Eadie Navhelan
|
Thankyou, sir!
And if your missus said it can be done, I have no doubt it will be :)
Eadie Navhelan
|
Hi GM, I am back!
If it matters, my initiative is 3 higher than what you've shown thanks to USpelunker and Favored Terrain.
The correct Initiative modifier is shown in my header. It is not shown in my character sheet, because that is the base value, unmodified by buffs (which I thought you also wanted in our headers)
However, if you want me to modify both PC sheet and header based on buffs, I can do that.
Eadie Navhelan
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Yessir! All went according to plan, and it's nice to be home.
Thank-you for your comments above.
Lichaam Pisell
|
All the minotaurs are a little too far apart to catch them in an AoO (disabling or damage). Guess we'll see how it looks once people start moving around.
Are there any dwarves on the altar or in the line of fire now? The description didn't mention any, but it's worth asking.
Are the minotaurs armed?
| GMAndrewW |
All the minotaurs are a little too far apart to catch them in an AoO (disabling or damage). Guess we'll see how it looks once people start moving around.
Are there any dwarves on the altar or in the line of fire now? The description didn't mention any, but it's worth asking.
Not that you can see, but as mentioned you can hear noises coming from the pit.
Lichaam Pisell
|
Lichaam Pisell wrote:Not that you can see, but as mentioned you can hear noises coming from the pit.All the minotaurs are a little too far apart to catch them in an AoO (disabling or damage). Guess we'll see how it looks once people start moving around.
Are there any dwarves on the altar or in the line of fire now? The description didn't mention any, but it's worth asking.
So no fireballs over towards the right of the map.
Are the minotaurs armed? I've got a persistent grease prepared, and the leader's pointy stick would probably be a good target.
Quenly
|
I am back (for a bit at least).
Wifi options on ship are terrible. Hotspotting hasn't been possible because we've been kept out of port by bad weather :(
I am online for the next 24 hours, and if weather continues to thwart my wife's tech skills I'll resort to the satellite option again in 2-3 days.
Glad you're good, YiM!
ETA: posted! I can't move my token on Roll20 though, could someone move it 5' back to the left please?
Lichaam Pisell
|
I have freehanded a polygon on the map - if anyone has a more elegant way of representing the 20' AoE please feel free to replace it.
I snap-to-gridded a polygon using the correct template (had a couple of squares that should have been covered but weren't.) I don't apparently have permission to mess with your freehanding, so I just overlayed it.
Quenly's dragon flies up out of harms way. I think Lichaam has one too now :)
Yup - and mine has Burrow.
| Tiny Dragon |
"My racial quasi-template's meticulous nature seems to have transferred to me" the tiny crystalline dragon states, in a rather higher-pitched voice than you might expect from a dragon. "Lichaam believes I would be a good guardian of his spell library."
"Imagine, a hoard of every spell in existence, sorted by power and school... I might even be able to get him to rescribe everything alphabetically!"
Eadie Navhelan
|
Quenly, I've tried to move you, but I don't have control your token.
GM, I DO have control of Lichaam's token.
Quenly
|
I can move Eadie and Lichaam's tokens too - but not Quenly's ;)
I am in port at the moment and have internet. Weather permitting, I'll be able to post on phone at a minimum over the next few days as we have several port stops. Friday is a sea day so that looks more tricky. (I am on GMT+2 currently).
Lichaam Pisell
|
If the Labyrinth Minotaur is an Outsider like Quenly suspects, my rolls from this post should still be good (Lichaam's Planes and Nature have the same bonus.)
I have access to Lichaam's token (which I've moved back where it was) and Eadie's token. At one point, I also had access to Yanndu's token, but I don't anymore. And a token for TinyPseudoCrystalDragon might be helpful - he's got burrow, and will probably try peeking through the side of the pit while everyone's tied up with the minotaurs.
No it's ok. We will work with what we have now and try to turn it into our advantages.
If nothing else, the entangle will lower his Reflex save for me and his AC for our frontliners.
Korin Rosenthal
|
I would suggest casters take off ASAP and maintain out-of-melee altitude if you can.
Grease might work better to make him prone which deny him of 5ft step and charge. The horns he got is still a threat even without the greataxe. If he fall prone on where he's at now, I can 5 ft step back after my attack and he cannot follow me with 5ft step.
Lichaam Pisell
|
I would suggest casters take off ASAP and maintain out-of-melee altitude if you can.
Oh, definitely leaving the ground. I think he would have been at ground level up until now, though, checking out the dwarf-bits and talking with the others. Looking at the map, I think Lichaam's movement this turn is going to be low enough to leave him within reach of Large humanoid-shaped creatures.
EDIT: Checking sight line, it looks like Lichaam does barely have LoS to Red. So he probably will prioritize height over that last 5' of distance - don't want to give the minotaur an unobstructed charge lane like that, in case he has 45' base movement or more.
Grease might work better to make him prone which deny him of 5ft step and charge. The horns he got is still a threat even without the greataxe. If he fall prone on where he's at now, I can 5 ft step back after my attack and he cannot follow me with 5ft step.
Possible. However, he'll probably only get a single attack with the horns, while he can get iterative attacks with the axe. And going by what happened with Quenly's shadow web, I suspect the GM rules that stepping out of the grease would be allowed.
Also, if you guys end up blending him, you'll have to deal with the grease, either by going the long way around or by making that DC10 Acrobatics check. I guess I could place it under the back half of the minotaur, which would give you guys a small path to slip through.
Quenly
|
I almost went with a shadow ice storm, to cover a 40' radius area with difficult terrain. Didn't want to burn a level 6 slot yet though.
Lichaam Pisell
|
Its horns are dangerous, especially augmented by the bronze mask it wears and, if it full attacks, it can gore or bull rush every enemy within reach.
Point of clarification:
Does that mean it has something like Whirlwind Attack with its horns? Or does that mean it gets a FREE Whirlwind Attack with its horns even when full-attacking with its axe?
Korin Rosenthal
|
There's a FAQ on "If an AOO or other interrupting effect reduces what actions I can take on my turn, does this reduction apply immediately?"
Limited actions on my turn: If an AOO or other interrupting effect reduces what actions I can take on my turn, does this reduction apply immediately?
Yes, even if it interrupts or limits your in-progress.For example, if you are making a full attack and attempt to trip your opponent, but you provoke an AOO because you don't have Improved Trip, and your opponent has a spell storing weapon that's storing a hold person, and you fail your save against the spell, you are immediately paralyzed and can't take any of your remaining actions (including the remainder of your full attack).
Likewise, if your opponent had the Staggering Critical feat instead of a spell storing weapon and the attack staggered you, you would immediately gain the staggered condition, which would prevent you from taking any actions that violate the staggered condition's limitations. If you provoked by taking a move action to move through the opponent's threatened area, you could finish that move action but could not also take a standard action after it. If you provoked as part of a full attack (as with the trip example), becoming staggered would end your full attack at that point and prevent you from taking a move action after the staggering attack. It doesn't matter if the AOO happened because of your first attack in your full attack or your last allowed one, being staggered ends your full attack at that point because you can't make a full attack if you're staggered.
Based on the official FAQ of the very rulebook our game is based on, I believe that if someone gained a condition (such as Entangled), it would immediately prevent him from taking any actions that violates the condition's limitations (can't Run or Charge). If that happen during a full-round action (such as full attack in the example used in FAQ or Charge in this case), it would end such action.
As a Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild GM, you have the right and responsibility to make whatever judgments, within the rules, that you feel are necessary at your table to ensure everyone has a fair and fun experience. This does not mean you can contradict rules or restrictions outlined in this document, a published Pathfinder RPG source, errata document, or official FAQ on paizo.com.
We as the players can only base our actions and decisions on what the official rule text for the actions allowed and the consequences of those actions. If the game are to based on something that deviates from official rules, erratas, and FAQs, it would really hinder our ability to play the game as we can no longer know whether our action will have the proper result that the rules said it would have.
I hope the rule I provided will help you understand the logic behind Korin and Quidditch's action, and reconsider your ruling. I'm very confident that an experienced GM like you would be able to make the right judgement, within the rules, when we encounter situations like this.
| GMAndrewW |
GMAndrewW wrote:Its horns are dangerous, especially augmented by the bronze mask it wears and, if it full attacks, it can gore or bull rush every enemy within reach.Point of clarification:
Does that mean it has something like Whirlwind Attack with its horns? Or does that mean it gets a FREE Whirlwind Attack with its horns even when full-attacking with its axe?
Its has a special ability to attack everyone around it with its horns. Its not a feat but rather something unique to it.
| GMAndrewW |
Based on the official FAQ of the very rulebook our game is based on, I believe that if someone gained a condition (such as Entangled), it would immediately prevent him from taking any actions that violates the condition's limitations (can't Run or Charge). If that happen during a...
If I have made an error then I am happy to reconsider my decision. However, this sort of tone is really not helpful.
The minotaur is now 5' back from its previous position.
I am away with work tomorrow and am unlikely to be able to post.
Lichaam Pisell
|
Lichaam Pisell wrote:Its has a special ability to attack everyone around it with its horns. Its not a feat but rather something unique to it.GMAndrewW wrote:Its horns are dangerous, especially augmented by the bronze mask it wears and, if it full attacks, it can gore or bull rush every enemy within reach.Point of clarification:
Does that mean it has something like Whirlwind Attack with its horns? Or does that mean it gets a FREE Whirlwind Attack with its horns even when full-attacking with its axe?
My question is when it gets that attack. Is it just something that happens when it's swinging its axe, or is it something it can do instead of the axe?
If it's a free always-happens ability, disarming would probably be more helpful, to minimize the number of attacks it gets. If it's something that it uses instead of its axe, tripping could be more helpful.
Korin Rosenthal
|
Korin Rosenthal wrote:Based on the official FAQ of the very rulebook our game is based on, I believe that if someone gained a condition (such as Entangled), it would immediately prevent him from taking any actions that violates the condition's limitations (can't Run or Charge). If that happen during a...If I have made an error then I am happy to reconsider my decision. However, this sort of tone is really not helpful.
My apologies if my previous tone was off; that wasn't my intention. Sometimes text can come across differently than intended. I will continue to improve my choice of words as English is not my native language.
I believe most if not all of us have many experience behind the GM screen, and it's a fact that GMs, being human please correct me if you're actually three kobolds in a trench coat, are not infallable. There're just so many rules and details in Pathfinder that we can only try our best to remember most of them. However it's also one of the reason I enjoy Pathfinder more than the recent edition of D&D that there're enough rules that the GM and the players have a solid foundation that we can always refer to; and when one side forget something, the others can provide the rule and work together to find the right answers. I really appreciate your willingness to listen to us players and make adjustments when needed. It shows how much you care about the game's integrity and our enjoyment.
| GMAndrewW |
GMAndrewW wrote:Lichaam Pisell wrote:Its has a special ability to attack everyone around it with its horns. Its not a feat but rather something unique to it.GMAndrewW wrote:Its horns are dangerous, especially augmented by the bronze mask it wears and, if it full attacks, it can gore or bull rush every enemy within reach.Point of clarification:
Does that mean it has something like Whirlwind Attack with its horns? Or does that mean it gets a FREE Whirlwind Attack with its horns even when full-attacking with its axe?My question is when it gets that attack. Is it just something that happens when it's swinging its axe, or is it something it can do instead of the axe?
If it's a free always-happens ability, disarming would probably be more helpful, to minimize the number of attacks it gets. If it's something that it uses instead of its axe, tripping could be more helpful.
When it makes a full attack it can swop its attacks out for gore or bull rush attempts. This power is based in its Bronze Mask which can be attacked in the usual way.
| GMAndrewW |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
My apologies if my previous tone was off; that wasn't my intention. Sometimes text can come across differently than intended. I will continue to improve my choice of words as English is not my native language.
I believe most if not all of us have many experience behind the GM screen, and it's a fact that GMs, being human please correct me if you're actually three kobolds in a trench coat, are not infallable. There're just so many rules and details in Pathfinder that we can only try our best to remember most of them. However it's also one of the reason I enjoy Pathfinder more than the recent edition of D&D that there're enough rules that the GM and the players have a solid foundation that we can always refer to; and when one side forget something, the others can provide the rule and work together to find the right answers. I really appreciate your willingness to listen to us players and make adjustments when needed. It shows how much you care about the game's integrity and our enjoyment.
Thanks for this, I couldnt agree with the bolded part more. I am more than happy to deal with rules issues. If you think I have made an error please just say so. If you can point to a FAQ or dev comment that is even more helpful, especially as the 1E FAQ stuff seems to become harder and harder to find on here.
Lichaam Pisell
|
Lichaam Pisell wrote:When it makes a full attack it can swop its attacks out for gore or bull rush attempts. This power is based in its Bronze Mask which can be attacked in the usual way.
My question is when it gets that attack. Is it just something that happens when it's swinging its axe, or is it something it can do instead of the axe?If it's a free always-happens ability, disarming would probably be more helpful, to minimize the number of attacks it gets. If it's something that it uses instead of its axe, tripping could be more helpful.
Thanks.
And I'm going to assume I can't grease it's mask off, as funny as that might be. It's probably anchored pretty well, and it'd be more like trying to grease off a heavy shield. Technically possible, probably, but just feels a little wrong.
Trip it is!
Eadie Navhelan
|
Next week I am attending Paizocon Europe between Thursday and Sunday and I will be travelling home Monday ... I wont have much time or ability to post until Tuesday 15th August.
Have fun, GM! Is the con in the UK?
Quenly
|
GMAndrewW wrote:Next week I am attending Paizocon Europe between Thursday and Sunday and I will be travelling home Monday ... I wont have much time or ability to post until Tuesday 15th August.Have fun, GM! Is the con in the UK?
Manchester, UK (I believe).
I am back on dry land btw :)
| GMAndrewW |
Eadie Navhelan wrote:GMAndrewW wrote:Next week I am attending Paizocon Europe between Thursday and Sunday and I will be travelling home Monday ... I wont have much time or ability to post until Tuesday 15th August.Have fun, GM! Is the con in the UK?Manchester, UK (I believe).
I am back on dry land btw :)
Yep, that's right. I travel down on Thursday, play and run all day Friday-Sunday and come home Monday. Its the first FTF con I have been to since lockdown so is also a chance to catch up in person with loads of people. I used to do a con about every six weeks.
Quenly
|
Yup, they've got hostages. That's why I was talking about the positioning of grease and how the frontliners would get through it. I've got a few wall spells, but they're either too permeable or too hard to position for this situation.
This new knowledge will certainly change Quenly's actions when his turn comes up.
I could cover the pit with some form of shadow spell to obscure the prisoners - a Stinking Cloud for example. Or just a regular Deeper Darkness. Plenty of options.
| GMAndrewW |
Just a bit of advance warning. Next week I am attending Paizocon Europe between Thursday and Sunday and I will be travelling home Monday and sorting our related admin, washing etc when I get back. I wont have much time or ability to post until Tuesday 15th August.
This should have said 22nd August.
| shaventalz |
Oh lovely. The area's unhallowed, too. Although... isn't that just a 40' radius? I mean, assuming the only unhallow was cast on the altar.
Quenly
|
Could you confirm the ambient light level please GM? I'm just wondering if Deeper Darkness will produce supernatural darkness and defeat Darkvision here.
| GMAndrewW |
Oh lovely. The area's unhallowed, too. Although... isn't that just a 40' radius? I mean, assuming the only unhallow was cast on the altar.
That is a totally fair point. It seems unhallow limits the area of the attached spell even where it would be larger than the unhallow effect. So, Yanddu remains visible.
As far as ambient light level goes, the place is in brihgt light with no visible source.
Update is incoming.
Yanndu
|
Q: unhallow is instantaneous duration and thus cannot be dispelled. What about the carrier effect which is set at a duration of one year? If dispellable it may be an option for Yanndu's next move... thank you!
| GMAndrewW |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Q: unhallow is instantaneous duration and thus cannot be dispelled. What about the carrier effect which is set at a duration of one year? If dispellable it may be an option for Yanndu's next move... thank you!
Instantaneous is a really weird duration to give to an Unhallow given the year long effect only seems to apply to the linked spell and not the other two effects. You can totally dispel the linked spell.
Yanndu
|
Thank you for the feedback; much appreciated!
Lichaam Pisell
|
GM:
With the center raised platform being there, how do you rule Wall of Force would work? Would it need to stop at the stairs, or could I extend it from the rightmost wall to the edge of the shadow webbing?
It needs to be a "flat vertical plane", but I don't see any restrictions on the terrain it follows.
Didn't ask earlier because I really expected someone to get beside the pit and ruin everything.
Quenly
|
If the Wall of Force plan is not viable, Quenly can either fling Eadie at the minotaurs next to the pit with Shadow Telekinetic Charge, or come up with some other shadow spell that might stymie the minotaurs.
I'll wait to see what the response is to Lichaam's question.