
Sandru |

The existence of the thing... is what matters. Condition is secondary. It's for Quinn, every cop needs a donut shop. Bet there is a high concentration of zombies in uniform around there.
No offense to anyone who really is a police officer, my sister is a sergeant with the NYPD. I'm just bustin' chops.

Network |

In giving the party an opportunity to rest, one factor I worried about was having enough spells to cast. If that isn't a problem...carry on.
Decide between yourselves as a party whether to rest. There are 2-3 remaining encounters in Level 6 (probably 1-2 regular encounters and a boss.) The rest of what I had planned for Level 6 is sort of battle heavy. Pace accordingly.
Re the eagles: Summon Monster is 1 round per level. 1 round= 6 seconds of game time. At level 6 = 36 seconds per spell. With conjuration = extra 3 rounds which is an extra 18 seconds. That equals 54 seconds. The summoning at Level 6 matters more during battle (extra rounds) than it does out of battle. Which means the eagles both took some arrows and blipped back to the celestial plane at about the same time, as I see it.

Earl J V Caromarc |

RE: Eagles; all good
Mechanically I would like to switch Caromarc over to a more combat-heavy spell list. As long as I can fill up my empty slots I should be okay to go for a while.
Caromarc would prefer to push on even if ineffectual rather than give the monsters 9 more hours to kill citizens.

Network |

Well, ya caught me. I made a mistake. I'm not running Hareton as a DM PC, so he doesn't have a build proper (aside from Level 6 chirurgeon archetype.) But you are right, he should be able to create those infusions and it fits with his concept. I was lazy and didn't research that out well enough in the moment (I'd seen the information before, but since forgot it.)
I can't delete that post on the gameplay thread now! *Shakes fist in indignation* :P

Sandru |

Acrobatics seems a bit busted. A dwarf in full plate with -n ACP, moving at 20 (slow and steady - it's in the name, people) can tumble past threatened squares @ full speed... But Sandru in hide with no ACP, moving at 30 can't even try @ half speed?
Doh!
I wasn't trying to then, but good to know for future... considering it was an integral part of the character concept.

Network |

I use spoilers to represent a limited perspective on what is happening (e.g. to respond to the internal thinking of a character, or to describe something that only some of the characters see/hear but others don't.)
I also use them to save space occasionally, but that's less important.
That's just how I've been doing it, but I didn't have expectation or know there was any way we were supposed to be using them.

Sandru |

Should work, right?
"Swarms made up of Diminutive or Fine creatures are susceptible to high winds, such as those created by a gust of wind spell. For purposes of determining the effects of wind on a swarm, treat the swarm as a creature of the same size as its constituent creatures. A swarm rendered unconscious by means of nonlethal damage becomes disorganized and dispersed, and does not reform until its hit points exceed its nonlethal damage."
Would the DM say that applies to this water, as well?

Gaston Blackacre |

...shakes off some of the damage...
In my neverending quest to make my damage output more awesome, I should point out that bullets do piercing AND bludgeoning damage, so they should overcome the sandman's DR. Not that my PC would know anything about that - he just likes to find and shoot bad things - but I thought it best to point that out just in case.

Sandru |

I think the aqueous orb works a little differently. That spell says the orb can hold up to 16 small or smaller creatures within it. So, nope...just 16 bats.
Still leaves 14,984 to deal with. *rubs hands, evil chuckle*
Meanie! That's what it can "hold"...
But, second paragraph, first line (and I quote): "Any creature in the path of the aqueous orb takes 2d6 points of nonlethal damage."
Combine that with this from Swarms: "A swarm rendered unconscious by means of nonlethal damage becomes disorganized and dispersed, and does not reform until its hit points exceed its nonlethal damage."
And, we should be good?
In character, Sandru doesn't know anything about rules... I actually responded (blindly) to Blackacre's advice - from Sandru's 'perspective.
Then I read the spell... and thought, DAMMIT! Screwed again! That's when I lawyered up and came up with this logic. Basically, Sandru wasn't meta-gaming.
EDIT: I hate swarms.

Sandru |

@Sandru - That is cool about your dad.
Thanks! I don't visit there much, but as an adult, it was cool to go with 7 others and have him with us, explaining things.
You get a group, I'll get a tour together! LOL. He loves the idea of doing that. He can be the tour leader.

Nameless, child of Original |

The puns! My sides!
5 more rounds of the orb, it has only used up duration of 1 round. I love that thing.
The dogs have taken 2 hits of non-lethal each, besides the first 5 damage. I'll roll those now:
Dog #1
2d6 ⇒ (2, 6) = 8
2d6 ⇒ (4, 2) = 6
Dog #2
2d6 ⇒ (6, 5) = 11
2d6 ⇒ (4, 6) = 10
Dog #2 has taken a total 26 non-lethal from the orb, Dog #1 19 non-lethal.
And yeah, the non lethal damage isn't limited to the restriction on the amount of creatures, so it'll still deal 2 d6 plus 50% to them.

Network |

I thought the spell says they take an initial 2d6 damage when it rolls over them, and once trapped in the orb they take additional 2d6 damage at the start of their turn each round they remain trapped.
By that count, Dog #1 took the initial 2d6 (when it got sucked up in round 1, but not the 'continuing to be trapped' damage for that round, (since it wasn't already trapped before) + another 2d6 (start of round 2). Dog #2 took the initial 2d6 (sucked up in round 1), and another initial 2d6 (broke free but was sucked up again in round 2), and never took the 'continuing to be trapped' damage.
Thus, I had that the two dogs each took 5 initial damage (when the orb hit them in round 1, I just applied that to each since there was only one damage roll), and each took another 2d6 damage for round 2, for a total of 5+2d6 damage each.
Taking the first two rolls in the above post, Dog #1 has taken 14 damage from Quinn and 13 total nonlethal damage (the initial 5 from round 1, plus 8 from the first roll) from the orb.
Dog #2 has taken no lethal damage, but it took 5 nonlethal in round 1, plus 6 nonlethal in round 2, for a total of 11 nonlethal.
Also, since the orb existed in round 1 and now in round 2, I count that it has 4 more rounds left.