
![]() |

RAW, while Spellstrike specifies it has to be used with a melee attack (not a ranged attack with a thrown weapon), Spell Combat specifies it should be used with a melee weapon, and a dagger qualifies, even when not used for a melee attack. I believe a dagger pistol would qualify when used as a dagger (a melee weapon), but not when fired as a pistol (a ranged weapon). I would not throw a dagger pistol, though I suppose "can be used as a dagger" technically allows this.
I am almost certain that this is not how the ability is intended to work and would disallow spell combat with thrown weapons at my table.

![]() |

...he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack...
A) No. he can deliver the spell though a dagger, but only as part of a melee attack. A thrown dagger is not a melee attack.
B) No, except when used in melee as a melee attack. Never as part of shooting or throwing, as neither of these are a melee attack.
bbangerter |

Ultimate Magic wrote:...he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack...A) No. he can deliver the spell though a dagger, but only as part of a melee attack. A thrown dagger is not a melee attack.
B) No, except when used in melee as a melee attack. Never as part of shooting or throwing, as neither of these are a melee attack.
You are quoting spellstrike, not spell combat - but it doesn't change the answers, though B should be qualified that the answer is no for thrown/shot and yes if used as a melee attack.
At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty).
Emphasis mine. If he is not using the weapon to make melee attacks he does not qualify for using spell combat.

![]() |

Whoops, you are right, I keep getting those terms confused. Maybe they should be named different. Maybe Arcane Combat instead of Spell Combat. It'd be less confusing that way.
But in any case:
A) No. A dagger is a ranged weapon when thrown, not a melee weapon.
B) No, except when used as a melee weapon. A pistol, when fired or thrown, is a ranged weapon, not a melee weapon.
So, six of one, half a dozen of another.

![]() |

Ah, I found a reference that says that a weapon is indeed considered a ranged weapon when thrown, even if it's listed as a melee weapon normally:
Weapons are grouped into several interlocking sets of categories. These categories pertain to what training is needed to become proficient in a weapon's use (simple, martial, or exotic), the weapon's usefulness either in close combat (melee) or at a distance (ranged, which includes both thrown and projectile weapons), its relative encumbrance (light, one-handed, or two-handed), and its size (Small, Medium, or Large).
So RAW is in line with common sense - even if a weapon can be used in melee, when thrown it's considered a ranged weapon and can't be used for Spell Combat.

Grick |

Ah, I found a reference that says that a weapon is indeed considered a ranged weapon when thrown, even if it's listed as a melee weapon normally
It's kind of a mess, actually.
Equipment lists the categories as "the weapon's usefulness either in close combat (melee) or at a distance (ranged, which includes both thrown and projectile weapons)"
"melee" and "ranged" both contain two types of weapons, those that are thrown, and those that aren't.
Melee and Ranged Weapons: "Melee weapons are used for making melee attacks, though some of them can be thrown as well. Ranged weapons are thrown weapons or projectile weapons that are not effective in melee."
Melee weapon: Longsword
Melee weapon, thrown weapon: Dagger
Ranged weapon, thrown weapon: Dart
Ranged weapon: Longbow
The first two are effective in melee, the last two aren't.
This has some possibly unintended side effects.
You can use Deflect Arrows on an arrow, bolt, or dart, but not a thrown dagger. (specifies "ranged weapon")
You can use Deadly Aim with bows, darts, or daggers, because it specifies "ranged attack rolls" not "ranged weapons."
You can't use Point-Blank Shot with a thrown dagger, since it specifies "ranged weapons" (Sorry rogues!)
Some people read (thrown weapons) and (projectile weapons that are not effective in melee) as two separate entities, rather than (thrown weapons) or (projectile weapons) both of which are not effective in melee. This interpretation means a dagger is a ranged weapon when thrown, which allows it to work with Point-Blank Shot.

Grick |

can a vanilla magus use spell combat,
A) With a dagger even when it is being thrown.
B) A dagger pistol, when being shot, used in melee or thrown.
By RAW, "he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon". So as long as it's a melee weapon, and it's his, he can make attacks with it.
In my opinion, "his melee weapon" is clearly referring specifically and exclusively to the light or one-handed melee weapon he is wielding in his other hand (other hand being the one that is not free) and specifically referring to melee attacks.
By RAW, this is also not a full-attack action, so it doesn't get an extra attack from Haste. Since a magus can cast haste, many feel that's not the intent, either.

bbangerter |

By RAW, this is also not a full-attack action, so it doesn't get an extra attack from Haste. Since a magus can cast haste, many feel that's not the intent, either.
Wow, I'd have never seen that little piece - and will promptly ignore the narrow and strict RAW for that one. I wouldn't even argue that since a magus can cast haste as being the primary reason for saying that is not intent, but rather "This functions much like two-weapon fighting..." sufficient enough, since you cannot two weapon fight outside of a full attack action. I'd assume the wording of "As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list..." is because you can't cast spells using a full-attack action. So spell combat is a full attack action plus a little extra (which is exactly like two weapon fighting, which is a full attack action plus a little extra).
It is interesting to see the trickle down side effects of specific words and language used in the rules.

Grick |

Just stumbled upon this in the ask James Jacobs thread.
Excellent.
-edit-
Even more excellent is he didn't say "Spell Combat is a full-attack" which would suddenly allow all natural weapon attacks to function during spell combat.
I read that as the intent from haste to grant the extra attack, rather than the intent of Spell Combat to function as a full-attack, allowing multiple weapons, ranged attacks, natural attacks, etc.