So I'm clear: "affected by your commander's banner" means within 30 feet, correct?


Commander Class Discussion


Since this term is used throughout the playtest, I wanted to be clear what it means. I assume it means within 30 feet because that is where allies need to be to get the passive bonus to Will saves and DCs versus fear. However, in theory, there are abilities with the Banner trait (so they require you to hold your banner) where all that is needed is that they "can hear or see your signal" (Defensive Retreat tactic on p. 6). And I ask myself why it just doesn't say "within the banner's aura"?

Is the first interpretation correct?

And if so, that means that the Form Up! tactic requires that allies start and end their movement within a 30' aura around you?

Also, if the answer is yes then "within your banner's aura" would be an appreciated clarification of the intention.

Verdant Wheel

A lot of tactics have you Step or Stride.

Maybe during that movement, if you started within the banner's aura, if this tactic's resolution has you leave that area, you still count as "affected" for the duration of that tactic?

It's a good question though...


5 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Based on my reading, there are two separate things at play here.

1) Form Up! and similar tactics states "signal all squadmates affected by your commander's banner" - this means that the squadmates must be within the banner's aura when the signalling occurs (which is when the tactic is used), but not necessarily within the aura once the squadmates have responded to the tactic.

1A) Form Up! also requires that the squadmates must end their movement inside the banner's aura, which addresses the last point above in this specific example.

2) The banner trait is separate, and as I read it has nothing to do with the banner's aura at all. It instead imposes a hands restriction on those tactics and actions that have this trait. Form Up! doesn't have the banner trait, so you can use it when you are not wielding your banner (or even when it is planted). The tactics that do have the banner trait tend to have more powerful effects, so this trait acts as a balancing factor - to make use of them, you have to use a hand or commit to using a specific weapon, giving up some flexibility.

2A) Defensive Retreat, as an example, has the banner trait and says "signal all squadmates who can hear or see your signal". There is no range restriction here - all squadmates on the battlefield can respond to this if they can detect your signal. The banner trait adds a different restriction - that you have to be wielding your banner (holding it in one hand or wielding a weapon with the banner attached - and not wielding a shield with the banner attached).

I agree the wording could be better - saying "signal all squadmates inside your banner's aura" would be less confusing.


ssims2 wrote:

Based on my reading, there are two separate things at play here.

1) Form Up! and similar tactics states "signal all squadmates affected by your commander's banner" - this means that the squadmates must be within the banner's aura when the signalling occurs (which is when the tactic is used), but not necessarily within the aura once the squadmates have responded to the tactic.

1A) Form Up! also requires that the squadmates must end their movement inside the banner's aura, which addresses the last point above in this specific example.

2) The banner trait is separate, and as I read it has nothing to do with the banner's aura at all. It instead imposes a hands restriction on those tactics and actions that have this trait. Form Up! doesn't have the banner trait, so you can use it when you are not wielding your banner (or even when it is planted). The tactics that do have the banner trait tend to have more powerful effects, so this trait acts as a balancing factor - to make use of them, you have to use a hand or commit to using a specific weapon, giving up some flexibility.

2A) Defensive Retreat, as an example, has the banner trait and says "signal all squadmates who can hear or see your signal". There is no range restriction here - all squadmates on the battlefield can respond to this if they can detect your signal. The banner trait adds a different restriction - that you have to be wielding your banner (holding it in one hand or wielding a weapon with the banner attached - and not wielding a shield with the banner attached).

I agree the wording could be better - saying "signal all squadmates inside your banner's aura" would be less confusing.

Thanks! Everything here makes sense to me, except for part of #1. How is this a different reading from "all squadmates must be in your banner's aura when you signal, and end their Stride within that same aura"? What is the distinction between "when the signaling occurs" and "once the squadmates have responded to the tactic"? Doesn't responding have to end with Striding into the aura?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just to be thorough, "affected by the aura" does mean a little bit more than just "within 30 feet." Creatures immune to mental or emotional effects or that are blind are not affected by the aura even if they are within 30 feet.


Shisumo wrote:
Just to be thorough, "affected by the aura" does mean a little bit more than just "within 30 feet." Creatures immune to mental or emotional effects or that are blind are not affected by the aura even if they are within 30 feet.

I wasn't suggesting "affected by the aura" but "in the aura." The rules for Tactics allow to yell (auditory) your command or wave your banner (visual). The traits for Commander's Banner aura only are for "This effect" -- which I assume refers to the entire paragraph before it, of the +1 bonus vs. fear and Frightened 1 when it gets stolen or destroyed.

So I think a Tactic requiring that one be "in the aura" doesn't prevent it from affecting a blind ally because you can simply use the yelling (auditory) option as per the language under "Tactics."

EDIT: I'm now suddenly realizing that "affected by your commander's banner," might be read as requiring that the squadmate SEE the banner. So a blinded ally will not be able to respond to a Tactic that is yelled...

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Battlecry Playtest / Commander Class Discussion / So I'm clear: "affected by your commander's banner" means within 30 feet, correct? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Commander Class Discussion