheet, there will be hidden columns or rows on the sheet where you select the buildings.)

Unprotect the sheet if it is protected.

Insert a new row for your custom building into the table of buildings. You can insert this row anywhere except the very top or bottom of the existing building types.

Fill in the building details in the appropriate columns.

Protect and/or hide the columns/rows/sheet again.

Go back to your city grid. Your new building should be in the drop down.

Excellent, there were two lists. I kept changing one, but realized the range was on the sheet itself in hidden cells. Thanks for your help

That said, I have another question, in the Kingdom tab, you have tool tips... or comments that float right under the box where you can input the amount of the particular item. These have the cost and explanation of what they are, what they do, etc. How do you edit these? When I move one on my sheet, it seems to "unlock" them from their positions, and all start to show up in that one place, in addition, they don't have the little red triangle in the upper right corner of the cell that indicates there is a comment associated with it. I'm lost trying to edit these or even know what they are called to look it up in the help files. Any advice on this? Thanks again, I'll send my sheet to you if you message me.


Hi, I have an older version of this sheet that I've been using and will likely upgrade to your version soon. I would like to include the leaders sheet.

My question is about adding a custom building and having it appear in the drop down selection on the city map. For the life of me, I can't seem to figure out how to add it. Is there a way to add a building for that drop down?


My Reaper Vampire box just came in. Lots of good minis for the campaign.

Were there any new releases that fit? I saw the female pathfinder mini which was good (w/ the map).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have a question then.

I have 6 PC's, 4 of which are 5th level, 2 are 4th level.

I rolled up a random encounter, and got 5 - CR5 trolls.

I see on the chart, you count that as a CR 9 encounter.

Does this mean it generated a level 9 treasure? Or 5 times level 5 treasures?

Thanks!

Aluvial


Shar Tahl wrote:
it is mostly because it is based on the character stats, which vary from character to character. There is no static statblock for a wildshape.

But that would be the entry part of the program that should be easy to accomplish. Then just add the creature as selected, and wham, statblock. I'll keep looking or try to attempt my own.

Aluvial


Grick wrote:

A lot of people use hero lab, which does all the calculations and stuff on the fly. Again, not vouching, just mentioning it. I think it's fairly expensive (and you don't learn the rules nearly as well as doing it all by hand) but the people who use it seem to like it.

I have considered that option, but I really prefer understanding why the changes are occuring. I've DM'd a 3.5 campaign for over a decade now, and have only started a pathfinder(ish) campaign.

I use a lot of house rules, but have essentially given the core pathfinder system a chance. Thanks for the advice. I know that stating the wild shape creatures should be an easy task. I'm suprised it hasn't been done yet.

Aluvial


Thanks for the direction... I have both the list and Treantmonk's guide (very helpful).

I still want the auto sheet, but I think I may be able to make that with the excel data...


Hello again helpful boards,

Does anyone know of a chart of the creatures (or better yet) or program that calculates stats for Wild Shape?

The list of Small and Medium animals would be helpful, a program that allowed you to select that animal after putting in base stats would be the most helpful thing I could find.

Thanks again,

Aluvial


I absolutely love you and the people on these boards. Thanks for the help.

Aluvial


Hello,

I'm very confused by the Animal Companion rules.

I want to look at the starting stats for a wolf and see if I understand what is happening.

A normal wolf which has the following base stats:

Wolf:
Size Medium; Speed 50 ft.; AC 14 (+2 Dex, +2 NA); Str 13, Dex 15, Con 15, Int 2, Wis 12, Cha 6; Base Atk +1; CMB +2; CMD 14 (18 vs. trip); Feats Skill Focus (Perception); Skills Perception +8, Stealth +6, Survival +1 (+5 scent tracking); Racial Modifiers +4 Survival when tracking by scent

Now, the starting stats listed under Animal Companion are:

Wolf:
Size Medium; Speed 50 ft.; AC +2 natural armor; Attack bite (1d6 plus trip); Ability Scores Str 13, Dex 15, Con 15, Int 2, Wis 12, Cha 6; Special Qualities low-light vision, scent.

(QUESTION 1) My first and probably most important question is this; are the Natural Armor bonuses list in both sets of statistics the same, or do they stack? My guess is that they are the same, but I'm not sure...

Now, I look at the chart. At 3rd level of druid, the NA for ANY animal companion goes up by +2. Does my wolf now have +4 NA, or +6 NA? Essentially, this is my question 1 reworded.

Then, at 7th level, I have another +2 for NA and then, the wolf gets the advancement:
7th-Level Advancement -- Size Large; AC +2 natural armor; Attack bite (1d8); Ability Scores Str +8, Dex –2, Con +4.

Here I'm really confused. Does the NA for the wolf increase again, or is this +2 the same as the Starting Stats? I would think that they stack, so at 7th level, I've increased by yet another +2, BUT, if that is the case, why? The +2 is listed as an unnamed bonus, like the first +2 unnamed bonus in the starting stats.

This makes me think that the wolf is now increased the NA up to +10. +2 for the base wolf, +2 for the starting stats, +4 for the advancement chart, and +2 for the 7th level advancement.

So, if someone could help me understand, I would appreciate it.

Perhaps someone might be as kind to point me to the appropriate thread (I could not find it, but I did see one where James Jacobs said the higher level advancement stacked) where I might find the answers, OR, even better, can you stat out a Druid's Animal Companion (Wolf) at levels 4 and 7? That would help me work out the bonuses if I saw the final stat block.

Thanks,

Aluvial