Beginner question about dying


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hi Guys,

I've looked through the FAQ and forums but can't find an answer to this, sorry if it's there but I've missed it.

The rules say you die if you 'cannot draw a card when required to' but it isn't clear if that's 'draw a card' or 'draw all the required cards' For example, if you have 2 cards in your hand and 2 left in your deck, then you take 3 damage you would discard all the cards in your hand. Technically you are 'required' to reset your hand to 5 cards or similar, but you only have 2 left. Does that mean you're character has died, or do you just draw the remaining two cards and carry on?

Thanks for your help guys,


You need to be able to draw all cards you need to survive resetting your hand. Even one card short and its all over...


agraham2410 wrote:
You need to be able to draw all cards you need to survive resetting your hand. Even one card short and its all over...

Really? That doesn't seem right - even one card is one hit point.


Rulebook: If you are ever required to draw a card from your deck and cannot, your character dies.

So if your hand size is 4, you have no cards in your hands, and you only have 3 cards in your deck when you have to reset. Time to pour a little out in your characters memory, because their journey is over...


Yeah... that's not how I'll be doing it. That seems needlessly brutal and pedantic. Not to mention not at all fun.


Quote:


Yeah... that's not how I'll be doing it. That seems needlessly brutal and pedantic. Not to mention not at all fun.

Fair enough. Personally, I've opted to just change how I approach exploring. Once I see my deck getting low, I start playing more cautiously. If I'm ever down to one or two cards, I usually just bail (flip over the blessing deck), take my loot and run. Hopefully I'll have gotten better cards to deal with that scenario again in the future.

It might be my rogue's mentality, but you know what they say "He who fights and runs away, lives to fight another day!". :)


That makes no sense to me, and even worse limits your game.

I'd also argue that there's actually more nail-biting going on when you watch your deck shrink to 5...4...3...2...1 rather than die with 5 cards beside you because, for example, Ezren gets wiped out and his hand size is 6.

Different ways to play though, I guess.

Edit - dagnabbit, brutal is the way of the rules - 'Finally, if you have fewer cards than your hand size you MUST draw cards until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size' (Revised rules,page 9)

Caps are mine, but yeah - I won't be playing by that rule at all :)


Sure! Do whatever is most fun for you! :)

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Lostblade wrote:
Quote:


Yeah... that's not how I'll be doing it. That seems needlessly brutal and pedantic. Not to mention not at all fun.

Fair enough. Personally, I've opted to just change how I approach exploring. Once I see my deck getting low, I start playing more cautiously. If I'm ever down to one or two cards, I usually just bail (flip over the blessing deck), take my loot and run. Hopefully I'll have gotten better cards to deal with that scenario again in the future.

It might be my rogue's mentality, but you know what they say "He who fights and runs away, lives to fight another day!". :)

If you fail to complete a scenario, you have to reset your hand to what it was before you started playing. You only get to keep boons you get during the game when you win.


Charles Scholz wrote:


If you fail to complete a scenario, you have to reset your hand to what it was before you started playing. You only get to keep boons you get during the game when you win.

Actually, you do get to keep the boons you get from exploration. The rulebook says:

Rulebook Page 19 wrote:


Once you’ve completed a scenario, whether you win or lose, rebuild
your character deck (see Between Games, below). Put all other cards
back into the box.

And the between games section says you can use the cards in your hand, discard pile, draw pile, or buried pile to rebuild your deck. Assuming you acquired some of those during the failed scenario, they are fair game in rebuilding your deck.


Quote:
And the between games section says you can use the cards in your hand, discard pile, draw pile, or buried pile to rebuild your deck. Assuming you acquired some of those during the failed scenario, they are fair game in rebuilding your deck.

That's how I understood the rules to work. And even if it doesn't, I'm probably going to HR it anyways. If I'm getting my ass kicked, I'd at least like a consolation prize of a few upgrades. Seems to add a layer of progression to me.


Daarck wrote:

That makes no sense to me, and even worse limits your game.

I'd also argue that there's actually more nail-biting going on when you watch your deck shrink to 5...4...3...2...1 rather than die with 5 cards beside you because, for example, Ezren gets wiped out and his hand size is 6.

Different ways to play though, I guess.

Edit - dagnabbit, brutal is the way of the rules - 'Finally, if you have fewer cards than your hand size you MUST draw cards until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size' (Revised rules,page 9)

Caps are mine, but yeah - I won't be playing by that rule at all :)

It's not brutal - spellcasters are designed to play risky. If you play that you don't lose until your cards in hand and in the deck are gone, your spellcasters are going to be overpowered compared to your melee specialists.

If you don't have to be cautious earlier, you get more power from being able to risk more.

But on the other hand, it's your game, so you can play however you want.


If you are going to make house rules to nerf the game, your call, but just don't be one of the folks decrying how easy the game is.


Bidmaron wrote:
If you are going to make house rules to nerf the game, your call, but just don't be one of the folks decrying how easy the game is.

Hmm - not sure if that's for me, but I'm loving the game, not decrying it.

As for the available cards in the deck/hand merry-go-round... I actually saw the point of that last night. Wasn't really contemplating risk, but more the well known squishy-ness of casters. Having to replace a larger hand can, in effect cause them to have less health. There's more chance that Val can reset 4 cards than Ez can reset 6.

Fiendish, Mr Selinker; my hat is doffed. And the rules will be followed henceforth. Understanding is key to fun :)


@Daarck - welcome to the forums, I'm really enjoying your posts so far and glad that you've come round to understand Mike's design of the character's squishyness and how they face down death.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Daarck wrote:
Fiendish, Mr Selinker; my hat is doffed.

Appreciated. But if you think I'm going to engage in reciprocal hat-doffing in this frigid weather, you're daft.


Mike Selinker wrote:
Appreciated. But if you think I'm going to engage in reciprocal hat-doffing in this frigid weather, you're daft.

Fah. We have a high of 0 today (not counting wind chill or "real feel") and my hat still goes off to you... :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Beginner question about dying All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion