Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Trample Questions


Rules Questions


Does a creature with Trample have to move in any particular pattern (like a straight line) or can it just run around the battleground in any direction/shape it wants and Trample everything in its path?

Do Improved Overrun or Greater Overrun affect Trample in any way?

Do buffs such as Inspire Courage or Greater Magic Fang improve Trample damage (is it considered a "weapon" strike?)?


Trample says it works like the Overrun ability so I believe it must be in a straight line. However, it also says that an opponent cannot be damaged more than once per round no matter how many times your movement takes you over the target creature so that makes me think you can travel multiple directions in one go.

I would say no to the Overrun feats since Trample is a special attack that functions like Overrun but isn't Overrun.

Trample uses Slam damage so I think Inspire Courage would apply to a Trample. Greater Magic Fang would certainly work but it can be tricky. If the creature already has a Slam attack then you're good to buff that. If it does NOT have a Slam attack, you must apply the +1 to all natural attacks for their Trample to gain a benefit.


The Barometz has the overrun feats but does not have an increased DC on it's trample. I checked a few other monsters and this is constant.


After going through the bestiary, some monsters do not apply their slam damage abilities to their trample, some apply similar but different abilities, some apply the same ability their slam has, and some add whole new abilities.

This implies that your melee special bonuses do not apply to the slam unless specially stated, heck the monsters don't even have a size modifier added to the DC. That is a strong argument that other effects that modify attack rolls will not modify the DC.

So the wild shaped mastodon druid will not be able to hit everyone he tramples with his phase locking amulet of mighty fists.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Trample Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.