Flurry of Blows + Deadly Aim / Power Attack


Rules Questions


Okay, I'm a 4th level Zen Archer using Flurry of Blows and Deadly Aim.

Do I take a -1 attack penalty for +2 damage or a -2 attack penalty for +4 damage?


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

when flurrying your BAB is equal to your monk level -2 due to two-weapon fighting malus. so I believe it is based off of the original BAB (of your monk level) but I could be wrong.


There's a FAQ for that.

Quote:

Monk: How does a monk's improved BAB when flurrying interact with feats like Power Attack and Combat Expertise, which have different effects depending on your BAB?

The monk uses his improved flurrying BAB to determine the effect of those feats.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

When using FoB, monks BAB equals their monk level. So, you'd use the -2 / +4. There's a FAQ somewhere about that, but I'm too lazy to link to it!

Ninja-monk'd!


Flaming Duck wrote:

When using FoB, monks BAB equals their monk level. So, you'd use the -2 / +4. There's a FAQ somewhere about that, but I'm too lazy to link to it!

Ninja-monk'd!

Saw the FAQ but I was still a little confused - does the Monk's BAB equal (Monk level -2) or does it equal (Monk level) and then the -2 gets applied retroactively?


BAB equals monk level when flurrying then you have a -2 for effectively two weapon fighting.


Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
BAB equals monk level when flurrying then you have a -2 for effectively two weapon fighting.

^That.

Remember, Flurry explicitly says your BaB equals your Monk level. If it meant Monk level -2, it'd SAY Monk level -2.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rynjin wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
BAB equals monk level when flurrying then you have a -2 for effectively two weapon fighting.

^That.

Remember, Flurry explicitly says your BaB equals your Monk level. If it meant Monk level -2, it'd SAY Monk level -2.

Rynjin said I was right!! That now applies to everything I've posted on the forums. No take-backs!


D=

Sczarni

except there are countless other instances where flurrying does not equal TWF.

The FAQ says "his improved flurrying BAB". The table that shows his improved flurrying BAB actually calls the "adjusted" BAB, his "flurry of blows attack bonus."

So there is a chance the Designers were referring to that number.

At 4th level the monks flurrying attack bonus is only +2/+2 on that table - so don't be surprised if you experience table variance.

I'm not saying this is how it works - I'm not even saying this is how I'd run it. I'm just saying I see ambiguity in this situation.


Krodjin wrote:

except there are countless other instances where flurrying does not equal TWF.

The FAQ says "his improved flurrying BAB". The table that shows his improved flurrying BAB actually calls the "adjusted" BAB, his "flurry of blows attack bonus."

So there is a chance the Designers were referring to that number.

At 4th level the monks flurrying attack bonus is only +2/+2 on that table - so don't be surprised if you experience table variance.

I'm not saying this is how it works - I'm not even saying this is how I'd run it. I'm just saying I see ambiguity in this situation.

I believe that part of the Monk table is a handy reference to the Monk's BAB + TWF for each level (with an emphasis for showing when the Monk gets extra attacks for high BAB, and when they get extras at the spelled out Monk levels. Their BAB while flurrying is equal to their level (the TWF penalty doesn't apply for purposes of feats being used).


Krodjin wrote:

except there are countless other instances where flurrying does not equal TWF.

The FAQ says "his improved flurrying BAB". The table that shows his improved flurrying BAB actually calls the "adjusted" BAB, his "flurry of blows attack bonus."

So there is a chance the Designers were referring to that number.

At 4th level the monks flurrying attack bonus is only +2/+2 on that table - so don't be surprised if you experience table variance.

I'm not saying this is how it works - I'm not even saying this is how I'd run it. I'm just saying I see ambiguity in this situation.

Attack bonus = BASE Attack Bonus.

There are not "countless other instances where Flurrying doesn't equal TWFing". Mostly because there are NO instances where Flurry equals TWFing. It's a completely separate ability, but it does, in fact, act AS TWFing for the purpose of penalties.

His BaB equals his Monk level. Period. That is what the text says. There should be no table variance on this fact.

That the table applies the extra -2 penalty to-hit does not affect that fact at all. Penalties to-hit do not change your BaB.


Just a thought

Does anyone remember to use the flurry BAB to calculate CMB when they use a combat manoeuver as part of a flurry?


No need. Monks have full BaB on maneuvers regardless.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flurry of Blows + Deadly Aim / Power Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions