Do I take AoOs when using the dimensional dervish feat?


Rules Questions


Hello,

I was wondering if teleportation prompts an AoO, specifically with the dimensional dervish feat. If possible please quote an official ruling, I believe it is spoken to specifically in 3.5 D&D but I haven't been able to find anything in Pathfinder.

Scarab Sages

No it doesn't provoke. There's no need for an official ruling, there simply isn't any reason that it would provoke.


That's reason enough for me, but I need to convince my DM. Haha.

Scarab Sages

Without being a jerk about it, flip it around and just ask your DM: why do you think this provokes?

There isn't going to be a rule or citation saying this specific thing doesn't provoke when there's no reason it would, so you need to find out why she thinks it does and work from there.

My guess would be her reason being one of the following:

a. teleportation always provokes (which I think was a rule back in 3rd edition, but it simply isn't in Pathfinder)

b. it involves a spell being cast in some way (which is slightly more legit, but doesn't apply at the very least because this is a swift action and swift action spells explicitly don't provoke)


Alright, I'm going to talk to him later and we'll figure it out. I appreciate the help Duiker. :)

Scarab Sages

Happy to help!


Only if your opponent has the teleport tactician feat.

Scarab Sages

cnetarian wrote:
Only if your opponent has the teleport tactician feat.

Oh that's a good one to show your DM Jamesblonde. Because if teleportation automatically provokes, then that feat literally does nothing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do I take AoOs when using the dimensional dervish feat? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions