Guide to the New Season

Monday, July 27, 2015

We're just a few days away from the start of Season 7: Year of the Serpent! That means it's time for an updated Guide! The first big change you'll see is that we've changed the title to: Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide. Pathfinder Society Organized Play has referred to two branches of organized play for the past year, which we have distinguished with the terms Roleplaying Guild and Adventure Card Guild. You'll be seeing more of this term as time goes on.

There are also a few other key changes to note for this revised version of the Guide:

  • Added a new Step 1 to character creation that involves choosing between Core and Standard Mode
  • Updated some of the class-specific replacements and nuances, such as the exclusive use of the summoner class that appears in Pathfinder Unchained
  • Updated the faction symbols to use the new art we released earlier this year
  • Updated Season 7 goals
  • Added a Faction Journal Card section
  • Added a new Core Mode section in Chapter 5
  • Added to the Playtest and Errata section, providing additional ways in which a character can retrain features and resell equipment following a rules update
  • Revised the Slow progression so that one opts to use the slow progression at the very beginning of an adventure, not at the very beginning of a level
  • Presented a concept of Downtime, which is just the Day Job “slot.” This reinforces that everyone has Downtime, even if they don't have a Day Job skill
  • Removed technology and glitch information (now available on the Pathfinder Reference Document)
  • Removed the list of venture-officers, which changes far too frequently these days to update the list only once or twice a year; this information is available online

In addition to the new Roleplaying Guild Guide, we've released new versions of the Faction Journal Cards for you to download. If you're heading out to Gen Con this weekend to play any of the new Season 7 scenarios, you'll want to grab this updated document for your character! We hope they continue to add flavor to the campaign and help you add additional roleplaying elements to your PFS experience.

Thank you to the Pathfinder Society venture-captains, venture-lieutenants, and Jonathan Choy for helping us compile a list of necessary changes!

The Pathfinder Society Team

More Paizo Blog.
Tags: Pathfinder Society
151 to 158 of 158 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
1/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Pathfinder Society Role Playing Good God! Gasp!

Venture-Captain, Iowa—Iowa City aka Peshmonster

I realize this is a bit after the fact, but I have a question about the Silver Crusade journal card. Does the ability to use lay on hands qualify a character with that goal for feats like Extra Lay on Hands/Ultimate Mercy?

Thanks!

Sovereign Court 3/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

No. You can use it as if you had the class feature, but you don't actually have the class feature and don't qualify for those feats.


I understand that if I have Freedom Fighter from both season 6 and 7 of the Liberty's Edge cards that wouldn't do anything since neither gets a benefit from how many goals are are accomplished :(

I'm mostly confused on the part of, "If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher."

The example given is with Ambrus at five goals on season 6 card, and two goals on season 7 card, giving him an effective six goals for his season 6 Explorer benefit.
But what if he had six goals on his season 6 card initially, and two on season 7? Does that just affect his season 6 Explorer ability at seven effective goals or does he also gain season 6's Expedition Coordinator reward with the effective seven goals?

Sovereign Court 5/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Protoman wrote:

I understand that if I have Freedom Fighter from both season 6 and 7 of the Liberty's Edge cards that wouldn't do anything since neither gets a benefit from how many goals are are accomplished :(

I'm mostly confused on the part of, "If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher."

The example given is with Ambrus at five goals on season 6 card, and two goals on season 7 card, giving him an effective six goals for his season 6 Explorer benefit.
But what if he had six goals on his season 6 card initially, and two on season 7? Does that just affect his season 6 Explorer ability at seven effective goals or does he also gain season 6's Expedition Coordinator reward with the effective seven goals?

That wouldn't cause you to gain any new goals, just make the ones you already have better.


Righteo. Looks like Liberty's Edge and other factions get no benefit from that effective increase then. Oh well, gotta buckle down harder on goals.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

??? It should give you plus 1 goal on both sheets for all purposes. ( It doesn't say "for purpose of determining the effect of boons.") So You would have six goals on one and three on the other, meaning you need only one more goal on each to reach the next boon.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

Also remember if you have checked at least one box on previous seasons' faction journal cards then you can continue to use them in the current season. So even if the +1 goal doesn't do anything right away, if you meet another goal you'll then get the benefit.

151 to 158 of 158 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Paizo Blog: Guide to the New Season All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.