| runslikeawelshman |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Can a wand be used to place a spell into a Vibrant Purple Prism (which acts as a Ring of Spell Storing)?
| runslikeawelshman |
Nefreet wrote:No. The spell must actually be "cast".I'm not totally sure of this, but I do notice that at least the 3.5 version explicitly stated that you can use a scroll, which suggests that you can't use something which isn't actual casting or spell completion.
It's the line about being able to use scrolls that makes me wonder (it comes from Ultimate Equipment, btw, so it has survived from 3.5). I use scrolls to fill my Living Monolith's stone with Shield spells. However, I have become aware of another local PFS player that uses a wand for the same thing. Obviously, a wand would be more cost-effective and slightly easier to UMD but the item description specifically states that scrolls may be used. It says nothing about wands or even spell-trigger items in general which makes me think that it shouldn't work. I'd like to find some evidence to the contrary so I can make the switch, but I haven't come across anything.
| runslikeawelshman |
Well, it specifically states that scrolls work so that's a non-issue. Wands (as well as other spell-trigger or spell-completion items) are not mentioned at all. The question is: does this omission mean they are not able to be used to place a spell in the item? I appreciate your input but as this is a PFS question I'm looking for a source (FAQ, Dev forum post, etc.) which states an answer one way or the other.
| runslikeawelshman |
You don't need an "official answer" from anyone. Using a spell trigger item is not "casting a spell" (and the ring specifies you must "cast" a spell into it). Using a spell completion item is "casting a spell".
You're right, I dont "need" an official ruling but I'd like one all the same. As I already stated, another player in my area is using a wand to charge his ioun stone and no one has stopped him, so there's obviously enough ambiguity involved to warrant a degree of curiosity. You're point is a good one and, for what it's worth, I agree with you. I'm just open to the possibility that another interpretation exists and wonder if there's a clarification out there somewhere.
I'd like an "official" answer for two reasons:
- I have a character that uses scrolls to charge his Ioun stone and wands would be cheaper, but don't want to go against RAW.
- I GM often so it's only a matter of time before the individual in question ends up at my table with that character. If I disallow it and he brings it up with the VC, I'd like to have a better reason than "some dude on the forums called Nefreet said so".
| Blakmane |
You don't need an "official answer" from anyone. Using a spell trigger item is not "casting a spell" (and the ring specifies you must "cast" a spell into it). Using a spell completion item is "casting a spell".
"Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity."
Sounds awfully like you are "casting a spell" from the wand.
| Gwen Smith |
We've always allowed wands to recharge spell storing items in our PFS region. This is the first time I've heard any question about it.
Scrolls are specifically allowed, per the PRD.
| seebs |
Also, according to the rulebook under UMD you "cast a spell from a scroll", using identical language to 'cast a spell from a wand'. I'm failing to see the precedent here at all. Can someone provide some actual proof that wand activation isn't 'casting' but scroll activation is?
I don't think there'll be a definite answer unless the Paizo folks decide to give one. I would let you do either, personally, the only thing being that I'd require that the storing be intentional on the part of the caster -- you can't use it to capture incoming spells.
The best argument for a distinction is from the differences between spell trigger and spell completion, where the latter is basically identical to casting a prepared spell, and the former is just pushing a button, pretty much. If we assume some need to do something as part of the casting process to make the spell get stored, then yeah, you probably need to be doing something more like normal casting. Maybe.
kinevon
|
Blakmane wrote:Also, according to the rulebook under UMD you "cast a spell from a scroll", using identical language to 'cast a spell from a wand'. I'm failing to see the precedent here at all. Can someone provide some actual proof that wand activation isn't 'casting' but scroll activation is?I don't think there'll be a definite answer unless the Paizo folks decide to give one. I would let you do either, personally, the only thing being that I'd require that the storing be intentional on the part of the caster -- you can't use it to capture incoming spells.
The best argument for a distinction is from the differences between spell trigger and spell completion, where the latter is basically identical to casting a prepared spell, and the former is just pushing a button, pretty much. If we assume some need to do something as part of the casting process to make the spell get stored, then yeah, you probably need to be doing something more like normal casting. Maybe.
Maybe, if the wand didn't require having the spell on your list, or using UMD, maybe.
I would think you couldn't use a potion to put a spell into a spell storing item. Although it would be an amusing image to have someone pouring a potion of Infernal Healing on an Ioun stone..
But using a wand, other than not provoking, requires pretty much teh same prerequisites as using a scroll, but bypasses the need for a caster level check, if the spell is higher level than you can cast. Of course, since the cracked purple prism Ioun stone only holds one level of spell....
| fretgod99 |
We've always allowed wands to recharge spell storing items in our PFS region. This is the first time I've heard any question about it.
Scrolls are specifically allowed, per the PRD.
One could make the argument that, since scrolls are specifically called out as being allowed and wands are not, wands cannot be used to charge a Ring of Spell Storing.
Nefreet
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Nefreet wrote:You don't need an "official answer" from anyone. Using a spell trigger item is not "casting a spell" (and the ring specifies you must "cast" a spell into it). Using a spell completion item is "casting a spell"."Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity."
Sounds awfully like you are "casting a spell" from the wand.
THIS FAQ would also seem to agree with you. It lumps wands, staves, and scrolls together as "casting a spell".
I shall ruminate over this some more in the morning.
| Trekkie90909 |
RAW no; the scroll is an item-specific exception to the rule that a spell caster has to charge the ring of spell storing from their spells/day - think charging/recharging a staff. I would not have a problem expanding this to include wands in my games, but I'm a softy.
What I don't agree with is allowing scrolls/wands to charge your stone, there's nothing in the item description which says you can charge it from items; the language implies that it has to come from a spell caster.