Wizard with VMC from Unchained


Rules Questions


Hey guys,
I'm trying to build a blaster wizard for some experiment I'm doing and then I stumbled upon this weird combo.
Admixture Wizard, take all the blasting you want but specialize in cold spells (via spell specialization, varisian tattoo etc)
And use the VMC of Unchained to take a dip into the oracle class.
By level three, if you pick the Waves domain, you can get access to the Freezing Spells revelation, isn't that a bit too much?

Is this legit according to the rules?
Am I missing something?


by my reading,

Quote:
Freezing Spells (Su): Whenever a creature fails a saving throw and takes cold damage from one of your spells, it is slowed (as the slow spell) for 1 round. Spells that do not allow a save do not slow creatures. At 11th level, the duration increases to 1d4 rounds.

This means that if you can indeed take it, and because it only says "your spells", it does indeed work with any of the wizard's spells that involve saving throws and cold damage.

The VMC does not prevent you from picking the waves mystery, and the freezing spells revelation is specifically mentioned as something a VMC oracle can pick.

So I don't see any reason why this wouldn't work. However, by my interpretation, since it says "as an oracle of her character level -6", I would personally say that the duration doesn't increase to 1d4 rounds until character level 17.


Quote:

she gains one of the following

revelations from the list of those available to her mystery as an
oracle of her character level – 6 (minimum 1). She must have
an effective oracle level high enough to select the revelation
.

so yeah you would have to be 17th level before you could select it.

Still allowed though


Greylurker wrote:
Quote:

she gains one of the following

revelations from the list of those available to her mystery as an
oracle of her character level – 6 (minimum 1). She must have
an effective oracle level high enough to select the revelation
.

so yeah you would have to be 17th level before you could select it.

Still allowed though

Not quite. The revelation itself doesn't state a required level, just that at level 11 it increases its effect. This should mean that the wizard with VMC oracle can select that revelation at level 3.

Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Cross-posting from the double-post thread that I just deleted:

Yup, this is legit. There's a reason that the oracle VMC has some higher restrictions on it than many of the other VMCs; revelations are often extremely powerful abilities!

(also, Johnny_Devo is correct)


well that's pretty cool then (damn it, that pun wasn't intentional I sware)

throw in the Metamagic that makes you Ice spells entangle people and you pretty much lock down the world.

Shame you don't have a lot of feats to add an Eldritch Heritage on top of that. Probably still can but not sure it would be worth it

Silver Crusade Contributor

I was planning to do this with a winter witch. ^_^


I now realized this can be done with some more elements (burning magic, vortex spells).
I think that's like... a really good flavorful choice for my campaign world (mages are very much Dragon Age inspired, being cursed and haunted and stuff, so it works well with the fluff of the Oracle's curse).

This combo is indeed cool.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard with VMC from Unchained All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions